Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener

CLAIROL 7TH STAGE LIGHTENER
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
26 of 30(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Review 1 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lola678
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great lightener
Date:January 19, 2014
Pros: lightens good
Cons: smells
"This lifts my black hair easily. I love this lightener ! I like how it lifts 8-10 levels. This is a really great product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tiff03
Location: Vancouver, BC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not For Black/Darkest Brown Hair
Date:July 19, 2013
Cons: lifts black/brown hair to bright pumpkin orange, hair felt dry and damaged afterward
"My hair was black/brown and I used this lightener with 3 Light Activator powder packets and 20 vol, as per the directions. I was expecting my hair to be bleached as light as possible, considering the products claims.
However, my hair was left BRIGHT PUMPKIN ORANGE. No different than boxed bleach from Walmart. Seriously. I had to bleach TWICE to get my hair pale yellow. Even after one application, my hair was left feeling dry and damaged."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JackiBlue
Los Angeles
Better results than most other Lighteners
Posted March 13, 2014
Hi, Just wanted you to know that your results were probably better than any other lighteners. If your hair is dark brown to black, you'll most likely need to bleach at least 2 times to get to level that's light enough to tone and most importantly, you should not bleach more than once in a period of 5 days. That's with daily masks and protein treatments. So don't blame the product for your results.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 3 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ywdy
Location: Round Rock, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Eh...
Date:April 15, 2013
"My hair was a bright copper color after bleaching out permanent black hair dye. I followed all of the directions for this (20 vol. developer, activator packets), but used only a half-batch because my hair is short. Unfortunately, it only lifted a few levels and barely took any of the warm tones out. I wanted more of a neutral base, but I have a dark to med bright strawberry blonde now. Perhaps this works better on more "virgin" hair, but I found it is not good for getting dark colors out."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RedSoxtober
My Favorite Lightener
Date:March 17, 2013
Pros: one step lightening for dark, doesn'y dry hair out like powder lighteners
Cons: take a bit of work to rinse out
"I started using 7th stage about 15 years ago and loved it on the first try. This is my go-to product for lifting my level 2 resistant warm toned hair to level 8/9 light blonde in one step. A few tips for how I use it.
-Use a tint bowl and brush for mixing and application. This will ensure a smooth mixture and even coverage.
-Use 20 vol (6%) creme developer. When using 20 vol liquid, it's turns to a thick gel that isn't so easy to work with and tends to dry out quickly. Creme gives better coverage on my thick hair.
-DO NOT USE 30 VOL DEVELOPER!!! The people who stated they used 30 vol are messing up the formula; 20 vol is recommend so that the drabbers actually get a chance to do their job properly.
-Excpect the mixture to be blue. Those are the drabbers to cancel out the red/gold tones. No, they won't gove your hair a blue tint at all.
-Be sure to use the activator packets. 7th stage doesn't work without them. If this is your first time using this pick up 2 packets and do a strand test first.
-DON'T USE 30 vol DEVELOPER! The people who stated they used 30 vol, are using this incorrectly and shame on the people who are Salon Pros doing this.This actually messes up the drabbing action. 30 vol will lift too quickly and the drabbers won't work properly. 20 volume is recommend so that the drabbers work as the hair is decolorized.
-Rinse well with warm water for a few minutes, somtimes it's a pain to rinse out . Wear gloves while doing this because it's a little more gentle on your you hair in this fragile state. shampoo and use step 1 of the ApHogee two step protein treatment. This stuff is great for strengthening and work to even out porosity for even toning. Follow the directions on the bottle. I use this once a month to help with breakage.
-Tone/tint, process,rinse and deep condition. If you're using a vegetable dye you may not need to deep condition."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BlondeWhaine
Ohio
So Helpful!
Posted April 14, 2013
RedSoxtober - your hair level/textures sounds like mine. My questions is: After you've lightened it what product do you use to tone? What is your end-result color? Do you touch up your roots with the same process?
Thanks!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 5 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bedroomeyes
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Super fast lightening without brassiness
Date:December 24, 2012
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: none
"I love this stuff. I used Instant Whip until it was discontinued. 7th Stage is just as good, if not better. The blue-violet neutralizes brassiness. It is easier to mix than powder bleach. WAY less damaging to the hair too. To retouch my roots, I only need half of a bottle and one Lightening Activator packet. Lightens super fast; by the time I am finished with all of my roots, it is about time to rinse iut the area that I started at."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Page
Location: Cincinnati
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Why haven't I been using this all along?!
