Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion

Toma's Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion gives you a total sunless tan!
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
47 of 52(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Review 1 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatS922
Only Self-Tanner I will ever buy
Date:April 10, 2013
"I have tried LOTS of self tanners, this was by far THE BEST!!! I love the bronzer that allows you to see where it has been applied and prevents you from streaking. I mix with a little moisturizer when applying to my face and hands. It is very dark when I apply it at night, but when I shower the next morning I am left with a very natural, NOT ORANGE, color. The scent is a little strong after first applying, but once again, after I shower the next morning it is gone. I will never buy another self tanner again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilmissmoss
Great Coverage
Date:March 10, 2013
"I really like this product...the color it gives is a dark brown with only one application, the smell is nice and it fades naturally. The only thing I wish is that it had at least one more ounce for the price. This is still a very good value for a self tanner considering there's tanners out there that sell for three times the price; however, more than anything I hate how fast you can go through this product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: auburn, ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great!!!!
Date:September 30, 2012
Pros: works well with moisturisers
Cons: smells chemically
"I was a bit spectacle to buy this product. I read other reviews and thought I would give it a try. I love it. I use it sparingly, but I noticed the trick is definelty using it three to four nights in a row. and putting it on at night. :) I was concerned about turning orange, but that didn't happen. I am very fair skined and it worked beautifully. The excess color does come of in the shower. I mix the tanner with a moiseriser for elbows knees and ankles. :)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mindi
Location: Pennsylvania
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best that I've Found
Date:June 14, 2012
Pros: easy to use, neutral smell, tan color, works
Cons: transfer of bronzer to clothing etc.
"I read about this self-tanner on the Sally web site and thought I'd try it. I really liked the application with the enclosed gloves. It made it less messy and didn't stain my hands. The price is about average for a good product like this. The smell was almost non-existent for me; not bad at all; however, as it stays on your skin you will smell that tell-tale tanner smell but it isn't strong and you wash it off in the morning. The lotion is very thick but that helps to put it on and the bronzer is great to show where it's at and to even it up if necessary. The only reason I gave it a 4 star is that the bronzer definitely transfers to clothing, etc. so be careful with your good bedspreads, etc. as they will get a tint of tanner on them. The bronzer does come off in the shower so it looks darker than it really is once you've showered. I only wish it came without the added bronzer due to the transfer issue. Sometimes I use it during the day and must be careful not to sit on the couch or in the car if I have shorts on. The color of the tan is excellent; a beautiful bronze mocha shade; not at all orange. It also lasts for about 3 days unless you continue applying it. One bottle will do the body several times so I didn't think the price was bad. Overall, I will buy it again and enjoy tanned skin in the summer without the damaging rays of the sun."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
asand
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Didn't turn me orange but dries very slowly
Date:June 9, 2012
"Pro: Did not turn me orange. I am as white as a ghost (in other words, my tan is everyone else's natural skin color) and it actually made me tan.
Cons: I applied this two hours ago and unfortunately, I'm still not dry. I'm afraid to sit down! I'm wondering when this will ever dry!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
idothisforaliving
Location: San Diego CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
the best i've tried
Date:May 26, 2012
Pros: natural-looking brown color, doesn't 'crackle'
Cons: formula is very thick
"While no self-tanner is perfect, this one comes darn close. I mix some with my body lotion because the formula is thick and that helps it soak into my skin better. Also, when doing my feet, ankles, knees and elbows I use a lot more lotion in that mix so I don't have too-dark skin in those areas. I get a nice dark-brown tan after two applications and can keep it up by reapplying after 3 - 4 days. After the 4th day it fades fast but that's to be expected. It might be too brown for very light skin tones, but for light to medium tones you'll get a very nice brown tan."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamaBear
Location: Wisconsin
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I am in love!
Date:April 5, 2012
Pros: natural looking color-brown not orange, goes on smooth, very affordable, a little bit goes a long way, minimal smell until it dries and sets in, lasts for almost a week with good skin upkeep
"Holy COW TOMA'S! I love you!! :) I have fair skin and I long to have a real tan, dark glowing skin.. I think it's beautiful and Toma's gave that to me! I've seriously tried just about every drug store self tanner on the market, and every single one leaves me with an uneven unnatural orange glow.. which I do not want.. I used Toma's for the 3rd time last night and woke up looking like I just got back from the beach!! This lotion will give you a fresh bronzed gorgeous glow that you will love. I'm not going to say it's streak free or streaky-- it all depends on how you apply it. This is a VERY dark lotion so make sure you blend and smooth and blend and blend!!! But it's so worth it.. I put it on about every 5 days (my color stays rich for this long if I keep my skin moisturized!) before I go to bed. BUY THIS LOTION IF YOU WANT A DEEP DARK REAL LOOKING TAN!
