Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sally Beauty.

Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18

Wella+Color+Charm+Liquid+Permanent+Hair+Color+offers+a+variety+of+shade+combinations+for+creative+colorists%2C+and+simple%2C+one-bottle+usage+for+novices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Review 1 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enisa23
Location: Louisville. KY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
great product
Date:October 21, 2011
Pros: inexpensive, works great, takes yellow/orange brassiness
Cons: none
"after bleaching my hair twice to a very light blond and resulting in brass yellow/ orange tones, i used manic panics virgin snow thinking it would work since ive read so many good reviews on it, it did absolutely nothing. I left it on my hair for 45 minutes and it didnt even budge the brassiness. The following morning i went to sallys and bought wellas white lady and it worked amazingly. it took all the brassiness out within the 10 minutes i left it in my hair and it made it the white that i had wanted. i would highly recommend this product to anyone trying to rid of the brassiness as a result from bleached hair! will certainly use this toner again!"
Review 2 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellie0071
Location: NJ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Toner For Very Cool Blondes
Date:August 3, 2011
Pros: great and effective
Cons: none
"Some people have said this smells harsh. Well, you definitely, DEFINITELY want to work in a well ventilated area when working with chemicals of this sort! It's a liquid dye and I find those tend to smell worse. HOWEVER, this is a great toner. Once you've bleached your hair to the level of paleness you need and only YELLOW remains, you will use this. If it is orange, don't use this one. Either bleach again until you reach the yellow stage or use another toner. Processing time is up to 30 minutes, however, you need to keep an eye on the development of this. Once you see the purple start to take, rinse it out! I apply with a 20 creme developer to help with the consistency to mildly damp hair and watch it. Then I rinse thoroughly, use a gentle shampoo, a ph balancing treatment and my aphogee 2-step protein treatment. I left my toner on a total of maybe 5 minutes. Pay attention to how quickly your hair takes the bleach and lifts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zoomzoom
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
T18 Toner is the BEST
Date:July 16, 2011
Pros: cuts out orange/yellow tones, leaves hair soft, smells great, easy to use with brush and bowl, no stinging on scalp, leaves hair very shiny
Cons: none
"I had med-dark brown hair(colour treated not natural) and decided to go back to blonde due to all the grey hair I'm getting. I did a two step bleaching process and got to a pale yellow with orange tint. I later found out I should of bleached a third time to get to an absolute pale yellow but I was afraid of damaging my hair. I used Wella pale blonde hair dye but because of the under tones left after bleaching, it came out too yellow blonde for my skin tone and I hated it.
I went back to Sally's and the sales associate suggested I try the T18 white lady. I have to say I thought she was crazy, but what excellent advice. I have used it three time in one week, left it on the recommended 35 minutes on the inside of package all three times and the first two times it cut down the yellow/orange significantly! The third time it got it to an almost ashy ultra light blonde and looks great. I haven't had any problem with hair turning purple because I left it the whole 35 minutes which let it process properly. It left my hair soft and manageable, but I did use an intensive conditioner after the two bleachings before using the T18 toner the first time, so maybe that helped. But additional times I didn't condition and it felt fine.
If you want to get rid of the yellow/orange tint after bleaching this is the best product for you to use. I am going back for more and keeping it stocked in my closet!! Use 20% vol cream developer not a liquid developer if you want to use bowl and brush application. It mixes up nice and the right consistancy not to drip.
I think if you are at a very pale blonde stage in bleaching and use this, it might turn it a purple hue because it is ment for removing yellow/orange tints in hair. You might want to use Silver Lady instead if your at the pale yellow stage."
Review 4 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KelSlo
Love
Date:June 12, 2011
"This is one of the best toners for white blonde hair I have used.I use this on barely towel dried hair,I work it in quick and only leave it on 5 minutes or so,or else,purple ends.Shampoo it out and apply a good treatment and voila,beautiful white blonde hair!
PS You MUST prelighten your hair to the palest yellow possible for this to work properly
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrandiC
Excellent Toner!
