Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gelish Basix Kit

GELISH BASIX KIT
Average Customer Rating:
4.54 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
43 of 50(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Gelish Basix Kit
Review 1 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ooBeautyJunkie
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it!
Date:August 9, 2014
Pros: long lasting, super shiny, no chipping no peeling
Cons: mini size - wish they'd offer larger sizes
"Gelish Basix Kit has outlasted any other gel nails I've had (salon and at-home). I painted my nails one week ago and they are still going strong - no chips, no peeling. In the past, gel nails have only lasted a max of 3-5 days on my super oily nails so I'm absolutely impressed! It looks like I'll get a 2 week wear out of this color, if not, more (the package says color lasts 21 days - fingers crossed it does).
I've used Sensationail in the past and I've had to do 2 nails at a time because the product would slide around my nail and flood my cuticles if not cured immediately. With Gelish I can do my whole hand at once without worry!
I wish they would sell larger bottles - it'd be worth the money!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dewspro
Location: Central Michigan
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Nice starter
Date:January 25, 2014
Pros: cures great, easy to follow instructions., nice beginners kit
Cons: none that i can think of.
"I purchased this kit after looking over a few option. Wanted to do my own gel polish to save money and time. This kit is a great price and has everything needed. If you want color you will need to purchase that separately. This kit works wonderful cures perfect with a light and proper application. Great price compared to others out there."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toobusyformanicures
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Too good to believe -- NOPE
Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: works like it says it will, great results, cost effective
"This system works just like they say it will. I rarely did my nails with regular polish because the time spent was not worth the result. I really love this system and the colors they offer. I have recommended it to friends and all have thanked me for the advice. (I don't recommend products often since a lot of variables come into play.# The results were good from the start, but with practice I have gotten even better results. My nails grow longer now due to the strength of this product. I will say that I have managed to keep sets on for six weeks at a time. By carefully doing each step as recommended, they last two weeks easily. The problem at that point is that the base of the nail starts to show where it is uncovered. So, I carefully go through ALL of the steps over the top of the polish already there. After another two weeks, I do it again. Two weeks later, I remove them and start fresh. In answer to the questions: YES-- you can change colors at each two week interval. NO -- it doesn't get to be too thick, you make the layers thin as you are going. NO -- they don't perform any differently with all those coats on #in my opinion, it makes my nails nearly indestructible.) YES -- removal takes a bit longer, but it is well worth the time since it is only once every six weeks. Not only do I recommend this to my friends, I have purchased it as a gift for my nieces."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jenvirginia
Location: vestal, ny
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Purchase Ever
Date:January 5, 2014
Pros: so easy
"This is my second kit. My nails last 3 weeks before I have to redo them. If you do exactly as the instructions say you should have no problems. Just remember to do thin coats. I did put 2 layers of the top coat on, but made sure I did them in thin layers. This is the best product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AClaY
Location: DC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Money Saver in Long Run
Date:August 1, 2013
Pros: lasts a while, endless possibilities
Cons: nail cleanser leaks, nail remover leaks
"I have thin and brittle nails and like to have them semi long but never am able to because I am rough with my hands and my nails break. Every time I would go into a salon, they recommended I have the gel manicure done. On top of having the "set" done, they would make me get a manicure to help the appearance of my cuticles. I bought this kit at the beginning of the year and use it pretty religiously. The bottles last if you don't apple heavy applications.
It was well worth the total of $120 that I spent on this kit, along with the UV light and some polish.
The only thing that I have a problem with is the nail remover and nail cleanser bottles leaked. They are very inexpensive to replace. I just recommend getting different bottles to place those products in.
I've also used this product with white tips to give the French manicure look with some length and they held up for a long time.
The possibilities are endless!! You can use your own polish with it too!! You are not limited to just their colors!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeryHappyLady
Location: IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
One Happy Momma
Date:May 13, 2013
Pros: looks great and saves money in the long run.
Cons: none
"I have just used this product for the first time on myself, my mother and my daughter. We all are very pleased with it! I was very worried due to some of the bad reviews but took a chance. I'm so happy we did. It looks great and I have removed it once from myself and redone them already and it was so easy. We all have had complements on our nails and we just think that is great. If I can do this anyone can or should be able to!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amberbeth
your kidding me?
Date:March 2, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: peeled off, did not harden what so ever, i've used better cheap nail polish
"Peeled right off. Could not have been anything I did wrong. What a waste of money! I used a thirty watt lamp, so could not have been the lamp."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Marija
Paradise Valley, AZ
peeled right off
Posted March 25, 2013
Proper nail preparation is necessary.
Scrub nails with brush,Shape nails, push back cuticle and remove all debris with nail brush and nail surface cleanser (blue bottle), dehydrate with pH bond and use a 36 watt curing light. This will guarantee a great long lasting result. 30W light is not strong enough. Also UV bulbs diminish in efficacy over time and need to be replaced often. Besides not being strong enough - they might have also been old and not as efficient.
