Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo

Clairol Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo brightens white and gray hair. Shampoos away yellow, and refreshes faded highlights.
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
55 of 65(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Review 1 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kristen85
Location: Peoria, IL
Great for light blondes!
Date:December 23, 2013
"I am a diehard bleach blonde but I have well water making it extremely difficult to keep and upkeep. It not only keeps the brassiness down but after a fresh bleaching when it gets the yellow look it tones it down using it for a few days. I wish it was more moisturizing as it does dry my hair out, but, it does as expected."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pastelprincess
Location: st john's, nl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works as described
Date:September 30, 2013
Pros: nice smell, very pigmented, adds gray/purple tint to hair if you want it
Cons: dries hair out really bad, not worth the 14.99 price tag, only works on white/silver hair
"This product has a lot of pros and cons. I have enjoyed using the bottle I purchased, but I will be going on the hunt for another product when this runs out.
- To be fair, it does as it states on the bottle - will keep the brassiness out of white/silver hair. This is very important, because it is serious and has no room for give. If your hair isnt platinum or close to it, don't bother with this product. I'm glad it keeps my hair looking bright, but it also frustrates me that it does nothing for the back of my hair, where the blonde is platinum but a little darker.
If you're out of toner and you need a quick touch up, this shampoo is excellent for that. Leave it in for 10-15 minutes, and when you rinse you'll have gray hair, which I love about it.
- The smell is very flowery, normally i dont care for scents but i find this one tolerable, and it doesnt linger in my hair too much, its pleasant, though strong.
- ALWAYS condition after using this because bleaching didnt kill my hair, but this product definitely did, its very harsh.
I'd be happier with this product if it really was only 7-8 dollars but it is double that, and not worth the high cost, for what it is.
Overall, i'd give it a 4/5. This product is worth a try from curious folks, if you can get it cheap."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Magda
Date:July 10, 2013
Pros: does what it says
Cons: cost, purple tint if left in too long
"This is my go to product for white blonde hair. My hair is dyed platinum blonde, but has a little brassiness too it. Anytime I use Shimmering Lights, voila - I'm white blonde. I don't recommend this to people who are in the early stages of bleaching their hair though. In my experience, it works best on the lightest of yellow blonde.
I work at a swimming pool, and my co-worker recommended this to me 2 yrs ago. I've used it ever since. Not only does it take the brassiness away, but if your hair is frequently exposed to chlorine, this product eliminates that gross green color (again, this is just my own personal experience).
Spare yourself the money though and just buy the conditioner. Using only the conditioner after you shampoo with whatever brand, and then leaving it in for 10-15 minutes (any longer and you might end up with a purple tint), will do the trick."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bkfinest006
Location: New York, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Disappointment
Date:July 2, 2013
Pros: it looks cool
Cons: drying, smells, doesn't work
"I recently bleached my hair and colored it ash brown with blonde highlights. After about 2 weeks of the new color near the ends of my hair started to turn a nasty orange color. After reading online reviews and videos I decided to give this a try. I followed the directions only to end in a disappointing result. I absolutely do not see any difference in the shade,color,lighting of my hair. Not to mention the shampoo is extremely drying and has a cheap old school ivory soap smell that sticks in your hair and you can still smell it after putting products in your hair. My hair feels like hay now. Now i have to buy a leave in conditioner and a hot oil treatment to regain my pride."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Alayna
Location: Lancaster, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Meh
Date:June 15, 2013
Pros: it was purple, shampooed my hair well
Cons: did not work, have to have light blonde hair to work
"I bought this shampoo because it's been recommended by so many people, and I had really wanted my hair to be a platinum blonde. It was expensive, $8 for the smallest bottle they had. My hair had been bleached to a dark blonde/orange. The hair under my bangs, though, were a bright blonde because they had already been bleached before I bleached it again. I used the shampoo and it didn't work at all for my hair. The colors stayed the same. So the next day I left on the shampoo for and hour and a half. The orange came out, but my hair was still dark blonde. The already-bleached hair came out blue. Not what I'd expect from a purple shampoo.
So I guess what I'm getting at is that you have to have really light blonde (almost white) hair for this shampoo to work.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MakeupGeek
Lexington, Tennessee
AWESOME SHAMPOO!!
