Product Reviews

Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector

ION CB COLOR CORRECTOR.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (172 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
20
172 Reviews
139 of 17281%of customers who reviewed this product would recommend it to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Review 1 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Los Angeles
Salon Professional: No
Disappointed with product after reading the positive reviews
Date:August 17, 2015
Pros: inexpensive, works on hair dark brown hair and lighter shades
Cons: you need 10v as finish product, smells pretty bad; will linger in hair, drying effect on hair, not suitable for dyed black hair
" My hair color is naturally dark brown black. Unfortunately,I have to do root maintence every 3 weeks, so I dye the top portion of my hair black (box hair dye in natural black). I have been looking into changing my hair color to a dark chocolate, so After reading the many many reviews on this product, I decided to give it a try. (Since most said that they HAD dyed black hair and it worked for them). Here is how my experience went:
-Bought one box and 2oz. 10v hair developer (not listed on the box, learned this from my research). My hair is 2 inches pass my shoulders, so I had to buy another box (after realizing the first try didnt do much for me)
-I left it on for 15 mins. Checked it and left it on for another 5 mins (as directed on the box)
-The box says "Pleasant Fragrance" This product smelled like I was giving myself a home perm by using old fish tank water.
-The first try...It lighten my roots and the back portion of my hair. I followed the instructions and rinsed with the 10v developer. Washed my hair 5 times and conditioned with a hair mask (this is HIGHLY recommended as it left my hair feeling like I spent the entire week at the beach and didnt shower). Applied the product for the second time onto my hair (focusing on the dark portions and not on my roots). I did see some progress, but it did not lighten my dyed black hair by 2 shades. At most, it still looked black.
This product worked on the back portion of my hair, since I rarely dye that section. It had partially grown out, therefore it worked.
It didnt exactly work for me as it did on others. I would suggest saving your money and getting your hair professionally done. (I plan to do this too after learnning my lesson).
My hair was in great shape before this, it left it dry as if I used heat products daily. :( "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Nashville, TN
Salon Professional: No
Do NOT use this on semi-permanent dye.
Date:August 13, 2015
Pros: very gentle, non-damaging, works well, leaves hair soft
Cons: strong smell, horrible smell, doesn't come with 10% developer, need 2 packages if you have longish hair
" I had some of the Argan Oil One n Only semi-permanent, magenta, in my hair. I foolishly bought this thinking that it would strip the magenta out of my hair. What it did was turn my hair a dark purple. Then I tried to lift (bleach) the purple out, but that resulted in permanently bright pink hair. Lol. The pink isn't coming out. This Ion color remover turned the semi-permanent PERMANENT. Don't use this on semi-permanent color!
However, I've used this a bunch of times on permanent dyes and it works great. It does what you need it to do -- strips color out so you can re-color, without all the damage that other hair color strippers/bleaches cause. Get two packages if you have long hair, and don't forget to buy the 10% developer that you need (not included). "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Arkansas
Salon Professional: No
Did not meet expectations
Date:August 4, 2015
Pros: did not damage hair
Cons: did not remove dark brown hair dye
" Purchased to remove very dark brown hair dye. Did not change the color of hair. Doesn't smell as awful as I expected (doesn't smell "good"). Did not damage hair. Just did not remove dye. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Beckley, WV
Salon Professional: No
MAGIC
Date:July 22, 2015
Pros: removes multiple applications of color, works fast, leaves hair feeling healthy and shiny, doesn't smell as bad as the others
" This stuff is amazing. This is by far the best color corrector that I have ever used. Using box dyes was a big mistake, and I wanted to correct my color the right way. This product took of many applications of brown, professional red and even orange. My hair was back to a beautiful, natural dark blonde. It felt silky and healthy after rinsing. I had previously used Color Oops a few years ago and most of my color bled back through after a few hours. It was a waste of time and money and I was afraid that I was going to same experience with this. NOPE! I LOVE IT. I would recommend it to anyone who wants their hair back! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: Fairview, NC
Salon Professional: No
Didn't work.
