Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion

TANWISE DARK TANNING LOTION
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
26 Reviews
22 of 2685%of customers who reviewed this product would recommend it to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Review 1 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: bonbon99
Good but Prefer the One Hour Version
Date:July 29, 2015
" I tried this for the first time the other night because the store was out of stock on the one hour formula (which I LOVE!) I didn't like it as much and it didn't come out as dark. True, this is more a green base, so if you are looking for that, this is your bottle. It dries quicker but wasn't as hydrating. The one hour has more of a golden orange tint, but it suits my skin color better. I will have to exchange it for the other formula. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By: BethyBoop1
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Salon Professional: No
Make-up Tan for a Day, Washes Right Off
Date:June 16, 2015
Pros: dries quickly
Cons: washes off quickly
" This product works well if you want to create a dark tan for a day. But it washes right off (I waited 24 hours before washing it) and comes off on your towel. It is not a self tanner that leaves you dark a few days after washing it off. It is strictly dark brown cream "make-up" that makes your skin brown instantly. It dries quickly and won't rub off on clothes, but you have to apply it every day if you want to remain dark because it washes off. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: AngBear
Location: Canada
Salon Professional: No
Excellent unless tanner, especially for the super pale
Date:June 9, 2015
Pros: never orange, cheap, great results, even application
Cons: added cosmetic bronzer is a little dark
" This sunless tanner has a greenish undertone and this means you get wonderfully brown results, never orange. The trickiest part about this sunless tanner is the application. This tanner contains a bronzer that is very dark. My best advice for application is don't use a heavy hand, it's best to rub it in lightly and smoothly it will not appear streaky at all. It can seem a little dark at first but once you wash off the bronzer you are left with a lovely tan. I find I have to apply every 3 days to keep my colour. Overall decent tanner, if you want darker results you can try Tanwise one hour sunless tanner. I tried that product as well and it seems darker than this formula, but a little bit more golden than brown. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: WhitneyRae
Salon Professional: No
Very Happy!!
Date:May 21, 2015
" I purchased this product shortly after I started my venture into self tanning. I first tried a sample bottle of Tarte's self tanner that had been giving to me in a gift set. And I thoroughly enjoyed it, but at $40 per bottle, I was not running to the store to buy more! I searched for an alternative, and found Tanwise. I was originally interested in the Mousse, but my local store was out of stock, so I got the lotion. After the first application, I'm hooked!!! The lotion is easy to rub in (I use a mitt#, the color guard is perfect for not repeating areas, and it is not tacky or sticky or bad smelling. I did have to wait about 15-20 minutes after applying the lotion to put my clothes on# I waited until I felt completely dry). I did not have any rub off on my clothes or my bed sheets! I am so happy that I found this product!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Kaycisme
In LOVE with this
Date:April 10, 2015
" I have tried so many self tanners throughout the years and this is by far the best. I am naturally pale with freckles and do not tan easily. This stuff doesn't look orange at all. It is the same effect i get from a spray tan. Only tip is to work small areas of the body as this stuff seems to dry very quickly and could leave streaks if not rubbed in completely. SOOO in love with this!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: tammysotan
Salon Professional: No
The best
Date:February 23, 2015
Pros: long lasting great smell
" I absolutely LOVE this. I have about 4 bottles on hand. It is one of the best tanner I have ever used and I have used hundreds. It reminds me of Bare Minerals but I can buy 4 of these to one of Bare Minerals. This is my favorite of Tan Wise collection. The color is beautiful, long lasting, not splotchy, just a wonderful self tanner. This is one that I wear to the beach and the color stays on pretty good.Of course they all wear off after some time but this one stays on for a long time. I am very pleased with this product and so happy I found it. Spread the word it is great!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: Ak47babygurl
Salon Professional: No
Get this product!!!
Date:December 3, 2014
Pros: great color lasts long great price
Cons: rub evenly let dry
" Love this product,super dark, looks great! You HAVE to wear gloves or your hands will be stained! Make sure you rub in and if part of it is already dry and your rubbing more in you might look like you got in a grease fight.....it looks smeared and dried but don't worry when you wash off it looks fine.... i take a sponge and lightly do the top of my hands and wrist area and ankle,feet area and it looks fine to me :) Best i have had besides the Toma's lotion! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: JenW1
Salon Professional: No
Great product! Loyal to this product
Date:May 1, 2014
Pros: good smell, lasts long (about 4+ days), doesnt streak, comparable color and duration to spray tan
" I have tried many self tanners of various brands. I LOVE this product and have recommended it to so many friends who state they want to go tanning or get spray tanned. I dropped my spray tan membership because this lasts as long, is inexpensive, smells good, and doesnt irritate my skin. If you dont have gloves and it is on your palms, use toothpaste and a washcloth to scrub it off and dry. Then apply to front of hands being careful of tan lines along thumb and pinkee sides "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By: TeaK
Salon Professional: No
Great color, awful to rub in.
Date:April 9, 2014
Pros: natural color, great bargain, fast drying
Cons: streaky, rubs off easily
" I love that this product looks natural and dries fast. However, I can NEVER seem to get it to rub in and a few seconds later I have all these tanning streaks on me. I'm a pro self-tanner as I have tried so many of them. I exfoliate, I moisturizer, I use gloves and any other methods I've collected online. This tanner just doesn't seem to dry in a smooth look, but streaky and it rubs so easily on clothes. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: shortcake83
Location: Midwest
Salon Professional: No
Amazing Product!
