Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray

Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray protect the hair from damage caused by heat styling tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
71 of 76(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Review 1 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HealthyHairDiva
Location: Dallas, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Silk Elements is the Bomb!!!!!
Date:June 23, 2011
Pros: soft hair, bouncy hair, flowing hair, only takes a lil bit, will last a long time if used correctly
Cons: the fact that i hadn't used this sooner
"Okay! So I always come to the net 1st to check out the reviews on Sally's before I try anything and once again my healthy hair sisters have led me in the right direction. This heat protectant is da bomb. Talk about soft, flowing, bouncy hair. I don't know about you guys who had a greasy effect, but there was none such thing over here. With this product I think less is more. I applied it right after shampooing and conditioning my hair. I applied my regular leave in, sealed with my oil and then applied this. I did not spray it straight on my hair. Rather I applied 4 pumps into my hands, rubbed them together and distributed through my hair. I did this for the inside of my hair (all combed out from the crown), then the outside of my hair...esp focusing on my ends. The result: One of the best DIY Blow Outs and Flat Iron jobs of my life!!!!! Don't hesitate on getting this esp if it is on sale like I just got it. This will last me until it goes on sale again the way I use it! I love the SE line...I don't know how I was sleeping on this product!!! Now this will be one of my staple products. I also use their Olive Oil MegaSilk relaxer, DC treatment, and leave in! This line knows how to please a woman. Thanks Sally's and SE!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nikkolatte
Location: Greenville, SC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My Hair Likes This Stuff!
Date:May 10, 2011
Pros: cheap price, little goes a long way, light not greasy, adds shine, good protectant
"After reading reviews online about this product, I decided to give it a try. I am African-American with transitioning hair (4 inches new growth and 6 inches relaxed). Although I am trying to use heat (blow dryers, curling/flat irons) as little as possible, I have had to straighten the new growth when taking a break from kinky twists or braids. And I know that I need to protect the delicate new growth especially. My hair type is thick, fine strands, tendency to frizz and tangle.
I used this on my hair to touch up some areas with a flat iron after sweating out my Dominican blow out. My hair has been treated with a keratin glaze (not the full keratin treatment). I sprayed a little onto each section of hair that I was going to flat ion and it came out smooth and silky from the roots to the tip. My hair did not break and was soft and manageable.
The value of this product for the price and how it performs is excellent. And I also like that it contains olive oil which is good for the hair.
I like it and will continue to use it to maintain my blow out look."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eyerawk
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Heaven in a bottle
Date:February 8, 2010
Pros: shine, scent, little goes a long way, no hold, heat protection
"I was overly impressed with this product. I have been searching years for a thermal protectant that gave my hair shine, without stiffness. I asked my hairstylist if such a product existed (a thermal protectant that was an oil, not a "hold") she told me no. I thought to myself "yeah right, I'm going to look around". I go to check out Sally's and Boom a bunch of different products. This one smelled great and I like the fact that olive oil is in it because it's natural and a very good oil for the hair. Long story short, if you're looking for thermal protection, and want loose, soft, silky hair...get this product. There is no Hold like hairspray so it's perfect for people that just want soft to the touch flowy hair :) I have extremely thick, long,course, curly hair and just a few sprays of this goes a long way! Even if I let my hair air dry and have no plans to straighten it for the day, I just spray a little on my ends and comb threw. It's like a hot knife in butter!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hollyvenus
Location: Pearland, TX
wow! simply .... WOW
Date:January 11, 2012
Pros: clean non-greasy leaves beautiful hair
Cons: none that i can think of
"this stuff is GREAT... I have thick, course hair, and if I know I have to go somewhere, I have to wash my hair the night before, air dry (blow drying causes some not so desirable results) and hope that it is not hot that evening! I bought this on a recommendation from the sally store clerk... olive oil???
get home... and tried it... I had to take a shower anyway better try it out rather than wait till morning.... spritz my hair and on no.... it is GREASY!!! blah.... oh well lets see what it does... flat iron.. and steam (perfect) WOW!!! this stuff is AMAZING!!! I finished my hair and was completely satisfied with the results... my hair is soft and silky like it should be!!!
the real test... oh I put the purchase to the test... I washed my hair, spritz while damp, and blow dried... what??? no big hair? no out of control frizz? just silky hair... my husband noticed as well and could not keep his hands out of my hair!!! thanks"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hollyvenus
Pearland, TX
update
Posted January 13, 2012
one week of using this...
not only did it meet the immediate expectations it continues to meet them! a week of use... and my hair seems to be silky even after showering! it is nice to wake up take a shower spray hair, blow dry, and then flat iron!!! rather than the previous shower the night before, get up and FIGHT with the flat iron to get semi flat and non-frizzy hair!!!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 5 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KweenB
Location: Bloomington, IN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
What a surprise!
