Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sally Beauty.

Curlformers Salon Kit

Curlformers deliver fabulous curls, quickly and reliably! They are revolutionary, because there is no wrapping. Easy to use on yourself or on someone else.
Average Customer Rating:
4.315 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
45 of 54(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Curlformers Salon Kit
Review 1 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NaturalLB
Location: Mt. Laurel, NJ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
No more Press-n-Curl, Curlformers!
Date:March 6, 2013
Pros: gives a great curl, soft enough, light weight, easy to take out
Cons: the stick/wand is a bit long - but ok, the hook can break through the former, expensive
" After watching this product for a year I purchased them the starter packets and tried it out for myself. I used Long & Narrow (which I found out are too small for me) and the rest Long & Wide (which I will now get this size in the styling kit) for starters.
I've been natural for 6 years with shoulder length hair. I was looking for a replacement to when I want a press and curl. I will now use these instead of pressing my hair. *No more Heat*
First I washed my hair with my Terressential hair wash, sectioned my hair, and applied my shea butter mixture and lemon oil. I used my Flaxseed gel on my slightly damp hair.
The first curlformer I did worked smoothly, the 3rd and 4th one I ran into problems (hook got stuck; I tugged on my hair, etc.). I was moving too fast. After I found my rhythm I was able to complete with no more issues.
After they were all in I re-wet them with my spray bottle (since my hair was starting to air dry).
Yes your head feels slightly weird bc of the formers but it didn't feel heavy.
I use a Charmeuse Satin bonnet by Ebonicurls to cover the curlformers. It's doubled lined and it helped when I had to sleep on the formers. So it wasn't too bad.
Taking them out was a breeze, but the best part was my hair was very bouncy and the curls were Great!
The curlformers were close to my scalp so My roots (Natural dos will understand this) were not puffy or wavey. Several people thought I had pressed or blow dried my roots first.
I think this had to do with my flaxseed gel and hair wash.
To maintain my curls I used my Ebonnet again. I'm on my 5th day is the curl is still good. (I have ppl who would tell me the truth). The next time I will use the curlformers I'll try maintaining my curls by pin-curling them at night (like I did with my curls after getting my hair pressed).
Only my personally opinion, if you do a perfect spiral curl in the back of your hair with a regular curling iron then I don't think you need someone to help you apply these.
Yes, I watched the videos but the Naptural85 youtube videos truly helped me. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monika
Location: Chicago
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Perfect!
Date:November 12, 2012
Pros: easy, fast, great results
" I have naturally curlyhair and would usually do pincurls to set them. However, I decided to chop my hair, and my standard pincurls were not turning out right. I stumbled upon these and decided to give them a shot.
I have to say this is the easiest and best hair product I've ever used! After I wash my hair I apply a little serum/leave in conditioner (ensures soft curls, plus the conditioner helps my bleached/pink hair). I section out my hair and start from the nape up. Then I just sit under my hair dryer/bonnet hat for about 30 minutes, take off my curlformers, and I'm ready to go.
I guess the only possible complaint is the price. However, $63 isn't that bad when you consider how much a curling iron costs, plus these don't damage your hair, are super easy, and will last for years.
All in all, wonderful product! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camer
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Overall good purchase
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: amazing curls, lasting curls
Cons: difficult to sleep in, pricey
" These work best being left on wet hair with a bit of styling product overnight. They are a bit tricky to put on at first but now I manage to get it done in 20-30 min. Sleeping in them was also a challenge but the trick is to leave 1/2 inch to 1 inch of hair between the scalp and the curlformer and it won't tug.
The next morning the curls are fantastic and even with my straight/wavy hair they last until I wet my hair (usually every other day or so)
In Canada they are pricey, about $100 but if you want amazing curls without damaging your hair with heat, I recommend this product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mauraea
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
2 Person Job - 2 Hour Prep
Date:January 23, 2012
Pros: perfectly formed curls, great ventilation for drying hair, easy application with assistance
Cons: uncomfortable to sleep in, hard to apply without assistance, expensive
" I bought these after a lot of thought, and was initially happy with them because it was fun to do with my sister. However, now that I've owned them for awhile I can honestly say there are a lot of conditions for using them often.
First, you really need someone to help you apply these. Yes, I watched the video too where the girl was applying them herself, but if you don't have waist length hair then it's not as easy once you move to the back of your hair and you're trying to pull the hook away from your head and push the curlformer to the base while not twisting the portion of hair.
Second, any time I use styling product the hook gets stuck in the curlformer, which is painful. If my hair is not wet enough or not completely dry, the hook gets stuck in the curlformer. If the portion of hair is too thick the hook gets stuck in the curlformer. If the portion is too fine then it feels like like my hair is being pulled out (I'm tenderheaded though, so ignore this if you're not).