Date:June 26, 2015
Pros: no damage to hair, made hair soft
Cons: awful smell, didn't work.
" My hair is currently green, but it's an oxidized, not a direct dye, color. I put this on, mixed the contents of both bottles with shampoo as the instructions said, and kept it on for 15 minutes. When I blow dried my hair, it was great! Bright blonde and really soft, but then I rinsed it with the 10 vol. In the span of five minutes it went from blonde to pale green. It had hardly fixed any of the color at all! The color was already extremely faded, all it did was even out the fading. I'm extremely disappointed. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Indiana
Salon Professional: No
I even followed directions to a T...but no luck.
Date:April 10, 2015
Cons: expensive, not much in box
" I had natural/highlighted blonde hair my entire life until a year ago, when an attempt to go brown ended up with me going black. I thought it still looked cool and decided to keep it.
I wanted to go back to blonde, so I was hoping that maybe I would be able to lighten to even a light brown first. I know this is ambitious, but I'm a poor college student and can't afford color services at a salon.
After reading dozens of reviews, I followed the directions exactly. What I was left with prior to the developer was orange roots and auburn ends. After the developer, I had blonde/orange roots and dark brown ends.
My hair is long and required 2 boxes the first go. At $9 a box, I can't afford to keep doing this again to lift more color. I guess I expected it to do more the first time for the price. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Salem OR
Salon Professional: No
Black Hair No-More!
Date:April 9, 2015
Cons: smells horrible
" I wanted my hair to be as light as possible for hot pink hair. I had dyed my hair black and I had failed to see that the box said permanent, oops! I had used this product a handful of times in the past, but never on hair this dark. It lightened my hair to a dark sort of chestnut brown color, which was to be expected. Make sure to follow the directions carefully and you might want to crack open a window, because it smells like rotting apples! Over all, this is a great non-bleaching way to lighten your hair! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Hiram, Ga
Salon Professional: No
Black Hair Removal -mid process-
Date:March 25, 2015
Pros: removed years of black dye, did not damage curls (too badly)
Cons: dried hair out
" First, I want to start by saying simply that the product works.
I had been dying my hair black for more than a year when I decided to stop and let it grow. After about 2 inches of roots, I decided to instead get the black removed. The hairdresser recommended all over highlights every 4-6 weeks until it was all out.
That's how I ended up with tiger stripes.
Much of the black remained, while the highlights faded and got brassy. At the second session, this time with a solid 3 inches of roots, the highlights lifted the roots to bright blonde, while leaving the rest a darker, mismatching shade. And there was still black. So we have this tiger striping, blonde rooted mess to work with. Reverse ombre in the worst way.
This is when I used Ion color corrector. I waited about a week after the fresh highlights (wearing my hair up all week) and then applied. It worked. All of the black that was left lifted to a chocolaty dark brown. Not as light as I would have liked, but I was impressed nonetheless. I followed it the next day with an Ion high lift blonde all over color, and it really evened things out. now it just looks like I have all over highlights in brown hair, and I've even gotten a few complements. I still have work to do, but it is in much better shape now.
A few points of advice:
1. Follow. The. Directions. All of them. Rinse your hair until you are a prune.
2. The developer is the most important step. This ensures that the color you are seeing is the color you are working with. It will not re-oxidize with a new color.
3. It DID NOT damage my highlights. The high lift blond color with a red gold corrector took the brassiness right out.
4. It DID dry my hair out. But its been taking a beating the last few months anyway.
5. Deep condition!!!
6. The smell is not that bad. Turn your bathroom fan on and you will be fine. It did not linger in my hair either.
I hope this helped anyone with a weird situation like mine! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Buffalo, NY
Salon Professional: No
Got the black right out of my hair
Date:January 28, 2015
Pros: everything. this product is great.
Cons: odor is kind of like a burning chemical smell.
