Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sally Beauty.

D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm

Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Semi+Permanent+Hair+Color+is+fun+and+vibrant+color+that+is+quick+and+easy+to+apply.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
31 of 40(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Review 1 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sera
Location: Kent County, Delaware
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
DID NOT DYE HAIR AT ALL!
Date:April 10, 2011
Pros: works great for some/most people
Cons: too translucent (on hair) to color, strange consistency based on other dyes, too expensive for results rendered, overall bad quality temp dye
"I usually use Manic Panic, but I decided to go out of my usual brand range and try this one. Now, I'm actually a huge fan of Beyond the Zone's other hair products, however this was a HUGE waste of money for me.
I have naturally dark hair, but I am a big fan of bleach. : ) I have been dying my hair since I was ten and I have never had a problem with a product's color attaching to my hair... until I used Beyond the Zone's Temporary dyes. I bought three colors: Crimson Storm, their turquoise and a violet (all at different times).
Crimson Storm was my first. I had previously gone to a salon to have my hair dyed an unnatural vibrant red, so once that had faded (quickly) I bought this one to revamp the red.
Well, NOTHING... it washed right out! what else can I say? I tried it again a few days later, and even left the dye on my hair overnight. I'm sure you get the idea. No hold at all.
I figured it may have been the chemicals from my previous dye... a bad batch that was accidentally delivered to the stores... or who knows? Maybe I did something wrong? I decided that I would not give up on this brand just yet.
This came to out to be an even worse waste of money, when I had attempted to dye my hair turquoise and violet about 15 months later.
I had made sure my hair was clean of any other dyes or possibly "bad" chemicals, had redone my roots and conditioned well.
Once again, this brand no hold; the dye washed right out : (
It is hard to believe that it may just be my own hair, but the thing is, I have never had trouble with any other brand. Yes, I am a dedicated DyeHard but I have tried a few other brands in my time.
In comparison to other temp dyes, I have noticed that the consistency of this one is rather lacking. I feel like I'm putting a cream, or even gel in my hair. I prefer a temp dye that has a more opaque look when I apply it to my hair. This... just looks like that comb in/wash out hair color.
I think perhaps the difference is that this is not a metallic dye, though I am not entirely sure if it is or not.
I have read over the other GOOD reviews and I do have to wonder though... maybe it is my head? Well, if anyone has found that they have had the same problem as me, comment so I don't feel strange and alone. : )
If you have had a good or great experience with this dye, I'm jealous."
Review 2 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jennanana
Love it!
Date:March 19, 2011
Pros: easy, fast, use with shampoo
"I have medium blonde hair that I have almost fully bleached to a platinum blonde. I wanted my hair to be pink for the weekend so I bought this product in Crimson Storm (it's maroon, I know, but it works perfectly. Any other shade of pink just wouldn't hold to my hair.) I just added a squirt to my shampoo in the shower and washed my hair as usual except I left it on about 1-2 minutes. Then I rinsed in cold water and conditioned with my normal conditioner and, viola! Perfectly pink hair. I received many compliments this weekend.
People are complaining it washes out to quickly but that's kind of the point. Plus I like that it washes out fast so I can have my hair to it's normal shade by Monday.
To prevent fading, I kept adding a squirt to my shampoo each time I would shampoo.
If you don't want pink hair, then apply it to your hair by itself (no shampoo) and it will be just like the swatch pictured. (I tried it on a test strand)."
Review 3 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nikkikaty
Location: Bay Area, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good value
Date:March 15, 2011
Pros: last longer than most, very vibrant, cheap
"I got Beyond the Zone Color Jam in Wild Red and WOW! They weren't lying. It is a VERY vibrant red. I loved it. I had to dye over it in a darker red though because I had a job interview a couple days later. But it is a beautiful red and it's for anyone who wants a vibrant fire engine red color. I bleached my hair twice because I had black before and it covers nicely, my hair was all one color. I left it on for a couple hours to make sure it actually stayed in though. But it is a product I would recommend to my friends."
