Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector

ION CB COLOR CORRECTOR.
Average Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (163 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
19
133 of 163(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Review 101 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hanz
Location: fort worth, tx
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
not for dark hair
Date:January 20, 2011
Cons: smells disgusting
" Had been dying my hair dark brown for a few years now and wanted to remove my dark color. Unfortunately it did not do ANYTHING for my hair. Would probably work for more recently dyed and lighter hair. Smelled disgusting like sewage and rotten eggs! Personally would not use again. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 102 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmandaCloud
Location: Houston, Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
It actually worked!
Date:January 18, 2011
Pros: effectiveness, cost, easy process
Cons: amount of product, smell
" What a life saver. I was about to put bleach on my hair, but figured I would give this a shot. It worked very well. The only drawbacks were the smell - it was awful, and the amount of product. I have shoulder length hair that is all one length and one box barely covered all of it. My hair was freshly colored, so maybe that helped in the effectiveness of the product. Afterwards, all I had to do was tone my roots. Luckily another review said to get 10 Volume Developer, which you do need. It's not listed on the box, but is on the directions. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 103 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tronathon
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Saved me from embarassment!!!!
Date:January 2, 2011
Pros: works
Cons: stinks - but not bad enough to not use it
" I usually use L'Oreal Darkest Brown on my hair. I made the mistake (like another user on this product review) and chose Nice N' Easy Darkest Brown. Same color, right? WRONG!! It ended up an embarassing shade of cold black. I was mortified. I looked like I belonged to the Addam's Family. I purchased this product based on the excellent reviews. I have hair past my shoulders and am glad I decided to pick up 2 boxes as 1 box would not have saturated enough. I mixed the 2 bottles together and poured it over my head and massaged it in to saturate all of my hair. It does stink....... but it's not bad enough to not use it. As the stuff sat on my head, I kept peeking in the mirror - to my surprise it didn't appear as if anything had changed. Time was up. I rinsed my hair in the tub expecting the water to wash out black. It was clear. At this point I was thinking it didn't work. I then looked in the mirror and was 100% satisfied. ALL THE DEATH WAS WASHED OUT OF MY HAIR!! Actually, all the dye I had used EVER was washed out of my hair. This stuff was awesome! I am now going to the salon in a couple of days to get some blonde highlights put in!!! HALLELUJAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Now I think I'll give the Nice N' Easy people a call.........
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 104 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bbgirl2428
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
worth trying
Date:December 14, 2010
Pros: works well with recently dyed hair
" tried using this on my really dark brown hair that was dyed over 3 months ago. Did take the color down a notch but not to where i wanted it to be. this was because it should be used on recently dyed hair to be the most effective. worth giving a try, i want my hair to be blonde so i'm going to try lightening it first. the smell isn't as bad as ppl are saying. MAKE SURE YOU BUY A 10 DEVELOPER TO RINSE WITH THIS TOO! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 105 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PWKO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Lifesaver
Date:November 17, 2010
Pros: works
Cons: stinks to high heaven!
" I tried this after completely messing up my hair using a demi-permanent hair color. The roots turned out a nice medium brown while the rest of my hair was almost black. Clearly this is not what I was going for. I thought it would fade within a few days. Some of it did fade judging by the stains left on my white bath towels each day. After four days, my roots were back to their usual medium brown color (w/greys) but the rest was still nearly black. I ended up using Ion's Color Corrector to remove most of the black. That left my hair a nice brassy orange which I then colored with Wella's Color Charm Cashmere 6NW (Dark Natural Warm Blonde). The end result is medium warm brown hair. Whew. Will not touch a demi- permanent again. I used the color removal method in the directions. While the directions say it's not meant for demi-permanent color, it still worked. I had to laugh because the package says "refreshing fragrance" on the front but this stuff is seriously one of the worst things I've ever smelled. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 106 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AmayBlueyes
Good Value and Results
Date:November 16, 2010
Pros: quick, easy to apply, simple instructions, great value
Cons: smell, may need more than one application
" I've been doing my own hair ever since my mom would let me, and I am the type who loves change...especially with my hair. I used to be blonde but it's too much work to maintain, so over the last couple of years I've been staying with dark browns/reds. This year I've been dying it black (which I love)..but as usual it was now time for a change. And if you don't know already...black is very difficult to change or get rid of.
This product was awesome for the price, a great beauty buy for sure. A lot of people talk about the smell of bad eggs, I didn't really think it was that bad. Make sure to do this in a well ventilated area, but the smell was no worse than going to an actual salon.
