Product Reviews

L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover

L 'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover is ideal for all color corrections.
Average Customer Rating:
3.015 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
23
36 of 67(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Review 1 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jacq
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worked, but not quite like I expected
Date:May 1, 2014
Pros: did the job in a strange way though
Cons: creates unexpected red/orange hue, dries out hair, bleaches undyed roots platinum, water consistency doesn't go on evenly
"I originally had dyed black hair (I naturally have a greyish-light brown), and I wanted to try my hand at blonde. After reading reviews from different sites, I decided to go ahead and try this out. If you do use this product, definitely get 2 boxes, if you have either shoulder-length hair, or thick hair, as I have both. Since I ran out, I have a sort of ombre look now.
It did remove the black where it was applied, which was good, and I turned out with a bright red head of hair, which was actually very pretty. Some parts were lighter than others though, since the mixture was nothing more than water with chunks, and didn't go on even.
One interesting thing is that I didn't realize this was a bleaching agent (I'm new to this), and it accidentally got on my undyed roots. The result is I have platinum blonde roots, bright red/orange hair, leading to black on the bottom. Needless to say, I look interesting. I'll have to do more research into how to become blonde, since this is a harrowing task apparently.
People stated that it dried out their hair, but it didn't dry mine out anymore than a box dye would. It feels like you washed your hair with dollar store shampoo. To remedy this, I suggest picking up some coconut oil (I got a decent sized jar at my local dollar store for $1), heating a bit up in the microwave, and using it as a hot oil treatment - leaving it to soak into your hair and scalp for at least an hour before washing it out. And tons of conditioner, regardless!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittycatmeow
Location: Lodi, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Color Remover Ever
Date:March 15, 2014
Pros: works great, cheaper than a lot of other color removers., doesn't smell.
Cons: doesn't come with a whole lot, dries out your hair a bit.
"My hair has been dyed and bleached countless times. I dyed my hair jet black after bleaching it blonde, and after a while, I missed the blonde but my hair was in no condition for being bleached. I read online about color removers and so I went and bought this. Seconds after it was on my hair, my hair was pale blonde again. This stuff really takes out the color. And it doesn't smell like rotting eggs like most color removers I have used. But for shoulder length hair, you may need two bottles."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jayla
Terrible!!
Date:February 25, 2014
Pros: no smell
Cons: damaged hair, did not work
"I usually use the Ion color corrector but the store I went to was out. I've only ever use that & it's always worked. This past weekend I did my best friends hair, she had dyed black hair. The woman working recommended we get this since the Ion was out. I should have just went to another Sally's & got the Ion. This did not take the color off of her hair. Her roots were bright blonde, but the rest was black. I even put it on her roots last. It had no smell which was nice but damaged her hair & made it look terrible. Next time I will make sure to get the Ion color corrector no matter what."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
misformazing
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
It does the job!
Date:February 22, 2014
Pros: cheap, did the job, easy to use
Cons: smells bad, ruins your hair
"I was really skeptical after reading a ton of reviews for this product but honestly, it did the job. This is a color remover but is in no way a miracle product. This is supposed to help you transition to a lighter hair color.
PLEASE READ THE DIRECTIONS! I saw so many reviews that said that this hurt -- it hurt because you put in on your natural hairline and it was rubbed into your scalp. The directions say to specifically NOT to do that. Focus at the tips and be careful around the roots.
It also did not promise to turn your hair back to your natural color. I dyed my hair a stupid dark auburn/purple color and for months could not get rid of it. I tried everything that I could but it still stayed. I tried Color Zap to help remove the red and turn it back to a lighter (easier to dye) color and it did just that. My hair turned into a yellow/orange and was very brittle. I made sure to buy a few packets of Ion Protein Reconstructor to help condition my poor strands of hair. It helped a lot and made the funky smell go away.
TL:DR? Its a good product and it does what it advertises. Please make sure to buy an awesome moisturizer and be careful with your hair. I waited a day or two before I redyed my hair. It said that you could do it right away but my hair was in no condition for that. Lots of hair masks and olive oil treatments! haha!
Oh! And make sure you buy two packages if you have medium/long hair. Im so glad I did because I ran out before doing the crown of my head."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovekai
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Straight to Color...Love it
Date:February 18, 2014
"Some of the reviews regarding the color of their hair after the strip are made by those who do not understand the Color Zap process. Color Zap is not a hair color. It's function is to strip darker hair color so that a lighter color can be processed.
