Product Reviews

Manic Panic Raven Black

Manic Panic Classic Formula Semi Permanent Hair Color Cream is the best of its kind! Gives hair bold, brilliant color.
Average Customer Rating:
2.357 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
5 of 14(36%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manic Panic Raven Black
Review 1 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ManicPanicUser
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Raven-Manic Panic.
Date:January 7, 2014
"Time and time again I read and hear people complaining about this color. Most of the complaints are that the color is not truly black. That is true. Raven from Manic Panic is not black. This color is modeled after the bird of the similar name. The bird is looks black but on closer inspection it's feathers have greens and blues. That is why when this color fades it turns green and sometimes blue.
In the future do some research on the color you want and the product you want to try. You can prevent so much by doing so."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gabs88
Location: WI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Terrible
Date:July 24, 2013
"This dye turned green in my friends hair. Not black at all!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Never Again
Date:June 19, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: turns green, not the color expected
"First of all, I would like to say that I love Manic Panic and have never had a problem with any of the other colors I've ever used. Raven, however, was a complete disaster. I should have done my research and read other reviews before using Raven on my hair because the reviews that say the color turns one's hair green are ALL true!!!
I'll admit that I basically bleach my hair to within an inch of its life so I'm really, really blonde. I started with that as my base and decided to color the underside of my hair. I followed the directions to a T and ended up with a pretty green with black streaks. (I actually got a ton of compliments but I've never had the desire for green hair and it was not at all what I wanted.) I thought maybe I hadn't left the color on long enough (or maybe I was TOO blonde so it didn't bond correctly) so the next day, I used the rest of the jar to color my hair and left the color on for an hour. Ta da! I had the exact black I was looking for! It looked amazing and was exactly what I wanted for approximately 12 hours.
The day after that, I washed my hair. I loaded conditioner on my blonde and washed the black and blonde separately so the colors wouldn't bleed. Unfortunately, the black did bleed into the blonde so I had teal ends in my blonde hair. Luckily for me, it looked like I had done it on purpose so now I looked like a green ombre mermaid. Also, after this one wash with cool water as per the instructions, the black was again gone and my hair was green.
I've been washing and conditioning my hair like crazy since this has happened and the underside has turned a blue with shades of green and some blonde is coming back. I don't expect a semi-permanent color to be perfect but it would be nice if the color listed would be the real color you were going to get on your hair. I will continue to purchase Manic Panic but I will never purchase Raven again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AlyPanda
Location: Mt.washington, Kentucky
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Stupid -.-
Date:May 26, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: pricey, doesnt stay, doesnt even have a color!
"This is to pricey and just doesn't work !!!!!!!!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jimothy
Worst Color Imaginable
Date:May 13, 2013
Cons: not black. do not buy if you are looking for black
"Surely they changed the base color for this because a couple years ago I had no problems with Manic Panic's Raven black. With how they made it now it shouldn't even be allowed to be labeled as any sort of "black." This dye is GREEN. There is no black whatsoever in the results. This dye turned my hair the most hideous shade of mold green with strange copper streaks on my roots. A more appropriate name for this shade would be "Garbage Green" or "Flu Diarrhea" because that is what I got with this. Even rinsing it out the water was teal with no hint of black at all. I can't tell you how horrified I was with this. I could not stand to look at the mess on my head for more than a day, so I neutralized it with some Vampire Red and Directions brand Dark Tulip I had left over. If anyone ever has this terrible mistake, I highly recommend using a semi-permanent red to cancel out the green, it does work, just be careful."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dontbuymanicpanic
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
lollll
Date:April 29, 2013
Cons: not black, seriously not black
"Not black at all. Honestly.
Used this color over the dark grey that was already in my hair and it turned completely turquoise. No semblance of black at all.
I always read reviews and wonder why people rag on products so hard. I've never had a negative experience like that until I used this product. Now I get it.
This completely did not do what it was meant to do, was not true to color, and was a waste of money. I won't ever buy this and probably won't ever buy Manic Panic again, as even if this hadn't turned out the way it did, Manic Panic dyes tend to wash right out of my hair within two or three days.
