Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot

L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Permanent Hair Color is specifically developed to lift dark hair in one single step without brassiness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
1
36 of 41(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Review 21 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nikkol
Location: Albany, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Perfect.
Date:December 4, 2009
Pros: single process, vibrant, true to color, inexpensive
"I have used virtually every true-red permanent dye on the market looking for a deep, rich red that remains true to tone over my naturally dark hair. This product has worked better than anything else I've tried. It is a very bright and vibrant red without any pre-lightening using a 30 vol developer. The color stays in my hair reasonably well and does not turn orange. It does exactly what I want for a fraction of the price I was paying for Redken and comparable salon brands. Excellent and highly recommended."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
spookyaudrey
Location: Allen Park, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Mildly Disappointed
Date:August 15, 2013
"I bought this product because I had previously used a drugstore box kit of something similar from L'Oreal. The color took somewhat at the roots but resulted in a slightly muddy color. My ends (that had been colored with a black semi-permanent dye) did not take at all.
Overall, it wasn't particularly damaging to my hair. I don't notice many more split ends than what was there before coloring. However, I am disappointed with the results and will probably try a different method to get my hair back to a dark red."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
burley
Location: fort stewart, ga
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
amazing color!!
Date:May 9, 2012
Pros: nice color, good value for price, worked with my previously dyed red hair
Cons: none
"I just have to review this particular product and color. I had previously dyed my hair red a little over a month ago using garnier's hair color for dark hair. it wasn't what i was looking for, so i started doing more research on different types of hair dye for dark hair, and i came across this. I heard it was for virgin hair only, but i decided to give it a try anyway. it evened out my hair color a whole lot!! i love the color too! it's not overwhelming at all. in 6 weeks i'm going to do a touch up, and i will definitely be buying this again!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: South Bend, IN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I LOVE This :)
Date:September 17, 2011
Pros: wonderful coverage, great color for the price, doesn't fade the next day
"So i did some major researching! And this is the product I ended up buying :) It's a super pretty- unnatural red! My hair was a total of like 3 colors- blonde, brown, and splat color hair red in the bangs, and the coverage was WONDERFUL and even! :) I love love love this! I was looking for a color similar to Ariana Grande's, and it's not exactly it, but this is just a great product and i'm extremely satisfied with it :) I used a 30 volume developer and i used 2 boxes. I highly recommend this :) and i've had this color for like maybe 2 weeks? And it hasn't faded yet :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mblack
Location: Wheeling, WV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Intense shade
Date:December 23, 2008
Pros: vibrant color, doesn't damage hair
"I loved the results of this hair dye. My hair was a boring medium brown and it turned it into a vibrant red. In certain light it looks fuchsia, and in other light it is a deep red like it shows in the picture. It also kept my hair feeling soft. The price was great, it is a professional quality dye without having to actually pay for a professional to do it. It is definitely what I wanted, and I will keep using this until I decide to go for another color, and then I will probably use the same brand. I have already recommended this to one of my friends and I will definitely tell my other friends about it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RedVelvetCupcake
Location: Houston, Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Left my hair maroon.
Date:January 8, 2012
Pros: true color, left hair shiny and soft, no pre bleach, worked well on non-virgin hair
Cons: bleeds in showers, stain towels
"My hair was not virgin, I had dyed it twice before using this- one of those colors being black. I also put heat on my hair every day so my hair is really damaged on the bottom.
So when I dyed my hair with this the top of my head was wayy brighter than the bottom, and my roots were the brightest!! but after a day it evened out and was all a maroon... but the bottom is still a shade or two darker.
It worked great! Everybody loved the color but I wanted a brighter red so I ended up redoing it with L'Oreal HiColor HiLights in Red.
Would definitely reccomend for virgin hair.
Oh and your showers will be pink."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Misvie
Location: Vancouver, Canada
HOLY COLORRRR
Date:April 11, 2011
Pros: best ever
Cons: none
"I bought this as I have been trying different reds throughout the last little while. I stripped my hair once first because I had dark brown and years of other colors through it. The color I lifted it too was a muddy brassy light brown and yellow closer to the roots.
This color is INSANE, it is so so so so so bright. The dye didnt actually take as well on the yellow stripped part of my hair.. so some orange shines through on the sides. I wish I had know about this color when I was younger because this color is amazing and easy and one step. I look like the little mermaid in a good way.