Date:December 8, 2012
Pros: inexpensive, smells good, creates shine, controls frizz
"I had been having a difficult time trying to find a good product for heat protection. I wasted so much money trying to find the product that did what they all claim to do - provide silky, shiny, smooth hair when flat ironing. I stopped in Sally's and this product was recommended by the sales person. When I first sprayed it on my hair, I thought, "Oh my gosh, my hair is so oily." I went ahead and flat ironed my hair. Then, I was thinking, "Oh my gosh, my hair is so pretty!" This is the only product I've found that delivers what I was looking for - shiny, silky, smooth hair. I love it. I'm also pleased with how inexpensive it is - I wasted so much money trying more expensive products and was never satisfied with any of them. This product and my Chi Titanium flat iron really made my thick, stubbornly wavy hair so beautiful. I will definitely be repurchasing this product again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zekesgirl
Location: Santa Maria CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome Product!!
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: soft silky hair, awesome smell, great price, not greasy, super shiny hair, easy to apply
Cons: none!
"I love this stuff. I have naturally curly blonde hair, which tends to get frizzy when I blow dry. I use this prior to blowdrying and my hair is not frizzy and really needs no further curling or straightening, which is a first for me. Furthermore, I use it prior to curling or straightening my hair and it makes it even silkier than it was from just the blowdrying. It has a shiny sheen without making your hair look greasy like most other products do, plus the smell is really nice. My husband raves on how good my hair smells and he normally doesn't notice such things. The price is so fantastic, I have paid much, much more for "professional" products that didn't work nearly as good as this. I am definitely stocking up on this just in case they decide to ever discontinue it!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Austin, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
unbelievableeee
Date:October 5, 2012
Pros: soft, shiney, silky, smells great, good amount
Cons: none
"Seriously, buy this heat protectant if you use hot tools on your hair. I have never used any other as good as this one. I have bleached my hair a lot from black to blonde to get the whole "ombre" thing going, so imagine the intense damage it has suffered. I didn't think I'd be able to use any heat on it at all. The last time I tried with another product it felt coarse, dull, wiry, and it was so poofy! This stuff left it feeling silky and thin, pretty much salon like! not to mention it shines beautifully and looks and feels NOURISHED. I am amazed. I will keep buying this product and have already started recommending it. IT WORKS PEOPLE!! Take it from someone that has tried dozens of heat protecting products and changes hair color and style too often."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
badgergirl
Location: milwaukee, wisconsin
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
just absolutely phenomenal!
Date:January 23, 2013
Pros: gorgeous hair light nice scent easy to use
Cons: none!
"this stuff is like gold in a bottle; I am the type of person who looks into a lot of options and reads as many reviews as possible before making a purchase and was debating between this one and the original formula, The olive oil protectant had slightly more positive reviews than the original and so I purchased it but was really leery due to several complaints by other reviewers that this item left the hair feeling greasy. I used it this morning before class and looked like I just stepped out the hair salon! my hair is so light and silky! I kept the reviews in mind and sectioned my hair in fours-spraying only twice per section; if you use this item sparingly you will get stunning results! I couldn't be happier with the product and the service!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lotus
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
not for my hair
Date:August 4, 2010
Pros: the smell is nice
Cons: takes more than 2 sprays to flatten hair, my hair turned into a frizz ball the next day, not good for somehat curly hair
"As an Mixed African American girl and i thought this was gonna be my HG product.i usually use oil sheen when flat ironing but i wanted to start taking care of my hair so i searched and searched for a good heat protectant for AA 3c/4a hair and i came to this.well let me tell you.i air dry my hair i try to use as little heat as possible.and i grease my scalp and my hair.then i used this,at first i was amazed then the next day my hair turned into straight frizz ball.i was upset then i just thought that maybe i should just use more to weight down my hair but that was a big no-no cuz my hair was a grease trap. all n all i used up this bottle for the simple fact that i lost my receipt.i use Beyond the Zone turn up the heat and its amazing!!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kgray63409
Location: Dallas, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Silk!!
Date:June 21, 2009
"I ran out and purchased this product after reading the reviews and I must say that I am not at all disappointed! This product did exactly what it said it would: left my hair silky, soft, manageable, and exceptionally straight. I had not had a relaxer in six weeks when I used this spray and I was amazed at the results. I could hardly believe my eyes, my hair looked better than it did when I went to the salon. Everyone thought I had gotten my hair done, that is how well this product worked. Not only that, but it allowed my hair to hold its shape for the entire week (my hair usually goes flat after about 3 or 4 days). I recommended this product to my sisters and my mother, and they all feel in love after the first use!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissJessica
Location: Arkansas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Can't Live Without It!
Date:March 15, 2009
Pros: light-weight, leaves hair silky & shiny, nice smell
Cons: none
"Before I was using the Silk Elements Glossing Polish and this product together and noticed that I would get a bit "heavy hand" with the Glossing Polish which would weigh my hair down and make it feel gummy. After looking at the ingredients in both, they each contain the same main ingredients. One is simply in gel form and the other is in liquid (spray) form. As a result, I use the Megasilk Spray as my main heat protectant and don't have to worry about using "too much" on my hair.
