Product Reviews

Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme

Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme defines and elongates tightly coiled curls.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 of 16(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Review 1 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvmypumpkins
For all hair types!
Date:July 3, 2014
"I do not have "multi-cultural" hair, yet I use this with great success! I find a tiny amount goes a long way, so there is great value in this tub. My hair is fine, frizzy and a bit blah, but I can throw a tiny amount of this in my damp hair, let it air dry and be good all day. I suggest keeping it away from your scalp as it can grease up, but that may be dependent on your hair and skin."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CurlyBaby7
Location: Dublin, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great product
Date:April 25, 2014
"I purchased this for my 7 year old daughter and it works great! She has kinky curly hair that requires a LOT of moisture. I braid her hair every day after school, using this product. It is very thick, so I don't use a TON like I have to with other products. It keeps her hair moist until the next morning when I take her braids out for school. I've done a LOT of trial with different products and this one's a keeper. Most products are OK at best, but this one does the job!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wundertwins
Location: Childersburg, AL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great product!
Date:August 23, 2013
Pros: great results with every use
Cons: a little pricey - $10 would be perfect!
"I have been using this crème for twist-outs, braid-outs, and for wash-and-go's (use on my hair before using Eco Styler Gel with Argan Oil). I get FABULOUS results each time! It is a little pricey but I highly recommend it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Naturalista
Location: NJ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Its a good product
Date:August 9, 2013
Pros: moisturizes, soft hold
Cons: smell is not natural
"I was a bit skeptical because of the price and the fact that I used the leave in conditioner from this line and it was no good. But this worked for me, it left my hair soft and moisturized. It did define my curls (i used it with a twist out, not a wash and go). It doesnt smell very good. it smells as if it was processed, the scent is not natural."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CurlySimone
Location: Orlando, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Moisturizer For Curly Hair
Date:September 18, 2012
Pros: adds body, adds fullness, excellent moisturizer, doesn't leave residue, isn't greasy, leaves hair touch-ably soft
Cons: still need gel or mousse for styling
"I've been using Shea Moisture products for the past 6 months, but decided to purchase 'Curls Unleashed Curl Defining Cream' because it was on sale, and although the Shea Moisture Souffle truly defines my 3C curls, eliminates frizz, and doesn't shrink my hair, it's very GREASY. Therefore, I've been on the lookout for another curl defining product that will leave my hair touch-ably soft with no greasy residue. I have to say that I absolutely LOVE this cream and I'll tell you why... Although it's not as curl defining as the Shea Moisture Souffle, it moisturizes my hair very well, doesn't cause shrinkage, eliminates frizz, and most importantly, does not leave a greasy residue. It also leaves my curls with lots of body even on 3-4 day old dry hair without re-wetting, washing, or co-washing.
The only con I have about the Curls Unleashed Curl Defining Cream is that it's not great for shaping/styling because it's more of a moisturizer than anything. if you are into shaping or putting your hair in some form of style you may also have to use the Curls Unleashed Gel after applying this cream. To give my hair a little more curl definition I use a little of my Shea Moisture Souffle.
If you have very dry hair, be sure to divide your hair into 4-8 sections whenever you get ready to style your hair (wet or dry), and evenly distribute this cream or any product you use throughout each section to ensure all of your hair gets the moisture it needs. Extra Virgin Olive Oil is also a good remedy to use on your hair and scalp at least once a week."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faithlc
Location: FL
Finally Found The One
Date:September 18, 2012
Pros: defines curls, smells good, results last all day, little goes a long way
"I have hispanic/african american 3B curly hair and live in FL so i understand the harsh conditions of humidity. I have been searching for years and trying every product combination imaginable to manage my hair. After reading reviews I decided to just give this product a try (what could I lose) and I'm glad I did. The price is even very affordable. All I do is condition my hair in the morning, dab it with a towel lightly, then apply this product to my hair sections at a time, and let it hair dry. This product defines my curls so well with only a little applied and keeps my curls conditioned. My curls last all day walking in this FL humidity and even through workouts. All I can say is just try it for yourself at least once. It changed my hairs life :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EllaesCynthia
Location: Orlando, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Does what it says
Date:September 11, 2012
Pros: elongates and stretches curls
Cons: smells terrible!!
"I purchased this product over a month ago because I was looking for something to elongate my braid-outs. This product does just that, I am transitioning and have 3c curls. It does not leave any residue or visible flakes behind. It does take a while for the product to air-dry while it is in braid-outs. The one thing that I definitely would change about this product is the smell, its HORRIBLE!! Once it dries the smell is not noticeable but applying it, ugh!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunshinegirl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Product!!