Hot color, very happy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mae17
Location: Libertyville, Illinois
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not what I was Expecting
Date:July 5, 2012
Pros: looks unique
Cons: wasn't what i wanted, didn't work, damaged my hair
"It did hardly anything to my hair. When I bought this I expected a vibrant head-turning red. Not magenta roots and dark purple hair! I left it on longer than the directions say because I couldn't see a difference. An hour later I decided I should take it out. And I was horrified. I spent 60 dollars on 3 bottles of dye plus riveting reds shampoo and conditioner. And a dye brush along with some gloves. I'm only glad that I can deal with the crazy colour it gave me. I just wish it would have been a fire-red rather than purple. Oh well. Better stick to the bleaching. Plus, this is also damaging. My ends are fried."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Darls
Posted August 2, 2012
It isn't suggested to leave in hair dye for that long because after it reaches a certain time. If you're going to elongate the time process only do it for about 5 minutes longer and you can blow dry your hair for a good 2-5 minutes so the color soaks in more. If you leave it in for a much longer time such as an hour, all the dye will do is damage your hair and it won't add any more color.
Just thought I'd let you know! I would hate for someone's hair to get excessively damaged, it's the worst.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 29 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hotzam
Really Red
Date:April 27, 2009
Pros: colors true to color and last well.
Cons: the small tube of color is messy so wear gloves!
"I have a client that is oriental and about 50% gray. She wanted to be red, and from past experiences, I was leary about putting red on Gray, for fear it would go pink. After applying a dark color to color the gray, I would then apply 1/2 of the tube to achieve the red, and not get pink. Finally one time I thought I would try it with just the tube of color and 30 vol to the outgrowth, then added the little tube of intense red to the remaining color and applied it to the whole head.
Sheloves it and it was not pink. I agree with the comment that it is not a real color, but that is what my client wanted, and she stands out in a crowd"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancybug
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Really Pretty Color
Date:April 16, 2012
Pros: easy to use, good color
Cons: fades to an auburn color, color bleeds a lot
"I have naturally dark brown hair and I was looking to get it as bright red as possible without bleach, so I tried this color out. My hair is thick and down to my butt, so I had to use three boxes. It was really easy to use and although the color didn't come out quite as bright as I hoped, it made my hair dark red with really pretty ruby colored highlights where I had natural highlights before. I was really impressed by this brand and will probably try the Fire Red next time for a brighter look.
Only downside was that my hair bled red for a month afterwards and when I went to work out at the gym, it looked like my head was bleeding. lol
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tara84
Location: Lauderhill, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
OMG!!! So Awesome
Date:July 14, 2011
"I have always loved being a red head but as everyone knows reds fade some as soon as the next wash or two they get dingy:-( but this stuff is amazing I stubbled along it and OMG it is amazing. The color is so vibrant and to make it last forever it never ever fades ever is i shampoo and condition with Aveda Madder Root and I never really have to dye my hair until my roots are so grown out you notice but the Aveda even gives my roots a red tint. the combination is amazing. I orginally used teh intense red which i belive in #11 and then I went to Red Hot #9 and #9 Red hot is my fav. And in the sun it looks like my hair is on fire it great definitly will use this color forever. Everytime i go to sallys they are low so i try to get as much as possible. I love this stuff"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissLisha
Location: Hilo, HI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I LOVE this stuff!!
Date:June 24, 2012
Pros: amazing!!!!!!!
Cons: none
"First let me tell you that i have thick, dark brown/almost black hair that is about waist length....just to give you an idea:)
I bought this on accident. I meant to get the HiColor Highlights because I wanted an intense red. But instead I got a very very dark red. Its hard to explain. You can see the red more and more as it washes out. It is especially noticeable in the sun or bright light but you can still see the red indoors. I've used other hair colors and it only gave me a red tint. This actually made my hair red/black...lol! Like I said, it's hard to explain and you'd actually have to try it for yourself. I am IN LOVE with my hair color and am not going to be changing it up with the HiColor highlights. Oh and I just used a 30 volume developer from Jerome Russel.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wfree39
Location: fl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
red hot!!!!
Date:March 11, 2013
Pros: beautiful colorbrightvibrantand shiny
Cons: messy lay lots of towels down and use gloves.