" I accidentally dyed my hair black right before Christmas (see also my review of Age Beautiful Darkest Blue). I haven't had black hair since I was a teenager precisely because the dye is so difficult to get out of hair, so i panicked when the blue color faded to black and basically stayed there. I tried to get it to fade for a few weeks and then decided to try this. Within 10 minutes my hair was back to a light brown, ready to dye and nowhere near as damaged as it would have been if I had bleached it like I used to have to with black dye back in the 90s. It smells god-awful, but it totally works!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Date:December 9, 2014
Pros: got rid of all build up with out damaging hair., has the worst smell
" ive had black hair for years now, with so much build up. I was using any box hair dye. I needed something to remove the black out of my hair without damaging. I read reviews on this before I tried it. I was extremely nervous at first. I completely 100% recommend this. my hair is a little above the shoulders with a bob cut. if you have used box hair dye like I have and have a lot of build up, I highly suggest doing the treatment twice. it doesn't look the way you want it at first, but after you re dye it, it looks amazing. you need to follow the directions completely. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Removed gray/purple tones from blonde hair
Date:November 5, 2014
Pros: removes unwanted tones, easy to use, no permanent damage
Cons: lingering odor, drying
" I am a natural blonde (around level 7) who uses high-lift blonde dyes (e.g. L'Oreal MegaBlondes) to lighten my hair. My lengths and ends were near-platinum when I decided to go a bit darker and more beige for the winter.
I had used Wella toner T15 (Pale Beige Blonde) with 10 vol developer, making sure to only let it sit on my lengths for 5 min. Unfortunately a few sections of hair were very porous, and they sucked up all of the cool tones in the toner, leaving me with purple streaks.
I first washed my hair with clarifying shampoo and baking soda, which took out some of the purple, but left behind a purplish gray, and also dried out my hair.
Two days after the toning, I was still unhappy with the dingy grayish sections and decided to try the Ion Color Corrector. I followed the directions for the color correction (color change) and applied the mixture just to the gray pieces. The smell was unpleasant but not unbearable (perhaps because I only applied it to a few sections of hair).
After 20 minutes I washed my hair twice in hot water with a clarifying shampoo and then quickly saturated it with 10 vol developer so the color wouldn't re-oxidize.
After rinsing out the developer I followed up with a reconstructing conditioner (Joico K-Pak) and then a deep conditioner (Redken All Soft Heavy Cream).
The color corrector took out the purplish gray and left a cool beige blonde that matched my unaffected roots well. My ends were a bit frazzled at first (probably due to a combination of the corrector and the previous baking soda treatment), and the odor lingered slightly, but a continued regimen of conditioning treatments fixed everything within a few days.
I still have half of the product left over, so I will be holding onto it in case I have another mishap. Well worth it! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Red/Orange/Yellow, but what I expected to see.
Date:October 8, 2014
Pros: doesn't remove your own natural color., removed a lot of dark brown dye 2 or 3 levels., would likely work better on newer color dye jobs, affordable and better than bleach
Cons: pretty smelly and hair stinks for days, uneven results, doesn't tell you to purchase 10 vol. developer!
" First, I'm not a professional, but I put my daughter through cosmetology school, so I learned a lot. I've also colored my own hair for most of my adult life, and I also am comfortable with understanding the color wheel as I am an artist.
Briefly, this product performed about what I had expected from going from dyed dark brown (level 3N at roots and 4N for the the rest of my long hair) and lifted 2 to 3 levels to basically a dark rust red/orange (with yellow blond streaks on hair underneath) for the top layers of my hair. It didn't affect my silver/white roots at all, which I was glad to see. I used Sally's Ion pre-color treatment (spray bottle) on my hair prior to using this product.
However, in spite of following the color change directions, it was quite uneven, and reminded me of a patchy calico cat in places. I wasn't thrilled, but rinsed with the 10 volume developer to stop the process and to prevent it from further oxidation, as described in the instructions.
I chose this product because I've enjoyed the Ion brand so far, and because it has been much more gentle on my hair than other brands over the years. I left it on for 25 minutes, which is longer than recommended, simply because I was hoping it would lift more color out of my hair. It didn't appear to make much of a difference though. I rinsed 4 times, shampooed with my L'anza Healing Moisture and rinsed again, used L'anza Tamanu Creme Conditioner, and rinsed again.