It's an all natural formula so I'm comfortable putting it on my skin.. if it gets on your clothes/sheets/towels etc.. it comes out when you wash them! AMAZING. It also has a very subtle smell when you apply it which is nice.. but once it dries and sinks into your skin, it does have a typical self tanning lotion smell. This is why I rub it on before I go to bed, so I wake up and shower the smell off- and the color is perfect!! This product is amazing and well worth the price, I'm a believer!! I'll never buy another brand of tanning lotion- OR expensive minutes in a tanning bed. I'm hooked!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
izzytoo
Location: Oklahoma
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great tanner !
Date:April 3, 2012
"It works well without turning orange. I like the fact that it is tinted, which allows you to see where you put it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kriztint
Location: Virginia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love this lotion
Date:March 31, 2012
"This lotion is great, give you instant color, the only down side is it fades away in about 2-3 days, but looks great those first 2 days. No streaking because you can tell where you have applied. I wish it came in a bigger bottle! I usually spray tan but this is just as good and faster to apply, Love this lotion! Well worth the price."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CinnyB
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best I've ever tried!
Date:March 29, 2012
Pros: long lasting, even color, dries quick, natural looking
"I was shocked how much I love this sunless tanner! It is by far the best I've ever tried, and I've tried a lot of drug store tanning lotions. I am very pale and this gives me great natural looking color. The best part is the staying power of it. It really stains the skin and didn't even come off when I shaved my legs. I am hooked! Some reviewers say it has a bad smell but it doesn't bother me at all, I've smelled worse sunless tanning lotions. It dries quickly compared to others and hasn't stained anything. I love that its made in the USA! The gloves are important to use, I'm glad there was a pair included. I applied at night and didn't shower for 24 hrs, It took the edge off and left behind pretty brown skin! XOXO I'll never be pale again!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
B0MBSH3LLB3TTY
Great Instant Color!
Date:August 29, 2011
Pros: instant bronze color, easy to apply, no orange
Cons: doesn't smell great, can stain your hands, bottle isn't very big
"After reading the good reviews I figured I'd give it a shot. I've worked at tanning salons with the Mystic Tan and have used other types of spray on tans. This stuff is equal if not better to the results I would get with those. It is very controlled color, not orange, but a nice, deep bronze. Make sure you wear the gloves!! Your hands will soak up the color and get very dark. I would even recommend buying smaller gloves because the ones they give you are a little big.
Make sure you exfoliate and moisturize well prior to using it. Use small amounts and do small areas at a time, using little circular motions to get it all absorbed evenly. Go easy around the knees and elbows. I always do my arms last and get close to the gloves, then take the gloves off to blend onto the tops of my hands. Do this at night so you give it a lot of time to absorb. You're supposed to take a shower in the morning, but I never do. It seems to not rub off on anything the next day, but the instant color will wash off in the shower, leaving you with your own developed color. Use it 2 or 3 nights in a row, then a couple times a week to maintain your color. I mix it half and half with body moisturizer and mix a small amount into my face moisturizer to give my face a hint of color.
The smell isn't the best but it goes away pretty quickly. The bottle isn't huge and it's VERY thick, but I don't mind the consistency. It absorbs quickly and gives you immediate color. I'm very happy with this stuff and will definitely continue buying it!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kryssy
AWSOME!!!
Date:August 11, 2011
"I have tried many products in the past to try and get tan and thisis by far the best! It has not turned me orange and I already after 1 application have color. Going to try and put 2 more on and see what that does. Deafinatly my best purchase ever!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Goforit
Location: Chesterland, Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
A tip
Date:June 29, 2011
"Since this lotion is thick and doesn't have the nicest aroma, squeeze some out in the palm of your hand along with some of your favorite body lotion. Mix together, then apply to skin. It helps the tanning lotion go on easier/smoother and you get the smell of your favorite body lotion at the same time. I do this with any self-tanners I use."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KeithsAngel
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it!
Date:June 14, 2011
"I'm on my 3rd bottle of this and I LOVE it!! I'm 35 and am starting to see slight sun damage on my skin so realized it was time to start using heavy duty sunscreen but still wanted to be tan. The application is really easy and I love the bronzer in it so you can see where it's going. I definitely recommend doing it at night before you go to bed so it has time to work and then rinse off the bronzer in the morning."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
scrappyhappy
THE BEST!