Date:August 19, 2012
"I have naturally dark hair and it has always been a struggle lightening my hair to dye. I had a shade of red/pink in my hair (special effects brand candy apple red) and wanted to put a different color in.. First of all, this product is not nearly as harsh on my nose or eyes as regular hair bleach. Second, as I was applying this to the different sections of my hair, I was watching the sections I had already done get lighter and lighter! I couldn't believe how fast it was working! I used the recommended 20 volume clear developer and 2 activator packets and left it in for about 30 mins. My roots were nearly white while the rest of my hair was a nice golden blonde. I have never been able to lighten my hair so quickly, evenly and cheaply! Awesome product and I will definitely be using it in the future!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cbarraza
Location: Mesa, AZ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Lightener Ever
Date:July 26, 2012
Pros: lifts from dark to light, doesn't irritate scalp, very quick to lighten
Cons: smell is a bit strong
"I've been going to a salon to get my hair done to stay blonde, however this has been expensive. After doing a lot of research on how to properly bleach and dye your hair, I decided to risk it and do it myself. I have natural almost black hair, and it is coarse and unruly. I picked this because it claimed to lift 8-10 tones and boy did it. I mixed this with 4 oz of 30 developer and 2 activator packets. It only took 30 minutes and my roots were almost white! (This worked better than what I get done at the salon because it usually takes about an hour to get my hair to lighten and my hair gets a bit damaged.) I then followed up with the color I wanted and my hair came out perfect. This didn't damage or fry my hair and my scalp was fine. Usually the salon stuff burns and irritates my scalp. I did sleep in a deep conditioner just to make sure my hair stayed nice and soft. Now that I know how this works and the results it provides, I will be using this every month. Saves me $80 a month as well. Can't beat that!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bre3
Home
Do you need a toner
Posted July 28, 2012
Hi I would like to die/bleach my hair with this product and I was wondering a step by step informational instruction list also did you need to use toner with this product
Thank you
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 8 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HM2122
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Outstanding
Date:May 23, 2012
Pros: doesn't smell, fast acting, gentle
"I used this on a client who is Aisan and was looking to take her jet black hair to a light blonde/brown.
This worked very fast and lifted evenly. I did retone her to add some gold but other than that it worked amazing. I used 1 bottle, 2 pkts of activator and 30 vol.
Took about 30 min in a single process. Left hair smooth and tangle free.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carlala
Awesome!
Date:August 23, 2011
"Compared to typical box dyes, this bleach does the trick! I used 20 volume developer with 3 packets of activators. I was a little scared to get a higher volume of developer since I had already bleached hair and all I needed to do was my roots. My hair is naturally black with Asian texture and is very stubborn when it comes to lightening since it usually turns a cheesy orange with box bleach. Well, this bleach did the trick! My roots became a nice golden yellow instead of orange, and the already bleached part of my hair became a nice light blonde. It is definitely worth using this instead of over-paying at a salon for a small section of my hair to be bleached. I will need to re-bleach my roots, but I am extremely satisfied with this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colormeblond
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product!!
Date:August 17, 2011
Pros: effective, less damaging than bleach
"Tired of the damage bleach causes so I decided to purchase 7th Stage. I used 30vol, 3 activator packets and left it on 45min with a cap. Used heat for about 15-20. Got my hair almost white! Couldnt believe it, after rinsing it out I was shocked at how soft my hair was. My hair is naturally a level 5, course- thick hair. I had color- removed it no problem, roots turned out great , just a little darker than the rest."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Xella
Location: San Jose, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I Love This Stuff!
Date:July 11, 2011
Pros: lifts hair color, easy to use, gets rid of brassiness
Cons: have to use activator packets, can get runny
"Note that this stuff is especially good for "double drabbing" exactly what I needed to get my dark brown locks to platinum blonde. I had hair that half of it was previously bleached(light yellow) and the the other half was my normal roots(dark brown). I used 30 vol developer and 1 & 1/2 activator packets.The roots turned a nice pale yellow and the bleached parts turned pure white! There was some damage but not nearly as much damage like from powdered bleaches.
*Note:The bleached parts had been around for a few weeks prior to re-bleaching with this product.
I'm going to buy this again soon, but this time get my whole head platinum! =]"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DolphinXoxo
Location: Orange County, Ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Average Lightener
Date:May 16, 2011
Pros: lightened my hair a bit, thin and easy to work with
Cons: damaged my hair more than powder, only bleached 3 levels, not worth the price
"I started out with medium reddish brown dyed hair. I'm trying to go platinum and I read all the wonderful reviews about this product and decided to buy it, thinking it would work much faster than my loreal quick blue powder. I used one bottle of this with 30 volume developer and 2 packets of the activator, and it definitely did not bleach 8-10 levels. It honestly maybe did 3; I've bleached it twice in two days with this stuff and its still orange and it's damaged my hair quite a bit more than my loreal quick blue powder ever has. For me this was just a very average bleach, nothing special at all and not worth the 8 bucks for this and the activators."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mymaryjanes
Location: Houston, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best bleach ever!
