Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat

ROCK HARD HARDENER/BASECOAT
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
19 of 24(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Review 1 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MrsS
Location: Parker, CO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not all that great.
Date:November 28, 2014
Pros: ok strengthener
Cons: peels, chips polish, not a good base coat
" I bought this to try a new basecoat/strengthener. I tried this under multiple shades of polish and a day later, my polish was chipped and peeling but oddly enough, it made polish removing a task. Alone, this is an OK strengthener, but I would not recommend it as a base coat for polish and would not purchase it again. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chitownlocgurl
Location: Chicago
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
A Must Have...
Date:November 17, 2013
Pros: keep nails hard
Cons: polish thicken quick
" I love this nails polish. It keeps my nail from breaking. The Polish get thick quick. By the time I'm down to a half of bottle the polish start to get thick... "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ournewz
It "Rocks'!
Date:October 4, 2013
" I have tried several different brands of base coat hardener over the years, this is by far the best!
I have not experienced the peeling or bubbling issues. I apply 2 THIN layers of base coat, allowing each coat to completely dry. That is followed by Rock top coat - OR - 2 coats of color and Rock top coat.
I always use use a UV light to set the top coat, my nails will be dry to touch and light rub but the "hard" set occurs overnight.
The process does take time, but I can go two weeks between manicures and everyone thinks my nails are fake! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
missiered
Location: cape coral fl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not Impressed
Date:January 21, 2013
Cons: didn't seem to do a thing
" I got this after reading the reviews and i used it for 3 weeks. Waste of time and $$ "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CNMNTN
Location: Nashville, TN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great stuff!
Date:December 11, 2012
" I have been using this for years and I LOVE it!! Really does make your nails rock hard, and combined with the top coat of the same brand, makes your nail polish last longer! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BKING
Location: greer sc
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
ITS GREAT!
Date:October 12, 2012
Pros: makes nails hard, nails shine
Cons: nail polish peals off.
" my nails were see through because they were so thin and soft. so i would always bite my nails. i tries other products they didnt work so i tried this and my nails are much stronger and making my nail tips white and healthy looking. i use it everyday to help my nails and also for just the shine the polish gives. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
abrow
Location: Ontario, Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not worth my $8
Date:August 20, 2012
Pros: good top coat, keeps nail polish from chipping, horrible nail hardener
Cons: expensive, caused peeling of my nail
" I purchased this product in stores for about 8 bucks, and I wasn't impressed. I applied two coats to my bare nails and after a few days I noticed they started to crack. my nails began chipping and peeling, it was horrible. As a hardener, my experience with this product was horrible. As a top coat, I loved it. It was sleek, dried quickly and held off chipping of the nail polish. Overall, I expected a lot more than I got but if you're looking for a good top coat, this is it. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EileenVB
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product
Date:June 14, 2012
Pros: very effective
" I was so surprised at how really well this worked on my nails. My daughter noticed how long my nails have gotten. Now she borrows my Rock Hard all the time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NessaLove
Camarillo, CA
Very satisfied!
Posted June 19, 2012
For years, I have had ultra thin & fragile nails. I have used acrylics on & off since I was about 14 years old. As soon as I took off the acrylics, I would use nail polish to try & strengthen my nails. I always wanted long, natural nails! Nothing worked. I would grab something & a nail would break. It was ridiculous. This is my third day using this product & it is amazing! I read the reviews before purchasing it, and I decided I might as well try it. It was definitely worth the $5!! My nails look beautiful & I am finally able to do things without worrying my nails will break. I definitely recommend this product.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 9 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mslady317
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Actually Worked
Date:May 16, 2012
Pros: great!
" I wish I had taken pictures of my nails before I faithfully starting using this product. I have read some of the reviews that were negative and it doesn't seem like they tried it more than once or twice. I have used it so much that my bottle is almost completely empty. When was the last time you used any of your nail polish that much? The bubbles have popped up since I got about 3/4 of the way done with the bottle. I am not surprised and its fine with me because I often keep my nails clear anyway. My nails are absolutely beautiful now. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cmccm
Location: Phx, AZ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not Happy....
Date:May 1, 2012
Cons: doesn't do what it says it will do.
