Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream

Manic Panic Classic Formula Semi Permanent Hair Color Cream is the best of its kind! Gives hair bold, brilliant color.
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
8
92 of 110(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Review 81 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kurtgrl13
Location: New York
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
i looooove manic panic.
Date:March 21, 2009
Pros: vibrant colors, creamy texture, affordable
"Unfortunately because of my job I had to stop dying my hair funky colors but Manic Panic is the best! not only is it super affordable for the amount that you get but the colors are very vibrant and the dye itself is so creamy and moisturizing that its conditioning practically on its own.
to avoid fading when you shampoo your hair like once a week add some of the manic panic into your conditioner and let it sit in your hair for a few minutes and then rinse it out. you won't have to dye your hair as often and it makes the color vibrant again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daisy2622
Location: St. Cloud, MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
One of my Favorite!
Date:March 17, 2009
"I have the hot hot pink and love it. It lasts a super long time before it washes out, so I don't have to constantly recolor my pink strip. The strip has a lot of meaning to me and it's not just for looks, so I appreciate having a nice long lasting color.
I bought a pink color elsewhere and it didn't even color my hair pink, it was very disappointing and a relief to find this fine product!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Banessa
I did not like this product at all
Date:March 14, 2009
Cons: messy, fades fast, too many touch ups
"I used the midnight blue and it faded in less than a week. It turned to this ugly teal color that I hate. At the same time I did the Manic Panic I used Splat blue as well. In the two and a half weeks that I had the blue in my hair I had to reapply the Manic Panic three times and the Splat once. The Splat is amazing and the color is gorgeous. I found it very hard to get the Manic Panic to stick in my hair. I left it on for a half hour and my roots were teal and the ends were a dark blue. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rcokat
Location: Aiken SC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
MANIC PANIC IS THE BEST!
Date:March 5, 2009
Pros: color, ease of use
Cons: have to leave it on 3-4 hrs to get best color
"My daughter has used about five of the colors that Manic Panic puts out and we love them. I help her with the application and it is so easy to use and the color stays true longer than anything else we have used. We have fun using it and I have fun trying different things with the color. My favorite in her hair is the Ultra Violet. The mess cleans up pretty well when we are through too!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chicapc
Location: Indiana
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Fuschia color
Date:February 24, 2009
Pros: color is bright, easy to use
Cons: towels get stained each time you wash hair
"This hair color was a wonderful fuschia/hot pink color. The downfall was that it would wash out slowly each time you shampooed and towels would get stained. Lasts about a month and is great if you love experimenting with colors!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sassy41457
Location: indianapolis
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVE THE COLOR
Date:February 20, 2009
"i used the color "after midnight blue" and i cant believe how well the color turned out.
there was enough product for what i needed, and some left over for when ill do touch ups.
it processed very well. the color stands out, but looks very cool against my hair color (black).
only thing about it, after washing my hair...my hands are stained blue...but washes off easily with bar soap.
i did have to wash my hair a few times, but my hair is so thick its what i have to do every time.
color is still coming out after 4-5 washes, and still have to wash hands well with bar soap, but nothing too serious.
-first wash be sure to clean well around ears and neck-
touch ups will have to be done about every 4 weeks or so.
LOVE THE PRODUCT AND THE COLOR very happy with results
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chococat87
Location: Inglewood, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I LOVE Manic Panic
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: it's vibrant and last a very long time.
"I love manic panic. I love that it's Peta apporved aswell. My hair is dark, so i pre-bleached my hair using manic panic volume 30 bleach. I left in the dye for 3 hours and it didn't damage my hair at all. I will only use manic panic from now on.
Everytime you shower the color does was out, but that's with any color dye. What I do is, whatever dye I have left, I put some in my conditioner, so that everytime I wash my hair it gets more color.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BROKUN1
Location: FLORIDA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
EVERYONE LOVES MY HAIR!