Third, do not believe what ANYONE says: You absolutely cannot sleep in these unless you have waist length hair and the curlformer is not near your scalp. Once in your hair you're a bit like a porcupine, trying to sleep on quills. I tried special pillows, different positions, setting the curlformer further from the scalp (but if you want a head of curls they have to be within an inch of the scalp) - nothing worked.
So, I've found the way to use them is with a friend to apply, two hours under the dryer, and then you're good to go. If you don't meet those conditions its not a good buy. "
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shipp
Location: Hampton, va
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Ok....
Date:September 26, 2011
Pros: love the curls, easy to use
Cons: had one fall apart after 2 uses, hard to sleep in
" I love how easy they are to use but they are not comfortable to sleep in and I have already had one start to come apart and I've only used them 2 times. For them being as expensive as they are I was not expecting to have any come undone. Other then that I love the way my hair looks after I take them out. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gemica
curlers
Posted November 29, 2011
I really don't think they are for sleeping in so that is probably why it came apart. When I looked at the video it can be use with a head dryer. If you want to spend it up if you put something on it I think your curls will last through the night.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 6 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Undecided
Date:September 16, 2011
Pros: fairly easy to use. makes nice curls
Cons: time consuming costly impossible to sleep in
" I'm still not sure if I want to keep these or not. I think they work pretty good, but there are some drawbacks. I don't care what anyone else has said, these are IMPOSSIBLE to sleep in. It doesn't matter if you sleep on your back, side, face. I tried twice but ended up getting up and taking them all out. They are hard and end up either digging painfully into your head when you lay on them, or pulling your hair when you try to manipulate them in some sort of order to sleep on. Aside from that, I do like how they give my hair curl. I haven't had the opportunity to put them in and leave them in until my hair dries completely so I'm not sure if the curls would look better and last longer than how I've been using them. Since I can't sleep in them and I'm not getting up at 3 am to set my hair and wait til it dries, I've had to get up, jump in the shower to wet my hair, spray in some leave in conditioner, put the curlformers in, dry with a hairdryer on cool and full blast for a few minutes, put on my makeup, and do whatever else I can, waiting until last minute before taking them back out only to still have damp hair that goes kinda limp on the curls. This is all crazy since I had/have naturally curly hair. I had shirley temple curls and made the mistake of using the Ion Keratin Treatment kit on my hair which ended up ruining my hair. Now I have some wavy/curly spots and a lot of poker straight ends so my hair looks like a hot mess. What I'd hoped the curlformers would do would offer me an alternative to using a curling iron or hot rollers on my hair until either the keratin washes out and my natural curls return, or my hair grows out and the ruined part is eventually cut out (which would likely take a year and a half!) All this being said. Yes, I think these are great, would love them if I had more time to use them the way I want, but I cannot sleep in them so I'm not sure they are going to work for me. If you do try them, make sure you watch some videos on you tube. I found some great tips for putting them in and taking them out. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshleyRochelle
Location: Concord,NH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
LOVE!!!
Date:September 8, 2011
Pros: nice soft curls, versitile
" I absolutely love the curlformers! I am a stylist and was hesitant to buy them because of the price, but it is definitely worth the money! I used them after i got out of the shower and slept on them. they were a little uncomfortable but not horrible, worth the awkwardness at first for what i had got for curl in the morning! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kaisanan
Location: Woodbury, MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
These are Amazing
Date:September 4, 2011
Pros: easy, long lasting curls
Cons: price
" I read every review I could get my hands on before investing $$ on these. Here is my review: I LOVE THEM!! There is a learning curve to them (especially if you don't read the directions as you are pulling them in), the first one I put in my daugher's hair (age 9) pulled her hair. But I then re-read the directions and we were good to go! We sprayed her wet hair with ION anti-frizz solutions Gel Styling Mist (also amazing... light-weight, no stickiness, nice hold) . Once you do a few you get the hang of it. I do not understand the reviews that say the curls dont hold.. my daughter has fine, hard-to-keep-a-curl hair and we are at day 2 with a full head of curls. Just use a setting lotion or gel and have wet hair (duh!). Basically, I want to marry these (ok, maybe not, but I love them just the same). Oh! Also, she did sleep in them, it was no more uncomfortable than any other curlers. Only wish they were less $$! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nayva
Location: texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
bad choice!
Date:March 27, 2011
Pros: it was fast to "roll"
" curls were fuzzy, and it took forever for the hair to heat, then forever to cool...curls are not long lasting either... "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kaisanan
Woodbury, MN
Posted September 7, 2011
I am wondering if this review is for the correct item? You say "it took forever for the hair to heat, then forever to cool" these are not hot rollers, so this comment makes no sense. Also wondering if you read the directions (to use with wet hair and setting lotion/gel) .. seems that would avoid the fuzzy and keep the curls long lasting.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 10 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chocolatebella
Location: NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
These puppies are GREAT!!