Posted October 30, 2013
I first want to say that I ADORE this shampoo! I'm a natural blonde, but not as light of a blonde as I'd like to be, so I get all over highlights. I started using this shampoo a couple of weeks ago, and it has made quite a big difference in my hair. I've noticed the general tone of my hair is less brassy, and more platinum looking, which I love. I use it just like the directions say. I wash, rinse, and then repeat, leaving the product on for a few minutes, for extra brightening. I highly recommend this shampoo to any blonde. It's a gem! :)
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 6 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KaytotheT
Location: Valencia, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Does what it says
Date:May 23, 2013
"I buy this product in between touch ups with my stylist. She's the one who actually recommended it to me. Obviously if you're reading the reviews you know that this shampoo can be drying, but you have to take a grain of salt with this. If your hair is already damaged and brittle don't use this product. You're only going to be stripping the oils your hair needs. Take the time to get your hair into a better state before using another drying product. That said, I don't use this shampoo every day. Maybe 2-3 times a week. I also use a intensive hair mask after using this shampoo to counteract any drying effects. My hair is in great condition though so that's perhaps why I'm so pleased with this product. I also know what works best on my hair. If you're looking for a miracle product after a bad botched job go to a professional. They know what they are talking about and what will work. This does tone down brassiness and removes the yellow very well. My hair usually has a more shimmering silver aspect to it especially in sunlight. But that's also due to the highlights I have in my hair. I once got over zealous and used it too much and it turned my hair almost silver. It was not too bad. I've also read reviews that this "STAINS LIKE CRAZY". It's not a dye so that's not going to happen. If you see purple in your sink or shower simply rinse it away. Don't be a dummy and let it sit there. It does TINT my skin a bit but a few washes takes care of that. I also don't agree with the statements that this smells bad. It smells like it's got some chemicals in it so that's well a DUH in my opinion. If you want fruity botanicals go get something that states that's what it's for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Theophania
Awful
Date:April 24, 2013
Pros: eliminates brassiness
Cons: smells bad, leaves hair feeling dry course and not clean
"I bought this after having it referred to me by a friend. I absolutely hate it. The only positive thing I can say is that it does get rid of brassiness. This product smells horrible and leaves my hair feeling dry and rough. It also left my hair purple. The purple comes out the next time you shampoo it. I would suggest using the Ion cool blonde shampoo and conditioner instead. It is basically the same thing except it actually smells good and leaves your hair feeling actually soft and clean, It also doesn't turn it purple, even the the shampoo and conditoner are both purple liquids. If you do decide to buy the shimmer lights, make sure you only use it once a week. It will leave your hair extremely dry. Also make sure to use it on a day that you are just staying home. It will turn your hair purple but the purple will wash out with your next shampoo. It does do what it's supposed to do, but in exchange it smells awful and leaves your hair feeling course and not clean."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jess4884
Location: L-town, Florida
Exceeded Expectations
Date:April 24, 2013
Pros: works fast, inexpensive
Cons: a little drying
"I tried this wondering if it would actually take the brassiness out of my blonde highlights. The first time I used it, I did not leave it on long enough as I was nervous about my ends looking violet. Used it the second day and made sure I left on for 4-5 minutes. Then I used a heavy 3 minute conditioner after rinsing. My hair looks awesome and most of the brassiness and gold/yellow tones are out. GREAT VALUE!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
allisonkbye
Location: Dubois, PA
Didn't work for my hair
Date:January 5, 2013
"I was really excited to get this because of all the reviews, but unfortunately it just does nothing for my hair except make the non-brassy parts a little purple/blue. The only solution so far to tone down my brassy streas was dying it with the 12AABV dye."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ceilidh
Location: Ottawa, ON
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Turned hair purple
Date:October 21, 2012
Cons: turns hair purple, doesn't help with brassiness
"I bought this product because it said it removed brassiness etc. It hasn't worked very well at all on my hair. Regardless of how long I left it on for it turned the lightest parts of my hair a lavender colour that seems to not come out even after I stopped using the shampoo/conditioner. I tried mixing it with a yellow shampoo to try and offset some of the purple, this did nothing. It didn't even start to help with some of the brassiness, and only somewhat helped with brightening."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kurtis
Location: Massachusetts
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Shimmer Lights Blonde
Date:October 8, 2012
Pros: makes blonde hair platinum, banishes brasiness
Cons: scent
"This is such an amazing shampoo. It really tones your hair into platinum blonde and takes out the yellow and brassy tones, it blows the John Freida out of the water. It has a purple base, so you know it works well on blonde hair. It is pretty moisturizing and doesn't totally strip hair. The only thing that should change on this is the smell, very... chemically smelling, like legit hairdye without fragrance."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olyb
Location: Hialeah, Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product!
