Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream

Manic Panic Classic Formula Semi Permanent Hair Color Cream is the best of its kind! Gives hair bold, brilliant color.
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
8
92 of 110(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Review 41 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Altimastylist
Location: Rochester, NH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Awesome!!!
Date:October 11, 2010
"I have naturally medium/light blonde hair so I figured it was time to do another color. This is the first time I tried the Hot Hot Pink. OMG! I'm in love with this color! It is quite possibly the most vibrant color I've ever seen in a hair dye!! Love it!! I have been using MP hair dyes for over 15 years and they just keep getting better and better!! LIVE FAST AND DYE....YOUR HAIR!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Seattle, WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great color!
Date:August 19, 2012
Pros: smells good, conditons hair, great color
Cons: doesnt have very much in the jar
"i mixed about half of a jar of the vampire red with a full jar of pillar box red, left it on my pre bleached hair for about 8 hours and rinsed with cold water. it turned out great! i loved loved loved the color! it made my hair a dark red with bright red hues!!! it ws amazing!!!! i went probably 3 months before i needed to recolor my hair (well other than my roots) great product!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rcokat
Location: Aiken SC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
MANIC PANIC IS THE BEST!
Date:March 5, 2009
Pros: color, ease of use
Cons: have to leave it on 3-4 hrs to get best color
"My daughter has used about five of the colors that Manic Panic puts out and we love them. I help her with the application and it is so easy to use and the color stays true longer than anything else we have used. We have fun using it and I have fun trying different things with the color. My favorite in her hair is the Ultra Violet. The mess cleans up pretty well when we are through too!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
izozo
Location: Pollok, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Manic Panic Vampire Red
Date:March 13, 2013
Pros: easy and simple to do
Cons: it stains
"I was looking for a semi permanent color to give me an idea of what I would look like with red hair so I choose this color. I put this on my unbleached natural dark dark brown hair and left it for about 2 1/2 hours and it can out just like the picture shown. Yes it does stain if you get it on your hands or tub but use bleach to get it off your tub and toothpaste to get if off your hands."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daisy2622
Location: St. Cloud, MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
One of my Favorite!
Date:March 17, 2009
"I have the hot hot pink and love it. It lasts a super long time before it washes out, so I don't have to constantly recolor my pink strip. The strip has a lot of meaning to me and it's not just for looks, so I appreciate having a nice long lasting color.
I bought a pink color elsewhere and it didn't even color my hair pink, it was very disappointing and a relief to find this fine product!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Myisha
Location: Tucson, AZ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome Color
Date:December 7, 2012
Pros: vibrant awesome color, lots of product for longer hair, won't damage hair
Cons: stains everything so beware
"This was the first red I went to when I decided to go RED, awesome color and product. I don't bleach my hair but due to rigorous colorings it's porus enough. I leave this on overnight and cover with a processing cap and apply heat. The tub allows me to have enough to keep some for later (root touch up) and I have shoulder length thicker hair. Awesome deep vibrant red!! Love love Manic Panic!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChandlerV
Location: Overland Park, KS
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awsome.
Date:April 26, 2012
Pros: easy to apply, conditions dry hair to the max
Cons: color lasts to long so i have to do my roots, stains buts its expected
"I used atomic turquoise and ultra violet. I bleached my hair and some of it was orange because i dyed my hair black. The orange parts that i put the atomic turquoise turned a very pretty green. I left the color in for 4 hours rinsed till clear than put distilled white vinager. washed it out than add conditioner. Every other day i wash my hair vinager,shampoo,conditioner. its lasted for 4months."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hollif
Fox Valley, WI
Not bad
Posted July 1, 2012
I've used this product in Vampire Red and Ultra Violet. The red turned out, not a dark red, but more of a dull-yet-still-bright type of red. I dyed it twice in one month to keep the color. After I decided that month of red was enough, I went to buy Ultra Violet. I did not remove the red from my hair, only shampoo'd the heck out of it, removing a majority of the color.
After I dyed it purple, it faded into a gray-dark purple color. It didn't last long in my hair, and I was stuck with an odd color. I later dyed my hair all black at a salon.
I used Pillar Box red on my best friends hair, and her hair is a medium brown with blonde highlights, and the color left a bit of a red glow. I wouldn't let her bleach her hair, because her hair is so thin it would've all fallen out. I like this product, and still use it, I just haven't had the best experiences with it.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 48 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vanitas
A different kind of Dying
Date:June 11, 2009
Pros: beautiful colors that regular hair color cant give, washes completely out of even bleach blonde hair, safe to use unlike many colors with harmful chemic
Cons: stains the bathtub if the water is not left runnig, color washes out of darker hair quicker than light
"Great product for people that enjoy doing something out of the ordinary with their hair, There are many beautiful colors to experiment with and it does not damage your hair so there is no worry about using it often. It is also nice that after a few shampoos it will wash out of even bleach blond hair so if you do not like the change it is safely removed without bleach or other things of the sort."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WildhairSpike
Location: Ravenna,Oh
One of the best for off the wall
Date:August 20, 2008
"This is the best hair color I've used as far as dying my hair an off-the-wall color. It works best on bleached or very blonde hair. I suggest using a hair dryer to set the color and leaving in for several hours rather than the 15-30 minutes that is suggested in the directions. It will last a lot longer this way. If you dont have to wash your hair everyday, then don't, the color will stay longer."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nikkikaty
Location: Bay Area, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Won't use this again
Date:April 12, 2013
Pros: pretty color at first, smells good
Cons: washes out too easy
"I bought Manic Panic after many reviews from my friends and the people on here. I bought it in the color "Vampire Red". I left the product on my hair for 6 hours, because I know it's demi permanent. After ONE wash it had faded way too much. I had a very firey red color when I rinsed the first time, and the second wash it was a ginger red. And it gets all over everything, even when your hair is dry."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SuperSonicScotty
Location: Houston, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Woow.