For me it lifted the black quite a bit and evening out the all over color. Now it's back to a dark/reddish brown with hints of black throughout. I would recommend buying an extra box for those trying to get rid of black dye and doing this twice to get all the black out. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 107 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dizzinea
Location: washington
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
does what it says
Date:November 15, 2010
Pros: effective, leaves hair in good condition
Cons: smells awful
" I have been using ion brilliant demi permanent color for over a year and had gone 3rv a very deep red violet i wanted to lighten back up to a strong red in a leval six, but needed to lighten the hair to acheave that. This product lifed out the excess color and took me from about a leval three to a five. because I had so much red in my hair my hair is a very orange tone, however since I am going vivid red it's perfect. my only issue is it stinks, not as rotton egg sulfar smelling as other products of it's type but still really bad "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 108 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommyHolly
Location: Goode, VA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Life saver!!!
Date:November 2, 2010
" Ive been dying my hair dark brown for about 3 years now. But I was tired of it and wanted to lighten it to a light blonde. No matter what brand of DS hair dye I bought it just kept getting darker. I knew my hair needed to be stripped of all the old color. I thought my only option was a Salon bleaching, which would have cost me atleast 250. But my stylist recommended this to me first. Said only if this didnt work would she do a bleaching. Well needless to say, I never had to call back for an appointment. MAGICAL!!!!!! is the best word. I took my 3 to a 6 with absolutly no problems. It did smell bad, but no worse then a strong hair color does. I deep conditioned it after with the ION recontrustor and my hair hasnt been in such good condition in years. It did bring out my heavy red and orange tones, so to conteract it I dyed it a 7A in the ION creame collection (see review). BEAUTIFUL results!!!! definitly give it a try, way better then hundreds at the Salon!!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 109 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seraphine
Location: GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent Product
Date:October 14, 2010
Pros: works great, simple directions
Cons: smells really bad, doesn't do much for red
" I've been coloring my hair for over a year. It's been so many colors and a lot of red and lastly black(accident) so I had a lot of build up. I used one box, my hair is a little past my shoulders with layers in it, and it covered all my hair. It worked very well. Top part of hair was a beautiful golden color that I had tried to dye my hair several times and never got and it faded to a medium to dark brown(dark brown is my natural color).It works very well on all the other colors but didn't do much for the red in my hair. I did that two weeks ago. Today dyed my hair but didn't reread directions on Ion box and didn't get color lighter than I wanted so the color came out much darker. I plan on going to Sally's in the morning for another one of these to fix my latest mistake. It does smell like bad boiled eggs mixed with a dumpster but I'd take the smell any day for what it can do to fix color mistakes. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 110 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November
Surprisingly Effective
Date:October 12, 2010
Pros: really effective with dramatic results
Cons: the smell is stomach turning
" I am a skeptic when it comes to color correctors. I change my hair color at least four times a year and have been dyeing my hair for the last 8 years. I have used several brands in the past and they either don't deliver the results or leave you with patchy orange hair color that is impossible to do anything with unless you want to go a really dark brown. I wanted to go from a dark red to honey blonde and in lieu of bleaching the ever loving heck out of my hair I decided to to try this product since it had such good reviews. I followed the instructions in the box for a color change without heat. I didn't notice much change when I stepped in to the shower or after I had stepped out. Slightly disheartened, I started blow drying my hair and was shocked. The color was significantly lighter when dried, a light warmer brown color. I will always have a box of this on hand for spur of the moment color changes. However, the one thing I cannot stress enough about this product is the purely putrid smell. I put a processing cap on to contain it but every now and then I would catch a whiff of it and immediately wanted to vomit. Other than that, I highly recommend this product "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 111 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Works AMAZING, Smell...Not So Much.
Date:October 8, 2010
Pros: lifts amazing, works fast
Cons: smells horrible!
" I loved how this product worked! it lifted amazingly!
BUT, the smell is sooo horrible. I almost couldnt continue with the process the smell was that bad! Other than that I loved the end results!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 112 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissAT
Location: Austin, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worked Great!
Date:October 6, 2010
" This worked great on removing my way too red brown level 5 color. My natural color is about a 5 also, but I haven't seen it in decades.
Color Corrector worked great and did not damage my hair. You will have some warm undertones, especially if you've colored your hair often. However, this was fairly subtle.
I have since re-colored and re-highlighted with great results. I have an extra box of this on hand for the future...just in case! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 113 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dodo
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
works great but words can not describe the smell
Date:October 3, 2010
Pros: works great
Cons: box does not describe the putride smell of product
" I'm at a loss for words. This product works wonders for correcting colors in hair, but it should be a crime to not fully describe the smell of this product. This box should be slapped with a bright orange bio hazard label, and should contain nose plugs. The smell is a combination of 40 day old summer sewage, mixed with the fragrance of your local county landfill, with a hint of construction workers feet. I would rather smell morning breath after a rotten egg eating contest. But it does work if u can stomach all of those elements combined into a plastic bottle. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 114 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seracheerio
Location: Dayton, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing!
