Product Reviews

Manic Panic Virgin Snow

Manic Panic Classic Formula Semi Permanent Hair Color Cream is the best of its kind! Gives hair bold, brilliant color.
Average Customer Rating:
3.258 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
18 of 31(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Review 1 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lunaria
Location: Bothell, WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Got my hair white but....
Date:October 1, 2011
Pros: got my hair white, makes hair feel better, easy to use
Cons: washes out very quickly, product is expensive when maintaining white hair, takes much longer than most toners to "process"
"I wanted to get my hair white after bleaching so I started by using the Wella White Lady Toner. It got me close but there was still pale yellow in my hair. Someone told me to try this so I did. I started out doing a soap/shampoo cap to strip out the other toner and make sure my hair was bleached as light as possible. This is extremely damaging to your hair, and I have plenty of breakage from it. After rinsing off the shampoo cap, I followed with the Aphogee 2 part hair treatment, using the portable dryer I have. After rinsing that off, I applied the manic panic very generously (A bottle and a quarter) to my slightly longer than shoulder length hair. I put a plastic cap over my hair and sat under my dryer in twenty minute intervals for 1 1/2 hours. Then I rinsed it out and since my hair had pulled purple in a few places, shampooed until the purple was gone. My hair was beautiful white and I absolutely loved it. I know it's a semi-permanent so when I shampooed my hair I made sure to use my Shimmer Lights purple shampoo to help prevent it from washing out so quickly. But by the end of my second shampoo, the whiteness was coming out. It was still pretty white but pale yellow was showing through. I understand it's semi-permanent but I still thought it would stay white longer than two shampoos. Now I guess I'll be using this stuff once a week if I want my hair white. I think it's overpriced when you have to buy it so frequently to keep up your hair. It does make your hair feel good and doesn't pull too much purple on hair as damaged as mine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Enisa23
Location: Louisville. KY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
does not work!
Date:October 21, 2011
Pros: none
Cons: didn't work, pricy for what little amount you get
"i bought this product thinking it would work since i've read so many good reviews on it. i bleached my hair twice leaving the bleach on my hair for an hour each time. I got it to the lightest blond and of course it needed to be toned. I applied the manic panic virgin snow and let it sit for 45 minutes, it did absolutely nothing! i was highly disappointed. i have been bleaching my hair for over 5 years now (my natural hair color is dark brown) and i have been toning it with a clairol toner that has been discontinued so i had to find a new toner to use. manic panic was the wrong choice. after my fail with manic panict i went to sallys the next day and bought wella color charm white lady T18, this took out all the unwanted brassiness and left my hair the white i wanted in just 10 minutes! it is by far the best tone ive used since the clairol."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
skittlezz
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Left Hair Multi Toned
Date:August 17, 2011
Pros: good if you have very light colored hair, smells good, makes hair soft
Cons: doesnt work, have to wait a long time, gives it a multi tone
"First I bleached out my light blue hair with a salon care powder lightener with 30 dev. It left it with a light blonde brassy tone.. I applied Half a bottle of the panic panic and massaged it through my head and foiled it.. I sat 20 minutes under a blow dryer then took the foil off and blow dried it some more.. Then i waited an hour with no heat then washed it off... I blow dried my hair to find out that it was a multi toned mess. I was aiming to go for a greyish and it turns out that there was highlights of grey and then white then blonde... :( very displeasing Then the next day i used the rest of the bottle and applied heat for an hour and then washed it off finding that most of the blonde had dissapeared and that it was still a greyish whiteish blonde...
I would reccomend getting two bottles if your hair is longer than a medium short
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AlainaMonroeWinter
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
A Waste of Time and Money
Date:November 10, 2011
Pros: um really there are none!!
Cons: everything, it does nothing.
"After having hot pink hair, I bleached my hair twice with Clairol Born Blond Maxi bleach (drugstore bleach). My hair was a horrifying, disgusting orange. After, I used an ash blond dye (not Sally's) which did nothing.
Next, I bought One N Only Shiny Silver Ultra purple shampoo (which is amazing, by the way), dried, then applied Virgin Snow to damp hair. I followed the instructions perfectly, and I had NO result. The only part of my hair that turned a good color was my roots, which were lighter than the rest of my length. It was a gorgeous, flawless white on my roots, the rest still the color it was prior to toning with Virgin Snow.
