Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion

TANWISE DARK TANNING LOTION
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
16 of 19(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Review 1 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenW1
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great product! Loyal to this product
Date:May 1, 2014
Pros: good smell, lasts long (about 4+ days), doesnt streak, comparable color and duration to spray tan
"I have tried many self tanners of various brands. I LOVE this product and have recommended it to so many friends who state they want to go tanning or get spray tanned. I dropped my spray tan membership because this lasts as long, is inexpensive, smells good, and doesnt irritate my skin. If you dont have gloves and it is on your palms, use toothpaste and a washcloth to scrub it off and dry. Then apply to front of hands being careful of tan lines along thumb and pinkee sides"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TeaK
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great color, awful to rub in.
Date:April 9, 2014
Pros: natural color, great bargain, fast drying
Cons: streaky, rubs off easily
"I love that this product looks natural and dries fast. However, I can NEVER seem to get it to rub in and a few seconds later I have all these tanning streaks on me. I'm a pro self-tanner as I have tried so many of them. I exfoliate, I moisturizer, I use gloves and any other methods I've collected online. This tanner just doesn't seem to dry in a smooth look, but streaky and it rubs so easily on clothes."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shortcake83
Location: Midwest
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing Product!
Date:June 24, 2013
"This sunless tanner has well exceeded my expectations! I'd heard and read that it's a dupe for SUN Labs sunless tanner. One youtube guru said she compared ingredients and the only difference was that the SUN Labs contains aloe and Tanwise doesn't. This product applied quickly and evenly (I used vinyl gloves), dried fairly quickly, and gave me the most beautiful tan the next morning! What set this product apart from other sunless tanners for me was how DARK it made me from just one application, and how RICH the color was. It lasted really long too - 8 days - and faded evenly, which is impressive for such a dark product. For reference, I'm extremely fair-skinned as a MAC NC10-15/NARS Gobi and this didn't look the least bit orange on me! It was very brown and had a hint of peachyness that I love. I naturally tan very golden, to the point where it can look a bit orangey if I get really dark. This stuff gave me a tan that I like even more than my natural tan color! The ONLY slightly negative thing about this product for me was that the DHA/developing smell was pretty strong. I could even still smell it the next day, *after* I'd showered and put scented body lotion on. But it's definitely worth it for the result."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissMaggieLou2010
Location: Galloway, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
the best!!
Date:April 11, 2013
Pros: natural color, not a bad smell, instant color
Cons: none!!
"ive seen reviews on sunlabs which seems to be great but then I heard that this tanning lotion was the exact same thing so I bought it and im so happy with it!! I am pretty fair skinned so I just use this once a week maybe, sometimes less, when it starts to fade its not patchy, when you apply it its never streaky!! its amazing!! the color is perfect, bc it has a greenish tone to it, it doesn't leave you orangy or fake looking. and for the price you cant beat it!! this is all I will ever use, I even use it on my face and it doesn't break me out!! love it :)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SJoYouS
Location: Dartmouth NS
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Tanwise Lotion Review
Date:April 11, 2013
Cons: blotchy
"Not a huge fan. Dissapointed. The other reviews made it sound great. It made me blotchy. :("
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lilmissmoss
Good Value
Date:March 10, 2013
"Gives a nice brown color. I usually have to apply it a few nights in a row to get the desired darkness. Color last three to four days, however, does fade naturally. Smell of the product is nice. Tanwise use to have a mousse that was by far the best self-tanner I've EVER used; however, even though this lotion doesn't live up to the original mousse, it's still a nice product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Morgan123
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love this product!
Date:January 4, 2013
Pros: quick results
"I have used tons of tanning lotions and never seem to get the instant wow results as quick as I want. This product after about an hour on your skin is already tanning you, and you will continue to tan for hours afterwards. You need to immediately wash your hands the second you get done rubbing it on, will tan your hands instantly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MMunsey
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
Date:August 1, 2012
Pros: looks natural
"I used Tanwise when it was in a mousse. But it was discontinued and I was so sad, didn't know what to do for a tan. I used a lot of different self tanners trying to find something that even came close, but nothing. Then I found this and I am in love again. This is amazing, it goes on evenly and looks so natural. The first time I used it was on a Friday night. I got up the next morning and my husband asked if I had been to tropics. I even use it on my face. You can not tell it's a fake tan. No one knows unless I tell them. And I usually don't. Trust me, buy this. You will love it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessXOXO
Location: East Coast
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great!
Date:July 13, 2012
Pros: doesn't stain clothes or hands, smells yummy, natural tan~no orange!
"I've used every sunless tanner out there and really loved this one. It smells yummy like cherry almond and the bottle is a great design. I prefer the squeeze cap over a pump cause it's easier to control how much lotion you use. The tanner itself is a deep brown shade that instantly gives you some color and it develops into a pretty shade of tan brown. It's not orange at all and there was no bad odor hours later(some tanners smell horrible). My tan lasted for about 4 days before I needed to reapply it. I loved it and will continue to repurchase it for sure."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angelina1966
Excellent product for the money!!
Date:July 8, 2012
"This product turned my skin a gorgeous shade of brown. Smells great and lasts!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gretch
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worth The Money!