Date:November 24, 2011
Pros: very vibrant, excellent turn outs
Cons: bleeds
"Manic Panis has been my friend since I was in the 5th grade. It is an excellent product. The only time it has ever let me down was in 8th grade, (this year) when I got a color called "Atomic Turqouise." I swear to God it turned my hair green with hints of blue. I suppose it could've been because of the shade of blonde my hair was, but I was sorta dissapointed. Other than that, it is very excellent <3"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hann
Location: vb
great stuff, worth it
Date:December 8, 2009
Pros: amazing
"i love to dye my hair. to me hair is a contemporary art medium. i love manic panic, its the best stuff i've ever used. i love how the color stays in for a good amount of time and how the color is very vibrant against my light blonde hair. i use the neons alot, and they are so vibrant that they glow brightly under the black light, which is super cool! i wouldn't fathom useing anything but Manic Panic :)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UberBarb
Location: Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
In Love with Manic Panic
Date:June 18, 2011
Pros: great color, did not have to bleach hair first, gentle on hair, vegan, ppd free, not tested on animals
"I have brown hair that is almost to mid thigh. I used 2 jars of Vampire Red on my unbleached hair (No.. you do not HAVE to bleach your hair, as others have stated in reviews here). I left it on for 1-1/2 hours, applying heat for the last 45 minutes, and achieved an awesome deep red. My results with this product blew me away. I didn't think I would get so much color without bleaching my hair first. I'm hooked!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StrayDoll
Great looking and great for your hair
Date:March 31, 2011
"I've been using Manic Panic for 10+ years now, not only on my hair, but on others, and I've never been disappointed. The colors are endless, and it's good for your hair. The other brands of this color were either limited in selection, or didn't last long. With leaving it on for at least an hour and applying heat every now and then, I've gotten a lot of longevity out if it. Also, mixing colors is a great idea!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jenniffer
Location: Clearwater, Florida.
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Okay.
Date:May 30, 2009
Pros: nice color
Cons: messy, runny
"Well, my friend said her sister used this, and I loved the color on the site of Manic Panic, so I spent a while looking for a retailer, and found Sally's Beauty.
It's really messy. The color is awesome. But I got it all over myself. When I rinsed it out, my back was completely pink, as was my forehead, ears and neck.
It also rubbed off, onto my clothing, sheets, everything.
I recommend it, even though it's messy.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phoebe
Location: New Bern, NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great
Date:December 10, 2011
Pros: vibrant color, conditioning, you see what you get, smells nice, natural, vegan
Cons: fades fairly quickly
"I've been using Manic Panic for five years. I have never had negative results using this dye.
It smells nice, it doesn't damage and it's all natural and cruelty free!
The color is always vibrant and leaves hair noticeably softer.
It's best for those wishing to experiment with wild hair colors without commitment. The color actually looks nice after it's faded, excluding green-based colors or Raven.
I'd recommend this brand to anyone!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
LOOOVE IT
Date:August 19, 2011
Pros: smells cool, vibrant color, conditioning
Cons: bleeds whenever hair is wet :(
"Bleached my hair then used Vampire red and Rock n Roll red mixed and its awesome! I saturate my hair, then put a shower cap on, and some head bands to keep in place, then i sleep with it on..it lasts a good while! the longer you leave in, the longer the color stays + it will not harm hair. it DOES bleed whenever your hairs wet, and i honestly carry around a bottle of clorox when im showering / getting ready haha. but i do adore this product"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chococat87
Location: Inglewood, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I LOVE Manic Panic
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: it's vibrant and last a very long time.
"I love manic panic. I love that it's Peta apporved aswell. My hair is dark, so i pre-bleached my hair using manic panic volume 30 bleach. I left in the dye for 3 hours and it didn't damage my hair at all. I will only use manic panic from now on.
Everytime you shower the color does was out, but that's with any color dye. What I do is, whatever dye I have left, I put some in my conditioner, so that everytime I wash my hair it gets more color.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cobhc123
Date:September 25, 2009
Pros: very easy to use, works quickly, very vibrant, fun to work with, looks great if applied with heat
Cons: messy, can stain skin and clothes, could be a little cheaper
"This is the best dye to use if you want to dye your hair a crazy, awesome color after you bleach it. The color is very vibrant and looks awesome if you apply heat via a hair straightener. And if you want to dye your hair one whole color, there is enough color in the container to do that, which is good. Manic Panic is easy to use and fun to work with. My only complaint is that it can get messy and it can stain your skin and clothes very easily."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Manic Panic Semi-Permanent Hair Color Cream
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SaraBear
Location: San Diego, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good!
Date:February 27, 2010
Pros: lovely colors, easy to use, not just a 1-time use, dyes hair quickly, good variety of colors, there's an amplified version of these, doesn't damage hair
Cons: washes out a bit quickly, a bit pricey, stains skin for a few days
"This is easy to use. It may stain skin, but every hairdye does! Washes out a bit quickly, but they do make a line of amplified dyes. I'm glad that these last for a while inside the little plastic container, because you can do touchups almost anytime you want. It doesn't take long to get into your hair, and I really like the colors they make, because they make all sorts of shades or almost every single color! Great for show, and doesn't damage hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>