Do not use this product unless your hair is white with only a teensy bit of yellow tones. If you have a deeper yellow, brass, or orange, then stay far, far away from Virgin Snow."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MyaR
Location: NYC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I will never use another toner!
Date:April 11, 2010
"I have tried every kind of toner on the market. All either really damaged my hair or turned it purple or gray. Virgin snow dose none of the above. It makes my hair feel amazing and gets it to the lightest blonde I have ever been able to get it. The part about it not lasting to long dose not really bug me so much, as I only wash my hair 2X a week and I use this every time I redo my roots. But my hair grows really fast so thats like ever 3 weeks. Also helps if you do not wash your hair with HOT water. But please remember that it will only work if your hair is to the lightest yellow not orange. And it also dose not work on natural blondes who have not pre lightened there hair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Childishtricks
Location: Mesa, Arizona.
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
IT ACTUALLY WORKS.
Date:December 20, 2013
Pros: very vibrant
"People don't use this product correctly, so they claim that it "doesn't work". It does work, if you use it correctly. You have to bleach your hair AS LIGHT AS POSSIBLE to use this after. I bleached my hair twice one week, and then another a week later, THEN I used virgin snow. I COATED my hair with it and left it in for about an hour. I use the generic purple shampoo about three times a week and my hair is SUPER WHITE. My ends are still a bit pale yellow, but they're always harder to dye anyways. USE THE PRODUCT CORRECTLY AND YOU WILL GET GOOD RESULTS. I do recommend using this more than once though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mmryan
Location: Orlando, FL
Two hours...
Date:September 20, 2012
Pros: softens hair, smells nice
Cons: doesn't work, pricey
"I had high hopes for this as my hair is a pretty light yellow after 3 bleachings, but unfortunately after leaving this in for two hours, nothing. My hair isn't even a little bit lighter, I feel like the wash with my shimmer lights shampoo did more. The Wella T18 works much much better but it also burns and it dries your hair like crazy. That is the one nice thing about this product if it works for you, it leaves your hair very very soft and nice looking. I may still try the amplified version after I do one more bleaching but for now this is no good for me. Perhaps my hair just isn't light enough"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunset84
Location: New York, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
The best toner out there...
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: it works
Cons: can make really blonde hair blue
"I bleach my roots once a month, and sometimes if I don't leave the bleach on long enough in some areas I get a bit of a yellow tone. This stuff takes the yellow right out almost instantly. It's amazing. This product will not work if your hair isn't blonde enough. So if it's not working for you, your hair is too dark. Whatever you're trying to tone needs to be yellow, not orange. If I get this stuff on my really blonde hair that doesn't need it, It actually turns my hair blue it works so well (easily corrected with a little more bleach!) It's simply the best toner out there for serious blondies!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johnny1290
Absolutely Amazing
Date:October 30, 2009
Pros: excellent results
Cons: none
"I love using Virgin Snow. If you are looking for that beyond platinum look, this is the one for you. All you have to do is pre-lighten/bleach your hair as light as it will go and then apply the Virgin Snow. It removes any remaining yellow, red or orangey tones left after bleaching. It leaves your hair "white as snow". I would recommend that you leave it in anywhere from 2 to at least 24 hours wearing a plastic cap or bag over your head to avoid getting messy. For more information, visit the Manic Panic website."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CherryBerry
Did Not Work
Date:April 15, 2013
Pros: doesn't work
Cons: makes hair soft
"I was told this stuff worked like magic, boy they were wrong! I had pretty much, yellow hair when I used this and I left it in for 2 hours and not even the slightest change in brassiness. The only way I can see this working is if you are platinum already and then the idea is mute. It does make you hair super soft though. I suggest if bleaching hair and you need a good toner use Wella Color Charm WHITE LADY. It kinda gives you a gray, purple look for a day or two but you will be completely white!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KittyMunster13
Location: texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Don't waste your time or money.
Date:May 7, 2012
Cons: everything
"I bought this as a toner for my hair after bleaching, and I'm just going to say, buy something else. I left it on a while. I added heat. And my hair still had yellow tones in it. I wouldn't buy this ever again. I'm hoping to get a new toner, but just not this one. Don't waste your money or your time on this one. I actually read that you have to bleach your hair multiple times for it to work, and everyone knows, you don't put bleach on top of bleach. So just don't bother."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bluesands
Did not work.
Date:May 8, 2013
Pros: softens hair.
