Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.

Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener is for use on or off the scalp. Compare to L'Oreal Quick Blue and save!
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
16 of 19(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Review 1 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChrisJ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great for price
Date:January 9, 2014
Pros: affordable, lifts well
Cons: thick, requires multiple packages
"This is very convenient for people who don't plan to often bleach their hair. It's extremely affordable and does the job well; however, I would suggest to anyone that they buy one packet per 8-10 inches of hair (depending on hair thickness).
My hair is medium thickness at aprox 12 inches and I had a very difficult time with one packet. I consider myself fortunate that I bought an extra just in case.
I would also suggest that when mixing you use a bleach/developer ratio of 1:1.5 or 1:2. The 1:1 ration is very, very thick to the point that it's difficult to properly coat your hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SummerBaby1991
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worst Bleach I've Ever Used!
Date:December 15, 2012
Pros: lightens
Cons: very harsh
"This bleach is HORRIBLE! Left my hair in TERRIBLE condition! Will NEVER use again. I recommend Ion Color Brilliance out of anything I've tried for lightening.*
*Keep in mind this is based on my personal experience and is my personal opinion. I have naturally Dark Brown, medium/thick, wavy hair.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Link to Color Brilliance Bleach:
http://www.sallybeauty.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-SA-Site/default/Product-Show?pid=SBS-305880&dwvar_SBS-305880_webSize=1.0000+OZ"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LollipopMissfit
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
First Time
Date:November 8, 2012
Pros: great price, not to damaging, easy to manage, gets hair white
"I have to say that im very happy with this product.I wanted to try a new lightener that was on/off scalp.
I also tried Ouick Blue before this one and it really didnt do much.
I had been using Prism Lites in blue, for well over a year, with Ion developer.I was never happy with both of the products.I developer was way to harsh and the bleach always left orange tones in my hair.Which is suppose to reduce.In order to get white hair i had to over process the hair which is just horrible.After trying the Quick Blue, months ago.I finally got to try this lightener paired with Clairol creme developer.I also foiled my hair.And i have to say that im very happy with both of the products.It really helped alot, foiling my hair.Even though it took me hours and had to do it in sections beause i have thick, dark brown/black hair.It was worth it.I hair went white with a lil yellow tones.Much better than orange tones.Im thinking of buying another tub just to have because its on sale at the moment.:)
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hairaddict15
Location: edmonton,AB
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best bleach I have used
Date:May 1, 2012
Pros: lightens well
"This stuff is GREAT. I used it on my black hair and it took all the colour out it went right to yellow which I was not expecting at all!I thought it would just go a few shades lighter to red-orange but nope it took everything out. Awesome stuff :)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DanielleDemolition
Location: Bloomingburg, Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Not worth it.
Date:April 18, 2012
Cons: doesn't lift what-so-ever
"I'm in cosmetology school and my friend bought this for me to use on her hair thinking it would just be like a cheaper version of the L'Oreal Quick Blue and it was most definitely not even close. It didn't lift it even a shade higher. Normally I have no problems with salon care but I will not buy this product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talon
Location: San Antonio, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best bleach I've used yet!
Date:January 9, 2012
Pros: took out a lot of color, almost no damage, didn't make my roots turn white, inexpensive, it didn't ruin my curls
Cons: barely enough for all my hair, a bit difficult to spread
"I've bounced back and forth between my natural light blonde hair and dyeing it a dark golden brown for quite some time now. Needless to say, I've bleached it quite a few times over the years. This is by far the best bleach I've used so far. I went from a kind of dark chestnut brown to a pale shade of orange, that actually looks pretty natural in one use, and with a 20 vol. developer.
My roots didn't turn white like they usually do when I bleach my hair, though they did get just a bit lighter and more yellowish. As for damage, there was almost none, which is especially great since my hair did have quite a few split ends. I also know that the damage was minimal because my natural curls are still intact, which is fantastic.
The only problems I encountered was that there was barely enough to cover all my hair, which isn't very long at all. It's only a bit over my shoulders, and it isn't very thick either.
Since it didn't get enough color out for me to reach the shade of blonde I want, I'm going to do another application tomorrow or the next day. I'm definitely going to be buying two packages though, so I know I can completely cover my hair.
All in all, this is a fantastic product, and I don't think I'll ever use a different kind."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
inoahaveredhair
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
so fast!
Date:October 2, 2011
Pros: works in like 10 min!, not a lot of damage!
"i out this on a little section of my hair and by the time i was done applying it, it was already nearly a level 8 or 9 blonde! very minimal damage!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breecole
Location: Gaylord, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best!
Date:August 5, 2011
Pros: non-damaging, get's it really light., great price
Cons: could have used a little more in the packet.
"I have been kind of known for dying my hair. I've bleached my hair at least three to four times. First time I had bleached my hair it really damaged and absolutely fried it! The last time I just wanted to bleach my bangs and tails on my hair. It was dark brown-black when I used this and it got it to a really light blonde with some orange. But what I liked most was that it barely damaged it at all and I plan on using this again soon!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MissStephanie
Location: san antonio, texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
a lot better than i thought...
Date:July 11, 2011
Pros: no brassyness at all.
