Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit

The Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit includes everything needed to create perfect highlights!
Average Customer Rating:
4.325 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
35 of 40(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Review 21 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeMaze
Great Product
Date:March 9, 2009
"I am a non-professional and was very reluctant to highlight my own hair, but with the economy I can't afford to get my hair highlighted at the salon so I thought I'd give this a try. I had someone pull the hair through the cap and apply the product, but I love the end results! My hair is now has beautiful blonde hightlights and the volume it so needed! No one would guess I did it at home for such a small price!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crystal1990
Location: Shreveport
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVE IT..
Date:January 22, 2013
Pros: i have know damage and left it on for 50min.
"I had medium dark brown hair I went to a salon and got it highlighted. They didnt want to do all over n still dark not enough light to it. I bought blond brillance 4 weeks later n did my hair all over. Its gorgeous never used over the counter n had positive results before. I didnt need a toner or anything n were my highlights were before stand out beutifully. I will never go back to a salon or buy any other product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bexx
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Most amazing product ever!
Date:April 16, 2011
Pros: little damage, lots of product, fast working, non-brassy
"I've wanted platinum blonde hair for so long now and picked up this product not realizing it was a highlighting kit! I had light brown/dark blonde hair and decided to try and bleach it all anyways. First of all it was so quick! Second, no itching or burning what-so-ever! third, it is a beautiful non-brassy platinum blonde, oh and it was more then enough for all of my hair(5 inches past my shoulders). and the best part, very little damage!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snwbllangel91
Location: waynesville,nc
Don't let the price fool you it amazing
Date:June 16, 2009
"I used this kit to do my whole head it took two because my hair is past my shoulders but it is amazing. I use it to do my roots and all. Most bleaching kits will turn your hair yellow in the first week if you don't buy the shampoo for it, But Ive had this for a month and it just now turned yellow and I used the shampoo and its back to its old self. I will never buy another kit I have stocked up on it just in case they take it off the market."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MeeMaw
Location: North Carolina
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product
Date:March 12, 2011
Pros: does what it says it will do
Cons: none
"I have highlighted my hair in the past with poor results, but this kit is the greatest!!
I have just finished, dried and styled my hair and I can honestly say it looks just like I left my hairdresser.
With todays economy, it is fantastic to find a product that actually does what it says it will do. My hair is medium brown with some silver and when I applied the solution it immediately started getting lighter. I left it on for 50 minutes and the results are better than I ever dreamed of.
WONDERFUL!!!!!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ash234
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:March 5, 2010
"I was a little nervous about doing this myself... But it turned out great! My hair is already blonde, so the hilights are just lighter so you cant tell a huge difference. Only problem was I couldnt get the back of my head! Thats the only reason I didnt give it 5 stars on overall rating. Somebody will have to do the back of your head for you, unless you just dont care.
But I went against everyones advice to not to my own hair, and I dont regret it at all! My hair isnt orange, doesnt feel damaged, or anything!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
T0134
Location: south jersey
best highlights on a budget
Date:July 9, 2008
Pros: easy and cheap
"salon highlights are great but they cost you an arm and a leg. but if you're on a budget and still want highlights: blond brilliance solves all your problems!!!
easy to use, excellent results (i'm always asked either where i got my highlights done or if i went away for the weekend) that never look fake, long-lasting and fades away nicely (not orangey or overnite). plus it doesn't dry my hair out.... always a bonus. the best part is that its totally inexpensive (and even less with the sally beauty card)!!!
try it and it will change your life.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kayjnsn
Location: Pennsylvania
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
great product for price
Date:July 4, 2010
Pros: very gentle on hair
Cons: brassy undertones but not irreparable with toner
"This stuff is super gentle on my very fine hair. First time I used it, I didn't leave it in long enough because I was so scared it was going to fry my hair (this was the first time I tried something other than the junky box stuff in stores that DOES fry my hair) So I actually re-applied it a few days later to lift the color more, and with conditioning and all, my hair was sooo soft. Didn't feel like I had just bleached it. Only thing bad I can say about it is that I have to use toner afterward because my hair picks up brass so darn easily but I am so happy with the color after I use a blue base toner I have nothing to complain about."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeninKS
Location: Kansas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Perfect and doesn't damage hair!!
Date:July 21, 2010
Pros: salon look w/o going to salon, great price
"This is the second time I've used this and I will continue doing so. I had always used the highlighting stuff from Wal Mart called Frost and Glow I think it was, anyhow, it was so harsh on my hair. Everytime I would use it, it made my hair almost gummy and stringy like. I hated it but love having highlights so I decided to use blonde brillance after reading all the great reviews. I'm so glad I did! For the price, you just can't beat it!!!! Makes plenty so you can really make sure all the strands are coated. Left it on for an hour and love the results!!! I definitely recommend this product for those who love highlights but hate the damage from other products!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hardcoresnowbunny
Location: Arizona
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
This is a pain to say the least!
