Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sally Beauty.

D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener

Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener+keeps+hair+moist+during+the+lightening+process.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Review 1 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bethbabie
Location: Redding, California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Help can't find this anywhere
Date:January 30, 2011
Pros: lightens hair fast withoutt damage
Cons: always out of stock
"I love this product have used it for years and now no one has it. I have tried other products, but nothing works on my hair like Wellite. :( I am very unhappy that it has been out of stock now for almost 8 months. I really hope this product will still be made.Because it is an awsome product never makes my hair feel or look like straw. Hoping and praying it will be back soon."
Review 2 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlackNBlonde
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Happily A Blonde
Date:August 8, 2010
Pros: no drip, cost not bad, nice package, semi-easy instructions
Cons: burns after awhile
"I think this was a really good purchase. I usually buy the little packet of Clariol Pro. Lightening agents or whatever and mix that with a 40 vol. activator. So I heard about this and decided to get it. Its really good. It didnt get my hair all the way white. Although the blonde streak I had did go white. I used shimmering lights conditioner, Pink shampoo, and some Roux? white stuff.. haha, it brings out the beauty of grays (thats what the gray and pink bottle says).
But the process was painless. I mix my clariol professional 40 vol. activator stuff with the packet of wella lightening agents... That stuff was vail! I breathed it in accidently and felt as if i was gonna lose a lung. But after that i added in the oil... lets just say that stuff got thick! But i like that it was thick and didnt drip. so that was awesome. -used on teenaged "ethnic" hair that was previously abused. =]
OH And its semi-easy instructions because I thought everything i would need would be in the box. good thing i always keep an extra bottle of Carol around.
Also, I'm only at like a light blonde. Strawberry blonde.... so yeah. I'm going all white tomorrow, I'll tell you tomorrow if i completely fry my hair by bleaching it two days in a row."
Review 3 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaestraSierra
Location: Haleah, Fl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Better and cheaper than the rest!
Date:July 2, 2010
Pros: cheap, lots of product, not damaging, adds oil, turns dark hair to pale yellow in one step, easy to use one step bleaching kit
Cons: wish it came with deep after color conditioner
"I have a lot of long thing hair and needed to retouch my roots without breaking the bank. I found this little box as a miracle. It gives you a lot for your money. This one box was enough to cover my dark brown roots. If I were to cover my lower back length hair I may need to get three boxes, but for 5 bucks each it's more win than going through a salon which can cost me over $80.
This is what I did... I just mix the oil with the powder activator (the main bleach powder) with double the amount of developer. For example, for me I used 2oz of the oil and 2oz of the activator, so I will need 4oz of developer. I also mixed a little bit of water into the mix so that it wouldn't get stuck in the opening of the bottle during application. I then applied the product to my hair and waited 40mins. I then washed out the product with luke warm water. During washing the product out, I noticed my hair felt better than it did before. As if I did a oil treatment. There wasn't any dry, straw feel at my roots. Amazing. Most bleaches damage hair easily and breaks off but not this baby. It conditioned my hair.
After washing and drying, the results were shocking it turned my dark hair into a pale yellow. I then used one application of white toner which turned my hair to the same white color as the rest of my hair. It's as if a professional did my roots. I'm definitely sticking with Wella for now on for my hair color needs. For dressing or leave-in-conditioner I use VO5 conditioning hairdressing for gray/white/silver blonde hair. It prevents split ends and breakage after a deep conditioner (Use ION after hair color treatment it's the best) and hair dry.
I hope my review helped and have a wonderful day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bethzy
Location: Chicago, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Bleach!!! Since discontinued...
Date:June 18, 2010
Pros: everything!