Date:September 25, 2012
Pros: really works
Cons: strong smell, dries out hair
"I Lightened my hair and it turned out a yellow/orange tone. It was awful. Before going to my salon, I decided to by this shampoo but, I didn't believe it would make a difference. It made a huge difference! Still has a bit of yellow/orange in it but I can live with it. It will probably be gone with the next wash. The smell is a bit strong perfume scent but I rather deal with the smell and not the color. It dried my hair out a little but I used it with an Ion conditoner."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissChanel23
Location: Iowa
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good
Date:August 14, 2012
Pros: make hair blonde
Cons: hair can be purple if left on too long
"This shampoo really makes my hair blonde. Not white blonde but it takes out the yellow. The smells ok but not too bad. I say it makes your hair a nice blonde. I forgot to use it with my pro masters purple shampoo it would make a perfect blonde together. But sadly i wasn't thinking untill my clairol purple shampoo was all gone. Next time I buy this shampoo again I will be using it with my pro masters purple shampoo. Pro masters is exactly like this one but more expensive. But it does not smell bad as clairol though. I thought the one I brought at my favorite store would substitute as clairol. Cause i ran out of it. But it just turned my hair a purple color and was very runny.(A very cheap brand)No wonder its on sale for $1. Better off using clairol with my pro masters one."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessRachel
Location: FL
Date:August 12, 2012
Pros: really tones
Cons: drying
"I was going from red to blonde when I bought this. I let it sit in my hair a couple of times (just 2 or 3 minutes) It seems to work better if you do it like that. This got rid of all the yucky colors in my hair, and even did a pretty good job of getting out some of the red :). It was very drying though. I had to use a good conditioner afterwords, and the times I couldn't condition because I was possibly bleaching/dying afterwords, I could barely brush my hair. It does have a strong smell, but I don't mind it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarrieH
Location: Stevensville, MD
Great first impression
Date:June 5, 2012
"This is my first time going platinum blonde, and when i bleached all the way from black, of course i had nasty yellow/brassy undertones. Not to mention my well water leaving minerals in my hair and making it worse. My first two uses made my hair more of a straw color. No more banana color! And just on the first use? Yes please.
Just don't apply super heavily and try to make the application even all over the head in a lather-- i noticed my whiter roots did get a bit dyed when i plopped the shampoo on my head.
But yes, i love this, it's great for 7 bucks.
Also i don't really think it smells bad at all. I prefer that to a overly-fruity shampoo that makes flies and bees attracted to my head in the summer."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SamiJean
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing!
Date:May 30, 2012
Pros: tones down brassiness, keeps hair from turning yellow
"I started using Shimmer Lights a couple months ago and I absolutely love it! I’ve used a product similar to this from Redken and I honestly think this product is just as good but isn’t as expensive. I could definitely tell a difference after using it. It toned down the brassiness in my hair and maintained my blonde highlights very well. I would definitely suggest this product to anyone highlighting/bleaching out their hair because it will keep it from turning yellow and brassy. Just make sure you rinse it out really good because it can leave a purple cast on your hair if you’re not careful lol."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5OhWifey
Location: Boaz, AL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product!
Date:May 11, 2012
"Don't use too often or leave on for too long or it will actually tint your hair blueish purple but if you use correctly, shimmering lights will rid your hair of brassiness and you will have gorgeous blonde (or gray) again! :)
LOVE LOVE LOVE
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PnutButterJellyBean
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
good tone, but not too often
Date:April 1, 2012
Pros: tones well
Cons: dries hair out
"+ This shampoo definitely does the toning it claims (your hair should really be that light yellow to start off with though, if it is slightly darker/orange it will not do much). The lighter yellow portions of my hair were toned a very nice blonde, almost white, and I received many compliments the next day. It looked a little purple when I got out of the shower, but when it dried that went away.
- My only qualm with this product is the conditioning aspect, and this is why I only give it three stars. My dry, damaged, bleached hair felt fine after using this + conditioner the first time, however twice in one week was just too much. It dried very wiry. I still use it every now and then for that extra blonde, but if you are looking for a quick, non damaging toner then I would really suggest ROUX FANCIFUL COLOR RINSE in WHITE MINX, which won't dry out your hair with daily use and is a great price for the size of the bottle."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blondie95
Location: NJ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
best purchase ever!!
Date:March 30, 2012
Pros: great price, works amazing
Cons: hard to put on your roots
"this purple shampoo is amazing. it definitely meets your expectations! i wanted my hair to be white but i didn't want to use bleach, my hair was yellow and had some orange parts in it. I put the shampoo for about 3-5 minutes, and it worked really well! gotta be careful not to put it in for too long because your hair might turn grayish purple!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimmer Lights Original Conditioning Shampoo
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cyberkitty
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Date:March 28, 2012
Pros: smells okay
Cons: turns hair purple, doesnt work, expensive
"this stuff is just terrible. it didnt do anything to my hair but turn the white parts purple. its expensive and it doesnt even work. it smells okay but thats about it and you can buy better smelling shampoo for half the price if you want to tone your hair stick with manic panic virgin snow."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>