"Well ijust went to sallys today, &asked which lighter is best. She had said L'Oréals quick blue, I bought this one instead because it was just the cheaper version. I was hoping it was goin to work on my roots.. because they are a dark dark brown, almost black.... Anyway I did what it said &omg my roots came out pale yellooow in tha first dye! No ugly Orange! Or ugly brassyness! Only draw back bout this product is, tha price... Lol &wish there more in the bag!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrinqSierraTheHorizon
Location: Phoenix,Az
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Bleach!(:
Date:June 6, 2011
Pros: lightens hair, works well, best bleach, easy, platinum blonde outcome
Cons: none
"Well, i die my hair like every 2-4 weeks, it know its damaging;p. But when i do need to re bleach my hair or anything, i only use this product! I've tried others but they didnt work as goo as this. I black hair and it turned my hair platinum blonde! I love it! It works well with ION Developer 40 vol. leave it in for 40 min, use tin foilm,then well-lah!:D"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lins
It's okay.
Date:March 8, 2011
Pros: lightens hair
Cons: left hair un-natural color
"I used this mixed with a 40 level developer the first time to bleach my hair from a very dark brown, made my hair reddish orange, then used it again with a 30 developer this time and i left it in for 40 minutes and now my hair is a gold yellow kin of a school bus yellow on some parts. It left my hair looking very un-natural, I am hesitant to use it again because I know bleaching my hair a third time is very damaging, and this product isn't leaving my hair the color I hoped for. It definitely does lighten your hair though, and if your going from a light color it should work with one use."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MJay1225
Location: MB Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Used it for almost 2 years to be platinum blonde
Date:February 16, 2011
"My natural color is a medium to dark blonde, this product mixed with Ion's 20 developer made me platinum blonde. After awhile I found out I didn't need to be leaving it on as long as I thought so I was damaging my hair, rookie mistake! Make sure you use a really good deep conditioner and do not leave on too long! I ended up damaging my hair after long term use but that's not the products fault really. But if your looking for a platinum blonde, I highly recommend this! Just be smarter about it than I was ;0)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AllyCat
Location: Troy, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good stuff
Date:November 29, 2010
Pros: lightens hair, easy to mix, better than other brands i have tried
"I use this product with ION Sensitive Scalp 40 Developer (purple bottle) and it makes my hair 'bleach blonde'... exactly what I want.
One pack will do all of my roots w/ under an inch of growth. I typically leave it on for around 40min... but have left it on as long as 50.
This stuff works great! Make sure your scalp has no irritation on in though or it will burn and itch like crazy. If it's healthy and you don't have a sensitive scalp you should be fine.
If you miss a spot it will look horrible... and if you don't leave it on for long enough your hair will turn orange-ish.
((Sally's had their own version of this awhile ago... if it comes out again-- I like that one too and it was a little cheaper))"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pleasantsurprisesrwb
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worst purchase
Date:July 8, 2010
"I do not recommend this product to anyone. It didn't lighten her hair much at all. and left it with splotch of different colors. I'm going to have to buy something else to fix it before I can put the color in. It is a waste of money and time."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
48D4Real
Location: Queens,NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best way to get white hair
Date:May 29, 2010
"I have jet black hair.Usually with other lightening products it takes a long time to get the desired effect I want and the original color always came back too quickly.
Now that I just chopped most of my hair off,its easier to get the whiteness I want. A few days ago when we had that hot weather,I applied the powdered mixture with using 40 volume peroxide to my hair and went outside for awhile. with the heat from the sun I have the whitest hair. I LOVE IT!!!!!! Its not brittle either.
My friends asked me how I got the look. I gave them one of the envelopes of Blue Flash and they loved it too.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blondie89
Location: Michigan
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Very Blonde
Date:April 14, 2010
"I decided to bleach my hair blonde and at first someone recommended the Beyond the Zone kit. It worked okay but still left my hair yellow and orangey. I bought blue flash to touch up my roots and any spots that I missed and it worked great! It was a nice light blonde, no orange or yellow tones. Use this product the first time to get it right!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dollface71
Location: halifax, ns
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
awsome price
Date:January 26, 2010
Pros: hair condition after using, amazing lift
Cons: still very red/orange
"i was black for a very long time, i used another bleach one week before i used this...and my hair was extremly brital, actually i was scared to use another bleach, but i tried this one week after and i could'nt believe how soft my hair was.... WOW!!!!! AMAZING...... but my hair on the ends where still a red/copper, but it was an amzing lift....... my roots where color where perfect color!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovestodyehishair
Location: Greenfield
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Workes great
Date:November 18, 2009
"I love this product!!! i havn't used it on myself yet but i used it on my brothers hair. he has a darkish-medium brown hair color and i mixed this with a 30 vol. cream developer (salon care). and i left it on for about 30 min. then rinsed it out and used some kind of conditioner( i think pantine but not sure, it doen't matter) then dryed it and omg!!!! it was a yellowish blonde orangeish color but not to orange.but i didn't use a toner and i only beached it once but you would probably only have to do it up to three times. But if your thinking about bleeching your hair the first time i recomend useing this with 30 vol. salon care cream developer. it worhs great!!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Salon Care Blue Flash Powder Lightener 1 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melsbiz
Worked for me
Date:June 24, 2009
"I used this product because I've dyed my hair black over the last 5 years. I've been wanting to go lighter for so long but everyone charged too much for me. I used this and it made the biggest difference. I recommend only leaving it on for only the time recommended or when you see the color you want. You may have scalp irritaion I did and i put baby oil on my scalp. But I loved the over all result."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.