Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.

Clairol Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener lightens and tones in one easy step!
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 23(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Review 1 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pammy55
Location: Lakewood WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
This stuff is NICE and it works great!
Date:February 4, 2013
Pros: great color - looks nice
"I got a single packet of this stuff in the mail as a free sample. This is how i used it and it worked great this way. I measured it out using exactly 1/2 tsp of the powder and I added it to my hair color kit mix. example: loreal preference : blonde shade : light natural blonde. I would open the bottle that the creme developer goes into,put the powder in and then squeeze in the developer, close the bottle and shake very gently making sure you get it mixed real well. your hair color mixture will now be a light purple color and it wont hurt your hair.. dont worry it wont make your hair purple. make sure you dont go over the time that it says on the color box which is usually 20 min for most of them. rinse out,use the neutralizer.work in real well, wait 2 min,rinse out. Then shampoo your hair ( 2 x) use conditioner and a deep conditioner that you can leave on for at least 5 min after wards. Then as a special treat and to keep your hair silky smooth, try some morrocan argan oil on your hair (walmart - $4.97).it will make your hair look and smell wonderful. John Freida Smooth shampoo & conditioner is wonderful for your hair ,it will make your hair look & feel glossy and omg the shine is out of this world!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ssstylist
Location: montana
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
amazing product
Date:April 13, 2012
Pros: fast!, beautiful color
Cons: dries out hair if overlapped
"I used this product while working in a salon. it does what it says and works very well. usually i get a very irridescent blonde which is beautiful on almost everyone. make sure to use with clairol pure white developer to get best results"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SnuggleBuggle
Location: Bangor, ME
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
And so life goes on.
Date:March 10, 2012
Pros: smell isn't strong.
Cons: doesn't lighten too well with a normal hairdryer.
"First review on Sally's website. I have used many of the products at sally's, my hair has been almost every color imaginable. To get to that white blonde point before I used to dye my hair crazy colors I would not use this product. Id use the Nrag White out bleach kit that worked amazing. I thought using this would be less damaging but it was not. My hair is much more fried than it would have been had I used the Nrage kit. However, sally's usually doesnt stock more than 2 of those at a time. Anyways, it's a good product and lightened my hair a bit but my favorite is still Nrage White out Kit."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
erin023
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Bleach I've Ever Used
Date:October 11, 2011
Pros: smells great, easy to apply, no itch or burn, quick, no toner needed, minimal damage
Cons: more expensive compared to other brands (worth it)
"I constantly change my hair from black to platinum blonde & back again. Usually it's a lengthy process of hours & hours of bleaching, toning, conditioning over & over for weeks. This time, half way through my process I was told to try this product. I used it with a 30 vol developper & followed instructions. I will never use another bleach again. It lightened my hair so quick and no toner needed!! It smelled great, no itch or burn and minimal damage. The best bleach I've ever used & I've tried a lot of lighteners."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
orlandochica
Location: Orlando, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Dissapointed
Date:August 2, 2011
Pros: smells great, there is alot of product for the cost
Cons: damages
"My roots were dark brown and the rest of my hair had been color stripped down to a light brown.
Mixed with the the recommended developer. My hair came out reddish, orange, brass, with random spots of blond near the top. I thought I applied evenly, guess I didn't??? I don't know where I went wrong with this, maybe it's only meant for sections not whole head processing. I will never buy this again though."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ashtray
Ash
THE SALON
Posted October 23, 2012
This Product works great with Virgin hair . Kaleidoscope violet bleach
Clairol Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder
Lightener lightens and it tones.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 6 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ForeverSceneXD
Location: D'Iberville,MS
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Bleach?
Date:May 28, 2011
Pros: smelled good, smelled like cotton candy
Cons: not a lot in there, had to bleach several times, damaged hair!!
