Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System

The Emjoi Epi Silk rechargeable hair removal system removes hair from the root for up to six weeks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
19 of 23(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Review 1 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OCDbeautynerd
Location: Saint Louis
Could be better
Date:October 21, 2012
"I have had this epilator for about 4 years now and find myself rather apathetic about it. Yes it does remove a large portion of the hairs by the root, but it also breaks off a lot of the smaller hairs causing a lot of bumpy skin :( I just ordered the eMagine Emjoi epilator and have used a friend's -- it gets even the smaller hairs by the root. If you do get this model, its advisable to replace the tweezer head yearly or it will start breaking more hairs off versus pulling them out."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Aishah2318
Location: South Jersey
Not a good product for me
Date:July 16, 2012
"I bought this product hoping to not spend so much time shaving and I could shave in or out of the shower. Well, this definitely didn't work. Barely took any hair off my legs and that was even after 10 to 15 minutes doing it. I tried this on my arms and it seemed to work better, lol. Don't know why that is. Just wasn't a good buy for me. I also didn't like the pain so much. Even though you get used to it after the first minute or too, it still is just annoying. This definitely didn't work for me."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sagr
Location: Weston, Fl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
A good product for the price
Date:April 20, 2012
Pros: not expensive
Cons: requires several attemps, pinch, noisy, painful
"It's a good product for the price, the cord is long enough and plugged works better. If you are in a hurry don't use this method, because it takes time; is painfull for most people and some times you have to take breaks to recover from pain, and it leave pink dots in the skin (where every hair was removed) that could take several hours to disappear. Results are similar to waxing but without the mess. My only complain about the product itself is that I have to work over the same zone several times in order to remove all the hair. I'm comparing this product with my previous one (from a different brand) wich not only removed more hair in every attemp, but also hurt me more. I recommend to do it using circular movements as another costumer suggest and following first, then going against the hair growing direction and most of the hair will be removed. (but I don't recommend it if you have very sensitive skin) and always tense the skin if you are working in an area where the skin is loose, or has folds because it can pinch you."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shanta12
Location: DALLAS TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
OKAY PURCHASE
Date:March 20, 2012
Pros: long cord
Cons: very loud, misses hairs so you have to go over some spots
"SO I GOT THIS PRODUCT AB A YEAR AGO & ITS A PRETTY GOOD PRODUCT AND ALL BUT I JUST HATE THAT IT SO FREAKING LOUD. THE SOUND IS SO INTIMIDATING SO IT TAKES LONGER FOR ME TO GET D JOB DONE LOL BUT OVERALL IT GETS D JOB DONE BUT I WILL BE TRYING SOME OTHER ONES SOON"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovebeinghairfree
Location: ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
good buy
Date:March 2, 2012
Pros: can use on the go because its cordless
"I purchased the Epi/silk about 4 to 5 months ago. It works very well. I use it mainly for my face. As a guy I am tired of shaving every day. I tried waxing for about 6 years which works well however it was messy. When I saw the Epi/ silk I thought I would give it a try. Not very expensive and does the job. It does hurt when using it on the upper lip. The rest of the face does not hurt as bad. I use it on my arms, underarm, legs and privates. It leaves me hair free and smooth for several weeks. I would certainly recommend it to anyone."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leename
Location: AL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Great Introduction to Epilation
Date:June 15, 2011
"I bought this on sale with my pro card, so it was much cheaper than the regular price now. This is why I'm only giving it 4 stars for value for price (regular price is a tad steep).
First thing I'd like to note is that the first epilator I received was damaged and would only charge if the cord was held at an odd angle. I returned it for a new one which I've had for almost 6 months and which has yet to give me any problems whatsoever, but I recommend giving yours a good once-over when you buy it. Demand an exchange if it doesn't work!
This is a small item, which is both a pro and a con. It may be a bit small for all-over epilation (though I use it that way), but it's comfortable in the hand and easy to carry. The included bag comes in handy and is attractive. The top that covers the tweezers on the epilator is poorly designed and falls off easily which is a nuisance, but not a major fault (I don't see the point of it anyway). The color is pleasing, the included brush cleans well, and the cord is nice and long (perhaps almost too long, so I keep mine twist-tied in a bundle).
The actual epilation process is going to vary greatly for each person. For me, having waxed for almost a year, I barely feel it (and I'm being totally honest). I was worried the product would pinch, but I've used it all over and it has yet to do so. It has a built-in safety setting that causes the tweezers to slow and stop if pressure is applied to them and it works well.
The battery lasts a good while on a full charge, but it's a hard-working product so be ready to keep it plugged in for big jobs. For some reason, it is much more powerful and faster moving when used plugged-in. Battery is a bit more sluggish but still works well enough. It's noisy. Be prepared for that.
The manual states that the user should use it in quick forward strokes, but I find it much easier to use it in small circular motions since it catches the most hairs that way. This may be personal preference.