" Unfortunately, after getting all excited about this product when I learned about it, I am disappointed. I do not think it is worth the $8.00+ I paid for it. I had no issues w/bubbles, but the 1st time I used it, I only put 1 coat on, and it scraped off the very next day leaving white streaks where it peeled. The 2nd time I used it I put 2 coats on, thinking it would last a bit longer, and it did -all but 1 more day. I really do not see any difference with this product then with the $.99 basecoat I usually use. I will not buy it again nor will I reccomend it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
samvan
Location: miami
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
best top coat
Date:December 19, 2011
" i love this product, the only place that sells it is Sally's... I use it every time i polish my nails, and it lasts so much. Right now i have polish from 2 weeks ago, and no chips. you see the nail growth and that's all, no chips. My friends all use it and love it... the price is outstanding.
directions to use. after polish, use as top coat .. then use for 3 days as top coat. will make your polish last... (remember to use a base coat as well) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silhouette
Location: California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love This Stuff
Date:December 12, 2011
Pros: dries quickly, no harmful chemicals, gorgeous shine, inexpensive, easy to find at sally's, does what it says
" I have not had the bubbling issues with this product that some other reviewers have mentioned. I use three coats of Rock Hard as a nail strengthener, with no other polish or topcoat. Even with 3 coats, it dries quickly to a smooth, glassy finish, and it really does make my nails "rock hard". On the nails, this strengthener seems to last forever, and the only reason need to remove it is because, as another reviewer mentioned, the nails have grown out noticeably from the cuticle area. I personally experience no tip or side wear at all with this product. I am an active homemaker, so I have to credit the durability of the strengthener itself rather than anything I am doing to prevent wear and tear. This product does not contain harmful chemicals like many strengtheners do, and I feel safe in keeping it on my nails all the time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ryoko
Location: GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not the best but still works
Date:December 8, 2011
Pros: shiney top coat, great at holding moisture
Cons: doesn't really help my nails grow, doesn't seem to make/keep my nails hard enough
" My nails are notorious for being thin, breaking at the nail bed, and splitting into layers. I have tried a lot of products for nail hardeners and growth formulas.
So far this seems to be working as a nail hardener and makes a great top coat. I have tried a few products that make your nails grow faster and is a decent thickener so I would say this one is either at the bottom of the best or at the top of the average. Not bad for the price either. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bodiqua
Location: Lehighton PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Best base coat!
Date:November 19, 2011
" Dries quickly.Polish really lasts longer using this product.Its worth the extra money spent. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeeDee65
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Best for me...
Date:September 17, 2011
Pros: applies nicely not too thick either.
Cons: non
" This hardner I use as a base coat and top coat and just alone on my nails.I have long natural nails. I have never had the bubbles people talk about with this. The secret to not having bubbles is to put thin coats and let them dry completely between each coat. I have had my polish last for 8 days without a chip. It says on the bottle to appy every day.....if you can do that , it really helps to make your polish last and to keep your nails hard ! I LOVE the stuff ! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigCityGrl2010
Location: No Where USA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Fragile Nails Beware...This stuff WORKS!
Date:September 13, 2011
Pros: easy to apply
" Well let me start off that I am not a nail professional. My fingernails have been splitting and breaking the last few months. I've tried a few of Sally Hansens products only to feel let down when the results were no so glowing. I was needing something to strengthen and provide a protective coating and this was the golden ticket! I can type with out worring that my nails will split further or crack off. My thumbnails are hard as rocks! The results thus far are fantastic! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jimmysgirl
Location: Vaughnsville OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Didn't Harden my Nails
Date:January 18, 2011
Pros: affordable
Cons: does not work
" I purchased this a couple years ago because I have weak nails, and the cashier at my local Sally's recommened this. I Used it for several weeks to a month, and my Nails did not seem stronger. Will not purchase again "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hollycoffeebean
Location: Southern CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I finally found one that works better than ever!
Date:December 11, 2010
Pros: works, safe, value
" I always use Nails Alive because it really works, but it has harmful chemicals.
I tried Rock Hard and not only does it not contain those chemicals but it actually makes my nails even harder than Nails Alive! This is going to be my every day hardener from now on! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Donnasue
Location: Michigan
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent product!!
Date:August 9, 2010
Pros: hardens your nails immediately, gives nails a beautiful shine
" I have been using this product for about 3 weeks and it has totally changed my nails! I had acrylics and gels for years. When I decided to remove them, my nails were a mess! I've tried everything in the last year, and nothing has helped.....until now! My nails are growing and look beautiful! I have found that if you apply it very slowly you don't get the little bubbles that others have complained about. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for European Secrets Rock Hard Hardener & Basecoat
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ash15
Location: Nevada,NV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good hardener
Date:June 10, 2010
Pros: great hardener
Cons: bubbles on the nail
" It works great as a hardener and has made my nails grow really long but the only thing that sucks is that if you use it as a base coat you get lots of little bumps and bubbles which does not look great. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>