Date:May 29, 2011
Pros: works excellent, easy instructions
Cons: a bit thin so can be messy
"I used this to tone my bleached hair to platinum. Worked wonderfully! Took away all of the yellow left from bleaching! It was a bit thin to apply with a brush, so I will definitely get an applicator bottle for next time. Will definitely use again!"
Review 6 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BritRiot
Location: Minnesota
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
SNOW WHITE!
Date:May 1, 2011
Pros: snow white hair!, easy to use, do not exceed 10 minutes
Cons: packaging need to include better instructions
"I have recently been bleaching my hair out so that I can get rid of the black and go to white blonde. Obviously, with all the bleaching there was a lot of yellow and orange left over. I have read a lot of great reviews about this product, Wella White Lady Toner, and I have to say, it lived up to them all! Note: I used this toner with Wella 20 creme developer.
I left the toner on for 10 minutes, DO NOT EXCEED 10 MINUTES. I was afraid at first because at the 10 minute mark, my hair was purple. I got into the shower, and literally just sat there with my hair under the cold water for another 10 minutes. I DID NOT shampoo my hair, but I did use a moisturizing conditioner, then I got out and let it air dry.
It is LOVELY. My hair is snow white and beautiful. It pulled out all the yellow and I am so happy with the results. I am going to stock up on this stuff, let me tell you!!!"
Review 7 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
blondiexoxo
Location: Pennsylvania
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Very good toner
Date:April 26, 2011
Pros: pretty cheap, takes out yellow, turns bleached hair to a whitish color, not too severe
Cons: may need to use twice for unwanted orange tints
"this toner removes yellow but i still have a tad bit of orangey tones left in my hair. It did get rid of other orange tones because before using , there was spots in my hair where i could see the orange && now it is toned down. I am thinking about using it a second time to get rid of the remaining orange pieces that are here && there throughout my head. I am not understanding why people are saying this "washes out" in 3 washes? it is a permanent hair color && toner in one. it does fade like a normal color would but not in 3 washes i don't think. && for people claiming that this turned yur hair purple, you have to shampoo thoroughly. i shampooed about 3 times because i originally only did once but looked in the mirror real quick && seen purple so i continued to shampoo && after that, there was no more purple tints in it. So my advice would be to shampoo alot, the purple washes out."
Review 8 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
caseycatastrophe
Location: Alabama, AL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
turns bleached hair red and grey
Date:April 2, 2011
Pros: none!
Cons: everything!!!
"I hate this product!
I had heard so many mixed reviews from my co-workers... no this product turned my clients hair bright and dark red and silver...not white!
and her hair was pretty much white to start out with.
i have been doing hair for 19 years and i will NEVER use this again! please if your going for white hair DO NOT USE THIS!
"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mellow
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Terrible dry hair after use
Date:January 27, 2011
Pros: tones well, gets rid of brassiness
Cons: dry hair, purple hair
"3 stars only in my opinion. Don't get me wrong it works, gets rid of the brassy, but I only had it on my hair for 5 min and it turned my hair purple. I barely had time to finish my whole head that I had to rinse it out already. Make sure you have a deep treatment/conditioner afterwards if your hair is fragile.
I think I'm gonna stick with the Clairol brand. This was my first time trying Wella and I don't think I'll buy again for toners.
"
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NicH
5 minutes?
Posted October 15, 2011
I am almost sure you mean the color of the toner turned purple, NOT your hair. I've used this product numerous times, matter of fact I have it on my hair right now as I type this, and it has ALWAYS worked wonders.
And FYI, I've always used a level 10 developer, and have been able to leave it on my hair for up to an hour..
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 10 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unicorn
Location: Oregon
Color Charm White Lady
Date:December 17, 2010
Pros: balances silver lady, great color
"I was looking to tone down the brassy to my blond hair without making it to ashy. I mixed this with silver lady and it worked! I feel that it kind of washes out after about 5 shampoos though."