Date:July 1, 2010
Pros: price, decent shade of color, kit is fully equipped with what you need
Cons: knots hair, can't pull through the cap, needs a better needle or cap to get the strands
"I have naturally blonde hair but I bought this product to brighten it up. I have no problem with the color, but I had a heck of a time getting my hair to pull through the cap! It turned my hair into knots and it was almost impossible to get it through the holes with the needle! I took the cap off to start over and punched out the holes with a pen to make them bigger. I put the cap back on and I was still having the same problem. I decided to not use the cap but comb my hair out (because it gets very knotting when you pull it through the cap) and put the color all throughout my hair. The price is a good deal, but I can now see why. I won't be purchasing this again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mandyleigh8924
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Do Not Buy
Date:April 26, 2011
Cons: cap did not fit well, hard to pull hair through holes
"I have thick hair, and it was almost impossible to pull through the tiny holes in the cap. The holes were hard to puncture, and the cap did not fit well at all. I ended up throwing it out after twenty minutes of trying to get it to work, and went with foil. It was much easier, and turned out wonderful. I do recommend having someone help you. I had my sister help me with both the cap and foil.I am twenty, in college full time, and have a part time job. I thought I could save money, but this was the worst investment. Do not waste your time or money on it. I have been pleased with everything from Sally's, until I bought this. The only pro to this is kit is the small brush applicator."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DishBlonde
Location: Bozeman, MT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Delivers as promised!
Date:February 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, fast lightening, not brassy/orangy/red, adjust thickness to your liking, plenty of product for as many highlights as needed
"This highlighting kit is very easy to use and works very fast, even on my resistant, coarse, unmanageable hair. I used this on dark ash blonde color-treated hair.
If you have wavy, thick hair, here's an easy method for natural looking blond highlights: Make about 6 thick braids, brush mixture on each side of the braid and wrap each section in a foil (at Sally for about $2.50). This creates very casual and random streaks similar to what the sun would give you.
This mixture processes (lifts to blonde) very fast. Glob alot on if you want maximum blonde, but I would recommend applying a bit lighter if you're looking for a more subtle effect.
This really is much better and more powerful than any of the drugstore kits."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lnjohn
Location: Orlando
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing Product
Date:January 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, extremely cheap, great color
Cons: long processing time
"I've never done my own hair, but when my stylist moved to another state I decided to go to Sally's. I was told I couldn't go wrong with a 30 volume developer and bleaching powder. I decided to get this kit which had both of these along with a cap, brush, and needle.
My only problem was that I did my hair by myself and realized I could not reach the back of my hair in the cap. I let the color process for an hour (I have medium ashy blonde hair but it took an hour for the color to lose any orange or brassy color). The color turned out amazing! Its a soft blonde with no brassiness and blends perfectly even with my slighty grown out highlights and lowlights.
I would recommend this product to everyone! I've never been this impressed with my highlights and I've had my hair highlighted at many salons."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmmissy
Impressive!
Date:August 26, 2010
Cons: some spots didn't get all the way to the root.
"I was recommended this product by a women I work with, she has been using it for a couple years. I usually always get my hair highlighted at the salon, mainly because I have brown roots and I'm always afraid it will turn orange. I noticed that her natural hair color was a darker color as well and her hair never looks or turns brassy . So I thought I would try it out this time to save money. The whole process took about an 1hr and 15min. After I put the bleach in I was getting worried because my roots looked white and my ends had an orange tint. So I ended up leaving it in my hair for almost an hour and had enough worrying if I was going to fry my hair so I rinsed it out. and to my surprise it wasn't orange at all, it turned out perfect, lighter then it looked, and not even brassy at my darker roots. I was very impressed and so was everyone else that I actually did it myself."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
youngmane
Location: South Carolina
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
not good for overall bleaching
Date:August 14, 2010
Pros: convenient for highlights
Cons: none
"i used this kit to cover up an orange bleach job, which i had rinsed out too soon. The color was too dark to fix with toner. So i used this kit just to get my hair to the yellow stage, which it did. my hair looked like a lemon yellow lollipop. i was afraid to leave in the bleach too long, for fear of frying my hair, so i rinsed it out too soon again. however, it was light enough now to cover with toner, and I ended up doing a lowlight job with a medium ash blonde toner, and i left the lightest colored strands isolated, so they are now the highlights. My hair looks dirty to medium blonde now with decent highlights, and i am now very happy with my hair. I can't blame the product. i have to admit that I should have just bought a package of bleach and developer to do my whole head in the first place. For a person just doing highlights with the cap, this product will be fine. But for the money, i can just buy the ingredients separately and do future highlights and root touch-ups myself."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kerry
Good Purchase
Date:March 27, 2012
Pros: cheap, easy to apply, good results
Cons: cap is hard to do by yourself
"I didn't want to spend a ton of money as i am trying to save right now so i decided to try this product. I have dyed my hair blonde multiple times before with other products (some failures, some successes) so i wasnt sure how it was going to turn out. Before i dyed it my hair was brown with a few partial highlights. I must say this is probably the best highlighting kit i have used. It was hard using the cap but i only did the top half of my head. I left it on my head for 35 mins and pulled off the cap and brushed it through ( I like to do this so that the rest of my hair can lighten a little too, but the strands i highlight are way more drastic!) after i brushed it i used the remainder of the contents and put it all over my head and left on for 10 mins. I wasnt sure if it was going to look great but after i blow dryed it it was amazing! i went from brown to blonde! and its a pretty blonde too, kind of like lauren conrads color! i highly recomend this product for anyone trying to save some money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BahamaMama
Location: Austin, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
The Perfect Result!
