Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron

PLUGGED IN TOURM/ION GEM FLAT IRON
Average Customer Rating:
4.253 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
61 of 71(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Review 1 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cait21xx
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
stylish and sassy
Date:October 26, 2014
" what a great deal for the price!! doesn't fry hair and looks like way pricier irons for a quarter of the cost. i love the rhinestones too! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mstia1
Location: macon,ga
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
super hot!!
Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: costheat level cute design
" I have owned these for well over a year now haven't had any complaints, product gets super hot fast and have my shot tendrils laid. I use it along with silk elements brand heat protectant. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nikolitaa
Best I've ever had
Date:April 12, 2012
Pros: heats up quickly, shiny hair, straight all day
Cons: pink marks on the counter
" I have been though many straighteners, about 1 a year. I have frizzy curly hair and I bought this straightener about 5 years ago and after 5 years of use and abuse ( i use it everyday and do a lot of peoples hair) it just stopped working today. So I drove to Sally and bought another one. I love it so much, keeps my hair straight all day, curls really nicely, heats up quickly. All my friends who have used it have asked where I got it from and has bought one. HIGHLY RECOMMEDED.
IT EVEN FELL IN THE (clean) TOILET LAST YEAR and STILL worked to my standards ( don't try that at home)
Con: it does leave marks on the counter but i usually put it in the sink while im getting ready. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adriyadi
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
:)
Date:March 13, 2012
Pros: heats fast, straightens/curls hair easily, long twistable cord, cute
Cons: gets hot from outside, stones fall
" It's a great straightener. I've had it for about four years now and it still works as great as when I first bought it. It heats up real quickly and does a great job of straightening my hair without having to go over it many times. It's also does an excellent job when it comes to curling my hair. One of the bad things about it though is that it gets hot from the opposite side of the plates but after a little practice one becomes used to it. The other con I would say is that mine lost one of the stones but that doesn't really matter at least not to me. It's a great product at a good price I would definitely recommend it. (: "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aekilby
:D
Date:December 29, 2011
Pros: gets hot on the outside of the plates., makes my hair greasy.
Cons: gets hot fast., straightens good., stays straight
" This straightener works really good! It stays straight all day. Before i started using this straightener my hair would be frizzy by the time i got home from school each day even if it was a pretty day outside. I have long thick hair and i only have to go over a strand of hair once or twice to get it to straighten nicely. With my other straightener i would have to do it 5 or 6 times. Its also pretty! The only things i wish it didnt do is get so hot on the outside of the plates. Im so used to holding there from my other straightener and i keep burning myself and also it does make my hair a little greasy and my hair is never greasy. But thats what showers are for! :b "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lynie
kentucky
Couldnt ask for a better flat iron!
Posted October 17, 2013
I've had this product for 11 years.Never ever had any problems out of it. Recently I have noticed it hasn't been getting as hot, but granted the thing is 11 years old. I love this straightener, and will be getting another.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 6 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apehlubed
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Satisfied!
Date:September 2, 2011
" Obviously it's cheap and affordable. I was very satisfied with results I've received from this straightener. I was able to straight, curl and do some beach waves with this straightener because of the amazing high heat. I would use the low heat to straight my younger sister hair and it was still perfect. I've had this straightener for about a year now and it still works perfectly fine, I will definitely buy it again. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SaraGee
Location: Dallas TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not What I Expected
Date:July 26, 2011
Pros: heated quickly
Cons: stopped heating, only two settings
" At first it worked well, it got hot quick and straightened my hair good. Maybe 5 weeks of having this product, it completely stopped heating up. So I was left with an unsatisfied set of hair!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tiff87
Location: Fresno, ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
AWESOME PURCHASE!!
Date:June 18, 2011
Pros: cute, works great, gets hot fast
Cons: only 2 heat settings, slightly smaller then a full size
" Great flat iron!!! a little smaller then i expected but not much. works great on my hair, which is naturally super curly! only con is that there's only 2 heat settings but all around awesome for the price! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DesperatelySeekingStyle
Location: WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Decent Iron for Young Stylist
Date:January 26, 2011
Cons: no auto shut-off
" I bought this for 8 year old to learn to do it herself. She loves its pretty exterior. We love that it is not as heavy as some professional grade irons; easier for her to handle. Supervision to establish good habits is a must. It gets quite hot and there is no auto shut off to save the day when it's left on after use. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mims
Location: Ontario, Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent product + great price = priceless
Date:January 4, 2011
" I have very thick and long hair, and this straightener does the trick! It heats up very fast, and stays hot and steamy until the very last strand. I only need to straighten each strand once. Keeps my hair shiny, soft, and straight for the whole day, and I've received many compliments from friends who've noticed the difference.
