Product Reviews

One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black

One 'n Only Argan Oil Hair Color for intense color and shine, superior conditioning, and 100% gray coverage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.605 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
6
26 of 38(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Review 1 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DisasterAvoided
Location: Pasadena, CA
O M G!!! BAD !!!
Date:November 11, 2013
Pros: read my review
Cons: read my review
"I have very light blonde hair and I had been using Ion Hair Color 10V that is an excellent product. My hair is dry so I decided to try this in the 11 HL. I used 40 volume developer on the back of my hair (which is darker) and 20 volume on the front (mostly gray new growth).. It turned my ENTIRE HEAD OF HAIR PURPLE!!! I tried to get it out with a soap cap of 40 Vol and shampoo. No dice. I had a package of Prism Lites Neutral stuck away that I had been saving to use on a hair piece. It turned my hair a golden yellow (which I hate) but the purple was gone. Prism Lites is actually a very good product. Thank God, it did not damage my hair as I only left it on long enough to lift out the purple. I have hair almost to my waist, so this Argan Hair color almost ruined YEARS of hair growth. If I could not have gotten it off without severe damage to my hair, cutting would have been the only alternative. I will write a good review for Prism Lites, but DON'T try this product on gray or blond hair. It was a disaster!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Macidoodle
Location: The beautiful Pacific Northwest
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVE this product!!
Date:November 6, 2013
Pros: completely covers my gray, rich color, beautiful shine
Cons: none
"I'm so grateful I did not read the negative reviews of this product! I just finished using Argan Oil Hair Color #5G Light Golden Brown and my hair looks shiny with a rich, beautiful color. And, yes, the gray is completely covered. I did not notice any amonia odor (nor did my husband). I'm just dumbfounded to read the negative reviews and complaints of gray not being covered.
I have colored my hair for 20+ years and have always used the same product. I was reluctant to try something new as in "don't fix it if it isn't broke" But I am SO VERY GLAD I tried this new product.
Do not make a decision based on negative reviews. Try it for yourself!
I want the product to be successful so it'll continue to be available.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
caseymsmj
Location: Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
No Gray Coverage
Date:October 22, 2013
"This product doesn't cover gray. It seems to leave hair soft but doesn't completely coat evenly I won't use again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gl58
Location: Granite Bay, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Poor grey coverage
Date:October 4, 2013
Pros: colorant is thick and easy to apply
Cons: extremely drying to hair, heavy ammonia scent, poor grey coverage, color untrue to samples
"Extremely poor grey hair coverage and possibly the worst hair coloring product I have ever used. It left my healthy but 40% grey hair as dry as straw and the color is not remotely close to the color sample. Argan touts that their product is a low ammonia formula, but the ammonia scent is overwhelming. Definitely would not recommend this product!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teddi
Location: Las Vegas NV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Hair Color Ever
Date:July 22, 2013
"I use the medium red brown I t is the only product that Covers my gray to the max and lasts I love it , Give it a try you will agree, Your hair will stay shining and in good condition make that great please give it a try if you have hard to cover grey"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BVHenry
Location: Bowie MD
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Gray Coverage
Date:July 14, 2013
Pros: complete gray coverage
Cons: none
"Purchased this for the first time and was completely satisfied for its gray coverage. It gave my hair a richness in color, which is often difficult as I wear my hair naturally.
Highly recommend if you are seeking complete gray coverage."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
realgal
Location: CT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Value and Quality
Date:April 8, 2013
Pros: great price, good coverage, no smell, creamy formula, soft hair
Cons: none!!