Date:January 21, 2009
Pros: vibrant distinct colors
Cons: temporary
"IM ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE WITH MANIC PANIC. IT GIVES ME THE BRIGHT COLORS I WANT AND KEEPS MY HAIR HEALTHY. EVERYWHERE I GO, SOMEONE COMMENTS ON MY HAIR. I WISH THAT MANIC PANIC MADE PERMANENT HAIR COLORS BECAUSE I LIKE THEM SO MUCH I HATE WHEN THEY FINALLY WASH AWAY. LOL! IF THERE WAS A PLACE TO UPLOAD A PIC TO SHOW EVERYONE, I WOULD :)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cee1
Location: Ontario Canada
Small container, lasts long.
Date:January 18, 2009
"It's not a hair dye, it's more of a stain. There's nothing damaging in it so it's great for people of all ages. I occasionally put the odd little streak in my 5 year old's hair for fun. It washes out anywhere from 2-6 weeks (depending on how often you wash your hair/use products/use curlers or straighteners)
Some colours fade faster than others - ie reds and blues. Reds fade into a pinky-peach and blue fades into a grassy green.
If you have blonde hair, be careful when doing streaks, as you can stain all your hair, and it's not cute ( I know from experience when I dyed my dark hair blonde)
If you are colouring ALL of your hair, something you can do is put some of the Manic Panic in a small bottle of conditioner..it keeps the colour more vibrant longer.
If you stain your skin/counter, it's easy to wash out with an Oxy/Clearasil skin pad (or whatever other brand) ...but you can also put some vaseline on your forehead, and around your ears so it wipes off easier.
Happy colouring!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colormewild
Location: Jackson, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Hair Dye TO Date
Date:January 9, 2009
Pros: rich deep color, can recolor as often as you wish, some colors glow under blacklight, ethnics can get true color w/o bleaching hair
Cons: style with oil and/or products? color leaks some
"I must first state that I am part african-american and i first used Manic Panic in August '08. I have tried 2 other brands of semi permanent hair dyes at Sally's one of them I bleached my hair previous to dyeing it. I have not done so with Manic Panic. I have used Vampire Red and Hot Hot Pink. I love the color. I did not find it messy to apply. I normally apply some of the product to my freshly clean but dry hair. then add my conditioner (silk elements) I normalyy leave it on for a few hours at a time with a shower cap on (seeing there is only pigment, no harmful stuff) rinse, wrap, style.I normally recolor for a boost every 2 weeks. I will use a polisher or very little oil. I have not had a problem with dull color, it has always been rich, vibrant colors for me. I also have no problems with washout. I use Treseme deep cleansing/ moisturizing 4+4 shampoos and no problems except that i use oil to moisturize my hair and combined with the color comes out on my pillowcase!!! for $7.99 a jar and about 2-3 touchups per jar I will use this forever, or at least till it is discontinued!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hairbrushkiller
Location: Catoosa, OK
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:December 30, 2008
"Manic Panic is the best dye for 'out there' colors, hands down. You can leave it on as long as you want, and it doesn't harm your hair. It stays way longer than other brands I've tried, and it's not too pricey. I absolutely love it and won't use anything else for my purple hair!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enigma82212
Location: Evans Mills
The Best
Date:December 29, 2008
"I have been dying my hair and the hair of others for over ten years now. Blues, greens, reds, purples, you name it. I have used every brand of hair dye on the market. Manic Panic is the best you can buy. It lasts the longest, delivers the deepest color, and the best tones. I would suggest nothing else for your coloring needs."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nitewing
Location: Berwyn, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Good stuff, if you know basic color theory...
Date:December 5, 2008
Pros: brilliant primary color, gentle to the hair, no commitment
Cons: stains skin and other porous surfaces and fabric, can be messy to apply
"This is a very gentle, very brilliant line of semi-permanent color. It's great for getting all those brilliant primary colors without a serious commitment. Yes, it can be a bit tricky to apply yourself and it will stain skin, clothes and any porous surfaces (such as certain types of ceramic and certain kinds of counter tops). If you apply a thin coat of Vaseline around the hairline, on the ears and any other skin that might come in contact, it will help to block staining of your skin. Having someone else to apply is best for even results.