I use this prior to blow drying my hair and prior to flat ironing and my hair ALWAYS ends up full of body, shiny, and silky... I LOVE IT! I don't know what I'd do if they ever discontinued this product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlexO
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
THE BEST
Date:February 1, 2013
"First time I used it, it left my hair very greasy but that was because I used my other styling products with it. I didn't know if using the spray alone would be enough. The second time I used it, I didn't use anything but SE Olive spray and it was wonderful. I have very dry hair and it left it so soft, shiny and silky feeling. I use the spray anytime I blow dry my hair and especially when I use my curling or straightening irons. Because my hair is so dry, I hesitated even using any hot irons but with SE Olive spray, I've had no worries. Trust me, I've tried so many products-my very full bathroom cabinet can attest to that! But, this is all you need, I promise."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frenchy5483
Location: Hartford
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
HG Product
Date:July 9, 2012
Pros: does everything it claims
Cons: can potentially be an oily disaster
"This product is completely worthwhile for straightening. I straightened my hair this weekend using this product and the results looked like I'd come from the salon. I sprayed it on, and because I'd seen the reviews I expected an oily mess so I sprayed w/ caution, about 5 spritzes on each side. Once the flat iron touched my hair it turned to silk. It was shiny, healthy and felt amazing. I will not even attempt to look for a product that tops this. I'm pretty sure the bottle will last forever too since I straighten infrequently. I will also spread to the news to all of the girlfriends and female family members. Awesome stuff."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvmyjeriyah
Location: Orlando, Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
!!!! A STAPLE !!!!!
Date:July 12, 2009
Pros: light mist, non-greasy, great price, smells great, leaves great shine
Cons: wished it came in a bigger bottle, no flaws 100% perfect!!!
"This is definitely a staple product of mine. I love the smell and how light the mist is. It does not weigh down my hair and a little goes a long way, no need to douse or saturate the hair with it. I was recommended this heat protector by the actual Sally Beauty employee, I was asking her what heat protectant did she recommend and she pointed to this bottle of gold. I was hesistant to purchase at first because her hair texture was much different than mine & thought it would react different to my hair but it worked wonderfully and like that every single use!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voiceu
Location: New York, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Okay it works!
Date:September 27, 2009
Pros: very light, the scent
Cons: i may finish the bottle too soon lol!, i might have to buy some of this for other people
"Okay so I had this product sitting in my bathroom for months. (I am a product junkie) Because I was a little hesitant to use it as I have other staple products for heat and control. But after I used it today I am sold this stuff is amazing. I saw how it protected my very fragile curly hair. Also how soft, non greasy and quenched my dry hair was after I put some on and then used the iron on it. I love it. The scent is nice too. I was afraid it would be over powering like the hair conditioner. It was not it smelled really good."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMFoster
Location: South Carolina
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I'm in love ....
Date:March 5, 2011
"This is one of the best 'products' that I've ever used. It makes my hair SO soft that it feels like a child's hair. I love this stuff ... when I use my flat iron, it just glides through. Also - I get such good straightening results that I can go 2 (or more) days without needing to wash and restyle my hair. I have natural curls, and with the Silk Elements Megasilk treatment, you'd never know it!
I want to try the Silk Elements curl product to see if it works as well...
I will never be without this product on hand!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katayoun
Location: Encino, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
THE BEST!
Date:March 30, 2011
"I have used high end products such as Kerastase over and over again thinking that nothing major can be done for my rebellious and thick set of hair. This being 1/5 of the price has done magic for my hair. My hair is now manageable, which used to be unheard of. I spray this to my damp hair and blow dry. Then I use a bit more and then use my curling iron. My hair is 100 times healthier and silkier than ever before. To those with damaged hair, this is a must. Just do not overdo it as it can make your hair greasy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunshine395
Location: Perry, Ga
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love It!!!!!!
Date:August 22, 2012
Pros: takes out the frizz
Cons: none
"This product is great, I love the silky feel of my hair. and for the ones talking about it being greasy then they used way too much. A little goes along way. i have tried tons of products to keep the frizz down in my naturally curly/wavy hair and none have done this good.I had bought one of the Kereatin Straighting kits but decided to return it and try this first, just bc i didnt want to keep damaging my hair and i am so glad i did. I am white and have hair just past my shoulders. Love it Love it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MandyG
Location: California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
It Works
Date:May 13, 2011
Pros: adds shine without weighty oils
"I've been using this for about a month and 1/2, every week, when I flat iron my 4a/b hair. I also use it when I use the curling iron about 2 or 3 times a week. I love it. When sprayed on it seems like it's going to weigh my hair down with oils, but after applying the heat it's nothing but smooth, silky, and full of body; and it's protecting my hair. I've noticed that my hair isn't nearly as dried out as it was before I started using this product. I got my sister to start using it as well."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Silk Elements Megasilk Olive Heat Protection Spray
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizhb
Location: Atl, GA
Great for straightening my hair
Date:August 28, 2011
"I use this on my damp hair before I blow dry and then on my dry hair before I flat iron. This product is amazing. Doesn't weigh down my hair and leaves it silky smooth and shiny. Not greasy or anything. I have used too much before and my hair looked super shiny... Nothing major. Also, this product seriously protects your hair. Since using it I don't have those crinkly burnt hairs after I flat iron and I barely have split ends. I love the smell too! I also think it helps with frizz!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>