Gelish is great and if done right are lovely and long lasting.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 8 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zumbalynn
Location: Salem, OR
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
amazingly strong and flexible
Date:January 29, 2013
Pros: stays on, very flexible, strengthens, inexpensive longterm
Cons: none :-)
"well before this gellish i could NOT wear polish on my hands...my nails grow long but i use them as tools :-/ i know my bad...they bend and flex in my daily life...i need a polish that will bend and flex and not crack off! grrr THIS IS IT! i love it! it stays on...until you either take it off with the soaking remover or scrape it off (like with a nail file)... amazing. I think it looks best when it is applied in very thin coats...as soon as you cure it under the LED (what i use) light...its on there! I will not go back to regular polish! so happy :-)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jenvirginia
vestal, ny
gelish nails
Posted December 26, 2013
Mine lifted after 1 week and I peeled it right off. Does your's do that?
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 9 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
budgetbeautygirl
Location: Lethbridge,AB
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:December 17, 2012
"After removing my salon done gels, my nails were weak and thin. I wanted a product that would give some strengh to my nails while they grew out. Gelish was great when I used color, but as a natural clear overlay it did not work for me at all. tried several times. Had chipping, peeling,cracking of the product. I have gone back to gels and I apply them myself. (IBD system). Gelish is a great product for the right person."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JACQUI
Location: OAKVILLE ON, CANADA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
AWESOME
Date:October 12, 2012
Cons: no cons
"IT IS EASY TO USE, I'M NOT GREAT AT APPLYING MY OWN NAIL POLISH,HOWEVER THIS STUFF MAKES MY NAILS LOOK LIKE I WENT TO A SALON! i HAVE SAVED MONEY AFTER USING IT 3 TIMES, CONSIDERING IT STAYS ON FOR 2 WEEKS..IT KEEPS ITS SHINE, DOES NOT CHIP, EASY TO REMOVE, AND LOOKS FANTASTIC. ALSO HELPS MY NAILS TO GROW."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Galactiglue
Location: Allen Park, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Easiest stuff to use!
Date:September 17, 2012
Cons: non
"Love this system...have been using for a month and from the first application it was simple and it lasts! I've not had one single nail break or split. It's super simple to remove and reapply. This is truly a wonderful system!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChemGeekMandy
Location: Iowa
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
No going back...
Date:August 7, 2012
"After having gel color put on my nails, I was told I would never go back and I haven't! I use a 36W UV light and follow directions and have the perfect polish at the end. It takes less than 30 minutes for me to do a full manicure, including scrub, nail and cuticle shaping and lotion. Very easy process that saves a lot of money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Pampernstyle
Germany
Love it!
Posted January 17, 2013
I really like this gel system. Very easy to apply and the colors are very vibrant. My clients love it as well. The only issue that I had was with the mini UV light that came with the system. It did not cure in the time frame as per the instructions. I used a 30W UV light and it worked great!
Pros: Easy to use and the results are amazing!
Cons: The mini UV light did not work as well as I expected.
Customer Avatar
Pampernstyle
Germany
Love it
Posted January 12, 2013
I love this Gel system! Very easy to apply and the colors are so vibrant. The only issue that I had was the with the mini LED light that comes with the system did not cure it in the time frame as per the instructions. I used my UV light instead and it worked wonderfully. I would recommend this product to my friends and clients. I would not recommend using the mini LED light. A UV light works excellent.
Comments (2)
See Comments (2)
Review 13 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
loohoo
Location: Massachusetts
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Horrible brush on spring/summer 2012 products
Date:August 7, 2012
Pros: love gelish
Cons: hate the new brush, difficult to apply
"I have been buying gellish products at sally's for almost two years. I bought several bottles early this summer and realized that they had changed the brush to a short stubby stiff brush. Using this brush is like trying to apply nail polish with a spatula...horrible streaky gloppy results. Please change back to the original brush or I will have to begin buy the larger bottles online from other sellers."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SugarCheeks
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product!
Date:July 24, 2012
Pros: comes with everything you need to start
Cons: wish it had a color gel
"I love how it protects my nails but isn't hard like other acrylics or gels. I used this with fiberglass wraps since I have fragil nails from arcylics. LOVE IT!! It has everything you need. I wish it did come with a color."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mollshawn
Location: Utah
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Polish
Date:July 21, 2012
"I am completely satisfied with this product. If you follow the step-by-step instructions you will get a professional looking manicure that you will totally be satisfied with. It is everything that has been advertised and I will definitly purchase additional colors! Love it, love it, love it!!!!! You save money when you factor in the cost of a professional manicure plus you save valuable time by doing it yourself and it only takes about 30 minutes total."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WildWoman
Location: PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:July 13, 2012
"Great product .. but these are the small bottles and cost $26 on line .. You can get full size bottles for $45 on line."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ACNail
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product, love, love, love
Date:June 24, 2012
Pros: easy application long lasting minimal chipping
Cons: high start up cost but well worth it in the end!