Date:May 31, 2012
Pros: good color, lasts long, dark color
Cons: smells, a little orange tint, hard to rub in
"My skin is VERY pale and i can never get tan outside, so a couple years ago i started using sunless tanning and self tanners. I saw that this one was new, so i decided to try it. The first couple times its GREAT! A little bit orange color when you stand in the sun, but not much. But then after about 5 uses, i noticed that it looked caked up, my hands are still WHITE and my feet. So it looks unnatural. And it rubs off easily, like where my bra straps are, its white and looks blochy. But it does give a good tan color, i would say its worth a shot."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
idothisforaliving
Location: San Diego CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
disappointing
Date:May 26, 2012
"I loved the previous incarnation of Tanwise and was thrilled to see this one on the shelf. This formula falls short of the previous lotion. It requires a lot more skin prep than the old Tanwise and other brands I've tried. Also, it requires applying moisturizer at least twice a day after you attain the desired color to keep it from "crackling". It takes a lot of rubbing to get it blended in, although I'll give it props for drying fast. I tried applying it by mixing it with lotion but it got streaky and it took forever to rub it in. The color is good but it's just not worth the hassle when there are other products on the market that are easier to use."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CinnyB
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Tanwise vs. Toma's
Date:May 22, 2012
Pros: smells like frosting!, dries fairly fast
"I bought Toma's first a couple months ago and after I used it all up I bought Tanwise to try (also it was on sale). I already gave Toma's an excellent review and I stand by that review because it is a great product. Now I also want to give Tanwise an excellent review because I love this stuff! Tanwise smells better and dries faster that Toma's. Toma's gives a darker tan after one application compared to Tanwise. However, Tanwise looks more natural on me (I am naturally very pale), and if I want to be darker I just reapply. They are both very dark brown lotions that MUST be applied with gloves! I will absolutely buy Tanwise again, probably before buying Toma's."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TanningGuru
Location: Nebraska
Could be better..
Date:May 8, 2012
Pros: good price, decent color, easy to apply
Cons: fades quickly, high maintenance
"I was so excited to see that Sally's was selling Tanwise products again. I used the foam self-tanner a few years ago and was so bummed when they discontinued it. I've used this product a few times and I am somewhat disappointed. Although the after color is good (after showering 12 hours after I apply), it only lasts for about a day before I feel like it has mostly faded."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AZGirl77
Location: Tucson, AZ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great sunless tanner!
Date:May 7, 2012
Pros: real looking tan
"Bought these because of the great reviews and they were buy 2 get one free. I received and used this for the first time and love it! Since it is suppose to give a very dark tan and I am very fair skinned, I mixed it half and half with my body lotion and again with my face moisturizer. I have a light golden glow instead of my pasty white skin and am going to continue to use it every other day. It really does look tannish and not yellow like other sunless tanners that I've used."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buug
Location: Edmonton, AB
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVED IT !
Date:April 16, 2012
Pros: price, quality
"the only self tanner i have used to date that i have been completly happy with . I didnt turn orange at all and it didnt smudge all over the place or stain my white sheets."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purrl
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Very good
Date:February 16, 2012
Pros: great color, doesn't smudge, blends easily
"I got this product as a gift after going to a career expo at my school and decided to try it out since I had nothing better to do. Well my little experiment turn out to be great! I am very pale, as I Edward Cullen pale, naturally but I always try to add a little color to my skin just to make it a little more alive looking but not like I am trying about to be a cast member on the Jersey Shore and luckily for me this product makes me look as if I spent a month in Mexico (yes It would take me that long to get a great tan). In all I am very happy with product but a word of warning wear gloves when applying this because your hands will turn orange and if you are as pale as me I would recommend mixing this product with a plain lotion just to build up color because it's shocking to look at my legs now and what they were two hours ago. Also it doesn't smudge on to your clothing after it dries which is nice just make sure you keep working it in to the skin."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bella318
Great stuff!
Date:February 16, 2012
"I purchased this lotion after falling in love with the Tanwise Spray (read my review!) and just as I had expected, it's amazing. As with the spray, Dihydroxyacetone (bronzing agent) is the 2nd ingredient, making this stuff pretty potent color-wise. Same great smell and DARK brown color! I DO NOT recommend this lotion if you are of fair skin!! Just remember, the key to a streakless self-tan is even coverage of the lotion and RUB THAT STUFF IN!!
Tip: This lotion will QUICKLY stain your hands! Purchase some cheap latex gloves (like the kind you get in home-haircolor boxes) and use those when applying the self tanning lotion. Hands stay stain-free and instead of the lotion absorbing into your hands, it melts right into the places you want it to!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tanwise Dark Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oksana
Location: Chicopee, Ma
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Best tanning lotiion!!!
Date:February 11, 2012
"First tanning lotion i used that im 100% satisfied with the results i got. When i put it on it smelled so nice !!! It wasnt sticky or oily. The color is tan, NOT ORANGE!! I would deffinetly keep useing it!!! ;) stayed on my skin and didnt go on my clothes... I wear white alot and not one stain of tanning lotion. I really love this lotion. ;))"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Chellleb
Oklahaoma
Eager to try!!
Posted May 2, 2012
I am fair skinned and I need a tanning lotion that will work, by the reviews I have read this is a great one, but I have a question for those users. How often do you have to reapply the lotion to keep a good even tan and does it fade evenly or blotchy, I am going to Jamaica in September and I need some color :)
Customer Avatar
tanfan
Newburgh
Love It!
Posted February 14, 2012
I have tried every tanning product there is and this one by far has been the best! It dosent wash off like most and the color is perfect! I have tired the spray and it was a little messy. I will be using this product for life. haha :)
Comments (2)
See Comments (2)