"This was an okay product, but it did NOT meet my expectations.I had to bleach my hair SEVERAL times over the course of 2 months and my hair still turned out orange! It didn't tone my hair whatsoever. The only thing that this product bleached was my roots. However, I bleached my sister's hair and it worked very well. So I would recommend this product if you have dark brown hair. My hair was dark blonde, now its ORANGE. Do.NOT.buy.this.product!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Addicted2Color
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
No better than any other bleach
Date:March 18, 2011
Pros: effective bleaching/lightening
Cons: none of the promised neutralization of brassiness
"I bought this bleach to lighten my hair before toning it a cool blonde. My hair tends to go bright yellow when bleaching, so I had hoped the violet toning in this bleach would neutralize that effect. But it didn't. There was no discernible toning. If you are doing a 2-step blonde anyway, I would recommend you use whatever cheaper bleach you usually use and tone away the yellow with your second step."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ozarkian
Location: The Ozarks
Good Product
Date:March 11, 2011
Pros: thick and stays put!!!
"I bought this in the little blue packet, mixed it with Sally 30 Developer, and got GREAT results. I box color, and this last time (for winter) I used a beige blond. For me, it looked old, dark, and flat. (I'm 57 and am told I look in my 40's).
A Sally Girl suggested this product. I liked it better than other bleach kits at Sally's. Hair came out perfect color, soft, and blonde. I used a cap, pulled a fairly small amount, put a disposable shower cap over the product, and heated with my blow dryer for about 8 minutes. Perfect results."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fortysomething
Location: Clemmons, NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Does what it says!
Date:July 25, 2010
Pros: quick easy
Cons: use a cap if you can't foil quick
"I have dark brown hair..I usually go to the salon and get highlights, but they are never like I want them to be..I went to Sally's and bought the single packet (violet) and 30 volume developer..Tried a few areas foiled to see what would happen..I did this because 2 days ago I got highlights at the salon, but they weren't as light as I wanted them..Blow dryed the areas for about 10 minutes..washed it out and all I can say is bye-bye salon..I will use a cap next time, that way I can do my entire head myself..Just the color that I have been wanting from the salon but never getting for the expensive price..I love this product..No bad smell, easy clean up..Did not damage my hair even though it was just highlighted 2 days ago..Love it!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mayasmimi
Location: Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Easy to use
Date:July 2, 2010
"I've never highlighted my hair before, but after reading reviews, I decided this was the one to try. I went by the directions using #20 developer and drying time 10 minutes. I'm very happy with the results. Next time I will apply heavier, now that I know what to expect. I'm very happy to know that I will not pay an arm and a leg anymore to get my hair done!!!!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lilibug
Location: Hoilday Shores, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:May 19, 2010
Cons: damaging
"Lightens, but is very damaging to already processed hair. Works best on virgin hair."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rumor
Location: New Jersey
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
If you want blonde hair, don't buy kaleidocolors
Date:January 23, 2010
Pros: doesn't have severe chemical smell
Cons: did not lighten hair very well, burns badly, very dusty, hard to check color
"I have light brown hair and have bleached and toned my hair to platinum at least 20 times in the past, so I know what I'm doing. This bleach, even after saturating my head for 25 minutes with 30 vol developer and added heat, left me with highlighter yellow hair with brassy tones all over. Each time I used it I had to repeat the process, often for a third time, just to get my hair light enough to even think about using a toner. This bleach SHOULD NOT be used if you want blonde hair because it will not get you anywhere near it without at least 2, probably 3 applications. Also, because of its dark purple color, its hard to check the color of your hair during lightening. Usually Clairol makes wonderful products, but this one is an EPIC FAILURE!!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nomorefrizz
Location: Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Perfect Buttery Blonde
Date:October 28, 2009
Pros: beautiful toned highlights, inexpensive, quick to process, smells great
Cons: can dry hair a bit
"This is the best highlighting product I have ever used. I purchased the Kaleidocolors Blue Powder and it lightened my dark hair to a buttery blonde- no goofy red or copper as it has the built in toner. I use the blue powder with a 40 volume developer to get my hair light in one simple step and give it 20mins to process. Everyone thinks I go to the salon- haha I'll never tell!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SilverLady
Elgin, SC
Got the red dye out!
