Product Reviews

Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10

Wella+Color+Charm+Liquid+Permanent+Hair+Color+offers+a+variety+of+shade+combinations+for+creative+colorists%2C+and+simple%2C+one-bottle+usage+for+novices.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
8 of 12(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Review 1 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hair0bsesseD
Location: LVC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
PRINCESS BLOND, Blue-Violet Based, Left it longer
Date:September 27, 2011
Pros: blue-violet based, comb-able during application
Cons: doesn't remove all brassiness, still have a lot of "orange" tones
"Today is 9/27/11.
This review is for the: “Wella” Color Charm | Liquid | Permanent | Hair Color”.
1.42 oz/bottle
Online = $5.79
Beauty Club Card = $4.79
It’s basically the WELLA TONER for short. I bought the shade called “PRINCESS BLOND”. But un42n8ly, I guess they discontinued it! Shame kind of…There used to be 8 different Wella Toners, but now there’s only 6.
About my hair: I have naturally straight, medium-length (a lil past my shoulders), fine-medium hair, color-treated several times, highlighted several times, never been fully bleached all-over, naturally dark (level 1-3). I think it says u leave it on max half hour, but I left it on 1.5 hr. I think if I left it on any shorter, it wouldn’t have removed as much brass. But then again, it also left my hair looking a little “green”. I think if I left it on shorter, it wouldn’t have had that green tint. So I guess you weigh the pros and cons yourself. Btw: after I’ve showered a couple times (days apart), the green went away.
I used the toner about a week after I dyed my hair. My roots were slightly showing. The toner actually made my dark roots less visible! =) Although it did not completely dye my entire root growth. It dyed my roots a brown-ish color. I wish I had a camera, so I could post a bunch of pix 4 u guyz. I used a plastic applicator bottle and a crème developer. I think I used a 30v developer, but I’m not sure. Either way, the sally’s website product pg says u can use 20 or 30V. I used a 1:2 ratio like the box says. I put the developer in and then the toner. After I rinsed it out, it made my hair feel a little dry/brittle/coarse, so I massaged a deep conditioner, put on a shower cap, and rinsed after about 5 (or more) minutes.
The “Princess Blonde” and the “Ivory Lady” are both “Blue-Violet Based”. When I was in the store, I was deciding which one to pick (out of the two I previously mentioned.).
They’re both basically the same since:
1) they’re both blue-violet based
2) the store hair swatch was the like the same shade.
I guess the only difference is that the “Princess Blond” was just a teensy bit DARKER than the “Ivory Lady”. So, I went with Princess Blond. Although this is for Ivory Lady, I’m writing this review for Princess Blond, b/c obvs the Princess Blond is gone or discontinued (at least from Sallys site?!?!)
Since my hair has “orange” and “yellow” brassiness that needs to be fixed; I had to get a “blue-violet” based toner. ORANGE hair needs BLUE toner. YELLOW hair needs PURPLE toner. Why? These colors are OPPOSITE each other on the color wheel. If you use a blue toner on yellow hair, you’ll get green hair! Why? Blue + Yellow = Green. When you mix blue and yellow together, you get the color in between…which is green!
Another reason I decided to buy “Princess Blond” (instead of Ivory Lady) is b/c it’s just a tiny bit darker. My hair mostly had orange tones and only a few yellow tones that needed to be fixed. Also, my hair is a color-treated Light Brown (Level 6 Warm) with several shades of blonde (Level 7+ highlights)
[CONCLUSION]
It only removed about half (at the most) of the brassiness in my hair. The yellow tones is mostly gone (I only had a few anyway). The orange tones were still there. Although I did not have as much “orange” as before. Also, the intensity of the “orange” has toned down. Although, after a couple weeks worth of shower, the orange tones usu. tone down a lil bit (w/o toner). Overall, it works…kinda. It just wasn’t a miracle or savior. I guess I’ll need to do this twice or trice (or possibly more) for it to rly kick in and REMOVE ALL BRASSINESS once and for all !!! I would recommend it if you have orange & yellow tones you need fixed, but don’t expect all of it to be removed in one application !