Review 11 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rainbowbeauty
amazing
Date:June 17, 2010
"This toner is way better than the clairol ones. I bleached my hair two times and it did turn a nice silver color. It took out the brassiness and gave my a sort of highlighted effect wich i love so much. Above that it took my pink out. So its cancels out the color. I will most definitely be using this product more often."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaestraSierra
Location: Haleah, Fl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best toner for white ever!
Date:June 15, 2010
Pros: easy to use, cheap, gives more than conventional hair dyes, more for your money, takes the yellow out, pale silver shine, conditions hair, no breakage, not as stinging as other products
Cons: smells
"After bleaching my hair to a light pale yellow (the pale yellow you see in young chicks; I used the bleach kit by Beyond the Zone), I mixed the 1.42 oz (I don't know why they say it's 1.5 oz when clearly on the box it isn't) with 3 oz of 30 volume developer. I also added 1 1/2 oz of water to get more of the stuff. I have a lot of hair (4 inch circumference when measured the ponytail) and long (at the shoulder blades), so I brought two boxes. I don't have enough for a third box, so I mixed each mixture with water to get more. Anyways I left it on for 40 minutes. My hair didn't came out white or lavender but it took down the young chick yellow color out and made it into a pale ash blonde color with white overtones. There is a silver shine to it too.... very pretty.
Yes, I will buy this product again in the future and more of it. I've also heard great things about Wellas' bleach kit so when I do retouches to my dark roots I'll buy that as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nikkita
Location: Califonia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Pretty much did what I wanted it to.
Date:June 12, 2010
"So I have used this quite a few times I have not liked how it doesn't last very long but when you have platinum hair, none of the toners stay for long, but this does last for about a month which for me is how long I need it to before I have to touch up.
Recently I went from black to platinum. I used color oops to strip the color out of my hair before bleaching with Blondor, which like the poster before me, it is the best stuff to use! It made it pale for me with one use, I think without blondor I couldn't have achieved my desired result. But it still had some yellow in it it wasn't the nice white I wanted, so I used a few different toners and they didn't do the job, so I bought this 30 vol developer and some unred and put it in my hair for almost 45 mins. I wasn't paying attention to time and my hair turned purple, which has happened to me before so no biggie, I have washed it 4 times and it looks much better. No more red, and I am happy I left it in for too long because now it is white.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blondieblonde
Location: Plainfield, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Toner - No Damage!
Date:May 7, 2010
Pros: easy to use on damp hair, just shampoo in
Cons: absolutely none!
"I have used this toner for awhile now. I use Wella Blondor powder and 20 volume developer. In my opinion, it's the best bleach out there and I have used a few. My hair is naturally dark blonde, but I bleach the top half. The first few times I used this toner, my hair turned purple! I don't know if the fact that I used a shower cap to keep the heat in had something to do with the fact that it was really purple, but the last time I used this toner, I used no shower cap and it turned out perfect! My hair is really white-blonde. I don't know how long it will last, but I don't have a problem re-toning a month from now if necessary to keep this PERFECT color! I'm really happy with my color now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jason
Location: Boston, MA and Los Angeles, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent results- totally modern
Date:April 11, 2010
Pros: incredible whitening/toning.
Cons: not available in a gel.
"LOVE the resulting color that this toner delivers! Takes out the brassiness and "chicken fat yellow" of bleaching and leaves hair white- WHITE! I get stopped almost every day and complimented on my hair, thanks in part to this toner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Britta
Location: SF, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
No Brassiness
Date:November 29, 2009
Pros: minimizes brassiness, gentle on hair
"As a toner this one really does it's job well. It neutralized the yellow/orange in my bleached hair and cooled my mane with nice violet tones. I've heard it helps condition the hair shaft after it's been processed. Seems true to me. I have a few bottles of this toner in my house because I use it a lot and I love it!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sexii
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
best toner
Date:June 1, 2009
Pros: tones well
"this toner works great..it tones any yellow, brassiness ur hair has from bleach i have platinum hair and this toner brightens my blondes..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T18
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlondeBombshell
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product!!
Date:December 20, 2008
Pros: works fast
"This is a great product! Gets rid of the yellow to make my hair white."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.