Posted August 9, 2012
I had to use product twice and in much denser concentration than recommended. I think if i had prepared the first batch with 8 scoops of the product with 2/4 ounces of 20 vol it may have pulled the red out to light light yellow on first attempt. Nevertheless, it got permanent red hair dye out, left my hair soft and not fried, and ready to go silver. Getting alot of compliments on the silver. Glad to be rid of the red and not to have to dye again. Gray is glorious!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 14 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
freklez21
Location: San Diego, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Skeptical at first
Date:September 20, 2009
"I wasn't sure about this because the individual packet said it was for medium brown to blond hair. I have darkish auburn hair that's been previously colored, and this worked great. Used with the Clairol pure white 20 developer and a pull-through cap. I started timing after the product was all on and under a cap with a hair dryer. Left on for about 12 minutes and came out with beautiful golden and copper colored highlights."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie09
Best bleach ever!
Date:September 17, 2009
Pros: only takes 10 minutes, easy to use, don't need a toner
"I have red hair, and the kaleidocolors collection doesn't have a lightener that specifies that its for redheads. However, I use the violet. It works wonderfully and I don't need a toner. So its great and very easy to use. It only takes about 10 minutes to process, so its quick and easy."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HazyMist
Location: Chicago, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Highlighting hair color EVER.
Date:July 4, 2009
Pros: smells delicious like blueberries
"I have tried to bleach my hair before with those other dyes, but nothing bleached my hair right. I have almost black hair and it is really difficult to get hair to be even close to blonde. This is the only color that does the job within ONLY 10 minutes. I love the smell too. Works wonders!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
binky
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
violet
Date:June 15, 2009
"All I can say after using this is WOW. I will never pay for highlights again. My hairdresser is crying....I have dark brown hair which was aging me and I cannot do blonde. I used the violet with a 30 developer, pulled thro cap for 10 minutes and it so pretty and natural looking.It came out reddish gold. I love this stuff and I can do my hair now for around 5.00."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MM23
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product
Date:May 4, 2009
"This product not only smells great, it works great! it is very easy to apply and see exactly where the product is. if you drip, just wipe it with water ASAP & there should be no problems. I love this product & will never use anything else for my hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsVee
Location: Modesto, Ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Kaleidocolors is AMAZING!
Date:March 12, 2009
Pros: works fast with amazing results, and it smells yummy.
Cons: none at all.
"I have subjected my medium brown hair to many bleaches that just ended up turning my hair orange, yellow, and a combination of every shade in between. The last time I bleached my hair, before Kaleidocolors, I decided to swear off bleaching at home for good. Then after hearing so many good things about Kaleidocolors from quite a few people, I decided to try one more time. So I went to Sally's, bought a tub of Kaleidocolors and a bottle of 40vol. developer, went home, pulled my hair through a cap, put the bleach on, blow dried it for 15 minutes...Wow, I was absolutely amazed by the results! My hair is the color I always desired from bleaches, there's not even a hint of yellow or orange. It's almost white, but really natural looking and I didn't even have to use a toner. Now I'm totally in love with Kaleidocolors! I will never ever use another product. My mom who has dark brown hair & had also sworn off bleach gave Kaleidocolors a try. Her results turned out as amazing as mine. Now my sister who as also had bad experiences with bleach is planning on buying some Kaleidocolors today and is forcing us to do her hair too.
So if you're looking for a good bleach with professional results this is the stuff for you.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kaleidocolors Tonal Powder Lightener Violet 8 oz.
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HootersGirl
Location: MARYVILLE, TN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
The only one I will use!!
Date:February 24, 2009
Pros: good smell cool highlights with no brassiness, also the "blue" powder makes it easier to apply
"I have been using this product for a while because my mom always uses this brand. And there is nothing like it! I get better tones and results with this powder than I get at the salon. It has almost a "blueberry smell" and there are NO harsh fumes! I usually have to my hair re-done to get the blond to come up and it always has red/brassy tones at the salon. BUT this product always gives me the "cool" tones that I want in 1 application. I LOVE THIS BLEACH!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>