I'm giving this 5 stars because, while I'm sure there are better products out there, this is an excellent product for the price at which I purchased it (~$35)."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
teacher
Location: Northwest
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works well
Date:August 24, 2010
Pros: good price.
Cons: it stings quite a bit on the upper lip and other s
"I just got this about a week ago and have used it 3 times. My skin is pretty sensitive so it left bumps on my arm, but they were gone in a couple of hours. It works well on my upper lip, but makes my eyes water from the stinging! I haven't had much luck with the coarse hairs on my chin, but I'll keep trying."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flybaby
Location: Mississippi
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Exactly what I wanted - LOVE IT
Date:August 1, 2010
Pros: good price compared to others with less features, works as advertised
Cons: works well on face but would like smaller one
"I researched epilators after my old one died (don't leave the batteries in when you aren't using it). After reading reviews I purchased this one at my local Sallys store. I did find I could order this one a little cheaper from other places, but I prefer the hands-on purchasing and no hassle return locally. I read the instuctions and FOLLOWED them. I actually went a step further and wiped my skin lightly with alcohol to make sure all oils were removed. I knew to expect the tweezing sensation, but it actually seemed less painful than my previous epilator. I put a towel down and used it while I watched TV and went over my skin several times until I didn't feel any more 'tweezing'. For the first time in YEARS my legs actually felt smooth, as did my face. My 6 year old grandaughter actually noticed how smooth my legs felt, many days later. I think I prefer a smaller epilator for my face, and plan on purchasing a facial epilator from sallys. But I will not ever give this epilator up because it works on legs, armpits, other personal areas, and it does work on the face very well, but I plan on the smaller one to use just on my face. I love the corded/cordless feature, and find it seems to work better when plugged in, but performs adequately on batteries. If you can't stand even mild discomfort - don't purchase ANY epilator because it is like tweezing more than one hair at a time. After you use this awhile, it seems less hair grows back and you actually need to use it less and less. It doesn't promise this, it just seems that way for me. i used it on my upper lip, chin and all over my cheeks. My face still feels smoother than it ever has and my makeup goes on so much easier. My face has never ever felt this smooth. I didn't realize the downy like fuzz on my face that I couldn't hardly see made such a difference when its gone."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lis1279
Location: Nashville, TN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worth the money...and the pain
Date:July 28, 2010
"I have had my Emjoi for about two weeks now and I'm in love with it! I have been "blessed" with too much hair... everywhere. I was so tired of shaving EVERY day so I started looking for other alternatives. Waxing seemed expensive considering that the hair will grow back again and again, so I researched epilators and found that Emjoi is one of the best brand with good reviews all over the place. Knowing that Sally's carries this product made it even more trustworthy in my opinion.
When I got it home I couldn't wait to use it. I intentionally let my hair grow out a bit on my legs as the length of the hair Is important for the Emjoi to work properly.
I started the process by exfoliating my legs, arms and underarms really well then after making sure that my skin was good and dry I started with the emjoi.
OUCH! yes, it hurt. Yes I considered stopping and just giving up but as I went on the pain did become quite manageable and the results were pretty impressive. Like I said before, I have a massive amount of hair so I repeated the process again the next day and then also a few days after that as well. It's been two weeks now and I just used it again last night. I haven't had to shave since I bought this thing! It's amazing.
But it's not magic. The hair will grow back again. Maybe with time it will be less and less but for now I can only be patient and wait to see how this process goes. Either way, I'm happy with this product.
Also, I'm a fair skinned redhead, so my skin will get very red very fast with irritation and typically will stay irritated for a while. After using the emjoi the first time there was like a red rash from where the hairs were pulled out but when I awoke the next morning they were gone.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Las Vegas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good Buy
Date:March 12, 2010
Pros: great for the price
Cons: none!
"I just got sick and tired of shaving every other day if not every day and waxing which always did a shotty job anyways so I bought this. I read all the reviews and I do not have any regrets! Now some part do hurt like the underarms but its better than shaving all the time and getting razor burn. I also suggest buying some aloe vera gel to put on after it really sooths the skin. All in all I love it! No more shaving & no more waxing YAY!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaBellaVita04
Location: Coral springs, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Heaven Sent
Date:February 18, 2010
Pros: cute design efficiant free accessories, well packaged sturdy design
Cons: better to use when plugged in, a little messy a bit hard to clean afterwards
"I suffer from PCOS. A side-affect from PCOS is MALE PATTERN HAIR GROWTH!! I get hair everywhere my arms, chest, back, and even my face. I would spend a fortune on razors, creams, shaving cream, you name it. Waxing even got to be a bit pricey. On top of that my face has skin discoloration on top of razor bumps from in-grown hairs. I was getting so depressed and fed up with everything. I saw this on a review on Youtube.com. I shop at Sally's for everything and I was so happy to see they carried this specific name brand in epilators. I purchased it and it seems to work well. My hair is course so I have to go over it a few times, but it's still quicker and more efficiant than a razor and regular shaving. I'm excited about this because I don't have to shave as often and I can finally control the facial hair growth on my face and use a fade cream to even it my skin tone out without having to keep shaving and getting nowhere I can let a fade cream actually let itself work. I am so happy I cried at the results!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cosmokc
Location: Great Bend, Kansas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
excellent product
Date:December 28, 2009
Pros: convient, minimal pain
"i love this product. it works very well and is a great comparison to waxing. i dont even hardly shave my legs anymore b/c this works so much better. (i shave missed spots) In my opinion the pain comparison to waxing is slightly more, but once you start using it after a bit the pain subsides. Its way more convenient than waxing as i can do this really quick before doing something or even in the car on my way. highly reccomend"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tina1234
Location: Monterey Park,CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Fulfilled my expectation!
