Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gelous Nail Gel

GELOUS NAIL GEL COAT
Average Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
61 Reviews
52 of 6185%of customers who reviewed this product would recommend it to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gelous Nail Gel
Review 1 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: chassie
Salon Professional: No
Works great
Date:January 29, 2015
Cons: strong smell
" I purchased this after seeing it mentioned in a bunch of Pinterest posts. I've had trouble getting my nails to grow, they seemed to be very flimsy when they got any length and would break from either peeling or splitting. Since I've used this the last two/three weeks, I haven't had one nail break. Nails feel much thicker. Only downside is the smell, which is very strong, similar to Seche Vite. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By: AmandaL
Very disappointed
Date:January 21, 2015
" I bought this after reading a few DIY gel manicure posts on Pinterest. Every single post said this stuff was the "secret ingredient" to get the perfect, at-home gel manicure. Each post said that it lasts for up to 14 days. I have tried it 3 times now, all with higher end nail polishes, and each time, it has chipped FASTER than if I just use the nail polish alone. I was really looking forward to not having to paint my nails every couple of days. Such a bummer. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By: Cuteypye26
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Salon Professional: Yes
Really gives regular nail polish a gel nail look
Date:October 9, 2014
Pros: excellent gel like finish, great wide brush for thorough application
Cons: can be thick and hard to spread for some people
" I bought this product after seeing a Pin on Pinterest showing how you can do gel nails using regular nail polish. The pin suggested using several alternating layers using this product, but you can actually just paint your nails the regular way by using a base coat, nail color, Gelous, then a top coat, and you still get the effect of a gel finish on your nails. It may not last as long doing it that way, but it reduces the time when it is time to change nail polish. I would highly advise when applying this product try using thin coats. It is very thick and can take a long time to dry . Also if you live in a humid environment,this product can become harder to get out of the bottle over time and seems to become harder to apply. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Golden3414
Salon Professional: No
The Truth
Date:September 26, 2014
Pros: long lasting manicure price
" You MUST add this to your manicure kit. After refusing for years to do my manicures because of polish chipping within days, I am in love with this product. Seven days without a single chip has made me a believer in manicures again. I use this product as a top coat after the final layer of polish with a couple a drops of Essie quick drying oil and within 15 minutes my nails are dry. Surely this product could keep a manicure in tack for longer than 7 days but since I like to keep my manicure color fresh, I renew my nails weekly. Because I seldom find bottles of Gelous on the shelves, I ask the clerk if there any in the back and if there are, I buy two at a time. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: CatLuvr4
Location: Oklahoma
Salon Professional: No
OMG LUV this stuff!
Date:July 19, 2014
Pros: nails are stronger now
" My friend is a Manager @ a Sally's in Michigan. She swears by this & now so do i! I saw it on Pinterest & read the reviews here & the one who said Shellac in their review, THANK YOU it got my attention! I had given up on my own manicures because they wouldn't last 2 days before chipping or peeling. Now, I use this as a base & on top of every coat of nail polish, 2 coats Orly nail polish, top coat & Essie quick drying drops. Nails are dry in about 10 minutes & I'm doing laundry & whatever else needs to be done! I'm back to giving myself a manicure weekly & LOVING it! It took about a month & noticed my nails had grown considerably for the first time in a while due to very low hormone levels. I wash my hands frequently & even more so during the colder months. I get compliments on my nails alot now! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: luvproduct
AMAZING as a top coat
Date:May 23, 2014
Pros: long lasting, chip resistant
" I know it is upposed to be a base....but I have been through two bottles of this miracle as a top coat and I LOVE it! Totally works miracles. I d my own nails and I only do them every 2 weeks, my polish always look great and chip free. I swear it is because of this as a top coat! i have had my nails done at the salon and they don't last as long. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: EllieMae
Salon Professional: No
Excellent product
Date:May 11, 2014
Pros: long-lasting and strengthening
" Had been getting gel nails for 3 months and my nails all began breaking off diagonally at the top and separating from my fingers. Yecch. Have used this product as one thin coat only with no other polish for over two months. My nails look amazing. They have grown and are stronger. A thumb nail that developed a vertical split down the middle has grown out after over15 years of problems. I apply once a week and touch up the tips as needed after swimming. This the most amazing nail product I've ever used. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Elyse04
Salon Professional: No
Amazing!
Date:May 7, 2014
" I heard about this on Pinterest and decided to try it for myself. I bought the Orly Bonder, this product and the Seche Vite top coat. I wiped my nails first with acetone nail polish remover, applied the bonder base coat, a coat of gelous, a coat of nail polish, coat of gelous, coat of polish and than the top coat. My nails stay chip free for at least 8 days if not longer. Without the Gelous my nail polish would chip within 24hrs. This stuff is amazing and works just as well as Shellac. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: sameerah
Salon Professional: No
Love it!
Date:May 4, 2014
Pros: freakin' amazing
" I saw this item on Pinterest and it said it would make your polish last longer. Polish doesn't even last a day on me without chipping. WOW. I did a coat of this, a coat of polish, another coat of this, then another coat of polish, then top coat. 3 days with NO chips... crazy!!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By: jnnfr
Location: Ohio
Salon Professional: No
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: it's shiny
Cons: extremely drying caused cracking and splitting.