Cons: a little pricey
"This WAS one of the best bleaches I had ever used and recently found out it's discontinued. I went to my local Sallys to buy a box for my next dye job and they were all out so I was recommended Ion Color brilliance Powder lightner (bleach) and Ion color brilliance 20 v developer. Boy, this stuff is better! I only had to bleach my black hair once and after 45 minutes it was the blondest I've EVER been in my life! With wella I had to use it twice PLUS A TONER for the lightest color. This needs NO TONER. It's Non drying, quick, and has blue ting to remove undertones and brass orange. I have no damage. Doesn't burn scalp. Conditions. Product smells nice! Just search and read the reviews for it here! I was scared and skeptic but SO GLAD I TRIED IT! I recommend avid Wella users to TRY ION COLOR BRILLIANCE!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
DISCONTINUED!!!
Date:June 11, 2010
Pros: very gentle to my fragile fine hair, no toner needed- no bight orange with this bleach, processed quickly with only 20 volume, salon results
Cons: it was discontinued!
"Why do companies discontinue wonderful products and keep the stinkers?? Ive tried many bleaches over the past 20 years, and this bleach was THE BEST. It was able to bring up my level 5 brown hair to a really light cool blonde -WITHOUT a toner. My hair gets orange/brassy with most bleaches -but not with this one. It seems as if my hair skips the offensive orange stage with this bleach? Strange, but true.Also, I only used a 20 volume developer -no need for a higher volume with this wonderful bleach. It processed quickly too -I only needed to leave it on for about 1/2 hour! The best part is that it never damaged my dry,fine, fragile hair. After bleaching, my hair was always bright, shiny, and smooth -not dry and crunchy like with other bleaches. Write the company and tell them to PLEASE BRING BACK THIS BLEACH!!!!"
Review 6 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LisaMarie
Location: CT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Bleach Ever
Date:June 10, 2010
Pros: left hair soft and in great condition, no toner needed, lightened super fast, very gentle
Cons: it's been discontinued
"I just found out this item has been discontinued! I'm very sad about the news and I just bought 10 boxes online! LOL This bleach is so great for on the scalp bleaching! My hair lightened so fast I didn't even have time to go under the dyer and it left my roots white. No toner was needed. I also added some Argan oil to the mixture too. My hair felt so soft and nice, you'd never guessed I just bleached it! Other bleaches have causes serious breakage and left my hair super super dry."
Review 7 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jutza
Location: Colorado
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Wella is the best
Date:February 14, 2010
"This bleach is predictable and does not damage the hair as much as other bleach products. I always use Wella color products, and the same holds true with this cream lightener. I wished that Wella did not discontinue the Frost & Tip because it was a better lightener than this one, but this is the replacement product so what can you do? lol
It works well with a cream developer at either a 30 or 40 volume.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hellojkuju
Location: Beverly Hills, California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
BEST BLEACH EVER
Date:January 15, 2010
Pros: lightens fast and wonderful, sometimes dont need a toner
Cons: the smell can make you feel mucusy
"the first time i used this it did the best bleach job ever, use this if you want to go platinum or any other pale shade of blonde. And sometime dont need a toner"
Review 9 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ali87
Location: Des Moines, IA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
BEST BLEACH!!
Date:November 28, 2009
"This product is hands down the best bleach on there for on scalp. I bleach my hair every 5-7 weeks and only spend about 10 dollars now! I use to spend 100 every 3 months. I use 30 volume developer instead of the recommended 20 so I don't have to leave it on as long although I still leave it on for an hour! I only do my roots just so I don't damage the already bleached blonde. I also tone it to get that pretty whiteish look (I dont like the yellow tone! thats just me though)! I use Clairol toner 301 white beige(with 20vol) and leave that on for about ten mintues...maybe a little less. This stuff goes a long way for the money! It is only 7 bucks and it last me two applications. So it cost me 7 dollars every 14 weeks!!!!!!!!! THE BEST!!!! and you can put it ON YOUR SCALP! the oil in it makes it less damaging to your hair as well. You are gonna need a really really good deep moisturizing conditioner though as every bleaching product drys out hair. I hope this helps!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
epheme
Location: Richmond VA
Works, but you may need multiple applications
Date:October 8, 2009
Pros: economical, effective, gentler than other bleaches
Cons: may need multiple applications, need toner afterward
"The advantage of this product over others (like Quick Blue/Kaleidocolors) is that it is MUCH better for your hair. My hair felt very damaged after using quick blue, but this makes it feel great.