I love the product. It helped me go from natural Jet black hair to a soft golden blonde. Thanks Sally's
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Janersx
TERRIBLE! DO NOT USE!
Date:February 13, 2014
Pros: absolutely nothing!
Cons: everything about this product is a con
"This product is terrible, if you value your hair, do not use! it turned my roots orange and didn't even lighten my ends. It did the same to my mothers hair, turned her roots bleach blonde and didn't do anything to her ends. We read the directions before doing anything and hair still did not turn out at all. Its a hair lightener, not a bleach but it still damages the hair. I've used PROFESSIONAL colour oops before and it is a sulfur base, THIS IS NOT! I will NEVER use this product again and i suggest others do not as well!!!!!!!!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nostiluca
I've never had a problem!
Date:February 3, 2014
"Wow. I've been looking at such bad reviews on this product! I think it's ridiculous! I think this product works true to what it says! It is not bleach, it is not intended to get your hair platinum. It is simply to speed up the hair processing time. If you want to keep your hair blonde you need to bleach it afterwards! The product is runny and leaves your hair dry afterwards but that's why you do a good conditioning treatment afterwards!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zwink
Works Well
Date:October 15, 2013
"After a failed attempted to lighten my hair that I had accidentally dyed too dark I decided to give this product a try. It removed the color that I needed out. It only took about twenty minutes which is great since I was concerned about hair damage. Dyed my hair immediately after application and it looks great.
The only complaint that I have about this product is that it's runny."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nyboriqua65
Location: Richmond, VA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Terrible!
Date:September 12, 2013
"I purchased this product 2 weeks ago. It changed my roots to orange & dried out my hair. I didn't receive any results on my ends."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TiffG
Location: Yukon, OK
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worked Great!!!
Date:August 22, 2013
Pros: removes all color
Cons: left hair dry and straw like
"I was very skeptical after reading the reviews about this product, but I decided to give it a try anyways because I just couldn't bare to have my hair a dark brown ( almost black) after a dying mistake!! This product works amazingly! It removed the color in half the time it said it would. It did leave my hair super dry but with a super rich conditioner that I left in my hair for about 45 minutes afterward, my hair was fine and felt normal!!! Worked so much better then Color Oops!!!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ShortHairDontCare
Dont buy if you value your hair
Date:July 9, 2013
Cons: runny, turns roots blonde, drying, smelly
"I bought this in attempts to remove black hair dye out of my nautral red hair, so i could go blonde. This product is terrible. It dried my hair out , and my roots turn bright blonde. The product itself is extremly runny, i had to use this twice to get to a Semi red-ish color, honestly, just dont buy this product."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fancynance
Location: Welland, ON
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Terrible!
Date:July 2, 2013
Pros: absolutely nothing
Cons: severely damages hair, overpriced, permanently messes up your hair, strong smell
"I wanted to go to a light red shade from a dark auburn and decided to rinse all the colour out of my hair first. Well, it did take the colour out, however my hair became very dry and straw-like and about 5 colourings later, dye still will not stay in my hair. I have to dye it every two weeks and the colour keeps rinsing out every time I wash it. It stains my white t-s when working out because it just drips off. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! I am contacting the manufacturer to find out what can be done. My hair is rejecting all dyes now!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kathryndeanna
Disappointed
Date:March 1, 2013
Cons: leaves patches, damages hair
"I've used this product many times in the past with no problems, but this time it turned out horribly. I was trying to remove a few layers of dark brown/black to re-dye my hair a medium brown, but the color zap barely worked. It turned my roots bright platinum blonde, some of my length orange, but most of my length was left with a barely lifted dark, dark brown. I wouldn't mind the orange or blonde if it had been consistent, but the patchiness is something I take issue with.
Secondly, this product is pretty much bleach. It acts, damages, smells, and works like a low-quality bleach, so honestly you'd be better off buying bleach instead (it's cheaper anyway)- I'm using Ion powder lightener and 40 volume developer to fix the patches. Overall I am extremely unsatisfied and will not be buying this product again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lolilolipop
Location: Jacksonville ,FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great!
Date:February 23, 2013
Pros: no breakage, fast on black hair, does what it says
"i was afraid of mixed reviews on this product, but since i'am a fan of a lot of L'Oreal products and haven't been let down yet, it thought id give it a try, and boy am i happy with the results! it lightened my dyed black hair in about 20 minutes, smell wasn't as bad as people say it was, heck i didn't even smell it, application was easy, only wish it came with gloves and instructions in paper form, and it came out a orangey color so now i need to dye it chocolate brown! first time using a hair stripper and quite fond, and absolutely no breakage!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meganm
Location: Saint John, NB
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Pretty good!
