Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gelous Nail Gel

GELOUS NAIL GEL COAT
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
51 of 59(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gelous Nail Gel
Review 21 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vdshelton
Location: Houston TX
It's ok
Date:October 23, 2012
"It does make my nails feel somewhat stronger but eh.
If I use it as a base coat for any polish, I feel my nails are stronger but the polish doesn't last as long - it starts peeling from the bottom and lifts off the nail.
Honestly, I'm sticking with my generic $2 Ulta brand base coat and Seche as top coat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deneen
Location: Philadelphia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Life saver
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: worth every penny.
"My nails were chipping and splitting all the time. I had to keep them very short. I read the reviews on here and decided to give it a try. Best decision I ever made. Based on other reviews I began by applying 2 coats and would reapply as needed. Now I only apply 1 coat during the week and apply color for the weekends. My nails are so strong, they aren't breaking, I have to cut them down every couple of weeks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LeRaw
Location: Pennsylvania
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not Impressed
Date:August 5, 2012
Cons: goopy, thick topcoat not gel-like at all
"I wore gel nails (not acrylic) for about 6 years & had to have them taken off earlier this year due to Nursing school. I've been looking for something gel-like but easier to remove. I bought this product & unfortunately I was disappointed. I used two coats of polish and applied this as a topcoat thinking it would act like gel, but all it really was was a goopy topcoat. It wasn't really hard once dry either. Bummer."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roxy073087
Long island, ny
Base Coat
Posted August 11, 2012
This isn't intended to be a top coat, its to be applied to clean natural nails, and you can apply polish over it. Good Luck!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 24 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
valj
Best Purchase Ever
Date:June 19, 2012
"For the first time ever I can polish my natural nails and the polish stays on for 1 to 2 weeks without flaking or peeling."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charisma
Location: Austin, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome!
Date:June 19, 2012
Pros: easy, fast, works
Cons: only comes in clear
"I didn't really know what to expect considering I have had several gel manicures and currently do my own now. This stuff goes on super easy, dries instantly and lasts close to 2 weeks! Which is really good for me since a professional job usually only lasts 4 days roughly. Too bad it doesn't come in other colors."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emmalynn
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it!
Date:May 27, 2012
Pros: strengthens nails
"I don't go anywhere without at least a coat of this on my nails. It makes them noticeably stronger. I've actually been able to grow long fingernails because of this stuff. With it on, my nails don't break off when they reach a certain point. It also doubles as a topcoat for chunky glitter polishes. I love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amc0208
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
staple
Date:March 28, 2012
Pros: smooths glitter, dries fast, fills in gaps
"This is a staple! If you have ridged nails or you need to fill in gaps, you need this product. It's also amazing for adding a smooth layer over chunky glitter. Love!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maven
Location: Indy, IN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love It!
Date:March 27, 2012
Pros: price is good, excellent top coat
"I bought this as a top coat for my glitter polishes based on a nail blog site's recommendation. Boy, this was a great investment. I also use it as a base coat over the American Classics strenghtener (blue top) and then as a top coat for all my polishes. It is wonderful for glitters but it gives you a glass fnish over all polish. It will highlight flaws in your polish (bubbes or bad brush strokes), but I can't stop staring at my nails even with the flaws. It's like I have nails encased in glass.
As a previous reviewer stated, if you can't wait for it to dry you can use Seche top coat on top to speed it up. For me, it doesn't take long for it to dry as a base coat or a top coat.
Hint: Make sure to wrap your nail with the Gelous as a top coat to make your mani last longer. This means you should apply it along the tip of the nail and under it (if possible). My nails DO NOT chip for days when I use this technique with Gelous. Want hard to bend nails? Apply 2 coats of gelous as a top coat.
I've also found that as a base coat, it helps nail polish go on pretty well and sticks to it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JamieInSoCal
Location: Southern California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Perfect for Glitters
Date:March 21, 2012
Pros: smoothes textured surfaces
Cons: slow drying w/out a fast-dry topcoat
"I always use this on top of "hungry" glitter polishes, followed by Seche Vite fast-dry top coat, so it's dry within 5 minutes. It evens out the surface and leaves my nails glass-smooth, even with chunky glitters. Would probably work well to smooth out crackles, too. It is really thick, so I don't use it with smooth polishes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dani29
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Not pleased
Date:March 17, 2012
Pros: shiny, glossy
Cons: stays sticky for hours, peels off with little effort
"I have this product on my dresser and it hasn't been used in a while. When I did use it, it reminded of one of those nail polishes that you can just peel off. Now that I read the online description of it, I think it's probably because it "adds thickness" which isn't something I really needed.
It did come out very shiny, though. I just don't want to fuss with my nails everyday like I had to when I used this product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PlaneDucky
Location: Taylor, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:March 6, 2012
Pros: keeps nails strong
Cons: multiple coats feel tacky for a while
"It works pretty well. I usually chip polish within hours, and it took me over 3 days before any chipping happened. Just a small chip on one finger. Keeps my nails really strong. I used it as a base and top coat inbetween nail color."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happyshopper2012
Location: WV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
WONDERFUL!!!
