Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gelous Nail Gel

Gelous Nail Gel instantly strengthens, hardens and reinforces weak nails.
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
44 of 52(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gelous Nail Gel
Review 1 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jnnfr
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: it's shiny
Cons: extremely drying caused cracking and splitting.
"I wanted to love this product, however it is very drying. I don't recommend using this polish if you have dry nails that tend to crack and split, this only makes it worse. After using only one time I had to cut my nails down to the skin. .Very disappointed : ("
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alicia15
Location: canton ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
amazing product
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: very shiny, hard protection, does not chip or crack if properly applied, excellent
"I have read some reviews on here with problems drying. If this problem occurs, you should try applying it by using a thin coat of this product. I used this product a couple times so far and its by far great! I loved getting my nails shallac ed at nail salons but always wanted a way to do it myself without purchasing a UV or LED light that can be pretty expensive. This stuff is the trick no more money to the salons for my nails I am doing it myself at a fantastic price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amandap2586
Location: Kentucky
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:November 3, 2013
"This stuff is really amazing! I've used it for years and rarely polish my nails without it. It adds visible thickness to your nails and really makes the polish last longer. I have horrible nails and cannot get polish to stay looking good but this really does help. Also, this product is so much better than those that claim to do the same thing by other brands I have tried."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shanti
Location: Parker, CO
Works Awesome!
Date:October 24, 2013
Pros: stengthens, promotes growth, makes nails shiny, makes polish last longer, can be used as base coat/underneath polish
"I can't say enough good stuff about this product. I was looking for a product that would help my nails from breaking, splitting and being thin. Not only does this make my nails super tough (without nasty chemicals like formaldehyde) but it helps them grow, makes them shiny and it makes nail polish last way longer! I use it as a base coat too! I love this stuff."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chelsium01
Location: Hinesville, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
AMAZING!!!
Date:September 27, 2013
Pros: long lasting, easy to apply, strengthening, thickening, inexpensive
"I wash my hands a trillion times a day and couldn't get nail polish to stay on for more than about 12 hours before chipping. I ended up wearing acrylic nails constantly just so polish would stay on. I finally took of my acrylics after over a year and my natural nails were so weak and breaking. I hated them! I couldn't keep polish on them for more than a day and they just kept splitting and breaking to the point of being painful. That's when I found Gelous. I use it in conjunction with the same line's ridge filler, "Bridge the Ridge".
My new routine keeps nail polish on for sometimes up to 5 days! I usually change polish colors just because I feel like it rather than because I have to! I always use SURE-BOND first. You can find that in the acrylic nail section. That just saps the oil from your nails. Then I use a layer of the ridge filler, then a layer of Gelous, polish of choice in however many coats I need, another layer of Gelous, and then Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat. Perfect nails!
I've seriously tried all the long last top coats and even the full line of ORLY's top coats, base coats, and primers and all have failed me until now!
I only share this info because I've searched high and low to figure out how to keep my polish on and just happened sort of by accident to find the answer. I hope this helps others!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
angelcat
Location: Greenville SC
AWESOME
Date:July 19, 2013
Pros: fast drying, long lasting
Cons: none
"I have been using this for a couple weeks and it is amazing. I have tried every clear polish there is to try and grow my nails but this is the best. It dries in ten minutes or less. Then it lasts for days without peeling or chipping. I can also grow longer nails without them breaking and splitting on the edges. I haven't broken a nail yet and I keep having to file them down because they are getting too long. It even saved my nails that were about to split. This is worth the money!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harlan
New Favorite
Date:May 24, 2013
Pros: shiny, great wear, smooth formula, multi-duty
Cons: long natural drying time
"I picked up this little miracle bottle as a result of reading about it on a nail blog. It has become my go-to clear and I use it as a base and top coat as well. Thusfar it has protected my nail beds from two polishes I absolutely love, but are proven to stain. The shine is incredible and it even helps to extend the life of my polish a day or two.
I don't use a light for any reason, so it does take a while to dry and harden up."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
StormyWeather
Location: KY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Gelous Advanced Nail Gel Coat
Date:April 8, 2013
Pros: protects from chipped polish great
Cons: dries out the nails
"I tried Gelous because I have a terrible time with nail polish chipping. It was great for that. For the first time EVER my polish lasted 5 days without a chip. I also have a terrible time with peeling nails. The first 2 or 3 weeks using Gelous I was thrilled. Then I began to notice my nails snapping off at the slightest thing & peeling much worse. I consulted a professional & found that the Gelous was causing my nails to dry out too much. I am going to try using nothing on my nails for a couple weeks. I will go back to the Gelous because it does a great job at protecting the polish. I won't be using it constantly though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsCarr81
Location: Fort bragg, NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it
Date:March 17, 2013
Pros: dries fast, add a little shine, does what it says
"I soaked off all my acrylic and knew I'd need something to put on my nails asap because they would break and get very brittle. I didn't want any gel top coat that needed the UV lamp, the Sally's clerk recommended this so I tried it out. It has worked tremendously for me. I use it as a base coat as well as a top coat and instantly my nails get hard. My polish also lasts quite a while too. I really like this product and will recomend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scopingforsavings
works well
Date:March 10, 2013
Pros: strengthening, no peeling
Cons: not enough shine
"I also like Beauty Secret's Hardener. I put the Beauty Secrets hardener on as a base coat and put this on top of it. I then put on color and then Beauty Secrets Top Coat. This peels a lot less than most strengtheners do on me. This doesn't have enough shine to serve as a top coat for me."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marian
Location: Sacramento, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
best top & base coat
Date:February 17, 2013
"this stuff is amazing! I can go days without my nail polish chipping, my mani's last longer with just 2 coats as a base, nail polish then gel as a top coat. I highly recommend this!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MRSMORPHOSIS
Location: Odenton, MD
IMPRESSIVE PRODUCT
Date:December 28, 2012
Pros: inexpensive, does what it says, nails are in better condition after removal
"This is a fantastic base coat for me. It thickens nails considerably, really holds onto my nail polish and makes my nails look and feel better even after taking it off. I have not experienced any of the peeling other users have experienced; you have to wonder if it's not user error (being applied too thickly, with oils still on your nails, the product being too old or left open too long with use, etc). Even with frequent handwashing, dishwashing, and also washing my hair twice, and daily typing, I didn't get a single chip in an entire week and only the slightest, barely noticeable wearing at the tips.