I also have a friend who has owned this straighter for at least 3 years and it still stays hot and steamy as if its brand new!
so what I'm trying to say is..I LOVE THIS STRAIGHTER!!!!! lol
My only con would be that there is no light/button to tell me when its done heating up and ready to be used..but it seems to heat up quickly anyways. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Michigan, USA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVE IT!
Date:January 3, 2011
Pros: two settings, super cute!, straightens perfectly, does not damage hair
Cons: cord is too long
" I absolutely adore everything about this flat iron!
I used to have an old cheap Revlon that didn't do a whole lot but fry my hair and it only worked when I switched it to the highest setting, which was super damaging for my already overprocessed hair. Than I tried my friend's CHI which was ridiculously hot and also fried my hair to death.
I finally decided to get a new iron a couple of weeks ago and am beyond thrilled that I chose this one (mostly due to good reviews and the price).
First of all, it's soooo cute! I love the pink and the little sparkly gems that are embedded into the handle. It is gorgeous, especially with black plates. I like that it has more than one setting (unlike the CHI). I have used this iron on my hair on both the low and the high setting and cannot believe that I have seen virtually no damage (about the same amount caused by my hair dryer, which isn't much).
The plates get very hot even on the low setting, which is good. It straightens quickly and efficiently; I don't have to go over the same pieces of hair multiple times.
I also use this product with various smoothing products and serums, which creates beautiful shiny locks.
I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Cannot believe it only cost me $30. It is well worth the price... it performs so much better than the $100+ CHI irons that destroy hair.
Only issue I have with it is that the cord is freakin' long! I think it would be fine if it was a few feel shorter, but whatev, no big deal.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sixty8gurl
Location: RI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good Value
Date:December 29, 2010
Pros: ethnic hair no problem
" My daughter loves this from the style to the way it straightens! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tweety67454
Location: Houston,Tx
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
THIS IS EVERTHING AND MORE
Date:December 21, 2010
Pros: gets hair straight, hair is shiny and smooth, works wonders on natural hair, gets very hot
" I LOVE THIS FLAT IRON! I have tried everything for my natural coarse curly black hair and this flat iron makes my hair super straight. So for all the natural headed girls out there DONT HEISTATE TO BUY BECAUSE IT WORKS WONDERS! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Equivalent of a $170 Flat Iron
Date:December 13, 2010
Pros: non-drying, evenly heated
Cons: needs more temp options
" I used to have a Paul Mitchell flat iron with silicone coated plates ( Paul Mitchell Protools Express Ionstyle 1.0 Professional styler 1in) and I loved that iron.
All I have to say is that this is almost the equivalent to that, and for the price it is more than I expected in quality hair styling.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KristiM
Location: Sterling, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Finally!
Date:November 23, 2010
Pros: heats up quickly; makes hair shiny straight soft
Cons: plates get hot on the outside.
" My flat irons usually only last 6 months to a year. I spend $20-40 on Revlons and some other kind. I figured that was normal since me and my daughter both use it daily. Mine gave out again, so I hit up Wal Mart and paid $30 for another Revlon. Got it home, it pulled and snapped my hair like crazy! Took it back and got some other kind, and it didn't close right and barely squeezed my hair at all. Another trip to Wal Mart. ARGH.
A friend told me to go to Sally's because they had a large selection. I wanted a 1.5" or 2" since we have long, thick hair... but this Plugged-In came with a free mini flat iron for $39, so I got it. I AM SHOCKED! Not only is it smaller than what I usually use, it is just as good as a wider one! I used my friend's Chi once in a while and I think this one is better! I am so happy!
Mine doesn't have just two settings like I see people posting. It has a dial from temps low to high. High is perfect. I have very thick, wavy/frizzy, long, dry hair and it makes my hair shiny and completely flat! RARE!!
For the price, you can't beat it! Try it! It has a great warranty and Sally's has a great Return Policy, so you have nothing to lose!
Btw, the outside plates do get pretty warm/hot, but I've never found a flat iron that was good AND didn't get hot on the outside plates.
PS: The girl that waited on me in Sterling, IL was an amazing help. I wish I remembered her name!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0sherrie
Location: Columbus Ohio
Very Nice
Date:November 5, 2010
Pros: heats up quickly, doesn't snag or tug
Cons: only two heat settings
" My old iron broke and since that was the first iron I had ever owned, I was unsure of what i should look for. Well, I came on this site and after reading the reviews of this iron i went out and bought it. I immediatley noticed how much better it was than my old one. It heats up very quickly and straightens quickly too. The only thing I would fix is that it only has two heat sttings: High and Low. I can see how that would be annoying to some people. But overall, very nice product. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Dallas, Tx
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I LOVE this straightener!
