Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal

One 'n Only Curl Remover alters and controls the curl pattern of naturally curly hair and removes the curl from permed hair.
Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
19 of 23(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Review 1 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BLVR4
Location: IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not for normal hair
Date:January 16, 2013
Pros: doesn't damage hair, affordable
Cons: strong ammonia smell, doesn't work as well as stated
"I have in between curly and wavy, thick, natural hair. I wanted something to straighten my hair enough that I don't have to worry about flat ironing my hair every day. The salon quoted me an outrageous price for a straight perm so I went to Sally's. This product was recommended to me by the lady working. I did everything to booklet said and it did not work on my hair at all. It didn't even cut down my frizz. It didn't damage my hair, but it didn't straighten it either. ( I know it's not supposed to completely straighten, I just wanted a product to make the curl/wave manageable.) This did not do the job. I will be trying something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REDSFAM
Location: SAN DIEGO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT SOONER
Date:December 7, 2011
Pros: no more perm
Cons: a little messy
"THIS PRODUCT DOES WORK!!! I HAD MY HAIR PERMED LAST YEAR AND DIDN'T REALLY LIKE IT SO I WOULD ALWAYS TIE UP MY HAIR. I CAME TO DECISION TO BUY THIS PRODUCT FROM THE GOOD REVIEWS AND I'M GLAD I DID. I DID IT ON MY OWN AND IT WAS A LITTLE BIT MESSY BUT I MANAGED. JUST FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS AND YOU WILL GET THE RESULTS!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitticatmew
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Bad Perm Great Fix!
Date:August 13, 2011
"I got bad perm several months ago and the Sally clerk suggested One'n Only Curl Remover. I applied the produce hoping for the best. Not only did Curl Remover remove my curls, my hair feels softer and silkier than before I got my perm. Yes the product smells like permanent solution and yes you should use it in a ventilated room but, it sure works. FYI I did not have colored hair and my perm was 4 months old."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
britty1989
Location: TN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Terrible
Date:June 3, 2011
Cons: dries out hair, smells terrible, does not work
"I purchased this because it takes so long to straighten my natural curly thick hair. It was very depressing when my hair dried and it was completely fried. Now im left with my hair looking like straw!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abucky
Location: Fredericton, NB
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Saved me!
Date:February 8, 2011
Pros: easy to use, does what it said it would
"I have very thick hair with uneven curl. I got a perm last week -- against the advice of my stylist -- and I hated the way it turned out! I looked like a poodle. I read the reviews of this product and thought I would give it a try. I have really long hair and was able to apply this myself. It was simple to use. My hair didn't come out stick straight but it is straighter than before my perm. I processed for the full 15 minutes. My hair felt a little dry last night but it feels and looks fine today. No frizz! I'm glad I took a chance on this product!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jesytrini
richardson
Posted January 12, 2012
excelent !!!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 6 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ttplus2
Location: Boulder, CO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
works great on asian permed hair
Date:January 28, 2011
Pros: affordable, easy to use, relax my hair
Cons: a bit strong like perm solution but gone
"After I read all great reviews, I decided to give this a try. I never had relaxer or any of that before. I have a permed hair from last June. I hate it when the roots grow out because my top looks flat but them poof out at the end because of the curls. I'm asian with naturally relatively straight hair that tends to curl at the end. Anyway, i got a haircut to get rid of the curls but there are still some left. I was looking for something to relax my curls so I don't hav eto spend so much time straighten it in the morning.
I used the 'tinted' formula. I left it on for total of 8 minutes (from the FIRST drop I put on my hair) and then left the neutralizer on for 5 min. It didn't really relax all my curls but they're not as curly as before. I still have to use flat iron to straighten my hair because the perm left my hair realy frizzy.
Overall, i'm happy with it. I think I could have left the formula on a bit longer. But again this is my first time using this kind of product so I was a bit scared to risk it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Manitobagirl
Location: MB, Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Rescued me from a terrible perm!
Date:July 29, 2010
Pros: pretty easy to use
Cons: step 1 would be better in a bottle, smells terrible
"I bought this product after reading all the good reviews on here. I had a terrible frizzy perm and really damaged hair that fell out in handfuls. I used this product after using Ion Emergeny Treatment for 3 weeks.
I was expecting both steps to be a bottle, but found step 1 in a tub and step 2 in a squeeze bottle. THe directions were easy to follow and the results were great! The smell is the same as if you get a perm, and you cannot wash or put up your hair in any way for 48hrs.