Posted March 29, 2012
I LOVE this self tanning lotion. It doesn't streak, doesn't leave you orange. IS THE BEST! I've tried a lot and this is the only one that I will use now! I do recommend buying gloves though.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 15 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Medusa1970
Location: Lancaster PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Nice product
Date:May 15, 2011
Pros: instant bronzer
Cons: too hard to get out of the bottle
"I like the instant bronzer, makes you look tan right away. Which helps show where you placed the product and if you missed any areas. Do apply it at night like the bottle says. I applied during the day once and got dressed and the product rubbed off around my waistline while wearing jeans. The product is thick so it was difficult getting it out. So I store my bottle upside down."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RysMommy
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing!
Date:May 5, 2011
"This is the best stuff out there. Before I had my son I would go tanning 3-4 times a week, but I just don't have time for it anymore, not to mention I would really rather not end up with skin cancer. I have tried so many different products to try and get a quick tan when I need it, and I finally found this one. It takes about ten minutes for me to get my entire body covered in a wonderful tan that doesn't look fake or too orange. It doesn't rub off on my clothes, and it doesn't wash off when I'm doing my daily household duties. I would recommend this to anyone thats looking to get a beautiful tan in a few minutes without damaging their skin. The best part is once you get the tan your looking for, you only have to use it once a week to keep that tan! I would also like to add that I have sensitive skin and this doesn't irritate it at all, and since I just had my son two months ago I have my wonderful "battle scars" ie;stretch marks, which are covered up really well by this product. Bonus! :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cityslicker53
Location: Virginia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
this stuff is great!
Date:April 20, 2011
"I love this stuff! I love having a tan, but my skin is so pale it's hard for me to get a tan quickly outside. I have tried soooo many other self tannerd and they either didn't show up or came out streaky. I tried this one and was pleasantly surprised! A nice tan developed in about three days. I love the built in bronzer to show where you've applied the product. The first morning when I showered, the bronzer washed off and I wasn't instantly tan, but I did see the tan developing. The smell isn't too bad and the bronzer didn't come off on my clothes or sheets. Overall, this stuff is amazing and it's like the best self tanner I've ever used!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AbTheAmazing
Location: Wisconsin
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Mediocre at best
Date:April 19, 2011
"I wanted to use a lotion after the spray self tanners I was using ended up everywhere! (ceiling fan, vents, ect). This was the only self-tanning lotion my local Sally's had in stock so I thought I'd try it. The smell isn't strong and fades quickly, but the formula is extremely thick and was sometimes hard to blend in certain areas. I got weird dark/light patches on my chest.
When I got to the last quarter of the bottle, I couldn't get the lotion out. I had to literally cut my bottle in half and put it in a sealed plastic bag for storage. It ended up crusting over at the top, causing a mess, so I just threw the rest of the bottle away.
The color was nice, not orange. No one asked if I had a spray tan and I got lots of compliments on my color!
I would only use this product again if I were in a bind and didn't have time to either hit up a tanning salon or find another product. I wasn't in love. I'll stick to my sprays!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
elizab
Location: Tulsa, OK
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Absolutely no streaking!
Date:April 7, 2011
Pros: no streaking, little smell, easy application, natural color
"I have an allergy to the sun and CANNOT tan naturally at all- it gives me really itchy and painful hives. I spent all last summer as pale as a ghost and tried a few tanning products but didn't have the money to keep it up. My problem had always been streaking- no matter how hard I try to blend evenly, I get unnatural streaking on my legs and arms or certain areas get darker than others.
I decided to try this product after reading all of the reviews and I was very pleased! I used it for the first time last night and loved the color guide. It's basically impossible to get streaks! The color is very natural and it looks like I spent the day tanning. I haven't showered yet this morning but I didn't experience any staining on my clothes or sheets last night. Also, I didn't notice any smell except the smell of the latex gloves that seemed to linger for a while.
All in all, this is a great product and seems worth it for the price because a little goes a long way. I imagine that this bottle will last me for about a month so $13 seems very worth it. I bought it yesterday with a coupon so it was only $11 anyway. I can already tell that this is going to be my go-to product!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tomas Tan Perfect Self-Tanning Lotion
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fresh2def
Location: Virginia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
One Of The Better Tanning Products Out There!
Date:April 5, 2011
Pros: doesn't look orange, easy to use, last for days
Cons: color rubs off on clothing
"Toma Tan is my "ol' trusty" self tanning lotion. It's the only one I can put on correctly. The new fast drying technology is nice. I can get dressed shortly after I apply. I usually put it on at night time, then shower in the morning...it looks great! I've learned the hard way to apply sparingly to your hands. but after using it so long, it's second nature to me! Def wear gloves when applying!! The gloves that come with it are ok, but I get a smaller pair of the hairdresser's dyeing gloves. They hold up better. Also, the color takes REALLY dark to my face, so any imperfections I have and some parts like my nose need a little extra scrubbing the following day to tone the color down. I def recommend this stuff, though!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>