Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sally Beauty.

Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED

The lightweight formula with color guide glides on effortlessly, tinting your skin for mistake proof application.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
5 of 11(45%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mlynn
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Disappointing
Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: no strong odor
Cons: too light
" I was really disappointed with this self tanner. I applied it two different times and barely had a trace of color on my skin. I am going to bring it back to the store for a refund. "
Review 2 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greekalymnian
Location: Tarpon Springs/Holiday, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome, non-streak product!
Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: streak-free, natural-looking
Cons: smells like a mystic tan
" I'm an avid tanner, and frequently tan and mystic tan. I bought this product for a quick fix at home when I couldn't make it to the salon and it is awesome. Never have I had a product that works so streak-free and natural, and myself being someone who loves to be tan, has tried every over-the-counter product, only to come to find that this one is the best. The problem with some of the other reviewers might be that they haven't built up a base tan, which is why they are left with a streaky, orangy-looking tan. You should make sure you have some sort of color before using this product, but once you use it, it works like a charm! "
Review 3 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MissDarkCircles
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Pretty good!
Date:August 10, 2009
Pros: not streaky, no smell, easy to apply
Cons: stains clothes / sheets
" I used the gel and I did like it however, after a few applications it stopped working! I tried two bottles and halfway through they stop changing to a tan... "
Review 4 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kcjlvegas
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Don't even bother!!
Date:June 29, 2009
" I got this one based on reviews. You really don't know how it will work until you try it yourself-right? Well, got this, I exfoliated and put this on, well needless to say when I woke up the next morning I was nothing but a streaked mess!!! This isn't the first time I've used sunless tanning products so I know it wasn't the way I applied it. I knew I should have just stuck with my Toma tan. Smell isn't bad, until the next day. If you already have a tan it's great, but if you don't...DON'T BOTHER!!!!!! "
Review 5 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MsDeLuca
Date:June 16, 2009
Cons: leaves you looking a burn orange color
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 6 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brandyg
Location: london, ky
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Most wonderful tanning lotion i've used thus far!
Date:June 6, 2009
Pros: great great product for a deep rich tan
" I've always been a tan fanatic; laying out in the sun since i was a teenager with my aunt, who was one of my heros as a little girl. she was constantly tan and dark and beautiful. After she got skin cancer and it was cured, i couldnt make myself lay out anymore because i never thought anything like that could happen to her, nor did she. Always advising me to not tan outside and use sunscreen, and once she was cured and better, we both started using tanning lotions to get the same effects, because she loved to tan and so did i. She and i both love sally beauty and she uses the skin drench lotions while i use tan wise. i have never found anything like this lotion before! it gives me the same effects as laying in the sun for weeks in just one application. Ive also found it to be sooo much better than the jergens lotions, as well. This is the greatest product ive ever used and would recommend it to anyone who wants a sunkissed tan in just a few applications. I love my aunt, and this product, and we will continue using sally beauty tanning products for years to come. "
Review 7 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABRIV
Location: DALLAS TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Tanner
Date:May 31, 2009
Pros: no scent no streaking
" This is a great product for me.... it works really well and I usually see results after 2 hours... I am olive complected so I only need a lil bit of bronzing and this really does it.. No streaking and very even. I put this on in circles so it doesnt streak and I usually put one layer on and let it dry for ten minutes and then I add a second final layer "
Review 8 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kimike
bottle tan
Date:March 11, 2009
" it's a "do it yourself" tan in a bottle....It's not as good as the spray or mouse, they are so much better. This one streaks & takes a long time to dry. It will get on your clothes "
Review 9 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kathgal
Location: Hyannis, Ma
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best real tan look ever found
Date:December 5, 2008
Pros: most natural look
" I love using this product more than any others I have tried. This does not streak or discolor at all. It blends naturally all over for a real tan look. I feel great when I look great. "
Review 10 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CBoyer
Best Self Tanner I've Ever Tried
Date:August 19, 2008
" I just turned 46 and I am a sun worshiper, but I have to be careful of too much sun at my age, certainly don't want to look any older! Afer a week of using Tanwise I look like I've been in the Tropics all summer. No orange, fake tan, just natural looking tan skin. I also got the Tanwise Body Polish. Was thrilled to find the online coupon to help with the purchase price. "
Review 11 for Tanwise Self Tanning Lotion - DISCONTINUED
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jennyxoxo
get the gel from tanwise instead
Date:July 9, 2008
" This doesn't work nearly as well as tanwise's gel. It has mineral oil in it and stays on top of the skins. This stains clothes and the tan comes off in patchy spots. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.