I dried it without heat, and immediately mixed a new solution and did it again with the remainder of the product still left in the box. One box was enough to do my hair twice. You would need more if your hair is thick, curly, or coarser than mine.
I will add that this product is the smelliest I've ever used since the old perms my mom used to make me get in the 1960's. I used a fan, opened a window, and it was manageable. However, my hair stunk horribly for 5 days. It also dried my hair out , both times that I used it. I should have deep conditioned it, but at the time I didn't own anything like that yet. So I used my regular organic coconut oil for 3 hours under a clear processing cap in an attempt to make it feel less like straw. I got smart eventually, and went back to Sally's store where they showed me a popular product called Macadamia Oil Masque by Hair Chemist, and it is an absolutely awesome product and smells wonderful! I will leave a review for that later.
So, in retrospect, this product wasn't all I needed to get rid of the dark dye from my hair, but it was a start. I let my hair rest for a week, before bleaching it. But that's another review for later. This is the end of the review for this color remover product.
However, if you are attempting to go to a platinum color, especially if you have long hair and are interested in "embracing the gray, please read further...
If you are a woman who has used permanent dye for years and want to go naturally gray or silver/white, keep watching my reviews on here, as I will review every product used (most are from Sally's Beauty) all the way through to success hopefully, or my failure to achieve it. This was the very first step in a month long process of home color removal of Ion Color Brilliance permanent dyes (level 3N and 4N) which I've applied to my roots only for the past few months, but also applied over my entire hair about 3 times a year since I decided to grow my hair long about 3 years ago.
I'd been a level 9 blond for about 10 years before this stage, and it looked great until I stopped tanning (part of my trying to stay healthy plan) and then I looked too washed out. So, I decided it would be easier to just go darker (my own natural hair color had been more of a Level 6, but my roots had started developing a "skunk stripe" of silver gray right down the middle part of the crown. This worked just fine for about 3 years, but gradually, I was having to redo that root area every 9 or 10 days, and it was getting harder to keep the color on it from fading off of the gray silver roots.
I grew my hair out long during this time, and my "silver gray hair" at the roots were now coming in a really pretty silver/white, at the crown only. I was ready to stop with the products and "embrace the gray" movement. However, I don't want to wait another 2 or 3 years for my hair to slowly grow out, and I have really baby fine hair, down to middle of my back, and I didn't want to have so much breakage trying to bleach it quickly. So, I researched this subject for about 2 weeks, and honestly, there really isn't much information for seniors when it comes to going silver. So, I'm experimenting with my own hair on this journey to silver. Sorry about how long this is, but hopefully others will benefit from my experience with this process.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Removed Permanent Black Hair Dye
Date:September 28, 2014
" I had permanent black hair in my medium brown hair. I had about an inch of new growth and wanted to go back to my natural hair color. I have seriously thick hair that almost reaches my shoulders so I bought 2 boxes, but I only ended up using one box. After following the instructions EXACTLY my hair is just a touch darker than my roots, but you can only tell if you are really looking for it. I will absolutely recommend this product, as long as you FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS EXACTLY. It does smell bad, but not as bad as a perm and not as bad as I expected. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Met Expectaitions
Date:August 10, 2014
Pros: doesn't damage hair, easy to use
Cons: the smell
" I had dyed my hair aqua and purple with ion brights and needed to get it out for school. I tried rinsing with vinegar (a home method from the internet), which took the purple out, but not all of the blue. I then attempted to dye my hair brown in order to get the rest out, but it ended up just turning green. This product had the best reviews, and after talking to the lady at the store, she told me that it might not all come out, but it would take a lot of it out. She also recommended doing it a second time. Anyways, I was expecting a bad smell, but not this horrific. I mean, it's okay once you stop gagging, and I've had worse smelling dyes. This completely took the brown out of my hair and took a lot of the green out. There's still a few streaks, but my hair is mostly back to its natural color of blonde. I didn't use the scalp cream you're supposed to rinse your hair with, but I don't think that would've made much of a difference. Overall I would recommend buying this. It did almost exactly what I was expecting, and it's supper cheap, so if you have to do it again, it would cost the same as a normal kit, but doesn't damage your hair. I just hope the smell leaves my hair soon. Also, when washing it out, I would recommend using a shampoo not meant for colored hair. I used my brothers man shampoo and I think that made a difference. I hope this helped, good luck! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: RI
Salon Professional: No
It works on soft black hair!