Date:February 15, 2011
Pros: easy to use, economical when compared to cost of a stylist, can be used on all hair types
Cons: can damage hair if you're not careful, weird learning curve
" I love Curlformers! At first I was really skeptical but decided to try them on my 4a (then) relaxed hair. I LOVED THE RESULTS!!! Several years later, I still have these only I am natural. I tried them and they are still FANTASTIC!! You're only limited by your imagination. They can be used on twists, natural hair, braids, etc.
These are VERY economical when you compare the cost of these to the cost of ONE session with a stylist!! BUY THESE AND GET MULTIPLE USES/STYLES!!
There IS a tip/trick for using these. DO NOT PULL AT A DOWNWARD ANGLE! Pull straight out at a 90 degree angle from your head and make sure that all of your section is in the hook. No breakage and perfect results every time! It takes a little practice but it's soooo worth it!! "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nickmouse
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good buy
Date:February 6, 2011
Pros: easy to use, great look
Cons: price
" It was totally easy to use, and it allows the hair to dry fast "
Review 12 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ModelMagic
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing
Date:February 2, 2011
Pros: easy to use, salon finish results
Cons: takes a little practice, 1 hour to set
" This product is wonderful. I am transitioning and have always gone to the salon. I do this myself and get compliments everywhere I go. People were drawn to me and want to play in my curls because they are so soft and inviting. LOVE THIS PRODUCT! The kit was enough for my shoulder-length hair. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blebsie
Easy to use and great results
Date:January 4, 2011
Pros: easy to use, great results
Cons: a little overpriced
" This really is a great kit - easy to use and gives amazing results. I use to rag roll hair for dance, now I shall be using these on a regular basis. They give really soft curls which look way nicer than those given by a curling iron. Love this product! "
Review 14 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
J1950
Location: Dickinson,Tx
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Second Purchase Same Product
Date:December 28, 2010
Pros: curls are perfect
Cons: none
" I love these rollers!!! They are comfortable,easy to use and are GREAT for kids.I bought two kits for my Grandaughters.They are in Cheer Competitions and these work wonderful.I recomend these rollers for every little girl that wants curly hair but not a perm. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CheerMom1
ok
Date:December 28, 2010
Pros: pretty curls
Cons: price, not enough size options offered
" They really curl hair but I wish Sallys offered the extra wide because the curls are a little tight even when using bigger pieces of hair. I will try a few different things and hope it makes a difference. If you want curls, this definitely works! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mvlopezm
Location: Guadalajara, México
Amazing!!!!
Date:December 14, 2010
Pros: great product
" This product really makes beautiful curls, smooth and well defined even without using any heat. I have an afroamerican hair and leaving it incredibly shiny, soft and defined. I did not believe that no curling tool could do that in my hair so easily. "
Review 17 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kkljasmine
Location: ut
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
love them
Date:December 3, 2010
Pros: great curls, easy to use, worth the cost
" i love these curlers. they give you a wonderful curl. and are very easy to use "
Review 18 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ivory
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Cute Curls but Long Prep Time
Date:November 21, 2010
Pros: perfect curls, decent value, easy to remove
Cons: time consuming, pulls hair, hard to sleep in
" I am transitioning from relaxed to natural and after debating for 2 months I finally bought the kit. I really like it except for the fact that it took over an hour to put them all in my head, I needed about 4 more spirals than were in the kit, and I pulled out quite a few chunks of hair while using them. When I took them out the next morning the curls were PERFECT! Definitely worth the time and at just $60 for the kit, it's paid for itself already (versus how much my stylist charges for roller sets). "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DebJ
Location: Houston, Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Okay, but not enough rollers
Date:October 12, 2010
Pros: different look, dried quickly
Cons: difficult to sleep in, took forever to put in, a lot hair pulling
" I'm African-American with long, thick, relaxed hair. I normally set my hair on magnetic rollers and tried these for something different. There were not enough curlformers - I need about two more packs. The small & narrow ones were useless for my armpit-length hair. My curls lasted 1 day. Next time I'll use a setting lotion. Considering I have to buy two more packs, I think this is not a good value for the price. They also took over an hour to put in and they were NOT comfortable to sleep in. These things are very stiff and heavy. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Curlformers Salon Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
faegirlie
Location: NM
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Curls ever
Date:October 2, 2010
" This kit gives you everything you need for perfect curls. A styling liquid is also helpful.
Easy to use and color coded for direction. Left is pink orange is right. If you make sure your hair dries completely they will last a good few days.
I don't recommend sleeping in them.
but a great product
"
1 2 3 next>>