"I am 90% resistant grey and have pretty healthy hair overall. I have to color my hair every 3-4 weeks. I used 5N with the matching 20 Developer and left on for 45 minutes. Great match to my natural haircolor, excellent root coverage, and no smell. I also do a Shades EG gloss to tone my roots a bit. Hair was shiny and clean with good color. Loved the two application tube and the price is great! I will use this until they stop making it and will refer to my friends."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely0219
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome hair color
Date:March 25, 2013
Pros: abundant, meets expectations, doesn't smell bad, great value, gentle on scalp
Cons: none
"I bought this in Black Noir because I wanted to get rid of the faded red in my hair. I have long coarse hair and one tube was more than enough for me, I even had some of the mixture left! I recommend buying a measuring cup for anyone who has short/thin hair so you'll be able to save the rest for touch-ups. I have sensitive scalp and this did not burn, sting, or itch at all...it covered all the red and left my hair very soft and silky. Also, the mixture feels kind of like a buttery texture which can only be good for your hair!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
expro
Location: Tennessee
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Satisfied
Date:January 21, 2013
Pros: great color, leaves hair in good condition, minimal if any fading
Cons: none
"The color is really pretty (mixed dark brown with chocolate brown 10:1 respectively).
1. The color is really pretty. My husband commented it's his favorite color to date.
2. My hair is in good/soft condition. Much more so than with Ion/Clairol/L'Oreal/etc. I am also using One & Only shampoo/conditioner/oil... may be a contributing factor to condition. My hair did feel soft immediately after coloring, though.
3. One week in and minimal fading if any.
Highly recommend.
Note: be sure to select correct developer level.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LulyLou
Location: NJ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Shine, soft
Date:January 18, 2013
"I bought it because it has argan oil, left my hair soft and shinny. I mixed to colors 3C (dark copper brown) and 4R (med red brown). I have always use Vivitone 8cr but i can't find it anywhere. So the mix is a little bit darker, but ohhh i love it, lots of compliments. And if you don't want your color to fade you would have to use a shampoo with no sulfates, and they make it with argan oil too."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gonnabehismrs
Posted May 2, 2013
What color did this give you? Do you have a picture? :)
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 11 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dkh27
Location: Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
good product, lacks staying power
Date:January 17, 2013
Pros: smells good, leaves hair feeling soft, affordable
Cons: fades quickly, must leave on for 45 minutes
"I loved everything about this product from the very beginning - affordable, multiple uses in one bottle, great smell, left my hair feeling FANTASTIC, and the color turned out exactly how I desired.
Unfortunately, within just a few washes (with professional brand shampoo and conditioner made for color treated hair, FYI) this color has almost completely washed out of my hair. I am left with some very natural looking highlighted areas, and my blending of my natural hair color and the highlighted areas that I had previously are very natural - so really, it’s not like my look is ruined, but it is very disappointing to have something that made my hair both look and feel great leave me with such disappointing results in just two weeks.
My recommendation is to definitely give this brand a try if you are interested, make sure you leave it on for the full 45 minutes and possibly purchase a shade darker than you were originally considering since it has been my experience that it fades quickly."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Radclark2
Location: Wood River, Il
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Soft and shinny
Date:January 14, 2013
"I loved the color, no smell,good grey coverage and price. I have switched many of my clients color brands and everyone seems to be pleased! Great overall rating."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loopsy
Location: NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Great deal
Date:December 11, 2012
Pros: more in a tube, great color
"Bought this product on a recommendation from my friend and absolutely loved it... it left my hair feeling soft and the color is nice and rich. Would definitely recommend this product. Good thing I didnt read the reviews before buying this a lot of non-professional people are not having good luck with. it... guess thats why they call it "professional" hair color. As a tip for those who are not a professional... please do not take what the swatches look like to heart... they are done on bleached out hair the swatches are only there to give an idea what the color will look like"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4otf
Location: Bristow, VA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent hair color
Date:October 23, 2012
Pros: good gray coverage, leaves hair soft and shiny
"I'm glad I didn't read the reviews here before I tried this product. I just colored my hair with Medium Chocolate Brown and it looks great. The only thing I was concerned about was the time it took for the color to develop. I usually color my hair for about 30 minutes, but I left this on for almost 45.
The product left my hair very soft and was relatively easy to rinse out. I also noticed that I didn't lose as much hair during the rinse as I normally do. I will definitely use this product again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
janeann
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good haircolor
Date:October 15, 2012
"I just used this haircolor and it was one of the few that didnt turn out weird in my hair. my hair isnt dry and its shiny and looks healthy. worked great."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GoldenGoddess
west palm beach
awsome brand!!