Date:September 23, 2010
Pros: stylish, gets hot, doesn't pull hair, leaves hair shiny, really long swivel cord, heats up very fast
Cons: plates get sticky immediately with some product us
" I got this straightener almost 3 years ago and it's still working great for me. That has definitely not happened before with any straightener I've ever owned, even if it started out good. First, I love the cute design! The swivel cord is nice, and it's so LONG, which is a definite plus. The plates get very hot, which is good. I like that it has 2 different heat settings also, I can do my little neice's hair on the lower setting and not worry about damaging it. It heats up very fast. I love the fact that it does NOT pull my hair, which so many straighteners I've had in the past did. I bought this in-store, and the sales person was extrememly helpful. After fighting with my wm straightener one evening, I threw my hands up and drove straigth to Sally's. I walked in the door and asked the sales person to show me the closest thing she had to a Chi, without costing over $50. This was 1 of 2 she recommended. I have not been disappointed! My one complaint is that with some products (heat protection products made for use with straighteners) the plates get sticky on the edges really quickly. I expect to need to clean plates periodically for product buildup, but this can happen with the first section of hair with a clean straightener. Might be the material coating the plates, might be the product, might be the high heat. Not sure. But it's easily avoidable. Some other reviewers said that the plates can get too hot...I haven't had a problem with it affecting my hair, but the back of the straightener does get hot around where the plates are. So does CHI though, so not sure what the prob is. Someone else said their rhinestones have all fallen out. Well, I've had this 3 years and mine haven't fallen out. And I've dropped it and banged it more than anyone should. Still looks/works great! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peaches109
Location: Morrisville, VT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
WEeeellllllll
Date:September 22, 2010
Pros: cute, heats up fast, straightens on the first try
Cons: outter plastic gets hot
" I bought this over the Instyler due to reviews. The reviews that I read for the Instyler were not that impressive, especially for the price. So I checked on here, came across this one, read the reviews and purchased it. Today was my second day using this hair straightener. I like it, it's cute, my only complaint is that the outside where the plates are gets pretty hot. I like to grab onto it and squeeze while pulling through my hair. But w/e I'm happy so far. Last night I sprayed
Ion Heat Protection Spray Straightening Solutions By: Ion
Item Number:SBS-302272
in my hair and let it dry over night til this evening. Then I straightened it. OMG! My hair feels like heaven. I wouldn't recommend the spray for anybody who has greasy hair. My hair is very dry and so it absorbs product well, and doesn't feel greasy on my hair but can see how other hair types wouldn't work well.
Happy Hairstyling!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Abbeh
Soo cute! And works well
Date:September 9, 2010
Pros: cute, gets very hot, straightens well
Cons: plates can get too hot, makes hair look thinner
" This flat iron is awesome! It's so cute and my friends compliment it all the time when they come over! Plus, pink is my favorite color.
It works pretty well. My hair is long,thin, and curly/wavy. I've burned through THREE previous straighteners over the past 4 years. I finally found this one, and it has lasted me two years (the longest any iron has lasted thus far). My hair straightens easily but REFUSES to stay straight, esp since it's VERY humid where I live. Fortunately, with a little product and this flat iron, my hair stays straighter longer and doesn't curl back up.
However, the plates can get VERY hot. The first time I used it, I almost burnt my fingers. Also, I feel that my hair feels/looks thinner and possibly shinier/greasier looking after using this product. But overall, I've seen good results. :] "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Plugged In Pink Gem Tourmaline Flat Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeautifulNurse
Location: Marion, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My New Favorite Tool
Date:August 23, 2010
Pros: swivel cord, performs great, heats up quck, great color, easy to use, perfect results the first time
Cons: heats up quick
" I bought this flat iron a week ago and LOVE it! I have had my other flat iron for years and I knew it was time for an upgrade. I wanted a Chi, but did NOT want to spend the money on one. I read the reviews on here and trusted them. I'm glad I did! I didn't want to wait to receive it, so I went into the store, found it right away, and bought it. The store clerk was very friendly and helpful as well. I love it! My hair has never been as silky, shiny and soft as it is now...AND I only have to do each section of hair once to get perfectly straight results. i can do my hair quicker than before. The fact that it is pink and has rhinestones on it is just an added perk... SOOO cute! This is an A+++ tool! I'm glad I didn't waste my money on a Chi! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>