Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.

Mane 'n Tail Shampoo is an exclusive horse to human hair care formula which contains high lathering cleansing agents fortified with moisturizers and emollients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
31 of 34(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Review 1 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
crayolakidd
Location: North Carolina, NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Ehh
Date:December 18, 2013
Pros: good if not used offten
Cons: drying, harsh ingredients
"I got this after being told by a lot of friends at school that it was really good. At first I was in love with this but after awhile my hair felt soo dry. I had to quit using this daily because it was so drying. I still use this at times but its not something I use offten. After I finish the bottle I probably will not be repurchasing"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sunnyskies
Location: Warren, Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
nice shampoo
Date:October 28, 2013
Pros: nice shampoo
Cons: doesnt smell much, drying without conditioner use
"I like this shampoo. I wish the smell was a little stronger as it seems to hardly smell at all. I agree with other users about the drying effects without using the conditioner. All in all ill keep using it though and see if it helps my hair grow through the winter months to come."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
indyblondebombshell
Location: Indianapolis
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Will Never Stop Using
Date:March 2, 2013
Pros: healthy, helps grow, clean
Cons: it doesn't stink but there's no fancy scent
"I was a BIG skeptic when I read in my magazines about how Mane and Tail was great for your hair. So I decided to try it. I have long, super thick, naturally blonde, white girl hair and it gets used to shampoos (epecially Pantene). I will use a shampoo for a month and then after that month, my hair just doesn't seem to get clean. I have been using the mane and tail shampoo and conditioner for 5 months now and I haven't had to change shampoo. I can now shampoo every other day instead of everyday! My hair is soft, clean, and under control. I recommend this product to everyone!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
viste
Location: ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
SO-SO
Date:February 21, 2013
Pros: price, quantity, hair growth/ volume, nice smell
Cons: unfortunatelydoesn't reair
"I am caucasion, have color treated every 6-8 wks, medium lenght curly hair. I bought this product with the hopes my hair would shine, shine, shine and feel clean, clean, clean and grow, grow, grow like many reviewers claimed it did for them. Here are my results...I think my hair may have actually gotten a little thicker and grows a little faster. It doesn't happen overnight as I've been using the this for over 3 1/2 months now. I wash my hair 3xs a week because it's curly. I think the shampoo smells good, no bad smell at all. As far as shine? It doesn't seem any different nor does it feel "extra" clean. My only complaint is the bottle is so big and fat that it's hard to handle but the quantity for the price is obviously really good. When I think of horses I think of thick, healthy, shiny hair. My hair is not healthier breakage and or dryness wise. It didn't say it would do either but I had hopes it might repair my fried hair but no luck in that way and the deep Mane and Tail conditioner is horrible smelling! I just use biotera after I wash and ION repair once a week."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kirstee
Location: canton, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
I've tried everything!
Date:January 21, 2013
Pros: soft shiny and affordable!
Cons: a little drying without the conditioner
"I've tried every, literally every shampoo out there cheap to expensive. My cousin came into the salon one day, and she's a mad woman with styling, and hair products. I was suprised that her hair was thick, shiny, and vibrant. I asked her what kind of shampoo she was using. Mane n Tail. I've never really used this shamppo before heard of it. So I gave it a shot I buy the big bottles are a better value then the small 12 oz. bottles. THE BEST I'VE EVER USED! For the people that say it has a drying brittle effect its the salufite in it. it's a lathering agent so yeah, that's why it was drying. After using the conditner I use it mid shaft to end and let the conditioner soak into my hair for 5 mins then rinse. I've been using it about a month now and I'm pregnant my hair is so thick and soft I love it. & I use it on a day to day basis. Def worth it. 5 of my friends tried it and they love it just as much as I do"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janettt
AMAZING SHAMPOO
Date:December 10, 2012
"I recently had to trim my hair because it was so damaged. I bleached and dyed my hair so much in such a short amount of time ! my naturally curly hair was DAMAGED ): I started taking biotin and wanted a good shampoo and conditioner that would make my hair healthier ! this shampoo cleans my hair so well combined with the mane n tail conditioner my hair is left looking and feeling so soft and shiny !!!!! my curls are more defined then ever. it gives my hair a lot of volume!! after just two washes my friend told me that my hair looked fuller ..after looking so thin and dull ! I am in love with this shampoo and conditioner !!! I got two back up bottles already for just 85 cents =)
GOOD STUFF
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cspain
Location: Birmingham, AL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product
Date:September 26, 2012
Pros: cleans well, great price, heathier hair, decent smell
Cons: very thick shampoo, hard to lather
"I have very very thin, flat, straight hair and this shampoo makes it so shiny and soft. I love this shampoo."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellie57
Location: Oregon
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Everyday Shampoo
Date:September 11, 2012
Pros: cleans well
Cons: none
"Excellent shampoo for everyday. Great price, nice mild smell, cleans hair well before I use my Mane & Tail Conditioner."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jilliana
Location: PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good stuff!