Cons: everything else., does not make hair white.
"On what colors it doesn't work.
I had all sorts of blond in my hair.
If your hair is bleached:
Dark Blond: Does not work.
Medium Blond: Does not work.
Blond: Does not work.
Platinum Blond: Not tested/Possibility it might work.
Overall: Not recommended.
Like everyone said. This has to be for platinum blondes, because it did not work on any shades of blond
on me.
A toner shampoo gives you ten times better results than this stuff."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Talon
San Antonio, TX
Posted August 22, 2013
Toners like this only work on nearly platinum hair, that's always been the case. Of course it didn't work on other shades of blonde, they're all too dark for it to be effective without having peroxide in it. Also, you should NEVER use toner on hair with multiple shades in it, that's asking for a muddy mess.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 13 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
suzizack
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
fading auburn haired 62 yr old
Date:October 7, 2009
Pros: inexpensive, easy application, good results
Cons: fades quicker than advertised
"My auburn hair has really faded. Almost to a sandy /silver some light auburn left in it.
I used the Virgin Snow to keep my hair from having that sandy pinkish tone aging red hair can get.
The Virgin snow looks really nice. Just tones things down a tad, evens out the over all color, brings out more of hte silver in my hair. I had not ever colored my hair before.
This product makes my hair shine too.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katiee
Location: St. Louis, MO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
OK Product
Date:April 28, 2010
Pros: doesnt smell bad
"I use Manic Panic Virgin Snow basically as a toner for my light blonde hair. I don't think this color would take anyone to a platinum unless they went through mulitple bleachings. I use it after I shampoo or with my conditioner just to brighten up my overall color. I haven't really noticed a difference ever, but I guess it prevents blonde hair from fading too fast."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Painkillerhoney
Location: California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not worth your time
Date:March 5, 2011
Pros: didn't pull purple or lavender
Cons: weak formula, exspensive for the result which was nothing, needs special preperation to obtain color effect
"This stuff did nothing to change my hair color. i did everything that was specified.. even used a ph acid balanced shampoo and i still did not see any change. It didn't turn my hair white or even platinum blonde for that matter. Maybe they need to minus the vegan friendly and add the stuff that makes the dye work instead, if they are gonna charge money for this."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GreenGirl
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great on once bleached hair
Date:November 6, 2010
Pros: vegan friendly, all natural, good price, doesn't stain like other hair color, pleasant smell
Cons: doesn't take well to hair that's over bleached
"I ordered Virgin Snow haircolor as well as Red Passion and I can say that the darker color takes better to my bleached hair than the white. On my roots I can really see the white, on the rest of my hair it looks more platinum blonde, then there is a shade in between the white and pink to the tips of my hair. I think it's a very neat effect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cbcb
Location: Tennessee
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Really tones down the yellow
Date:February 20, 2010
Pros: didn't pull purple, hair is soft and shiny
Cons: none
"I've tried about every "white" permanent toner on the market and they did nothing. First I did a hot oil treatment for 2 hours, washed that out then put in the Manic panic Snow White for 30 minutes. The shade is absolutely gorgeous. It has subtle shades of difference so it doesn't look all solid white. I am so glad I found this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
babybuttercup
Location: ontario can.
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great product
Date:July 14, 2012
Pros: brightens blondenot harsh on hair
Cons: little pricey for the amount, wish it lasted longer
"I love this stuff.My hair is a mix of very light blonde to golden blonde.It turned my lightest peices into a lovely white blonde and somewhat toned down the gold.It's great if your just wanting to brighten up your blonde....kicks it up a notch.My only complaint,doesn't last as long as I would like and the jar is a little small."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Julz
LOve it!
Date:September 19, 2012
Pros: works well!
Cons: pricey
"I bleached my hair and my roots were orangey-yellow. I used purple shampoo and that helped a little, but made some of my hair lavender which i dont mind. I used this, and it took ALL the orange/yellow tones out. It is a bit pricey, but totally worth it. I have thin hair, and i still have half the bottle left."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Manic Panic Virgin Snow
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ohheyrece
Location: Grover Beach, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome if used correctly
Date:February 9, 2012
"Basically your hair already has to be white for this to work. I mean you hair has to be the lightest you can get it without toner because this stuff WILL NOT cancel out brassiness. If your hair is very light blonde this stuff will make your hair incredibly white. It just has to be REALLY REALLY LIGHT first."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>