My hair is not straight and shiny, yet still a little frizzy (to be expected when you see how badyly damaged it was) My coworkers are complimenting me every day on my straight hair.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Dallas, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Very satisfied
Date:July 19, 2010
Pros: price, easy to apply
Cons: cant think of any
"I kept putting off using the product because I was afraid my hair would break but Im so glad I eventually plucked up the courage. My girlfriend applied Curl Remover for me and the result is great! My hair was curly with a high percentage of frizz. Now I still have some curl but almost ZERO frizz. You cant beat this product and the price is wonderful too. Your hair will feel kind of 'dead' for the first few days after applying the product but now some time after it feels great."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DVVA
Location: PALM SPRINGS. CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
WHAT A FIND!!
Date:July 6, 2010
Pros: easy and gentle
"I'VE USED MANY RELAXERS OVER THE YEARS - SOME ABSOLUTELY THRASHED MY HAIR, SUCH AS A PRODUCT THAT WAS ON TV AND PROMOTED BY A DANCER - LAST NAME RASHOD. THEY SAID TO SEND THE BOTTLES BACK FOR A REFUND BUT THEY NEVER SENT ME BACK MY WASTED $50!! NOT TO MENTION THE $$$ I PAID FOR NUMEROUS CONDITIONERS AND HAIRCUTS, AS MY HAIR WAS JUST BREAKING OFF!!! SO THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH FOR THIS PRODUCT WHICH GIVES MY FRIZZY UGLY HAIR A GREAT TEXTURE, SO EASY TO STYLE AND SOMETIMES I EVEN LET IT DRY NATURALLY. ALSO IT'S SO EASY TO APPLY- NO FLAT IRON NEEDED, AND THEN THERE'S THE LOW PRICE! I HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO FRIENDS AND WILL CONTINUE TO. PS- I USED TO CUT HAIR PROFESSIONALLY, I HAVE KEPT UP MY LICENSE AS I AM PROUD OF THAT ACCOMPLISHMENT."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlackNCurly
Location: Brooklyn
Great for Black Girl Curls!
Date:June 26, 2010
Pros: loosens to your desired curl pattern length
Cons: smells worse than hair relaxer
"As a Black woman, this worked wonders on my natural, tight curly hair. I decided to use this to prime my hair before trying a curly perm and have decided to hold off because the results were amazing! I would definitely recommend to any woman of color wanting to loosen their curl pattern without too much fuss. I will definitely be purchasing this again! Make sure you get the one for coarse hair. Use a relaxer brush and use your hands to hand straighten while applying. This technique worked best for me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yan1807
Location: buffalo, ny
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I'm so Happy
Date:May 21, 2010
Pros: worked like a charm, the relaxer/perm smell lasted 1 day, super easy do-it-yourself
Cons: did dry out hair a lil
"i was a lil skeptical, when reading mixed reviews. Tried it anyways. Did it myself. In future i would avoid treating my ends because doing it myself takes a lil longer so it did dry out my hair a lil. Bought a treatment from Pantene and now my hair is moisturized. Its almost straight i swear. And I am of Puerto Rican decent so my hair was curly, dry and bit damaged. I love playin with my hair now. ( Not to say that all Puerto Rican women have bad hair but most of us tend to have very curly hair)lol"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sheewi
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Sheewi
Date:April 12, 2010
Pros: quick and easy to use
Cons: smells bad
"I have short natural curly hair and I used One N' ONLY curl remover to reduce the tight curl and finished hair with their Brazilian Tech Keratin shampoo and condition. For my hair product was processed on my hair for 2-3 min and rinse. Too much product too long will take more curl out that needed. My hair is much softer more manageable and silky. Blow drying and flat ironing are no longer a struggle the time has been cut in half with these products. One N'Only is a great system to use for "KINKY" natural hair!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Squeakers
Location: Columbus, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Buy
Date:February 24, 2010
Pros: easy, cheap, quick
Cons: doesn't last as long, strong smell
"I am mixed black, white and indian. My hair is very curly which i just hate. I use to get the Japanese hair straightening done once a year since I was in high school, which for me was $800 each time.
I looked all over for a cheaper alternative. I came across the ONO version.. Decided not to risk it because of the tough time the stylist has since my hair was very resistant and went with this product.
I have to say even though it doesn't last a full year I would never spend the money on the Thermal staightening again!!
VERY happy with the results. They can vary but usually comes out perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adex
Location: Oregon City, OR
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product!
