Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Clairol Basic White Lightener

Clairol Basic White Powder Lightener creates healthy looking highlights and special effects.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Review 1 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MandaKay
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love this bleach!!
Date:March 11, 2014
"I used this to do foil highlights and I love it! I am a beginner at coloring hair and it turned out great, I will definitely buy this again. I used a 30 volume developer with it, make sure you wait until the hair looks a very pale yellow, if not you will rinse too early and it will be an orangey color. I also used a toning shampoo ( Ion Shimmer Lights)to get that little bit of brassiness out and it worked great!! Also when mixing with developer thicker is better for control and processing time. Hope this helps anyone looking to DIY :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beauti18
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works well
Date:February 22, 2014
Pros: lifted fast
"Love this. I normally use BW2 but this one was on sale so i got it.
I used it with my salon care 30 vol developer and it lifted my hair nice.
I only went from a black to a golden blond color in about 15-18 minutes.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
arriah
Location: cleveland,ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
awesome results
Date:April 14, 2012
Pros: light blonde
Cons: none, orange at first
"I had bought this because i wanted to change my brunette hair to blonde and this was the cheapest thing i could find.
When i first used this my hair turned a gross orangey yellow, but then i did it over a couple days later and my hair was super light and blonde.
overall on dark hair this works really well and i would deff. recommend to a friend or to any buddy else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pastel88flower
great product
Date:December 16, 2011
Pros: affordable achieves desired result
"Out of all the hair salons Ive been to, this product did the best job! I have the lightest, non-yellowy hair Ive ever had. I was so scared that Id end up with macaroni hair color, but I DIDNT!! It worked great on my hair extensions as well :) I used a 40 developer as my hair is naturally a light brown. I havent used the shimmer lights shampoo, which is supposed to make hair even whiter blonde...I will try it soon and report back!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellie57
Location: Oregon
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Frosting Bleach!
Date:April 9, 2011
Pros: great price and results.
Cons: none
"I use this with 40% developer and I get a nice beige blond frosting in an hour. Great Price. Just sorry I missed this $8.99 price which is really incredible. You get enough to last for several frosting's for yourself and your friends."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ohheyrece
Location: Grover Beach, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My favorite bleach so far!
Date:January 19, 2011
Pros: beautiful highlights
"Works great on all hair shades. I went straight from black to level 9 blonde."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeeAnn
Location: Indiana
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works great on Dark hair
Date:June 14, 2010
"My hair has black dye on it and it worked fine...You will need to use it more than once ,if you are trying to bleach through dark/dyed hair. I used a 40 developer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
COLORPRODIGY
Location: GRIFFIN, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Works great...
Date:January 19, 2010
Pros: great for highlights, doesn't swell in foil
"...For highlighted hair, or virgin hair. For darker hair, and previously colored hair, yeah, you're going to need to use it twice."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clairol Basic White Lightener
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
XxSeXxiGirLxX
Not Worth It
Date:November 16, 2009
Pros: its cheap
Cons: doesnt work on even light blonde hair!!!!
"My hair is already colored/highlighted to a very light blonde and my natural roots are a medium blonde and this gave me an all over orange yellow look. I tried bleaching with it again the following week and no changes!!! I also used a toner and that still wouldn't take out the hideous color it left behind. I would not recommend this product at all!!!"
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.