Review 4 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sisterspeed
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Does what I need it to
Date:March 1, 2011
Pros: bright, easy to use, cheap, remains bright for a long time
Cons: doesn't stick to natural hair color
"I use the Wild Red shade to give my red hair and extra kick of red when it's starting to fade, and this dye does the trick. It gives my hair a vibrant color, especially when applied with heat. The only downside I have to it is that it doesn't stick to my roots (my natural hair color is a dirty blonde) when not using heat. It seems to stick a little better with heat, but it's still not as vibrant as the rest of my hair. But for the price, the color is good, is pumps up my color and doesn't fade as quickly as Manic Panic, so I'll be sticking to this brand for a while."
Review 5 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
metalkittie
Location: Westchester, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome
Date:December 11, 2010
Pros: rich vibrant color, good price
Cons: maybe a little messy but who cares!
"I bought this and Manic Panic Purple Haze because I wanted a couple nice red streaks and purple bangs. After bleaching the areas I applied both colors at the same time. I have already had to reapply the Purple twice but my red still looks bright red. It was a really awesome shade and faded into another really awesome shade. I don't know how the other Color Jamz are so I won't recommend the brand yet but Crimson Storm is great (and cheaper then Manic Panic!)"
Review 6 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mizore2009
Location: morganton,nc
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Geat product start with
Date:November 5, 2010
Pros: great for first timers, beautiful color, very easy use, don't stain your skin
Cons: it can two time get right color you want
"I use this on October 29,2010 and fall right in love with it.I didn't follow ins. that came on the bottle.I put on my dry hair and waited for 2hrs before washing it out.Then I us some on my mom hair and people told her it looked great I only her's in for 10 mins and it took fast to her hair.Well on halloween night she washed her and the color still there.I washed my hair 3 days and the color barley washed out."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JekkaT
Location: North Carolina
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Good if your on a budget
Date:September 9, 2010
Pros: good color when applied with heat
Cons: color faded fast w/o heat
"I used this product for a year, with monthy touch-ups. I mixed half a bottle with half Candy Apple Red, and completely saturated my hair (well 1/2 my hair). To really get the color to stay you have to apply ALOT of heat. Eather a small amount for a long time, or a large amount- basically hot enough to dry it into your hair."
Review 8 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
adamocantus
Location: Washington, DC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
AWFUL WASTE OF MONEY!
Date:September 5, 2010
Pros: cheap
Cons: waste of money, not the color i wanted
"My hair was practically white when I finished bleaching it. I have shoulder length hair, but I used four bottles of this stuff (two Party Time Pink and two Bubble Head Pink) just to be safe. When it was done, it was BARELY pink! It looked more like a bleached it from a light red than a pink. This was lighter than a cotton candy pink. It looked awful!
I bought a jar of Manic Panic Hot Hot Pink and used HALF of it on top of the BtZ (same day) and it the name was right, it was hot-hot pink. More florescent than I wanted, but MUCH better than Beyond the Zone!
**Spend the extra two bucks, go with Manic Panic**"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NormaJean
Location: Riverside, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love It
Date:August 17, 2010
Pros: lasts a good amount of time easy to apply
Cons: can get messy if not careful
"Ok so the ladies complaining that it didn't show up on your dark hair, it says right on the bottle to lighten your hair blonde first! I have black hair and I lighten the bottom half of my hair to a dark blond. The reds work great on this and do does the purple. If you're going for a lighter color (pink, light blue) I suggest you lighten your hair to an almost white for those to catch on or else they won't really show up. The blue turned into green sorta fast for me so I changed what I did the next time I colored. The next time I did it, I left the bleach on for a little longer and I left the color on for an hour. When I was ready to wash, i did NOT put shampoo in my hair for the first wash. If you do this it has a couple more days to catch on really great. Also when you wash for the first time don't wash until the water runs clear because then it will look kinda faded. You might think to yourself that's kinda gross but if you do it right, it's worth the results. Mine stays in forever because when I first dye it I don't wash until the water comes out clear so it gets a couple of days to set it. That's just what works for me. =)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anon0131
Location: Chicaoland area
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Depends on the color you get
Date:August 17, 2010
Pros: long lasting, easy application
Cons: sometimes color doesn't come out right
"I have used Beyond the Zone 75% of the time (opposed to Manic Panic), and have ALMOST always come out with a great result.
