Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter

CARUSO PRO-SET HAIRSETTER
Average Customer Rating:
4.317 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
51 of 60(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Review 21 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Icantbelieveitsnotbutter
Location: Greenville, MS
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent Choice
Date:February 10, 2009
"This steamsetter creates the best curls! I'm glad I made the purchase."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mesweet
Location: Monticello, AR
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Unique Product
Date:November 28, 2008
Pros: curls good
Cons: curls doesn't last all day
"I had never heard of steamer rollers before. I got this product because of the reviews. It curls hair realy nice, but it doesn't hold the curl all day."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jessmarie85
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Beautiful Curls
Date:August 12, 2008
Pros: beautiful curl, different sizes of rollers, heats quickly
Cons: broke within 6 months of purchase
"I have actually used these steam rollers on my hair and extensions and I had awesome results. I love the curl but the only con is that it stopped working within 6 months of purchase."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gail
Location: Maryland
Caruso Rollers
Date:July 11, 2008
Pros: easy to use, fast
"I just purchased these after reading many reviews on this product. I wanted to achieve curls without having to use a curling iron, something fast and easy. This product fits the description. I used the rollers three times already and every time I use them, I get better results. This set has a nice amount of rollers, so there is really not need to purchase extra (in my opinion). I would recommend this product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorilae
Location: Kansas
Fast and Easy
Date:May 20, 2008
"These made my hair really soft while they curled my hair. They heat up fast, warm one while you separate your hair. They worked well when I had long hair and they still work great now that I've cut it short."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: oklahoma
great hair product
Date:May 20, 2008
Pros: quick works as supposed to
Cons: large rollers not useable
"I have very fine, thin hair. Perms do so much damage I swore off them but nothing held a curl or body in my hair until I tried this product. I am on my third one and will probably always own one. The only thing I change is I think the shields are hard to work with and use a clip to hold the rollers instead of the shield."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mystique9645
best yet
Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: curls my hair
Cons: only lasts hours
"I have long straight hair. I always trying everything to curl my hair."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hawkster
Location: Tidewater, Virginia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not for my fine hair
Date:July 7, 2010
"This would probably be good for someone with coarser hair. I have very fine blond hair that is silky straight. I think some people that think they have fine hair do not actually have fine hair. I tried over and over to use this with the same frizzy results. No curl or body really. I did let the hair dry all the way - even waited an hour one time after only steaming the curler 5-7 seconds like the directions say. I guess it's back to burning my hair with a curling iron - the only method that has ever really added body and curl to my hair. Sally's is great though - happily took my return. Great customer service."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nataleigh
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
So-So Curls
Date:December 16, 2009
Pros: hair friendly, easy to use, quick heating
Cons: curls don't last all day
"The Caruso Steam Hairsetter is a so so purchase for me. I have medium length caucasian hair, with layers varying from 6" to 18" and a bit of natural curl that is blow dried out. It took a while to find a setting pattern I liked, but once I did, I was fairly pleased with the results. Unlike hot rollers, these do not burn your hands when you touch them (but the steam can so be cautious!), and they're easy to roll up. I have a problem where the covers push against my hair no matter how I snap them on and leave a ridge that I then have to use a curling or straightening iron to coax out, which kind of defeats the purpose.
The extra body in my hair lasts all day, but the curls start falling out immediately, and never last more than 4-5 hours. Only the ends get truly curly, there isn't much wave through the majority of the hair.
It is great for foundation curls for updos and vintage does (eg victory rolls), and a nice break from hot rollers though, which are very damaging to your hair. I'll still reach for my hot rollers when I need something to last."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frankie
Location: Martinsville, Va
Good Product when it works
Date:August 1, 2008
Cons: do not last long before it completely quits
"I have had 4 of these Caruso Steam Curlers and the first one I had was the style that you had to add salt to the water for it to work. I still have this one. I bought the newest style awhile back. One set lasted about 1 year. The second set lasted about 6 months. The last one lasted 2 months. I took it back to Sally's and they were kind enough to take it back and refund my money since I had had it for less than 3 months. The curlers work great. But they are not worth purchasing because they will not work long."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shana1
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing for styling
Date:November 4, 2013
Pros: does not damage hair, bouncy hair, curls last all day
Cons: caps can be difficult to snap on quickly
"I have relaxed hair and I ran out and bought these because i dont want to use the curling iron on my hair. I love this. I use this for daily styling and it does not damage my hair at all. The curl last all day even if you are using a large brush to brush them out. it gives my hair so much bounce and it is easy to put in. it takes me less than five minutes to put just a few in and way before im done with my makeup it is ready. I am so glad i bought these. I actually think this option is better than the curling iron."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VRL1
Not for Fine Thin, Straight Hair
Date:February 16, 2013
Cons: causes hair breakage, doesn't curl fine hair, covers/clips are difficult to put on
"I got this roller set as a gift for Christmas and I was super excited about it because I thought it would actually work with my hair. I have super, extremely fine, thin hair, that frizzes, breaks easily, and can't hold curl longer than an hour. I thought this would be the perfect fix, preventing breakage and putting moisture back into my hair....BAD IDEA! I tried it several ways (always using filtered water), a little steam, lots of steam, let it sit for five hours, blow dry it for an hour. In the five times I tried to use it I got three good curls. The rest of the time it looked like I had stuck my wet hair through some sort of science project that caused nothing but more frizzing, random creases, and an all around, completely unattractive look. I also found that my hair got caught around the foam and often caused more damage. Ended up returning them. Plus the covers/clips are difficult to put on the rollers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MissParker