" I wanted to love this product, however it is very drying. I don't recommend using this polish if you have dry nails that tend to crack and split, this only makes it worse. After using only one time I had to cut my nails down to the skin. .Very disappointed : ( "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: alicia15
Location: canton ohio
Salon Professional: No
amazing product
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: very shiny, hard protection, does not chip or crack if properly applied, excellent
" I have read some reviews on here with problems drying. If this problem occurs, you should try applying it by using a thin coat of this product. I used this product a couple times so far and its by far great! I loved getting my nails shallac ed at nail salons but always wanted a way to do it myself without purchasing a UV or LED light that can be pretty expensive. This stuff is the trick no more money to the salons for my nails I am doing it myself at a fantastic price. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Amandap2586
Location: Kentucky
Salon Professional: No
Date:November 3, 2013
" This stuff is really amazing! I've used it for years and rarely polish my nails without it. It adds visible thickness to your nails and really makes the polish last longer. I have horrible nails and cannot get polish to stay looking good but this really does help. Also, this product is so much better than those that claim to do the same thing by other brands I have tried. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Shanti
Location: Parker, CO
Works Awesome!
Date:October 24, 2013
Pros: stengthens, promotes growth, makes nails shiny, makes polish last longer, can be used as base coat/underneath polish
" I can't say enough good stuff about this product. I was looking for a product that would help my nails from breaking, splitting and being thin. Not only does this make my nails super tough (without nasty chemicals like formaldehyde) but it helps them grow, makes them shiny and it makes nail polish last way longer! I use it as a base coat too! I love this stuff. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: chelsium01
Location: Hinesville, GA
Salon Professional: No
AMAZING!!!
Date:September 27, 2013
Pros: long lasting, easy to apply, strengthening, thickening, inexpensive
" I wash my hands a trillion times a day and couldn't get nail polish to stay on for more than about 12 hours before chipping. I ended up wearing acrylic nails constantly just so polish would stay on. I finally took of my acrylics after over a year and my natural nails were so weak and breaking. I hated them! I couldn't keep polish on them for more than a day and they just kept splitting and breaking to the point of being painful. That's when I found Gelous. I use it in conjunction with the same line's ridge filler, "Bridge the Ridge".
My new routine keeps nail polish on for sometimes up to 5 days! I usually change polish colors just because I feel like it rather than because I have to! I always use SURE-BOND first. You can find that in the acrylic nail section. That just saps the oil from your nails. Then I use a layer of the ridge filler, then a layer of Gelous, polish of choice in however many coats I need, another layer of Gelous, and then Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat. Perfect nails!
I've seriously tried all the long last top coats and even the full line of ORLY's top coats, base coats, and primers and all have failed me until now!
I only share this info because I've searched high and low to figure out how to keep my polish on and just happened sort of by accident to find the answer. I hope this helps others! "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: angelcat
Location: Greenville SC
AWESOME
Date:July 19, 2013
Pros: fast drying, long lasting
Cons: none
" I have been using this for a couple weeks and it is amazing. I have tried every clear polish there is to try and grow my nails but this is the best. It dries in ten minutes or less. Then it lasts for days without peeling or chipping. I can also grow longer nails without them breaking and splitting on the edges. I haven't broken a nail yet and I keep having to file them down because they are getting too long. It even saved my nails that were about to split. This is worth the money!!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Harlan
New Favorite
Date:May 24, 2013
Pros: shiny, great wear, smooth formula, multi-duty
Cons: long natural drying time
" I picked up this little miracle bottle as a result of reading about it on a nail blog. It has become my go-to clear and I use it as a base and top coat as well. Thusfar it has protected my nail beds from two polishes I absolutely love, but are proven to stain. The shine is incredible and it even helps to extend the life of my polish a day or two.
I don't use a light for any reason, so it does take a while to dry and harden up. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By: StormyWeather
Location: KY
Salon Professional: No
Gelous Advanced Nail Gel Coat
Date:April 8, 2013
Pros: protects from chipped polish great
Cons: dries out the nails
" I tried Gelous because I have a terrible time with nail polish chipping. It was great for that. For the first time EVER my polish lasted 5 days without a chip. I also have a terrible time with peeling nails. The first 2 or 3 weeks using Gelous I was thrilled. Then I began to notice my nails snapping off at the slightest thing & peeling much worse. I consulted a professional & found that the Gelous was causing my nails to dry out too much. I am going to try using nothing on my nails for a couple weeks. I will go back to the Gelous because it does a great job at protecting the polish. I won't be using it constantly though. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: MrsCarr81
Location: Fort bragg, NC
Salon Professional: No
Love it
Date:March 17, 2013
Pros: dries fast, add a little shine, does what it says
" I soaked off all my acrylic and knew I'd need something to put on my nails asap because they would break and get very brittle. I didn't want any gel top coat that needed the UV lamp, the Sally's clerk recommended this so I tried it out. It has worked tremendously for me. I use it as a base coat as well as a top coat and instantly my nails get hard. My polish also lasts quite a while too. I really like this product and will recomend. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: scopingforsavings
works well
Date:March 10, 2013
Pros: strengthening, no peeling
Cons: not enough shine
" I also like Beauty Secret's Hardener. I put the Beauty Secrets hardener on as a base coat and put this on top of it. I then put on color and then Beauty Secrets Top Coat. This peels a lot less than most strengtheners do on me. This doesn't have enough shine to serve as a top coat for me. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Marian
Location: Sacramento, CA
Salon Professional: No
best top & base coat
Date:February 17, 2013
" this stuff is amazing! I can go days without my nail polish chipping, my mani's last longer with just 2 coats as a base, nail polish then gel as a top coat. I highly recommend this! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.