The colors I have used and would recommend are Candy Apple Red, Wild Red, Party Time Pink, and Bubble Head Pink. I put those on lightened hair (not COMPLETELY bleached) and the colors turned out great. The one color I have tried that I would not recommend was Tripped Up Turquoise. It made my hair green instead, and faded SO quickly opposed to the other colors I had used. I only had to touch up my hair maybe once every 3 weeks with this produce (opposed to once a week/bi weekly with Manic Panic). And with the price, you can't beat this. I would recommend this to anyone.
"
Review 11 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hillary
Location: Your Mom
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: smells good, long lasting
"I've used a lot of hair color, but this is by far the best. It is long lasting (I've had it in for almost a month and it hasn't faded a bit), and even smells good when you are putting it in, unlike most hair dyes. It has bright coloring, and even shows up in very dark hair."
Review 12 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vanessa18
Location: Fairfield, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I Loved It
Date:May 26, 2010
"I think its great it doesn't damage hair, easy to use, great colors to choose from. If you're careful it won't stain your skin. I leave it on for a long time too so the color will really catch on"
Review 13 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
angel042106
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Beware If You Pre-lighten...
Date:January 25, 2010
"I used this color once on unbleached hair and it came out pretty close to the color swatch shown. The next time i used it, i bleached my hair first, as suggested, then applied the color and left it on for about an hour. It ended up coming out a bright fuchia pink, even after reapplying the same color a few days later. I'm switching to Manic Panic the next time I color."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
keesia
Location: michigan
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
worst purchase ever
Date:December 30, 2009
Pros: cheap
Cons: color fades as soon as you wash you hair, stains everything including skin
"I have light blonde hair and color went on nice but as soon as I washed my hair color faded dramaticaly.I left the color on for about a half hour too and bottle says 10 to 20 min. Not satisfied at all woul not purchase again,koolaid works better than this."
Review 15 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marcelle
Location: Woodland Hills, Ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Disappointed -didn't get the desired results
Date:October 31, 2009
Pros: easy to use -no mixing required, inexpensive
Cons: messy, stains skin and fabrics, only good for blonde hair, no results on med-dark hair
"I purchased the color "Not So Shy Violet" as well as the "Color JamZ Clear Shine" and after reading the reviews here, I was aware the color would be more blue than a true violet. Even so, I didn't get the color I had hoped. I have medium to light brown hair and the results were a purplish black. In my first attempt I didn't mix "Clear Shine" with the color, but just used the coloring by itself and left it on for 25 minutes and the results was just a dark purplish brown. I tried a second attempt by adding the "Clear Shine" to brighten the color to a brighter blue. When I got the desired color in the mixing bowel, I reapplied it to my hair and left it on for 10 minutes. The second attempt only darken the shade even more, so it looks almost black. In bright sunlight, it has an unappealing dark greenish purple color, that makes people ask "what's wrong with your hair?"
So if you're a blonde I assume you could get the desired effect and if your hair is darker then medium blonde, you would have to lighten your hair to a blonder shade as a base and then apply the coloring.
Aside from the failed attempt to color my hair, this product was MESSY. Although the product didn't color my hair blue, it did successful stain my hands, ears, neck, towels, sink, and shower blue. It also bled on my pillowcase and clothes. Word of warning...keep your gloves on when you rise the color out, I made the mistake of removing my gloves and it stained my hands blue which lasted two days.