"I have been using Gelish for 5 months now, great product! I was spending about $80/ month to get Gel nails at my local salon when one of my clients told me about this product available at the Sally store.
Gelish is not as strong as gel by any stretch (and does not claim to be), however, it is easy to apply and soak off (if you follow the instructions). Typically I can get 10 days without any chips or wearing. My latest Gelish manicure has lasted me 2.5 weeks with only one nail chipping. I am hard on my nails at work/ home and typically redo my mani every 2-weeks.
My local store did not have the full starter kit when I got started, I was unable to get Cleanse or Soak off. I have been using IBD cleanse and purchased 100% Acetone at my local Walmart for removal (it has been working great). I already had cuticle oil so did not purchase the Nourish.
Trouble-shooting (from my experience):
Make sure to follow the instructions closely, apply very thin coats, 2-3 depending on the color you are using. Otherwise your mani will peel. It will also peel if the product is touching the cuticle or sides of your nail. Also, I find dark colors need longer to cure 3 min each coat instead of 2 min works best. Don't skip the buffing step either, it takes any natural oil off the nail, if there is any left behind the Gelish will shrink away from the edges and your mani won't last.
Happy mani-curing!! Hope you enjoy this product, I have a collection of 20 colors so far. It has become a bit of an obsession for me."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sassyme
Location: Robertsdale AL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVE this stuff
Date:June 8, 2012
Pros: huge cost savings
Cons: colors are not true to the pic or color chart, needs a broader color selection
"I have very thin nails that never seem to grow. I have acrylic applied to make them look nice and stay stronger. But when the acrylic has to come off my poor nails look horrible. They are paper thin and hurt. So I switched to wraps. Well that can get expensive and I had to drive a bit to find a salon that did them properly. Then while shopping on here I found this. I thought I would give it a try. This stuff is great. Far less expensive than having gel or wraps done at the salon. And a lot faster. I was done with my own nails in a matter of only minutes. I dont have to drive to the salon, wait, get them done, drive back home.Mine look great. just as if I went to the salon. I even have shaky hands so really anyone can do this and they look awsome. Buy this and a lamp (I purchased a 12W led-set time is seconds)for about the same as 3 salon visits. Not only does it save a bundle but you can do your nails right when you want them/have time, not around someone else's appointment schedule. Now my natural nail can grow and be totally protected without all the cost. I also found that you can apply regular polish(salon quality) for a wider range of colors. It comes right off with non-acetone remover and your nail still looks great."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FloridaAussieGirl
Location: Daytona Beach Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Fabulous, Simply FABULOUS!
Date:May 22, 2012
Pros: fast inexpensive professional look durable, longer lasting than what two different salons used, the comfort and cleanliness of my home environment
Cons: none
"This product pays for itself, is easy to use and holds up under duress..LOL..I bought this kit to try on sale for 39.99 and am I ever so glad I did. Being an amateur, the first time I did not get the base gel smooth, but if you do it under bright light you can see any flaws before moving forward on step #3 to step #4. After the 2nd try I realized the lighting was very important. If this step is not done correctly, your polish will not be smooth. I sit at my desk with a bright window light and have it done 15 to 20 minutes, dried, hard and ready to go. If I am rushed I skip the color polish, which would be step #4 and simply go to the top coat and I have a clean French Manicure look. with a natural nail. I advise getting the upgraded UV lamp, which has a timer and 36 Watts. (Also on sale at Sally's.) My nails are dried and hard in 90 seconds after each step. Buy extra Gelish remover,(pink liquid) and the nail surface cleanse (blue) bottle if you decide to continue using this method. Be sure to use wipes that are lint free or it will stick to the nail. It has paid for itself including the UV lamp in 3 uses. I live in Florida and at the beach in sandals so a manicure/pedicure are part of my daily make up. With this method, I am good for 2 weeks. I was out of work for 3 months, so looking good for job interviews was of the utmost importance, but I could not afford salon visits. This actually is more durable than what the salon used. Lasts way longer, and does not chip, it grows out. Patience in a quiet undisturbed area are recommended. So put the kids and pets outside for a bit and ENJOY!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gelish Basix Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photocowgirl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Looks Great!!! Easy as polish
Date:April 23, 2012
Pros: professional looking, easy
Cons: initial investment
"I bought this kit with the mini gelish uv light and sleek white gelish polish... The kit contained instructions for application and cure times... I used the kit as directed, except I painted the white french tips directly over the gel base and then topped it with the top coat - no other base color... worked great - very shiny, professional looking french manicure. I've had the gel on for 2 weeks now and although they are showing some wear, I'm sure they will continue to look great for another week plus. It took a little longer to apply than regular polish, but the process was not any more difficult..."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>