Date:April 11, 2011
Pros: smells good, works fast, gentle
"This bleach is the best I have ever used. It took my naturally almost-black hair to almost white in one application and 30-40 minutes, with no scalp irritation. My hair remains soft but strong and unbroken, with almost no brassiness. Also, this bleach smells like lavender essential oil! I love it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjvandervort111
Location: San Antonio, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Better Than Bleach!!
Date:March 29, 2011
Pros: worth the money! not too expensive. smells ok.
Cons: not much in stock at the store.
"This is an amazing product! I did my sister's hair (level 4R) with this product,. So being that this product was new to me, I did strand tests to see how this product compared to bleach and a hi-lift permanent color. I left all three products on for 15 minutes, and this was the only product that lifted the hair to like a level 10; with little to no brassiness. It works 3 times as good as bleach and it's less damaging. However, I don't think it'll work if you have metallic dyes in your hair; aka, box dyes found in drug stores."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danilicious
Location: Greensboro, NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
WOW!
Date:March 25, 2011
Pros: blonde hair!
Cons: strong smell
"This stuff really works! I have dark brown hair and this turned my hair into a beautiful blonde color, no orange! I use 2 packs of the accelerator and 40 vol developer to get this result! Way better than bleach!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Astrid
Location: SLO, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My #1 Lightener from Dark Brown to Platinum!
Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: easy genlte(r) works!
Cons: don't forget to mix the developer and activators, before you add the dye
"After YEARS of powder bleach and damaged hair I was finally led to this by a Sally's salesgirl and it changed my blonde life. It works the best, is the easiest and least burny of anything I ever tried (and I tried a LOT). I have stubborn dark (about level 4) natural brown hair and this lifts it to pale yellow. After a quick Color Charm white or silver lady tone job I am more PLATINUM than any hairdresser thought was possible, or dared to try on my hair. Recommended 100%. Note: I didn't bleach ALL my hair with this since I only discovered it after I had ruined my hair with powder bleach for a year or so, so I cant attest to it working all over the hair. But it works wonders on untreated, nearly black roots. Rarely am I left brassy. I use it with 3 activator packets and 40 vol."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
warlord
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Bleach Ever!
Date:December 1, 2010
"This is honestly the best thing I've ever used to lighten my hair. The only real drawbacks are because you use 2 other things with it it gets tricky to only use a small portion of it. Secondly, the fumes are pretty potant, and last, it doesnt lift old hair color as well as powder bleaches. Besides that, it really is the best thing to lighten especially with dark hair. It took my naturally brownish black hair to a neutral very light blonde with only 3 packets of the powder and 30 volume peroxide. AMAZING!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bubbasgurl
Location: Pasadena TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Dont waste your money
Date:November 15, 2010
Cons: waste of money
"I constanly get bored with my hair color and decided that I wanhted to go from red to platinum blond with a darker color underneath. I read the reviews of this product so I really thought that it would work for me since it claims to lift 8-10 levels. What a joke! It may have lifted 1 level but thats about it. I went ahead and bleached my hair instead. I knew that this was going to be a process in the first place to get my hair to that light of a color but I fell like I wasted my money buying this product"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
youngmane
Location: South Carolina
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Can I give this ten stars?????
Date:October 4, 2010
Pros: cheap gentle quick
Cons: a bit stinky but worth it
"Oh my goodness, this stuff rocks!!! I spent the last two months fixing up and gradually lifting orange hair that had been previously dyed. I finally got the rest of my hair BLONDE after using other products, toners, and finally Sun-in while sitting in the sun to further lift the hair to the correct level to get rid of the brass. Today, I did my dark brown roots with 7th stage hair lightener. It went light blonde in about 15-20 minutes (roots always lighten fast from heat of head) with no orange whatsoever. I only needed one activator packet, since i was only doing the roots. i don't even need a toner now. And the hair is nice and soft. I wish i had used this product right from the start. I sure will use it from now on!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Clairol 7th Stage Creme Hair Lightener
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emry
Black to Platinum Blonde :)
Date:July 11, 2010
Pros: really raises colour, cheap
Cons: long process time, smells, took two applications, brassy
"My friend decided that he wanted his naturally very dark brown hair (partially dyed black) to become platinum blonde.
I did some research, picked this puppy, and used it.
Results first time through? Brassy yellows oranges and a little red.
So we waited three days (we were expecting to use two applications to get the results anyway) and we go over it again. This time, we use heat.
We get it from the brassy colours to a near white. There were some very small resistant buggers that stayed an orange, but we were able to razor those small pieces out unnoticably.
Despite all the cons I have, it really is a wonderful lightener, and I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to get to any lift whatsoever."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>