Date:September 22, 2010
Pros: works perfectly
Cons: not enough product for long hair, smelly
" I've bleached my hair more times than I can remember, and the last time almost destroyed my hair completely. I wanted to remove permanent red dye to go back to blonde but was terrified to use bleach again. I tried this because of all the good reviews although I figured it still might not work for me because things tend to go like that. I used only one package when I should have bought two because I have very long hair, but it removed 95% of all the red hair dye and left me with the blonde I had underneath! Had I used another package it would have removed all of it, there just was too much hair. I was pleasantly shocked that this worked to such an extent, I will never use bleach again, I'm so happy! Oh yea, and it does, in fact, smell like funky eggs mixed with dirt. But it works :) "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 115 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
klafitzwater
Did not work for me
Date:September 21, 2010
Cons: did not work
" This product did not work for me. I had been dying my hair dark brown with a semi and permanent dye for a few months. My hair had been naturally dark brown as well. I had tried to dye my hair auburn and it only worked on my roots so I bought the ion color corrector. It lightened my roots to almost blonde, and did not change much of the other color. I though because the product made hair more porous the color would still take even though all of the color was not lifted. Most of my hair was still the dark brown with almost brown/orange roots. Not attractive. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 116 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilaLola
AWESOME!
Date:September 18, 2010
" I used this on a professional semi-permanent color gloss and it worked wonders! I could run into that Sally's store right now and hug the lady that recommended it to me. I am naturally dark blonde with reddish undertones and had asked for a bright, vibrant strawberry blonde. I got a cross between brown, manic panic red, and burgundy! I was very scared it would make my hair too light and used the 'shampoo' method where you mix it in with your shampoo and let it sit for 10 minutes. It is a GORGEOUS red...not want I wanted, but gorgeous compared to what it was! I can live with it! Be mindful doing the strand test. I took a paper towel and wiped a strand to see if any residue was appearing on the paper...nothing. The awful burgundy color just appeared to vanish....I plugged up the sink as I rinsed it out, and the water wasn't colored either. It just made it disappear! Don't know how this stuff works, and don't care! Thank you so much lady at Sally's! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 117 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kabby
Location: Des Moines, IA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazed
Date:September 15, 2010
Pros: great value, works!!!
Cons: smells bad
" This product worked amazingly well. After coloring my hair an accidental burgundy I wanted a fix and fast. It does smell quite bad, but it works! I had tried previous products in the past with no luck... but once I rinsed this off I was a nice strawberry blonde! Phew :) "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 118 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MOcurlygirl
Location: Missouri
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worked a miracle!
Date:September 14, 2010
Pros: does the job!
Cons: stinks to high heaven
" I have thick naturally curly brassy red/brown hair a couple inches past my shoulders. I decided I wanted to get the gray out and dyed it a muddy brown/purple mahogany color. It was Awful! I bought this after reading the reviews, it smells as bad as everyone says, so I used cotton balls up the nose-hey it works! The smell lingered faintly for a day or 2 after-perfume helped. But the miracle was it removed all of the mud color back to my origional color...without the gray too! I didn't have to re-dye, although I could have & bought a box of color in case. Also -there was no damage left behind! I did condition for a long time after washing the color remover out. Thank goodness for this product! Also 1 box was enough for my head of longer thick hair. Just be sure to watch your hair as its removing the dye-I stopped & washed it out when it was close-do a strand test. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 119 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NBBY
Location: STL, MO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent With Ion's Demi
Date:September 12, 2010
" I used Ion's Demi-Permanent color yesterday and I wasn't liking the shade on me. I used the color correcter with a lot of doubt it would work because it says only for permanent dyes, but it took every ounce of the color completely out. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 120 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dewgo
Location: South Carolina
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Just What I Needed
Date:September 11, 2010
Pros: easy to use, rids hair of unwanted color, removes color evenly
Cons: smell is not great, hair feels somewhat dry after- need to condition
" This product is WONDERFUL!!!! I usually dont give reviews because of having to create accounts- BUT- I have used this product about 3 times and every time I always get wonderful results. The last time I used it- it got rid of all these unwanted red tones from a bad home dye job. It left me with an even all over beautiful blonde color (the color I had before this bad dye job) I loved the color so much I debated even redying it. It even lightened my roots- that were not dyed blonde previously- I was soo happy with this product- Smell is not great but it is tolerable, cheapest product of this kind in the store, need to conditipon hair after because it is a bit drying but that is expected for a COLOR Remover- However, Once hair dries after washing, it is soft and just like normal- I love it! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>