Date:August 17, 2012
Pros: price, versatile, makes hair soft, adds volume, clean smelling, good value
Cons: none
"I tried as a leave in on dry hair and on wet hair. OMG! this product is awesome!! made my curls POP! with a supersoft hold. I tried the As I Am Doublebutter cream and it was ok but it has to be layered with another cream or leave in. But this cream can stand on its own very versitile styler. It really does stretch out the hair or define the curl in the hair nicely!!!
The Bomb!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Productjunkie80
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good curl definition
Date:July 18, 2012
Pros: doesn't leave hair hard, moisturize, a little goes a long way
Cons: smell, leaves hair a little coated
"I am pleased with the product. It has not become a staple but I like the way it works on my loose styles. I must say it doesn't have the best smell but the smell isn't awful. Since you do not need a great deal of this product you can deal with the smell."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SandraDEE
Location: CALIFORNIA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
ugly
Date:June 1, 2012
Pros: none
Cons: grease, gross, no curl defenition
"this stuff made my hair feel soooooo nasty i had to wash it out the same day! it was a weird texture.. felt like i took the cold left over grease from fried chicken when it turns white and i put that in my hair ..yuck! as for curls i found other products to work better! ... try it for urself u can always return it..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KiaBia
Location: Washington, DC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Won't be repurchasing, but I won't return either..
Date:May 22, 2012
"I actually kind of like this product... It didn't do anything amazing for my hair, but I like how it clumps my curls together. I have to layer it over a more moisturizing leave in, because it is very oily and not exactly Super moisturizing. It's important to use a TINY amount or you'll be left with really oily hair! I use it on both freshly washed hair and when re-twisting. Seems to work okay for wash-n-gos too, but it did leave some white residue when combined with Eco-styler olive oil gel. Ehhh.."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
phylmar
Location: Scranton, Pa
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
disapointed
Date:May 15, 2012
Pros: lots of product
Cons: greasy
"I wanted to love this new curl cream, but it didn't work for me. The first time I used it I used way to much product and my hair was very greasy, so the next time I used half the amount, and it still left my hair very limp and oily. I have very dry hair, but this does not work. Curly Noodle is a much better choice, it is half the price, and works much much better. My hair is curly, but not real tight curls, maybe for someone with realy tight frizzy curls it might work"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dezinee
Location: Philly
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not worth it
Date:May 5, 2012
Pros: moisturizes hair
Cons: tan and white clumpy residue
"I bought this product to give me some versatility with my natural hair. I really wanted to get defined loosened up curls with out having to do anything too harsh. I also liked that the product would moisturize my hair. I washed and deep conditioned my hair. Cool shot to dry my hair and applied the product to my freshly washed dried hair. I Twisted my hair and left it that way over night. The next day I took my twists out and I had tan and white clumpy residue in every strand of my hair. It looked like dandruff I was livid. My curls were defined but it definitely was not worth it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Namaste16
Location: Indiana
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Product with potential
Date:April 6, 2012
Pros: nourishing ingredients
Cons: leaves white/tan residue on dark hair, needs to be layered with moistuizing product, doesn't define curls; clumps them
"This product has quaility ingrendients and was affordable; so I gave it a try. It has primarily been a disappointment. I have coarse, kinky hair. Rather than defining my curls, the product simply clumped them together. I varied the amount of product used and always got a similar result. Furthermore, it leaves a tan/white residue on my dark brown hair. Some of the residue fades when dry, some does not. This product is not drying, but it is not moisturizing either. It needs to be layered with sometime of leave-in or a moisturizer of some sort. Unfortunately, the brands recommended leave-in conditioner actually increases the white/tan residue when combined as the company recommends. This has the potential to be a good product, but is absolutely not suited for coarse, kinky, dark hair."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brownsuga
Location: columbia, sc
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome Product
Date:February 27, 2012
Pros: smells great, no flaking
"I have been natural for 3 years and I have not found a product that prevents shrinkage, until now. This products smells good, does not flake and it elongates the hair with its natural well define curl pattern. You definitely get the biggest bang for the buck in this product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Curls Unleashed Take Command Curl Defining Creme
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrsbenedict
Location: Albany, NY
Great for 4a-4b texture
Date:February 24, 2012
"I've been natural for a year, and purchased this product to try yesterday. I'm very pleased with the results, as it left my hair incredibly defined and super hydrated. I know that a product has passed my test when my hair feels just as hydrated the next morning. The consistency is like a gel/pudding/cream, and spongy to the touch. It's so exciting to see brands recognizing women who do not want to chemically relax their hair, and who want to nurture and protect many unique textures we have."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.