"I just used this color in redhot.I absolutely love it.I have medium brown hair and normally i have to bleach my hair then use a semi cherry red in beyond the zone color then color it with light burgundy blonde with a 20 developer just to get the same color.So now instead of doing three steps to achieve this i only have to do one.The color is brighter and shiny.Its a vibrant deep ruby red!!!!! with burgundy tones.Its bright like i love and in the sun so beautiful.I got compliments the first day i colored my hair.And i must say head turned from alot of men lol...i used 30 vol developer.My sister used the intense red with 30 developer and she has dark brown hair,and her color came out the same exact color as mine,we are both very satisfied.this is now my fav brand and color!!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elliot
Location: Las Vegas. NV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
A little pink
Date:June 15, 2012
"I purchased this product in "Red Hot". I had died my hair a few times before with Asian products (They tend to work well for my hair due to it being extremely oily). The dye that I used before turned my dark brown hair(which was dyed) to a light brown. I went in and bought the dye along with another bleaching kit. I applied the bleach for a short while and it got me down to a light blonde.
(I used bleach because this is for natural hair only- so rather than mess it up- why not just strip a little color from healthy hair).
After waiting the 30 minutes I hopped in the shower and rinsed it all off.
It was an amazing red color. After a day or two I noticed it turned to a pink undertoned red. I have no problem with that, however in the past I have always used a orange-undertoned red. I have no problem sporting a pink~!
It was a good product overall. Glad I bought it.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wesleyanne2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Absolute Disappointment!
Date:April 1, 2012
Pros: rinsed quickly
Cons: smelled bad, didn't work, left splotchy pinkish spots in my hair
"I have never dyed my hair... I've been natural for two years and was finally ready to add some color to my dark brown hair. I picked up the color Red Hot because I wanted a dark, plum-colored red. I came home, measured the developer and mixed in the dye, applied to my dry hair, and waited 40 instead of 30 minutes to make sure the color took. I hopped in the shower and surprising, the rinsing went easier than I'd hoped! But little did I know that ALL the dye had washed down the drain! I looked in the mirror only to find that only random pieces in the front had colored, and even then, the color was MAGENTA, not RED. It looks like I bought some cheap spray dye and sprayed random pieces of hair. The back of my hair, which is where I started applying the dye, didn't even take! I am SO DISAPPOINTED that this did not work. Apparently it works on other people's hair as per other reviews, but this fell absolutely short for me. Oh well, hair dye must not be for me."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amandaecee
Location: Boston, MA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best hair color i've used
Date:April 3, 2012
"I bought this hair dye after researching quite a few, i have naturally light golden brown/ashy dirty blonde hair but i've been dying my hair for about 5 years. i've mainly used box dyes but i decided to give this one a shot. I LOVED IT. my hair was a deeper faded burgandy on my roots which were regrowth and i bleached and dyed them previously and my ends were also lightened and dyed the same burgandy (box color) but didnt take as well. I figured this was going to be a reddish burgandy which it msot certainly is. i couldnt decide between the intense red or the red hot they look so much alike, so i just purchased this one, my hair is a little longer than my shoulder blades and its medium thickness but i have a lot of hair, i only needed 2 tubes and i used 30 vol developer and it came out beautifully. i definitely recommend this to anyone, virgin hair or not, just maybe not people with dyed black hair as this would probably just tint your hair and maybe dye your roots."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dreama
Location: San Diego, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
ONLY WORKS ON VIRGIN HAIR!
Date:July 25, 2011
Pros: vibrant, shiny hair, affordable
Cons: does not lift dark dyed hair, fades quickly
"I was looking for something that looked like a dark, vibrant red, and asked the sales person at Sally's what I should use for my dark brown hair. She recommended this product and I purchased it with 30 developer and dyed my hair like the directions stated, which was 30 minutes for the length and ends and 10 minutes for the roots. Of course, there were only directions in the box given for virgin hair. Even though I have naturally dark brown hair and only dyed my hair twice dark brown to hide grays (with an ammonia-free dye no less), it still was not strong enough to "lift" it like the woman thought it would. However, the roots came out a kind of Manic-Panic magenta color. I really didn't want a "purple" tone to my red at all, but this seemed to give a very purple undertone. Maybe I should have left my roots a bit longer? In any case, the color did come out on my roots, but sadly not anywhere else.