Go with Ion or Wella for a nice black. I don't know if direct dye is the way to go for that.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
morrighan
Location: Ms
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
terrible
Date:April 20, 2013
Cons: bad color
"They must have reformulated this because it used to have a purple brown base that faded to moldy green but the bottle I bought last week turned my hair a beautiful dark teal with red streaks. It faded to a bright lime green, which is actually an improvement from the moldy shade. I don't mind green hair but it's not what I wanted with raven. Will not buy this shade again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tessa02
Location: Georgia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
nice
Date:April 20, 2012
Pros: sticks, great color, not that messy if you know what you doing
"i put this in my unbleached medium brown hair and i worked pretty well.. i like it and will buy more."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kaylaaaaa
waste of money
Date:April 8, 2012
Pros: nothing at alll
Cons: fades easy, turns hair nasty color, waste of money
"I recently purchased Manic Panic Raven Black. I just got my hair to Platinum Blonde, so it should have gone in easy and really showed up, right? WRONG. I applied the dye as instructed. After I washed the dye out I let my hair air-dry. Later that same day, my hair (where I applied M.P.R.B) was already fading to green. The next day (today) I washed my hair as instructed (under cold water. NOW, I have blonde/purple/green/blue/teal hair. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leesha
Location: Newcastle, ME
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Horrible product
Date:February 27, 2012
Pros: none at all
Cons: does not turn 'raven' black, you're lucky if it turns black at all, fades into a gross color
"I had colored my hair black with a permanent color. My hair is very porous so the color faded anyway. I thought no biggie I will go to Sally Beauty and pick up some 'Raven' Manic Panic. That'll do the trick. I even asked the worker if the color should cover, to which they responded "Oh yeah that is like BLACK BLACK"...
Went home and shampooed my hair, blow dried it... Waited 24 hours before applying the manic panic so that my hair would be in prime condition for the application. I kept the color in my hair for 45 mins ( to make sure it soaked in as much as it could )... When I rinsed the color out, my hair was this NASTY grey/green with black streaks..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SnapeMeister
Location: Laurel, Delaware
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Ok For A Semi-Perm Dye
Date:December 27, 2011
Pros: easy to apply
Cons: faded to a nasty color
"I put this over faded bleached hair so I could go a few more months without bleaching it again. When I washed this out it actually showed more of a purple sheen to it, but as it faded for 3 months it faded to GREEN. Yea, that's right green. A moldy-mint green to be exact.
Of course I know why this happened: my hair didn't have any red tones to cancel out the green tones so that is why it faded to green.
If I ever use this product again I will probably mix half and half with a pink or red dye so it would at least fade to grey (I'm perfectly happy with grey) :)
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SuperSonicStevie
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Wow
Date:June 16, 2010
Pros: covered medium length hair, good colour
Cons: stained bathtub, messy if not careful
"I've been wanting to purchase this product for a while now and I finally did. It took to my hair really well. It covered the bleach blonde I had on the bottom of my hair nicely. Half of one bottle covered my medium length hair. I left it in for 2 hours and the colour looks fantastic. Only problem was it stained my bathtub a lot. So be careful if you don't want a purpley/black bathtub or sink!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Manic Panic Raven Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nataree
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
great black demi color
Date:February 15, 2010
Pros: sticks well, good coverage
Cons: stains like crazy
"i love this black! it is sweet because it has a purple base instead of green (like most blacks) so when it fades its not a puke green! i used it over white hair and it covered perfectly. i would recommend leaving it on for a few hours though."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Leesha
Newcastle, ME
Posted February 27, 2012
I don't understand how you can say it has a purple base... I smeared it between my white gloves and the base was obviously a nasty green. In no stage of the application or wash out of this product was purple visible.
Customer Avatar
selenaa
texas
green tint?
Posted September 1, 2011
I recently used this product and I was so satisfied with the end results!! I left it in for about an hour or so and it made my hair feel so much healthier and very soft.
But i'm noticing after i dried my hair, it looked a bit green/blue/purple?
I dont know if thats because I had a reaction due to the fact that my hair was previously red, or if this is something that happens to everyone?
I will admit the blue color looks awesome, but unfortunatly I go to a very strict school and they wont think so :/
hope this helped!!
Comments (2)
See Comments (2)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Manic Panic Raven Black
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5