Date:August 17, 2012
Pros: removed nasty root buildup, gives great volume, has imrpoved my hair overall
Cons: doesn't smell particularly awesome, doesn't seem to lather much
"When I was a kid, I had a horse and I had Mane 'n Tail shampoo that I used on him. Somebody suggested I try it on MY hair, which is very thick and coarse, and was very long at the time... It turned it into straw!!! So, when my niece suggested I try this shampoo and conditioner, my first instinct was to laugh at her. She has fantastic, long, silky, gorgeous hair, though, so I decided to give it a shot. NO KIDDING! This shampoo and conditioner is awesome! I'm not sure what they changed about it from about 16 years ago, but it was definitely for the better!
Last year, I bleached my long hair to the point that it was falling out in gobs. I had to get it cut to just above the base of my neck to even it out. Since then, I've been trying to grow it out for my up coming wedding. I had been using a heavily moisturizing shampoo/conditioner, and recently the buildup was making my roots stick together and my hair looked GROSS even though I shower daily. This shampoo completely released all that nasty buildup. My hair is voluminous and shiny. There is very little breakage, even though while I'm shampooing with this product, my hair feels really brittle & dry in the shower. I suppose that's not really relevant since AFTER I wash and condition and dry it, my hair feels better than it has in ages! I can't say that my hair has really been growing any faster than before, but I can say it looks 100% better than it did before I started using it! And, it is definitely NOT my horse's shampoo anymore!! LOL!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cloclarinet
Hair saver
Date:August 5, 2012
Pros: volume, shine, repairing
"I have super thick, coarse, wavy hair that is impossible to deal with. Hairstylists have had to take a break and walk away to keep from crying because it is that thick and stubborn. Normal shampoo and conditioner leave my hair flat at the roots and poofy everywhere else with absolutely no definition to my waves. My roots usually look very greasy and my ends dry. This leaves my hair with volume at the roots and defined waves. I love it. It looks healthy and well moisturized all over, and with how many chemical processes I have done to my hair over the years it is really the opposite of healthy. The first few times you use it, there will be some breakage, basically where the super unhealthy pieces of hair are, but after that I have had no problems. I usually only use it 2-3 times a week because with other products my hair would get really brittle and dry with everyday usage, but when I was helping a friend on her farm for a week, I had to use it everyday, and it still made my hair look great, even with the constant washing. After using the shampoo hair will feel really dry and just kind of gross, but with the conditioner on for like five minutes, hair feels great getting out of the shower. I have never found a product that works so well on my hair. No shampoo or conditioner will make hair grow faster, but this keeps my hair so healthy that I don't really get many split ends and don't have to trim it as often so my hair is growing out faster because I'm not having to cut any off."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BrrrieMarie
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product
Date:June 21, 2011
Pros: adds volume, adds shine and softness, no smell, prevents damage, helps repair hair
"I love this product, i bought it because i am in a hurry to grow out my hair and revitalize it after a year of heavy dying and styling. As far as making your hair grow faster i havent really noticed anything extra ordinary. But it definately helps prevent damage, it leaves my hair soft and shiny (without looking greasy) and its full of volume. I think its a great way to take care of your mane(:"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
-
Date:May 8, 2011
Pros: adds shiny, adds volume, makes hair feel lighter and cleaner
"This wasn't anything special but I found that it did make my hair feel lighter and add volume. Also, made it more shiny. Its worth the price and I got a pretty large bottle for not that great of a price it has lasted me almost 2 months (I shower everyday). So I liked this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lasexygini
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Lovely Shampoo
Date:March 13, 2011
Pros: strengthened hair, less breakage, left hair shiny
"Great shampoo. Strengthens hair. I noticed a lot less hair on my comb after i washed it. Stops breakage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arie