And it is SEMI-PERMANENT... which means it doesn't penetrate into the hair shaft and is designed to wash out gradually. How long that takes depends on your hair's porosity, so on some it will take only a few shampoos while on others it will last much longer.
As for results, you have to know basic color theory to get the results you want. For example, if you're using a blue or turquoise on natural, un-bleached blonde hair, you're going to get green results because of the natural yellow in your hair mixing with the blue in the Manic Panic. Yellow and blue make green in hair, just like in paint. This doesn't mean the product isn't good... it just means that when you mix colors in any medium, unexpected results can happen. So choose carefully if you're going to do this at home."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jadis
Location: Eagle Pass, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
never purchasing again
Date:December 1, 2008
"I will continue buying at Sally's but I will never buy this product. This product is messy, it stains, it leaves hair dull and unshiny."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
safh1zgjhaf
Washed out after three washes.
Date:November 29, 2008
Cons: washed out completely after three washes, turquoise came out green
"I used the "Atomic Turquoise" and the "Raven" and after one wash the black turned purple and the turquoise turned green. After three washes the black turned my unbleached blonde hair almost orange and the turquoise remained a faint green for a long time. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or not, but I most definitely would not recommend this to anyone."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MissMeow
Location: Malden, MA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My All Time Favorite Semi-Perm Dye
Date:November 14, 2008
Pros: long lasting, vibrant color
Cons: certain colors may not come out as expected
"Manic Panic is my all time favorite semi permenant dye, Ive tried a few others, even another brand offered at Sallys, but this is the best, I find the colors to be long lasting and vibrant, and you can generally get more than one application out of the bottle. The color variety is also great and can be expanded just by mixing two colors together to create your desired shade. My two favorites are hot hot pink and vampire red. Ive used those two time and again, the only two colors Ive had a problem with were the Cotton Candy Pink and the Ultra Violet, I found the Cotton Candy Pink to be too light, and the Ultra Violet to be more of a blueish, which isnt what I was personally going for. But other than that this product is wondeful and Sally's Beauty Supply has it the cheapest Ive seen."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teresa
Location: Jenison, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Makes me a color chameleon!
Date:November 6, 2008
Pros: good price, non damaging, easy to use, temporary
Cons: can be messy to apply, darkers color tend to 'bleed' more
"I love Manic Panic-what else can I say! They have some great colors, and the best part is they are temporary. They are also very gentle on your hair, and while they do work best on bleached or light hair, colors like 'Vampire Red' can add a whole new dimension to natural haircolor as well. Another thing I love to do is add a little to my conditioner as a tint in between colorings. My favorites are the reds and pinks, and the fact they are semi-permanent means I can change color as much as I want without damage or long-term commitment-can't beat that!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cristina
You get what you pay for
Date:November 4, 2008
Pros: cheaper than getting hair done at a salon, vibrant color on bleached hair
Cons: doesnt last very long, stains easily
"I was a little bit disappointed about this product. i bleached my hair a month before i applied Manic Panic hot hot pink. the first time i washed my hair a week after applying, a TON of the dye came out. i also had wanted chunks of my bleached hair to stay blonde, but the excess dye turned most of the blonde a light pink. i had the hot pink in my hair for about four months, but only because i kept applying the color every three weeks. on the brightside, this is definately a great product for just trying different colors and having fun. i got tons of compliments on the pink."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tinka
Location: New Port Richie, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
no other brand compares
Date:November 1, 2008
"I have used nearly every color that Manic Panic sells in stores and every time i have been 100% satisfied. These colors are amazing. Vibrant beautiful colors that never fade too soon and a wide variety you could never get bored with. I love this product and intend to use it for the rest of my life!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Im a Dyehard fan!
Date:September 19, 2008
Pros: fantastic colours, easy to use/apply
"I LOVE Manic Panic! Such gorgeous colours and a great price! Easy to apply, rarely bleeds and doesn't fade to any nasty colours like some dyes. I highly recommend to anyone wanting to try an awesome unnatural colour! I just wish Sally's carried more of the colours from Manic Panic...."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>