Date:January 8, 2011
"I was delighted to receive this nice, compact kit, it has everything that you need to lighten your hair.
I've had my hair bleached many times before but only at a salon, so this was my first "at home" try, and it came out perfect with the help of a friend. You cannot pull the strands through the cap by yourself, starting at the crown of your head, then moving to the back.
It was EASY-we just followed the instructions (we've seen or had it done enough times already). The only thing I would say is the time reccommended for the darkest hair may need to be adjusted. For me it took about 45 mins. (I started timing right when the mixture was first placed on my hair) to lighten my hair to the desired blonde (highlights) that I wanted, but the chart said 60 - 90 mins. which I thought was extreme!
Also, depending on the look that you want, you may only need to mix half of the powder and developer because I only needed about that much to do my highlights, the rest went down the drain, which seemed like a waste.
I am very pleased with the color of my hair, it looks shimmery and multi-faceted. I've gotten a lot of compliments so far! (it looks like a pro did it)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ashers22
Location: Michigan
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Highlighting Kit
Date:April 11, 2010
Pros: comes w/everything you need., directions are easy just follow them.
Cons: long processing time
"This is my first time highlighting my own hair, I've had it colored and highlited for years, and was always too scared to do it myself, but I finally gave it and tried it. This product is very easy, great price, and just follow the directions, and you get awesome looking highlights. I have a auburn color in my hair right now, so it looks really pretty to have the blonde highlights in it. I got tons of compliments and no one could believe I did them myself. It was tricky to get the hang of getting the hair through the holes, but once you do, its easier. It did take a while, and was tricky doing it alone, but I used a mirror to see the back of my head to make sure I got hair through every hole. Once I had all the hair through the holes, I mixed the bleach and painted it on the cap. I left mine on for a little over a hour, I kept checking the strands, and at first they looked brassy and orange, but I just let it process longer until it looked kind of yellow, but once I rinced the bleach out and washed my hair, I was very happy w/the results. They are very pretty and the perfect shade of blonde. I'm very happy w/this product, and it was worth the time and not too hard. A lot cheaper than going to the salon."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AngeLT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Pretty good for a home kit, but...
Date:August 1, 2010
Pros: cheap price
Cons: can't get close to roots with the cap, unreliable results
"I'm a natural blond, but my hair has gotten significantly darker over the past 15 years, so now it's more of a light brown. I used to get it highlighted professionally, but I quit my job to go back to school a year ago, so I'm on a budget. Thought I would try this as a possible cheaper option. The cap worked pretty well. It's not quite the same shape as my head, so I had a little trouble getting it tight at the seams, but I really didn't have trouble with pulling my hair through the holes. I have fairly thin & easily tangled hair, so I'd been concerned about that. (Note on this: I used to do partial highlights, so I primarily used the holes on the top of the cap, not much on the back, which was NOT a good plan. Take the other reviewers' advice and just have someone else help with the back.) The mix was straightforward. Dump the bottle in the tub, then mix it with the brush. After a couple minutes it's a nearly-smooth paste that sticks to the hair well and doesn't splash or drip. It was easy to apply and pretty easy to avoid making a mess. On my hair, it worked REALLY FAST!!!! Like I said, I have fine hair, and after about 15 minutes it started looking really yellow! I was getting worried, so I rinsed it out at 20 minutes. It turned out a couple shades lighter, about the color I'd wanted, but any more time would have been way too much and not very natural looking.
Results summary: Came out a good color, BUT the little holes in the cap let just a little bit of bleach mix through and onto the un-dyed hair. Since the holes are nice even rows, I ended up with mild but visible stripes running horizontally on top near the roots (kind of like ornamental striped grass). Not cool. About a week later I tried using an overall color (dark blond) to try to cover the stripes, and a few of the bleached parts got a greenish tinge. Also not cool, though the overall color being lighter did help minimize the stripes a little. Next time I'm just going to fork out the cash & go to a salon. Much less stress & no striped hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Blonde Brilliance Highlighting Kit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
<<prev 1 2