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: easy to use, saturates well, quick, non damaging
Cons: slight scalp irritation, drying, odor
" I was bleaching my hair to an almost white shade prior to going with a soft black. Why did I do that? Well I have three kids and touching up my roots and bleaching was not easy to keep up with. Most of the time my hair shade was right, but I gave up. Boo me!! Okay. SO I dyed my hair black. YIKES! It was okay to say the least. But some how not all my hair dyed. I have short hair. It was 1-2 inches above my shoulder at that time. I have a bob cut.
I bought this because I figured I would try anything. I bought one box for my thick hair. It is at or below my shoulders by about an inch. (Bob cut, short in the back).
I followed the directions. I left it on my hair for 25 minutes. I washed/rinsed about 5 times. Followed by the Ion 10 creme. My hair was awfully dry and just icky feeling. I deep conditioned twice.
My hair is no longer black. It isn't as light as I had hoped. It is a brown color. Not a bad color. But I will be bleaching it soon. I had too high of expectations of course. It did lighten 3 shades.
The smell was not as bad as everyone complains. It was a little harsh. But dyes are worse. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Florida
Salon Professional: No
THOROUGH REVIEW& TIPS!!!~~
Date:July 6, 2014
" Okay, quick backstory of my situation prior to using this product: I have colored my hair since I was 13, roughly 10 years now. Most recently, as of 4 months (which is about a record for me as far as maintaining a color without the urge to tear it all down and start anew) I have been a redhead. Now, I was born a redhead and since I started my hair dying journey I always had this idea of the 'perfect' red shade but went with browns or blondes, even black several times *sigh*. Since my hair had been blonde prior to going red, I had highlights and lowlights and I knew it wouldn't be totally even but I wanted more of a natural effect anyways. Well, due to my porous ends I had to go Demi and it naturally came out much darker or unnatural looking as Demi shades are scarce at my local Sallys as far as Ion brand goes. I started at 6rc but it just looked pinky. I always long for a 'natural' color so I then started picking other Ion shades and mixed them with 10 vol developer as a way to create my own Demi dyes and ended up with just an unflattering Medium Intense Red that without direct light hitting it looked lik 6rv #Red Burgundy#. Not for me.
I stumbled upon this Ion Corrector with the intention of my hair lightening up enough so I could dye it a strawberry blondish color. Before I go on to my results, I want to list some tips/supplies you will need for this process in case you're unsure.
1. Buy more than one box if you're doubtful, i have shoulder length hair, asymmetrical bob cut but with layers therefore it was enough for me to use one with plenty to saturate. Do not hesitate. You can always return if unused and you'd rather have it there then ratchet looking hair.
2. BUY 10 VOL DEVELOPER, it IS in the instruction packet INSIDE the box but nowhere on the outside so BUY IT.
3. You will need gloves, a non metallic mixing bowl, a deep conditioner and most of all, PATIENCE as you are rinsing your hair 4 + times. Please listen to me: if you DO NOT shampoo your hair at least 4 times, the color WILL reoxidize and you will be angry and worse off than you were to begin with. same goes for rinsing with developer after you shampoo a thousand times. ITS CRUCIAL because it stabilizes the left over molecules letting you know if you need to process again or whatever. TRUST ME, I did Color Oops once, thought I shampooed enough and after TWO DAYS my hair darkened back up in an uneven, hideous way.