If you're not a blonde, pass on this product unless you want to go through the trouble of coloring your hair blonde first (as a base) before using this coloring. If you don't, you'll risk having a dark egg-plant purple to black color, which is not worth the mess it leaves on your cloths and bed linen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BarelyLit
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Color not as pigmented as expected
Date:September 21, 2009
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: color not as deep as expected, color faded quickly
"I purchased Crimson Storm to color a highlighted section of my daughter's hair with.
First, I bleached the section very blonde, rinsed her hair, and then dried it. I then proceeded to apply the Crimson Red to the blonde section, which I then wrapped in foil. I left it on undisturbed for a good 20 minutes. When I realized that it didn't appear as deep of a red as I expected, I added a bit more color, re-wrapped the foil, and then applied heat via a hairdryer for another 10 minutes, for a total processing time of 30 minutes. After rinsing her hair, the color came through as a bright raspberry fuschia pink. It was pretty, no doubt, but the expectation was a deeper "blood" red, not a bright fuschia. From now on, I'll just stick with Manic Panic.
"
Review 17 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Orange County Ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Color Jamz Crimson Storm
Date:June 12, 2009
Pros: fab color, easy application, mixxable with products, love it
"This is a Fabulous Product I love the color and I mexxed it with Candy Apple red and the red color filler I purchased from Sally's its a Fab mix I recomend this product highly and for the price its GREAT!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT ;)"
Review 18 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lizsy
Location: Sparks,Nevada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not so red!!
Date:June 7, 2009
Pros: not messy, shiny, dyes fast
Cons: it doesnt come out the color you want it too, fades quickly
"My sister dyed her hair this color and it came out a coca cola red instead of the dark red but it still looks cute!!"
Review 19 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lyexsah
Location: Maxwell, TX
Totally awesome
Date:June 6, 2009
Pros: inexpensive, good results
Cons: stains hands
"As a teenager, I LOVE to have wild colors in my hair, even though my mom doesn't. I also love to do my hair and other peoples', so I'm always on the hunt for good, inexpensive products to try out. I found this line of demi-permanent hair dye, and fell in love!
I've dyed my hair using many of this product's colors, and I haven't once been dissatisfied. I do highly reccomend bleaching your hair beforehand, or else it won't show as well, but it's very good. The longer you leave it in, the longer it lasts, though if you leave it in too long, you'll have to bleach it out.
Although, I would CERTAINLY reccomend this to a friend, in fact, I used it to dye my friend's hair purple. :D I think the only real downside is that it stains your hands so wear gloves!
If you don't take my word for it, here's photos of times I've used this dye.
I used Raspberry Kamikaze and Party Time PInk to mix the bright fuschia, and purple passion mixed with not-so-shy violet for the purple:
http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm36/Lyexsah/IMG_0119.jpg
Party time pink and purple passion:
http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm36/Lyexsah/cheshire2.jpg
[not a very good picture] But, huckleberry blue and raspberry kamikaze mixed with party time pink: http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm36/Lyexsah/IMG_0218.jpg"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for D+Beyond+The+Zone+Color+Jamz+Crimson+Storm
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prue
Location: WIlliamsburg, VA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love It!!!
Date:May 1, 2009
Pros: cheap, lasts for a while, easy to apply
Cons: some colors stain the scalp, red doesn't last as long as the other colors
"I have been using this product since January, and I wouldn't use anything else. I originally went to Sally's to purchase Manic Panic, but bought this product instead because it is much cheaper. I have used Kamikaze Raspberry and Crimson Storm. I'm getting ready to buy Midnight Blue. All the colors work great and fade out to colors that still look excellent. I have extremely thick hair, but there was more than enough in the bottle to color all of it (I usually need 2). I streaked my hair with bleach before, but now I'm able to just apply a new color whenever I want. I apply to my entire head, even though some of it isn't bleached. The color slightly adheres to the non-bleached parts, but it washes out in like one or two washes. The color on the bleached parts stays from 2 to 4 weeks, depending on the color and how long you leave it on. I will continue to use this product in the future!!! Great buy!!!"
1 2 next>>