Date:January 14, 2010
"I got a perm just over 3 weeks ago, and it turned out much curlier than I had expected (it was supposed to be a body wave - it wasn't). So I tried to wait it out and just deal with it. But after 3 weeks of pulling it straight and then curling it back up with big loose curls spending hours just making it look the way I wanted it to, I started researching ways to take out the curl. I came straight to this website and after looking around a bit, found this product and read the descriptions and reviews. Everything sounded like this was exactly what I needed, so I bought it last night, applied it this morning, and now have the much straighter, with some great body wave hair I was hoping for! Read directions thoroughly, but don't let them scare you. I applied it myself and it worked great! I left the treatment on for about 8 minutes because I was afraid that if I washed it off after 5 the wave that I still saw would just bounce right back up. In hindsight, I probably could have washed it off after 5 minutes and gone with a little more wave to the hair. But either way, my hair is now MUCH better than it was yesterday - finally, wash-n-go or just a few quick passes with the curling iron and out the door! No more blow dry staight, then curl back up and hope it doesn't rain!!! Two thumbs WAY UP on this product!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommywifestudent
Location: San Jose, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Perm-be-Gone
Date:October 24, 2009
Pros: great for a bad perm
"My hair is straight again! Did a at home perm (wiht help), since the last time I did it came out perfect. I wasn't so lucky came out horrible and a week before school. I went through a month with the mess and looked at Sally's online. Found this product with good reviews and went to the store confirmed it with the lady working there and did it as soon as I got home. I used a little leave in conditioner as it recommended for damaged hair. Yes, theres a smell but it smelled that same as the perm. I did it outside since my bathroom isn't ventilated enough, so the smell wasn't that bad. There is a lingering smell in the hair but I can stand it, plus i think it depends how well you rinse avery thing out."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iRodriguez09
Great Product!
Date:October 21, 2009
Pros: straight hair, soft hair
Cons: bad smell afterwards
"About 5 months ago i got a perm and i hated it. I brushed like crazy not knowing it could damage the hair. After that i hated it even more because it was half culy half frizzy. I missed my naturally straight hair and decided i couldn't take it anymore so i discovered this product. I did it myself and it worked wonderfully. Not only was it straighten but made it soft too. It's been about a month now it's still soft after i shower. The only problem i had was the smell. It smells really bad and it stayed in my hair for about 4 days. Other than that, it's well worth the smell to have straight hair again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Works Great!
Date:October 10, 2009
Pros: little smell, didn't damage my hair, cheap, removed all curls, easy and simple to use, fast
"I had recently gotten a perm that I absolutely hated. On the Sally website I came across this product with reviews saying it fixed bad perms. I decided to try it and not only did it take all the curl out of my hair, but the smell wasn't strong, the smell didn't linger in my hair, and did not damage it. I'm so glad I came across it and would recommend this product to anyone who wants to fix a perm that they want gone!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raesgirls
Location: mesa, az
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Must have for curl control
Date:September 6, 2009
Pros: rocks, very inexpensive for what it does, works wonders
Cons: wasted years without it!
"I had frizzy, crimpy, thick, uncontrolable hair. I had my hair up in a ponytail for the last 2 years trying to grow it out enough to hopefully weigh it down enough to look normal.. unfortunatly, it is in the middle of my back and still two frizzy and out of control to leave down without spending 2 1/2 hours with a flat iron. finally i decided to risk my hair and buy a relaxer.. the nice wonderful lady at my sally's store recommended that i not use a relaxer but instead to try this. I have not been happier since i used it. I love my new hair. now i just have to adjust to keeping it down and not immediatly pulling it up! please try this product if you have issues and think nothing will help! i did and i love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mscarrie
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works great
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: strong so doesn't require much time, not as damaging as i thought, smells decent, cheap
Cons: if not careful can take more curl out than wanted
"I have hair extensions that I bought that were very curly. My hair is a loose curl and I wanted to reduce the curl in my extensions so that they matched better. This stuff is strong... If you are using it on extensions, you will need to use it for half of the recommended time that is says for a perm to just reduce the curl, about 2-3 mins at the most. To straighten the hair extensions, use for about 5-6 minutes. Left my hair pretty manageable and nice."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for One 'n Only Curl Remover Normal
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
eyez
Location: MIssouri
Does Not Work on Naturally curly frizzy hair
Date:July 12, 2009
"I spoke with the sales lady at the store and she recommended this product to straighten my natural curly/wavy hair. So I thought since she said she used it I would try it and I did. The only thing that I noticed was it was a little softer but no change in my hair except it was way more frizzier than before. Will NOT buy again. Had better results using regular perm solution,"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>