Atlanta, GA
Great for relaxed hair maybe
Posted May 2, 2014
I saw reviews for this product on youtube and it looked great however i didnt see a review for the roller set on natural hair or weave; which is what i have and the product did not work for me. I think the steam water made my weave and my daughter's natural hair frizze up. I will be returning this product.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 33 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Galizabeth
Location: VT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
These are great
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: easy to use, fast, style lasts, does not burn
Cons: too many smaller rollers in set
"I'm about as clumsy as can be with styling tools. These are so easy to use and surprisingly fast to heat up. I have some natural wave to my hair, medium length. I don't need to leave these in for more than 5 minutes then unroll, let air dry for another couple of minutes and style. No burning of my face, neck, hand, or hair. The fullness lasts for a really long time even after sleeping on it. I could have used just the large and jumbo sizes but perhaps one day I will find a use for the smaller ones. In short, these are great. I use distilled water to prevent calcium buildup on the heating element. Does not use much water either."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RosieB
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Long Lasting Curls
Date:January 4, 2011
Pros: doesn't get extremely hot, long lasting curls, fast to set
Cons: only comes in 3 sized curlers, misleading on curler size
"I bought this set, wanting a quick set for a curl. This was done easily with the Caruso rollers. I was at first worried that they wouldn't get hot enough, because when I pulled them off they didn't burn my fingers like other curlers, but we placed them in anyhow. This took the longest time, maybe 20 minutes or so, but it was because of lack of experience. Somenone who does their hair ofter could pull it off in about 5 for short hair, 10 for medium hair length. Then we took a blowdryer and put it on cool for 30 seconds. Took them out, and WOW, what curls!!! My daughters naturally wavy hair curled and stayed for a good 2 days. The only issue with the system is don't be fooled by the statement, "4 different sized curlers". It's really only 3 sizes. Small, Medium, and Large. I saw no difference in the Large and Jumbo. They are the exact same size. Other than that, wonderful product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCMom
Location: East Coast
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good buy
Date:December 25, 2010
"I have thick, coarse, color treated hair. I tried this based on the fact that I could use often and not damage my hair. It works great. Styles differ based on the way you roll and size of rollers. I love it. I used to use hot rollers and they would burn my head, hands and forehead, these dont at all. The price is so low compared to other products...and this one actually works. Give it a try, and look on YouTube for lots of videos on use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissB
Location: Louisville, Ky
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I loooove these rollers
Date:November 21, 2010
Pros: made my hair shiny and soft, gave my hair sheen, my curls look natural almost
Cons: there are none i'm in loove!
"I am a black female with short (an inch below my ear) hair. I have 3a or 3b hair without a relaxer, and 4b hair with a relaxer (decent hair). These rollers curled my hair, gave it sheen and worked waay better then jilbere. If u are black then use these with papers on your ends!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoCalGal
Location: Southern California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love this!
Date:November 12, 2010
Pros: not heavy curls last forever
"I have been using Caruso since it came out1,000 years ago (when you had to add salt). I have stick-straight, non-chemiked, baby-fine hair and this is the only thing that makes curls stay. Once you get the hang of not burning yourself with the steam, it is a breeze to use. Cools off quickly, isn't too heavy, so you can do your hair first and then make up and dress (I left these on in the car and took them out just before I walked into work, even better!), and you won't be a sweaty betty. This product is tops!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WidowCharlotte
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
More Pros than Cons
Date:October 25, 2010
"Let me start off by saying there are more pros than cons to this product, but do be aware. First, I have a ton of hair and it is very long. I have had everything from perms to hot rollers to curling irons and no product has given the curls I want like this has. It gives me the perfect long baby doll curls and, after spraying them, I can get a long do one day, a ponytail the next and even a third day out of the curls. I color my hair also, so the wear and tear on it is minimalized immensely by these rollers.
The only con I have with the rollers is that they are cheaply made. You can put very little hair in them, which is okay, but too much expands the plastic cap to the roller and they don't stay in well. The price of replacement rollers, I think, is high. However, I have had nothing work as well on my hair, so I guess the lack of quality will just have to do. But I would have rather paid an extra $10 and had rollers made a bit stronger."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MzGoddezz
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Awesome buy!!!
Date:July 29, 2010
Pros: works fast., assortment of roller sizes., less damaging than traditional hot rollers.
"The Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter provides an awesome solution when you need curls or body in a hurry."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Caruso Professional ProSet Steam Hairsetter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cressida
Location: Billings, MT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
By Far the Best Curls Ever!
Date:June 28, 2010
Pros: best curling system ever!, no damage to my hair :)
Cons: sbs doesn't carry other roller sizes, new system sensitive to hard water
"I first bought a Caruso Hairsetter about 20 years ago! That set, rollers & all, lasted until last year! I bought the new version, shown above, & while I love the more compact design, the old unit performed slightly better. I think it's because the old unit used a bit of salt, & this one does not. So if you have hard water, don't use it in this new unit, or be prepared to clean it regularly. Just buy a gallon of distilled water for use in it :)
As you can imagine, this product must be EXCELLENT or I wouldn't be using it 21 years straight! I have long, very fine (diameter), thick blonde hair. My hair hates humidity, but with this system, I can make my hair do anything I want, & the curls last perfectly! There is simply no better way to curl your hair---while you're putting your make-up on, your hair is curling perfectly, without any damage! Amazing! Thank you, Caruso for an awesome product! :) Now, if Sally Beauty Supply would just carry the other sizes of Caruso rollers, other than the Jumbo, like the Medium that I want to buy an extra set of, that would be great!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>