Posted November 5, 2012
i had black hair with orange highlights.. its sound weird but it actually looked pretty, anyways i bleached my hair (stupid) and dyed it blonde like Rihanna's look but my hair was too damaged to keep dying it blonde so i decided to dye it a light chocolate brown and bought this brand THE DYE ALONE LEAVES THE HAIR SUPER SOFT IT COVERED GREAT THE UGLY COLOR UNDERNEATH AND IT LOOKS SHINY.. I REALLY RECOMMEND THIS BRAND :)
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 16 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tpajas
Location: tampa
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
alright
Date:October 3, 2012
"bought this because of the free coupon for developer and mail in rebate. normally i use nice n easy, and i don't know how i feel about this dye yet. the process was simple enough, i went from a warmer blonde color, naturally a light brown/ dark blonde, so i used dark ash blonde to tone it down and match up with my roots. the color came out really ugly, has a green tint to it and my hair feels dry and wouldn't manage styling after letting dry naturally. i am highly disappointed but i will see how it washes and fades and hope this gets better.. my hair was healthy and usually doesn't get too effected by dyeing every few months."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cindylouwho
Haleyville
Argan Color
Posted January 14, 2013
This is a fabulous product!!!! Would recommend this product to anyone, even if you are going to color your on hair....
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 17 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
soulbluprint
Location: St Paul, MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Like others, very disappointed.
Date:September 30, 2012
Pros: smells great, makes your hair feel soft afterwards
Cons: fades in record time -- even black, not worth the price
"Per shining sales pitch, I decided to try it out. I got it in Very Black. Normally when you go black, it stays for a little while right? I have never came across a black that fades -- unless it's NOT permanent. This black faded in two washes! TWO! Are you kidding me? I'm back down to my normal dishpan brown color in record time.
I had such high hopes, since I absolutely love the One n Only Argan Oil, but this was absolutely awful."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
aivon
Knoxville, TN.
love love love
Posted November 26, 2012
This is the first time I have left a review for a hair color. I can not say enough positive things about this product. I have bought every hair color on the market trying to find the brown that I have in my minds eye. Most that I try either turn red or come out almost black. This one was perfect. The best brown color I have ever used/seen. My hair comes out super soft and shiney. Plus...you get two dye jobs with one tube. FANTASTIC!!!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 18 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Noke
Location: Houston
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Disappointed
Date:September 24, 2012
Cons: dry hair, strong smell
"I purchased this hair color because it was on sale but i won't buy it again, after one use my hair has been very dry and is now breaking.
I will go back to Ion which leaves my hair shining, soft and moisturized every time
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jozie
My hairs purple
Date:September 17, 2012
Pros: makes hair soft, good price
Cons: my roots are now purple, burned, itched, did not cover well
"I bought this product because it was a good deal. Bought the color and got the developer free. When I put the dye on my hair it burned and itched LIKE CRAZY. I didn't think I would be able to stand it. Well I made it through and when I washed it out, my blonde roots had turned purple. My hair was soft afterwards, but if you try to skip a day of washing it, it has this weird waxy and greasy texture. I will definitely not be using this product again."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for One 'N Only Argan Oil Hair Color 1N Very Black
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Grayat40
Location: Western New York
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Very DIsappointed
Date:September 13, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: doesn't cover gray well, fades fast, colors are not true, doesn't moisturize as promised
"I chose to try this color because I have used many of their other products and liked them. This also came highly recommended by the women in my local Sally's stores.
I am 40+ and am about 85% gray. Well, actually more stark white than gray. My roots are very noticeable within two weeks, but I wait that third before I do my roots. I used this color twice for my roots- the second time was a "benefit of the doubt", thinking I may have done something wrong the first time.
This hair color did NOT cover the gray. It did NOT leave my hair feeling soft (you can actually feel the difference between the hair colored by One N Only and the hair colored by another brand). It did NOT last (faded in two weeks). And, the colors are NOT true to the color swatches.
Very disappointed."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>