I would definitely use this again and want to try it in other ways. I did an all-over bleach and it lifted 3-4 levels with very little damage. If you are trying to go lighter, simply re-apply. I have shoulder length hair that's not fine or thick and it took the whole box, so if you have thick, long hair buy a few.
Pick up some toner as well to tone down the unwanted yellow/orange left and you should be happy with the results.
"
Review 11 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BleachBlondie
Great bleach for lighter hair
Date:June 30, 2009
Pros: comes with enough bleach to do long/thick hair
Cons: bottle application is easier w/clear developer
"I received a professional bleach from a friend and it stripped a few shades off my natural dark ash blonde roots, but it left my hair feeling very dry. After reading the reviews for this product, I bought 2 boxes (to make sure I had enough to do my hair). I was pleasantly surprised with the lifting capability of this product and it did not dry out my hair as bad as the "professional only" bleach I initially used. This was also the second all over bleaching that I did within about a 24 hr period. Highly recommended for the amount per package for the price and the lifting ability.
My hair is mid back length, dark ash blonde, and very thick. I used 20 volume creme bleach (applied with a brush), 1/2 of one box, and kept it on for about 35-45 mins."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blondie26
Location: Oklahoma
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
THE BEST!
Date:April 26, 2009
Pros: will get you blonde!, cost efficient
"I have naturally dark brown hair. I have been going to get it profesionally bleached/toned for a couple years and it gets expensive so i thought I would try it out on my own! I had tried a "box" kit from Walgreens so I had about an inch of dark brown, then brassy orange, then blonde (my hair is very long). When I applied it I wasnt even completely done and the hair that I had done was lifted almost to a 10! So I left it on for about 30 and washed it out. It was completely a 10 and completely even color!Itof course it had a little yellow (normal), but it had lifted WAY better then even the salon would do! I followed by the Wella 9NA demi color (toner)and its perfect. My hair, being long and colored a lot was not damaged. Its great and so much less expensive then a salon, and I can do it on my own time!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nifer76
Location: Wisconsin
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Gentle
Date:April 24, 2009
Pros: didn't smell too bad
Cons: didn't consistantly remove color.
"This product worked about as expected. I have medium brown hair and left this on for 1hr and my hair still was orange which I hope to correct with a toner. The package does not explain that you need to purchase other items to make it work. When you buy it, open the box and read the instructions to see what else is needed. Well even if I am left with orange hair, a plus is this product didn't make it fall out. :o)"
Review 14 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Preciosa
Location: Orlando, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Lightener
Date:April 7, 2009
"I have used this Wella brand for the last 10 years. it is great for highlightening. Simple to mix and quick developer. I would not trade it"
Review 15 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slimkat
Location: Louisville KY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
WElla Viola!
Date:March 20, 2009
Pros: fast and effective, hair isn't brassy or orange
Cons: needs instruction insert and other supplies
"Used this prodcut and it lifted my hair into a beauty blonde within 10 minutes. You get 4 packets so if you have short hair this product can go along way- great buy!"
Review 16 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tayesmama
Location: San Diego, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Fantastic lightener
Date:February 18, 2009
"This is a GREAT product. With one application, it took my naturally level 2/3 hair to a high blonde with no problems. I did an on-scalp treatment and covered with a shower cap and it worked perfectly. I highly recommend this product. And best of all, it comes with two applications in the box."
Review 17 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Limolady
Great Product
Date:January 2, 2009
"This product is great if you have naturally dark hair and dye it blonde. Mine turns orange with regular strength dyes, but with this product it takes it a nice blonde color!"
Review 18 for D+Wella+Wellite+Cream+Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tahitigirl
Best Lightener
Date:November 13, 2008
Pros: gentle, fast, easy
"In my opinion, this is the best Lightener on the market. It takes my naturally dark brown hair all the way up to a level 10 blonde (pale yellow). At the same time, it is gentle on my hair and does not cause breakage or damage."