Location: Springfield, MO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Suggest to me by a friend
Date:January 6, 2011
Pros: stops breakage, good amount of product for price
Cons: shampoo can seem drying must use with conditioner
"A friend recommend I try this since my hair was breaking. During showering and combing it seemed like I was losing all my hair. I purchased the shampoo and conditioner. It took a few washes but my hair isn't breaking. It's thicker, fuller, and softer. My hair is easy to comb and I have a clean comb afterward! My natural curls are neater too. I would recommed this product with the conditioner and say to give a few washes to get the full effects."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MONAkitty
Location: Bakersfield, ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Its not the best product
Date:November 9, 2010
Pros: hair growth
Cons: dries hair, tangles
"I've used the shampoo and conditioner for almost 3 months now. Shampoo dries my hair especially my ends, but after rinsing I apply conditioner on hair mainly focusing on my ends and let it set there for 5min. I hate how i wake up the next morning and my hairs tangled and dry. I did notice my hair growth 3" but nothing toward volume, my hairs still thin. Just have still keep looking."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackie721
Location: Redwood city
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Omg great shampoo
Date:September 26, 2010
Pros: gives volume, softer, shinny
Cons: leaves it a little dry
"Ok so i have dried hair and short... One day i notice that they this shampoo and read good comments about it. I have been using it for about a couple of weeks and since the first week i noticed more volume and shine in m hair. It has grown just a little but it works.. I do recommend it and hope it works for you guys."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GirGrl
Location: Grand Terrace, CA.
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Pretty Darn Good!
Date:June 28, 2010
Pros: shine, softness, healthy feeling
Cons: a bit drying
"I love the Original Mane n Tail. It definitely says what it does and leaves my hair with a little more body, a lot more shine and a healthy feeling. It is a bit drying though so make sure you follow up with a 5 minute application of the Conditioner!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet187
Location: Queens, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome!!!
Date:May 7, 2010
Pros: scent, cleansing
Cons: none
"This shampoo is awesome. A little goes a long way and it has a nice light fresh scent. I highly recommend it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMarie
Location: Sterling Heights/Detroit
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
works after 3-4 washes
Date:April 12, 2010
Pros: hair goes back to normal after the first wash, grows thicker and faster, ends are not split anymore
"I bought this shampoo and conditioner because my thick curly hair has been overprocessed from straightening/coloring and my natural curl has turned into a limp frizz I need a miracle solution and deciding between this and doo gro...and being a Sally shopper since it's right next door to my work place I found the buy one get one free deal...and I'm very glad i did!!! after one wash (first one after coloring my hair back to normal) my hair already has the thickness and body it did before the abuse on and off i did to my hair when I was 15-16 years old (straightening/coloring/etc) and after just my 4th wash my hair has grown two inches and my curls nicer and my hair now has its natural body/bounce back..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mane 'n Tail Shampoo 32 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveAndy4evr
Location: Woonsocket RI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it!!
Date:April 11, 2010
Pros: cleans hair without drying, good value, makes hair thicker, for some like me it helps with breakage, stopped my hair loss
Cons: have to get it only at sally because of price, doesn't really smell that good.
"I have been losing my hair for years now. I decided to try this shampoo and conditioner with the leave in conditioner. I've been useing this for 2 months now and not only is this the best price I found but it worked really well so far. Most shampoos and conditioners don't make my hair thicker. My hair felt very clean. The leave in conditioner is not heavy or greasy. I will be useing this product for a long time!!!! I am very happy with this products and just about everything I've bought at Sally Beauty Supply."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>