PS - I’ll update this review, if needed !"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patribella
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Miracle Product
Date:September 18, 2011
Pros: works perfectly
"After going through two bleach processings, my hair was a bright, inhuman orange color - with yellow roots. It was so ridiculously bright & alien looking that I dreaded even going to the grocery store. The day after my second bleach, I went to Sally's and was recommended this product, Wella's Ivory Lady to get my hair back into a natural shade, while still keeping it light. At this point, I was willing to try anything. I walked out of Sally's with over a dozen products to try - all of which failed, EXCEPT Ivory Lady. This stuff totally transformed my hair from a disgusting looking orange & yellow disaster into a beautiful, entirely natural looking champagne blonde - it blended my roots and length perfectly. The color did very slightly darken my hair color a bit, which I didn't want. But, I believe this was a necessary evil to entirely tone out the orange. I put the toner with a 30v developer in my combed, knot free hair when it was WET all over (not sopping wet, but still wetter than towel dried) left the toner on my length for 20 minutes and on my roots for 10. I heard many people say that they only needed 5 minutes total, but this was not the case for me. After the 20 minutes, I got in the shower and lightly ran a sulfate-free shampoo (One 'n Only' - Argan Oil Shampoo) through the length, then did an anti-oxidizing/cuticle closing treatment (Ion After Color Treatment - smells amazing & really helps to regulate the natural pH after coloring) and then blow drying my hair (low heat), the most beautiful ashy champagne blonde came to light. My hair was fixed! I was saved! This product is a god send & I will always be keeping some handy in my beauty cupboard.
Tips: Do not deep condition your hair directly after using this toner, it will soften the cuticle and release some of the toner thereby quickly fading your color. Just wait 3 or 4 days before washing & deep conditioning you hair again. And, always ALWAYS use a sulfate-free shampoo if you want your color to last.
Also, do a strand test to see how long you need to leave the toner in for the color you desire, as proper timing is going to be different for everyone and depends on the type, condition and color of your hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracylol
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Great if used properly.
Date:June 21, 2011
Pros: works fast, tones orange-y hair to blonde
Cons: not meant for correcting yellow-blonde.
"PLEASE READ MY REVIEW BEFORE CONSIDERING!
I see a lot of bad reviews on this particular shade of toner (Ivory Lady) and I can tell you exactly why. This toner is not meant to be used on yellow blonde or even gold hair. This is more for hair that has been lifted to a ginger/coppery/orange blonde. The toner is mostly a blue base, with a bit of violet. If you use on hair that has been lifted to yellow/gold or even lighter its going to come out a funky shade of extreme ashy grey. When used on a more orange blonde the results will be a cool, neutral blonde depending on the degree of lightness. If you are searching for a pale, platinum blonde you can obtain it by bleaching your hair pale yellow and using wella WHITE lady toner, not IVORY lady. White lady is violet based to counteract yellow tones, whereas Ivory lady is better for counteracting orange-y shades."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KMarie
Posted September 5, 2011
This was very helpful :)
I'm just a little conserned because my hair is mostly a light orangey blonde but there are some lighter yellow streaks. Will this product turn the yellow areas too ashy (i.e. greyish)?Im wondering if the White Lady would be better? I want to go more of a neutral blonde.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 4 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
katalyst
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Dirty blonde?
Date:April 6, 2011
"I was hoping to bring my light yellowy blonde hair to a platinum white with this, but it ended up being not, white, not even gray or purple, but dirty blonde? Disappointing."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sassired8
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Maybe some help???
Date:March 27, 2011
Pros: heard good reviews from others
Cons: turned my hair very ashy
"Ok so I used this on my yellowing bleach blonde hair and left it on a bit too long I guess...10 mins and I got the nasty ashy color....I have heard sooooooooooo many good things about this toner so I hate to say I don't like it....How can I tone it down to the platinum blonde it shows on the pic??? And would it be smarter to use 30 vol next time??? I have heard of ppl using 30 instead of 20...."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blondeagain
Location: Texas
AMAZING
Date:March 24, 2011
Pros: removed the brassiness, easy to apply, works fast
"Okay so I should start off by saying that I put my hair through some serious torture over the past couple months and I do not recommend it to anyone, buuut I dyed my naturally light ash blonde hair a dark reddish brown (probably an 8-8.5 level) about 4 months ago. I decided I was sick of it last week and attempted to bring it back to blonde without going to a salon. I first used Colorfix once and that brought it to a medium-5 orange color (this was the expected result as it is hard to remove the orange and red undertones in ANYONE's hair) Anyway, I didn't want to strip it again so I bleached it twice until it was a medium yellow color with orange highlights! Once again, this was the expected effect I knew it was going to be a long process to bring it back to a light ash blonde color. I then used COLORFUL Color Protein Filler in Platinum #3 and left it on for about 20 minutes, it did absolutely nothing for the color of my hair. I sped back to Sally's and picked up more bleach and the Manic Panic toner/mixer in Snow White. I first tried to bleach my hair another time but it hardly took any of the color off, so I followed up with the Manic Panic toner and that did nothing as well. I knew it would be a process, but I was beginning to really freak out because everything that had worked for other people on the review sites wasn't working at all for me and I really couldn't budge the medium yellow/orange from my hair even with bleach! Wellll, I finally went back and bought the Wella toner in IVORY LADY, I put it on for just under 10 minutes and BAM my hair is PERFECT! It is now a light ashy blonde with subtle golden undertones (I could have gotten rid of the gold completely if I would have left it on longer but I was afraid of turning it grey/violet). Long story short, if nothing is working for your brassiness in your bleached hair I would definitely recommend trying this toner out, it did what NO OTHER PRODUCT would do!