I think this would only work on either truly virgin hair or maybe a medium brown-to-light blonde hair color.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
evangeline
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:July 9, 2013
"This stuff is lovely. I've been coloring my hair for about 10 years now, so it's certainly been through the ringer. Before using this I had probably built up 5-10 different shades of brown on top of each other on my waist-length hair, so I knew not to expect miracles. Still, I was pleasantly surprised that the dye took to the vast majority of my hair, leaving a slightly ombre effect.--vivid fire-engine red roots that turned to a darker black cherry at the ends. And I swear that this stuff *glitters* in the light. I DID double process this color to get my desired results, so keep that in mind. I reluctantly used the 30 vol Oreor developer that is recommended on the bottle, but it didn't seem to damage my hair much at all. I didn't notice any breakage and my hair was actually shinier and softer than it has been in ages. Two weeks later when I went to get my hair cut I can't even tell you how many compliments I got on both the color and condition of my hair. My stylist was getting agitated because she kept having to explain that *she* didn't color my hair. Of course the dye fades and bleeds with every wash, but that is universally expected with red hair dye, but I'm coming up on week 5 now (with no color protect or depositing shampoo/conditioner) and it still looks great! I'm just getting ready to redye it because I already have half-inch roots, but the color itself if still going strong."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Darls
Mermaid hair it is
Date:August 2, 2012
"I actually just dyed my hair with this product 20 minutes ago and boy, I'm a fan! I was a little skepticle using this color because I was scared it was going to be waaaaay too bright, but it's just the right shade for me! I've dyed my hair plenty of times especially with this brand, and this is the first time I've used Red Hot and it is possibly the best color AND formula I've yet to try.
What I like about this product is that yes, it may be very stinky when applied on hair (as expected) but once you get out of the shower and style your hair, it does NOT feel as if you just damaged your hair with a bunch of harsh chemicals. My hair still feels the same as it did before. I also appreciated how the color washed out relatively fast when in the shower, approx. half an hour. With other hair dyes I found myself in the shower literally conditioning and shampooing multiple times FOR AN HOUR just to get the color out, and it wouldn't even fully wash out until maybe the 4th shower which completely damages the hair.
A tip for those who will be using this who have longer hair, I would get 2 boxes. For the first box, focus on your roots and if you have any left over then go ahead and do the mid-section and lower parts and follow the instructions as usual. The next day, use the second box and focus on the bottom sections WITHOUT retouching your scalp and blow dry for a good 3-5 minutes. It will do WONDERS.
Sadly, I got way too excited and didn't read instructions correctly and did not wait long enough for the color to sink in, so I'll be dying the bottom section again tomorrow.
NOTE: Since the dye gets SUPER red, to prevent any stains on your floor or walls I laid out plastic bags around my sink and counter. I also stood on an old towel and had wipes to wipe off any fly away spots that might've ended up somewhere sacred.
Have fun with your hot tamale, mermaid hair. :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for L'Oreal Excellence HiColor Red Hot
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lush
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Know what to expect and you will love it!
Date:January 6, 2013
Pros: bright, beautiful, reasonably priced
Cons: stains
"I absolutely love this color. It is beautiful and bright, and looks gorgeous once it is on. However, this is a dye for *virgin* dark hair. If your hair is dyed a shade that's even remotely dark, it is not going to turn out the bright, vibrant red without bleaching as color will NOT lift color. Mixing this color and leaving it on your head for twice the time it recommends waiting for your hair to get brighter will not do anything but over process your hair and leave it fried without giving you the color you want. So, if you have dyed dark hair and want bright red hair? Bleach first. If you're fine with a deep ruby red or burgundy or simply dark hair with a red cast, no extra bleaching is required.
My hair is naturally medium brown, but had been professionally dyed dark brown with caramel highlights and had about an inch or so of regrowth when I used this dye. The virgin hair and the bits that had been bleached for highlights turned out a bright, vibrant Ariel red and the parts that had been dyed darker stayed dark, but turned a deep ruby red. It actually looks really good and I can't leave my house without getting compliments, and the color has been compared to everyone from Ariana Grande to Scarlett Johansson in Iron Man 2, so I was very pleased by that! I did as the directions recommended and rinsed after 30 minutes, then used an after color treatment and my hair is silky, smooth, and shiny with minimal damage.
After rinsing the dye did turn my white bathtub pink in spots, but I sprayed it down with clorox clean up and it came off within a minute or so without any scrubbing, so be prepared for that sort of cleanup. The dye also stained my towel, but that is to be expected with any brightly colored hair dye. I recommend using an old towel, or designating a single towel that you wash and reuse specifically for your hair so you're not using and ruining more than one, if that is something you're concerned with. Also, be prepared to give up using hot water on your hair for as long as you're planning on keeping your hair red. Washing your dyed red hair in hot water will fade it within a week, but washing in cool water every few days will stretch it out past a month before you require a touch up, at least with this dye.
In conclusion, buy some dry shampoo, some color sealer, and prepare yourself for some cool showers. However, the good news is, this color is worth it! Know what to expect and how to care for it, and you'll be golden. Enjoy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>