Date:November 13, 2009
Pros: tweezes hair from root, if used properly leaves skin hairless and silky!, hair grows back more slowly since it was rooted., easy to clean, compact and convenient!
Cons: full charge doesn't last much long, if alot of hair may not get it all the 1st time, messy should do it over bathtub or sink.
"I just bought this machine 2 days ago, it has 2 settings: 1 for finer hair, 2 for courser hair.
Does not come charged but can be used while charging, in fact, this machine really juices the power, after a complete lower leg shaving, the next time i turned it on, it was already slowing down..the best results i've obtained, was using while it was plugged in and charging.
This machine works great, but if you have alot of hair you will need to go over the area until it is completely hair free. Also, if you are fresh out of a warm/hot shower you will get better results because the pores are open.
If you are sensitive, it may be a little painful.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hairfree
Location: Oregon
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Very good
Date:October 4, 2009
"I just got this today and have done my underarms and legs and this is by far the best one I have tried. Perhaps if I wanted to spend 100-200 dollars I could find better but for the price it is great. Much easier and less messy than waxing. It is actually quite pain free,much less than waxing. Let's face it, you are pulling the hair out by the root so there will be a bit of pain. I have tried a number of different methods for hair free and this is the best so far. Very good!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plazak
Location: Victorville, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
It Works!
Date:July 25, 2009
Pros: it woks, hair decreases over time, not messy like wax
Cons: appliance pinches more as it gets older, wish it were less pricey
"I have been using this for facial hair removal for about two years. It pinches a bit, but I got used to it. It was no more uncomfortable than waxing, and there's no mess. Over time, I seem to have less facial hair, and what grows in has become thinner. At first, I used it every other day. Now, I use it once weekly or maybe twice - and my "moustache" and "beard" are GONE! It's a great product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NewBride09
Location: Charelston, WV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
OUCH!!
Date:July 22, 2009
"I was so excited to buy this product and could not wait to use it....I was very disapointed! It was very painful and did not even remove all the hair. It did remove some and half pulled out the rest to make my hair stick out longer than before I started. Dont waste your money! I returned the product for a full refund!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tmonay
Location: AZ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
better than waxing
Date:July 10, 2009
"I got this a while back and I love it!! To be honest the first time i used it, it was a little painful in the bikini area but nothing I couldn't handle. I think waxing hurts more. The results were amazing. I have thick coarse hair and I no longer shave because this lasts longer and the hair grows back thinner. I have a wax machine at home for my personal use and only use it for my eyebrows because it's more convenient that getting the wax machine warmed up and there is no messy wax clean up. I use it on my legs, underarms and legs and love it! Exfoliation is important to prevent ingrown hairs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hairless
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My solution
Date:February 4, 2009
"First of all I have really sensitive skin and really coarse hair that grows back the second that I I finish shaving. I thought that my only solution for my legs was laser removal but it was too pricey for me so I bought this product instead. I was wary at first but after I tried it I LOVED it. The first time I used it, I am not going to lie, my legs were super hairy so I am not sure if this contributed to the pain I felt because the second time that I did this was amazing with minimal pain. I used a suggestion of putting alcohol and then neosporin on epilated area. My hair grew back super slow and definitely thinner. I would recommend this product to everyone!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beautyjunkie99
Location: San Antonio, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
thrilled!
Date:October 20, 2008
Pros: easy to use, reliable results
"i had dark thick hair on my legs and under arms. after using this product regularly, my hair has grown back thinner and less noticeable. i even had someone ask isn't it painful when i wax. i just smiled and said i don't wax, i'm just lucky that way!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Emjoi Epi Silk Rechargeable Hair Removal System
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmyLGeek
Location: Toledo OH
It really works!
Date:September 18, 2008
Pros: easy to clean, cordless, inexpensive
"This product works. It really does't hurt all that much. I used to wax and this does not hurt as badly. I use it on my legs and bikini area. The wax did not always remove all the hair and I had to tweeze some of them anyway. This device removed all the hairs on my legs, even on my knees. It worked even better in the bikini area."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>