Date:January 17, 2012
Pros: everything
"I love this stuff! I do my nails a different way, I put on my nail tips-trim them- add this on top- (2 coats) and then apply the top coat- (oh so wet). It works great! Durable and looks just like I had them done at the salon. I do use a UV nail lamp as well to cure the clear coats. I hope they keep this in stock, it really works for me!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
vpoof
Posted March 9, 2012
I've been looking for a substitute for actual gel that I can use the way you do. Do you get a lot of bubbles when you layer this product? Which tips do you use? Thanks!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 33 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ghanacuty
Worth every Penny
Date:August 15, 2011
Pros: long lasting
Cons: none
"I have been searching for a decent base coat for years and i came across this Gelous at my local Sally's and I though whats there to loose...
Well first off it goes on smooth and dries pretty fast... it make my nails look and feel very healthy....
Second off..... It mademy nail color last up to 4 days with no chip.. slight wear at the tips but NO CHIP... I was shocked.....
This is the best buy I have ever made for base coats...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Silvia
El Paso
Dried fast?
Posted September 14, 2013
It stayed tacky on me even after applying a thin coat. Could it be I have a deffective bottle?
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 34 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ohkiki
Date:April 7, 2011
Pros: dries fast, strengthens nails
"i love this! it works great and it helps my long nails stay long. it shiny and its a great product"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aenflex
Here's how it worked for me
Date:December 20, 2010
Pros: super shiny!
Cons: does not work well unless given time to dry!
"Some people had issue with Gelous not drying. I found the same issue but finally worked out something that works :)
2 meduim coats of Gelous as base. Allow time to dry between coats.
1 coat of high quality, darker shade nail colour. Allow to dry. OR 2 coats of high quality, lighter shade colour, giving each coat time to fully dry.
1 thick coat of Gelous over the top, again giving enough dry time.
When I do my manicures with Gelous this way, they last, resist chips well, and are harder while still being flexible. Every couple days I add another thin coat until it's time to manicure again. Love this stuff!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
envy1984
Location: Charleston,SC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
It is not what I was expected
Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: it seem not to drystay stickyleave marks, it doesn't make the nails strong peels easy
"I went to sally to look for a good base and top coat because I do nail art and I like to have something that is going to dry fast,make my nails strong and not to smear my designe ...after i have been read all the positive things about Gelous I decide to give a chance and see what is going to happen.....I got home and did my nails i apply Gelous for base and then for top coat....I wait 2-3 hoursand my naisl was feeling sticky like if i press on the finger is going to leave a marks ...so I was thinking that maybe i didn't done something right I wait 1 more hour and went to bed ..In the morning my nail designe was all with pillow marks ...I was so angry ..:(:( After 1 hour drowing on my nails and the Gelous make my designe horible....I deside to take off my nails polish and do it again with other base and top coat finally I was happy....2 weeks later I give other chance and did other designe with different nail polishes and I used Gelous again and did the same thing....I was very disappointed again but i knew that wasn't me at all or my polishes.......I will keep looking for the best top and base coat because this is very important expecially when you do nails art.I was verry happy with top and base coat the brend was Total nail Rx but they discontinue it so I will try to seek for something similar to this one.....I defenetlly will not recommend this product to my friends!"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
naturalnails
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I love this product!
Date:November 11, 2010
Pros: stays shiny, protects nails
"I don't wear color on my nails so I don't know about the chipping. I keep on just one coat of strengthener for a natural look. After 4 days, there was no chipping or peeling, just barely fading on the very tips. My nails tend to crack on the corners even if I keep something on them, but with this stuff no cracks, no chips and none of that peeling/lifting that happens with other strengtheners. Just nice, smooth looking nails that looked the same on day 4 as they did on day 1!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ashley1210
Location: RI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
its just... eh
Date:November 5, 2010
Pros: shiny
Cons: does not strengthen, does not protect from yellowing of nails
"i figured since this is a gel nail coat that it would make my nail polish last a long time without chipping like when i used to get acrylic nails. I was wrong. this stuff does absolutely nothing for my nails, its as if i dont even have a base coat on. it doesn't "strengthen" my nails like it claims its supposed to, and it doesnt even protect my nails from turning slightly yellow after wearing darker polishes. i hate this. it would honestly be better as a top coat because it dries very shiny."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pumpkin56
Location: macon ga
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
it really works
Date:November 5, 2010
Pros: the best for your money, none
"I have tried a lot of different products on my nails they break real easy. They would break before they had any length. I read the ratings for this product and went that day and bought it. I have used it for about one month and can tell a big difference in my nails. They are stronger and longer than they have ever been. If you want to see a difference in your nails in a short time. I recommend that you try this product. I thought that because of the price that it would not work well it works better than some that I paid more for. You will not be unhappy with this product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Techie78
Location: Chicago, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great product!
Date:October 15, 2010
"Since I did not have the CND Shellac base coat, I was looking for something that would replace that. I read many reviews on this website for a good base coat and this was the first one I decided to buy and try. I am very impressed with this product. I used one coat for the base coat and cured it under a UV lamp then proceeded with the rest of the polish. So far there has been no chipping or peeling. I would like to try this with regular nail polish to see if I get similar results."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>