Date:June 24, 2013
" This sunless tanner has well exceeded my expectations! I'd heard and read that it's a dupe for SUN Labs sunless tanner. One youtube guru said she compared ingredients and the only difference was that the SUN Labs contains aloe and Tanwise doesn't. This product applied quickly and evenly (I used vinyl gloves), dried fairly quickly, and gave me the most beautiful tan the next morning! What set this product apart from other sunless tanners for me was how DARK it made me from just one application, and how RICH the color was. It lasted really long too - 8 days - and faded evenly, which is impressive for such a dark product. For reference, I'm extremely fair-skinned as a MAC NC10-15/NARS Gobi and this didn't look the least bit orange on me! It was very brown and had a hint of peachyness that I love. I naturally tan very golden, to the point where it can look a bit orangey if I get really dark. This stuff gave me a tan that I like even more than my natural tan color! The ONLY slightly negative thing about this product for me was that the DHA/developing smell was pretty strong. I could even still smell it the next day, *after* I'd showered and put scented body lotion on. But it's definitely worth it for the result. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: MissMaggieLou2010
Location: Galloway, OH
Salon Professional: No
the best!!
Date:April 11, 2013
Pros: natural color, not a bad smell, instant color
Cons: none!!
" ive seen reviews on sunlabs which seems to be great but then I heard that this tanning lotion was the exact same thing so I bought it and im so happy with it!! I am pretty fair skinned so I just use this once a week maybe, sometimes less, when it starts to fade its not patchy, when you apply it its never streaky!! its amazing!! the color is perfect, bc it has a greenish tone to it, it doesn't leave you orangy or fake looking. and for the price you cant beat it!! this is all I will ever use, I even use it on my face and it doesn't break me out!! love it :) "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By: SJoYouS
Location: Dartmouth NS
Salon Professional: No
Tanwise Lotion Review
Date:April 11, 2013
Cons: blotchy
" Not a huge fan. Dissapointed. The other reviews made it sound great. It made me blotchy. :( "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: lilmissmoss
Good Value
Date:March 10, 2013
" Gives a nice brown color. I usually have to apply it a few nights in a row to get the desired darkness. Color last three to four days, however, does fade naturally. Smell of the product is nice. Tanwise use to have a mousse that was by far the best self-tanner I've EVER used; however, even though this lotion doesn't live up to the original mousse, it's still a nice product. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Morgan123
Salon Professional: No
Love this product!
Date:January 4, 2013
Pros: quick results
" I have used tons of tanning lotions and never seem to get the instant wow results as quick as I want. This product after about an hour on your skin is already tanning you, and you will continue to tan for hours afterwards. You need to immediately wash your hands the second you get done rubbing it on, will tan your hands instantly. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: MMunsey
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
Date:August 1, 2012
Pros: looks natural
" I used Tanwise when it was in a mousse. But it was discontinued and I was so sad, didn't know what to do for a tan. I used a lot of different self tanners trying to find something that even came close, but nothing. Then I found this and I am in love again. This is amazing, it goes on evenly and looks so natural. The first time I used it was on a Friday night. I got up the next morning and my husband asked if I had been to tropics. I even use it on my face. You can not tell it's a fake tan. No one knows unless I tell them. And I usually don't. Trust me, buy this. You will love it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: PrincessXOXO
Location: East Coast
Salon Professional: No
Great!
Date:July 13, 2012
Pros: doesn't stain clothes or hands, smells yummy, natural tan~no orange!
" I've used every sunless tanner out there and really loved this one. It smells yummy like cherry almond and the bottle is a great design. I prefer the squeeze cap over a pump cause it's easier to control how much lotion you use. The tanner itself is a deep brown shade that instantly gives you some color and it develops into a pretty shade of tan brown. It's not orange at all and there was no bad odor hours later(some tanners smell horrible). My tan lasted for about 4 days before I needed to reapply it. I loved it and will continue to repurchase it for sure. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Angelina1966
Excellent product for the money!!
Date:July 8, 2012
" This product turned my skin a gorgeous shade of brown. Smells great and lasts!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: Gretch
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Salon Professional: No
Worth The Money!
Date:May 31, 2012
Pros: good color, lasts long, dark color
Cons: smells, a little orange tint, hard to rub in
" My skin is VERY pale and i can never get tan outside, so a couple years ago i started using sunless tanning and self tanners. I saw that this one was new, so i decided to try it. The first couple times its GREAT! A little bit orange color when you stand in the sun, but not much. But then after about 5 uses, i noticed that it looked caked up, my hands are still WHITE and my feet. So it looks unnatural. And it rubs off easily, like where my bra straps are, its white and looks blochy. But it does give a good tan color, i would say its worth a shot. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By: idothisforaliving
Location: San Diego CA
Salon Professional: Yes
disappointing
Date:May 26, 2012
" I loved the previous incarnation of Tanwise and was thrilled to see this one on the shelf. This formula falls short of the previous lotion. It requires a lot more skin prep than the old Tanwise and other brands I've tried. Also, it requires applying moisturizer at least twice a day after you attain the desired color to keep it from "crackling". It takes a lot of rubbing to get it blended in, although I'll give it props for drying fast. I tried applying it by mixing it with lotion but it got streaky and it took forever to rub it in. The color is good but it's just not worth the hassle when there are other products on the market that are easier to use. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tanwise Sunless Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: CinnyB
Location: Texas
Salon Professional: No
Tanwise vs. Toma's
Date:May 22, 2012
Pros: smells like frosting!, dries fairly fast
" I bought Toma's first a couple months ago and after I used it all up I bought Tanwise to try (also it was on sale). I already gave Toma's an excellent review and I stand by that review because it is a great product. Now I also want to give Tanwise an excellent review because I love this stuff! Tanwise smells better and dries faster that Toma's. Toma's gives a darker tan after one application compared to Tanwise. However, Tanwise looks more natural on me (I am naturally very pale), and if I want to be darker I just reapply. They are both very dark brown lotions that MUST be applied with gloves! I will absolutely buy Tanwise again, probably before buying Toma's. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.