How I used it: two thin coats of Gelous as a base coat, two coats of nail polish, and three thin coats of top coat (I use Jessica Brilliance).
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbieNails
Location: NW Indiana
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My Holy Grail
Date:October 30, 2012
"I will never try another base coat. I have NEVER broken a nail when I have this on my nails...NEVER! I'm a bartender working 4-6 days a week, constantly hands in the water washing glasses. Being the polish junkie I am, I try different base coats, but end up with broken, split, layered nails.
This stuff is amazing, it acts as a ridge filler and levels out smoothly, although it is rather thick. It took a few times to master applying this because it does dry fairly fast. Dry to the touch in 2ish minutes, rock hard in 5ish minutes. It is not a lamp cured base. Also I've noticed my nails never get stained from certain polishes with this as my base coat.
Love the green cap which has ridges and easy to hold. I can always spot it from above amongst my other polishes. The brush AND bottle shape and size is much like China Glaze.
I recently read it can be used as a top coat and if used as base and top coat (capping the free edge of your nail) it will completedly wrap or encapsulate you polish making it last longer.
Just try it. I originally got this and after 1-2 times forgot about it. Then re-discovered and LOVE it!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Silvia
El Paso
I get bubbles!
Posted September 14, 2013
I put a coat on and stays tacky forever! Then after 2 coats of polish, I get bubbles as the color dries ( I've tried different brands). I've applied thick coats and thin coats and still wind up with bubbles. What am I doing wrong! I really love Gelish because my color lasts for a week! Albeit, with bubbles.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 14 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vdshelton
Location: Houston TX
It's ok
Date:October 23, 2012
"It does make my nails feel somewhat stronger but eh.
If I use it as a base coat for any polish, I feel my nails are stronger but the polish doesn't last as long - it starts peeling from the bottom and lifts off the nail.
Honestly, I'm sticking with my generic $2 Ulta brand base coat and Seche as top coat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deneen
Location: Philadelphia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Life saver
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: worth every penny.
"My nails were chipping and splitting all the time. I had to keep them very short. I read the reviews on here and decided to give it a try. Best decision I ever made. Based on other reviews I began by applying 2 coats and would reapply as needed. Now I only apply 1 coat during the week and apply color for the weekends. My nails are so strong, they aren't breaking, I have to cut them down every couple of weeks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LeRaw
Location: Pennsylvania
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not Impressed
Date:August 5, 2012
Cons: goopy, thick topcoat not gel-like at all
"I wore gel nails (not acrylic) for about 6 years & had to have them taken off earlier this year due to Nursing school. I've been looking for something gel-like but easier to remove. I bought this product & unfortunately I was disappointed. I used two coats of polish and applied this as a topcoat thinking it would act like gel, but all it really was was a goopy topcoat. It wasn't really hard once dry either. Bummer."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roxy073087
Long island, ny
Base Coat
Posted August 11, 2012
This isn't intended to be a top coat, its to be applied to clean natural nails, and you can apply polish over it. Good Luck!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 17 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
valj
Best Purchase Ever
Date:June 19, 2012
"For the first time ever I can polish my natural nails and the polish stays on for 1 to 2 weeks without flaking or peeling."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charisma
Location: Austin, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome!
Date:June 19, 2012
Pros: easy, fast, works
Cons: only comes in clear
"I didn't really know what to expect considering I have had several gel manicures and currently do my own now. This stuff goes on super easy, dries instantly and lasts close to 2 weeks! Which is really good for me since a professional job usually only lasts 4 days roughly. Too bad it doesn't come in other colors."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emmalynn
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it!
Date:May 27, 2012
Pros: strengthens nails
"I don't go anywhere without at least a coat of this on my nails. It makes them noticeably stronger. I've actually been able to grow long fingernails because of this stuff. With it on, my nails don't break off when they reach a certain point. It also doubles as a topcoat for chunky glitter polishes. I love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gelous Nail Gel
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amc0208
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
staple
Date:March 28, 2012
Pros: smooths glitter, dries fast, fills in gaps
"This is a staple! If you have ridged nails or you need to fill in gaps, you need this product. It's also amazing for adding a smooth layer over chunky glitter. Love!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>