4. During application process, I separated sections of my hair with my hand #starting at bottom and going up until I got to my crownular area# and COMB through with plastic comb to ensure even deposit of color.
All said and done, I processed for 20 min as directed, and now have a orangey blonde hair color. Granted it's not what I want and not natural but definitely removed all the color I'd packed on. DEMI COLOR included which the instructions say it won't.
oh& as for the smell that everyone is griping about. Yes, it smells. I coughed a couple times but stay diligent. I mean honestly, when does any product applied to alter hair color ever smell good? I have one word for those of you concerned: Febreeze. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: California
Salon Professional: No
Best color remover
Date:June 21, 2014
Pros: price, works great, met expectation
Cons: smell
" I was skeptical about which type of color remover I should use until I came across this amazing product. When I was 13 I had bleached red hair that I would dye over with black permanent hair dye to get rid of the red. After a year or 2 which I am currently almost 16, of not dying it black anymore, I decided to go burgundy. I had burgundy hair for months until I decided to change my color. I wanted a brown color on my hair and knew that I wasn't able to achieve it because of the many times I've put permnant box dyes on top of the bleached red hair I had before. I knew I had to use something that wasn't bleach to strip out all of the colors I had. When I bought this product, the price was really good. I went home and thought this product wouldn't fit all of my hair but surprisingly it did. I applied it two times but fair warning, it smells pretty bad. I was able to survive the smell and after doing the process application two times, I achieved the color I wanted without having to buy a dye. My hair came out a really nice brown and got many compliments. My expectation of how much hair dye it would take off wasn't as great until I rinsed it off. I also used a 10 volume developer as mentioned in the instructions to make my hair a little lighter I guess but this product really works and I highly recommend it for someone who is need of a color remover for a great price. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Ohio
Salon Professional: No
No Damage, Gentle
Date:May 18, 2014
Pros: easy to use, affordable, gentle on hair, color same day, works effectively
Cons: none
" My natural color was brown/black in my younger years. I have been obsessively coloring my hair 3N/4N since I found my first gray hair in my 20's. However, now in my 50's, my original hair color is just to harsh looking. I wanted to start using a lighter color of brown to make it easier to go full silver/grey when I'm ready. This product did lighten my hair, but I think I didn't leave it on long enough because I was too paranoid of the vibrant pumpkin color (which we all know can be a nightmare to recolor and requires lots of ash to tone down). I like that it is gentle enough to color right away after using it. I recolored 6N with a touch of 6A to calm the orange/red tones. My roots are exactly the color I was looking for but my ends are still about a 5N, hoping it will fade out with just touching up roots over the next several months. But I did accomplish being able to go lighter a little at a time. Smell isn't too bad, but a good exhaust fan or open window is recommended (husband gagged on the smell). This product can also be mixed with Shampoo for gradual lightening over time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: New York
Salon Professional: No
amazing job!
Date:April 13, 2014
Pros: easy to use, great results
" my hair is almost white and past my shoulders. I have been keeping it dark brown , my natural color but could no longer deal with the white roots showing every two weeks so I bought this product. It did as described. It took the color completely out by the roots and gradually more was left near the ends. But it is so gradual it looks great. I've gotten many compliments on my new look. In the sun there are a lot of red tones that make me look strawberry blonde. I may see if I can get rid of that but overall I am amazed since the hair near the ends must have had 20 layers of permanent hair color on it. Very pleased with the results. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Illinois
Salon Professional: Yes
Only Slight Color Change
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: easy to use with bottle or bowl and brush
Cons: only slight color change, need to re-apply for strong color change, if you have to apply it doesnt save time
" I just used this product on roots and mid shafts that were too dark by about 2 levels. ( about a level 5)I used full strength for 10 - 15 minutes with heat. Rinsed well, shampooed 3 times then allpied 10 vol developer. I dried the hair and applied a level 7. it still turned out to be a level 5 so I had to put a few highlites on the top layers with cream bleach and 20 volume. Looked great but I wish it had lifted more so I wouldnt have had to beach. I would suggest using bleach if you need more color change than 1 level. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.