Date:July 29, 2012
Pros: works, not a strong smell but open the window, doesn't murder your hair
Cons: expensive
"I was super hesitant about using this product because of the mixed reviews, but, as far as I could tell, it worked pretty good for me.
I would 100% recommend conditioning A TON afterwards. I don't know what would happen if you don't, because I conditioned for three hours, using the Henna n' Placenta conditioner for extra damaged hair. My hair feels just like before. A little frizzy, but I can deal.
So, my hair turned a golden-orange-blonde. It's what the box says, so I'm upset with that.
I only had to use one package on my hair, which is medium thickness and shoulder-length. I bought two, just in case, but didn't need it! (yay). I think if your hair was any longer or any thicker, you would need it. For $15, though, I would have expected more.
Overall, a good experience! I would use this product again.
OH. Important: When I mixed up the contents, I let it sit for a bit because got distracted, so when I opened the spout it kinda exploded... I was able to catch all the product and put it in my hair but it gave me a good shock/laugh. :)"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aruna
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worked like a charm
Date:July 13, 2012
Pros: really washes out previous hair dye tint
Cons: horrible instructions, not enough in 1 bottle
"I was hesitant to try at first because other reviews said it would turn hair orange, but after futher research, hair color remover is supposed to turn hair orange/red, instead of restoring to natural hair color. Left it on for 50 mins, hair was bright orange. When I washed out the chemicals, i could see all the black dye tint come out, which was really good. Worked really well. Then i dyed my hair darn brown and the color really showed up. Will use this product every time i dye my hair now."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LTGD
Did what it said it would do
Date:July 6, 2012
"I was scared to use this product after reading the reviews. I only used the powder mixed with water because I needed to remove unwanted tones after a dying fiasco. My hair is naturally dirty blond and I had dyed it a red that turned out pink. I then dyed it brown to tone down the pink. It looked ok but my hair fades fast and my roots were reddish and my ends were muddy. This product did exactly what the box said. It evened out the color to a ginger/copper color. My hair is somewhat damaged and I did have some breakage, but overall was ok with the results."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissCandyFace
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Well...
Date:June 15, 2012
Pros: removes color, comes out pretty evenly, doesn't smell too awful
Cons: absolutely will destroy your hair, expensive
"Yes, this product absolutely DOES remove the color from your hair. I have used this twice now, and obviously it worked the first time if I purchased it a second time. The problem? My hair is absolutely FRIED. And now I have no idea what to do about it. Yes, my hair that is now blonde is GORGEOUS in color, but it's breaking off left and right.
Now, I could blame the bleaching that I did AFTER using this product, that's true. Why don't I? My hair was fried BEFORE I bleached it, from the stupid color remover.
I would recommend this to a friend only because it WORKS. Otherwise, it's quite expensive, there's a small amount, and it destroys your hair.
Now I have to spend MORE money for something to treat this damaged hair.
I would also like to add that if it came out spotty on your hair, you did not follow the directions! READ YOUR DIRECTIONS. It says to apply to dark areas first. This is because it works FAST on lighter areas. You would do the same with bleach."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Carr0tStick
Location: Dallas, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Very disappointing product, but does remove color
Date:June 5, 2012
Pros: removes color
Cons: not enough product, bleaches natural hair, a bit damaging
"My hair is not particularly long but there is not nearly enough product to cover your entire head. I had to seriously dilute it with 30 volume developer halfway through to be able to fully spread it through my hair. I ended up with very spotty, uneven results because there just wasn't enough. I recommend getting 2-3 boxes if you use this, but in my opinion, you may as well just use bleach.. because that's basically what it is."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal ColorZap Haircolor Remover
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
setareh
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not bad at all!
Date:May 4, 2012
Pros: lifts black dyed hair
Cons: some spots darker/lighter, smells bad, not enough product in the box
"I have my hair dyed black and have decided to give this product a try. In my previous experiences, my hair usually turns red after bleaching my black dyed hair. After I used this product, my hair turned light brown! I was surprised! This product went past my expectations, i would highly recommend it. The only bad thing about it is that there are some spots darker/lighter than others and the there's not much product available in the box, those with longer hair may be required to get 2-3 boxes for the entire hair. other than that, it's a pretty good product for removing dyed hair colors."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>