Note: I keep my hair in great condition all the time and DT it frequently. I also used a protein filler in between EVERY chemical process to ensure even porosity!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sweetjay
lifeee savor
Date:March 6, 2011
Cons: kinda pricey
"iv had this disgusting yellowy hair color until i went to sallys and purchased this. uneasy at first if it wuld work. but it more def did! got alot of the yellowy tones out. i will buy more."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ValleyGirl
Location: San Francisco
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Beautiful Neutral cool blonde
Date:March 1, 2011
Pros: works fast
"This toner takes out the yellow in my hair. I have used it for almost 2 years. I bleach my roots and then add this toner on my roots. Why all the bad reviews???? Because you are leaving the toner on WAY too long! Watch it close. and when you see the yellow fade, wash it out! I only leave it on my roots for 3 to 5 minutes max. If you leave it on any longer you will get grey purple nasty hair! It works very fast just don't take your eye off it! Apply, watch it in the mirror and as the yellow turns a beautiful white wash it out. Even if its only been a few minutes, this stuff gets the job done!!! Love it!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lewis8374
Location: Dover,FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
HORRIBLE
Date:February 4, 2011
"This is the 3rd time of trying different colors of wella toner that has turned my hair grey!! I was horrible looking this last time.. I finally asked a friend who was a hair stylist what to do. She told me to use bleach/peroxide/shampoo, put in your hair like your shampooing it and let it sit for 10 min. it finally got rid of most all the grey! I wish they still had clairol toner!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JillyWillyBean
Location: Ontario
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
what a mess.
Date:January 3, 2011
Pros: cheap
Cons: very itchy, smell is very harsh, turned my hair grey/green has to use ketchup!
"I just had to create an account on sally's to write and warn people about my experience with this stuff. Im a college student and so I dont have enough money to go to the salon every 3 weeks for touch ups. I decided i wanted to change my blonde from yellowie platinum blonde to a ivory colour but all my sally store had was "ivory blonde plus" which is blue instead of purple when it goes on. BIG MISTAKE. since i barely had a lot of yellow in my hair INSTANTLY when i washed my hair out it went grey and green, i was on the verge of tears. i simply then googled and realized that ketchup and tomato soup would counteract with the green. Thankfully it went ivory after all that long work and i also did a rinse with dish soap ( palmolive). never the less, it turned out great and looking through reviews with most of the other blondes they tend to work out but for my unfortunate incident iam proven wrong."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NoPro
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
DO NOT BUY
Date:August 13, 2010
"I agree with the other review. It is a weird shade of gray. I just did it and washed it several times and some has came out. But not enough for the blonde shade I was hoping for. Tried this cause they were out of the Clairol one I bought the last time. Which wasn't exactly what I wanted either but much, much better than this. It cost a little more but more true to color. I wouldn't use this unless you do want some kind of gray color. And I don't think I even had it on but 10 mins at the most thank goodness I didn't leave it on the max 30 min! Does anyone have any suggestions on what toner I should use the next time. I bleach first, then put a toner on to get rid of the brassy. Thanks!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Color+Charm+Toner+%23T10
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GlitterGirl
Location: Highland, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good for price
Date:May 28, 2010
Pros: price, easy to use
Cons: will come out a bit too dark at first
"I wanted to go a little lighter, but the shade I wanted wasn't in stock, so I bought this one cause I'd heard it was still pretty light. I left it in for the full 30 minutes and my hair came out a very weird looking gray. It has gotten a little lighter but it didn't come out the way it had looked on the friend that suggested it to me. If this is the color you most definitely want, then go for it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.