Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector

ION CB COLOR CORRECTOR.
Average Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (167 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
35
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
19
167 Reviews
136 of 16781%of customers who reviewed this product would recommend it to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Review 1 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By: electricfifth
Location: Indiana
Salon Professional: No
I even followed directions to a T...but no luck.
Date:April 10, 2015
Cons: expensive, not much in box
" I had natural/highlighted blonde hair my entire life until a year ago, when an attempt to go brown ended up with me going black. I thought it still looked cool and decided to keep it.
I wanted to go back to blonde, so I was hoping that maybe I would be able to lighten to even a light brown first. I know this is ambitious, but I'm a poor college student and can't afford color services at a salon.
After reading dozens of reviews, I followed the directions exactly. What I was left with prior to the developer was orange roots and auburn ends. After the developer, I had blonde/orange roots and dark brown ends.
My hair is long and required 2 boxes the first go. At $9 a box, I can't afford to keep doing this again to lift more color. I guess I expected it to do more the first time for the price. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: BrightHairLover
Location: Salem OR
Salon Professional: No
Black Hair No-More!
Date:April 9, 2015
Cons: smells horrible
" I wanted my hair to be as light as possible for hot pink hair. I had dyed my hair black and I had failed to see that the box said permanent, oops! I had used this product a handful of times in the past, but never on hair this dark. It lightened my hair to a dark sort of chestnut brown color, which was to be expected. Make sure to follow the directions carefully and you might want to crack open a window, because it smells like rotting apples! Over all, this is a great non-bleaching way to lighten your hair! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: CurlyGirl22
Location: Hiram, Ga
Salon Professional: No
Black Hair Removal -mid process-
Date:March 25, 2015
Pros: removed years of black dye, did not damage curls (too badly)
Cons: dried hair out
" First, I want to start by saying simply that the product works.
I had been dying my hair black for more than a year when I decided to stop and let it grow. After about 2 inches of roots, I decided to instead get the black removed. The hairdresser recommended all over highlights every 4-6 weeks until it was all out.
That's how I ended up with tiger stripes.
Much of the black remained, while the highlights faded and got brassy. At the second session, this time with a solid 3 inches of roots, the highlights lifted the roots to bright blonde, while leaving the rest a darker, mismatching shade. And there was still black. So we have this tiger striping, blonde rooted mess to work with. Reverse ombre in the worst way.
This is when I used Ion color corrector. I waited about a week after the fresh highlights (wearing my hair up all week) and then applied. It worked. All of the black that was left lifted to a chocolaty dark brown. Not as light as I would have liked, but I was impressed nonetheless. I followed it the next day with an Ion high lift blonde all over color, and it really evened things out. now it just looks like I have all over highlights in brown hair, and I've even gotten a few complements. I still have work to do, but it is in much better shape now.
A few points of advice:
1. Follow. The. Directions. All of them. Rinse your hair until you are a prune.
2. The developer is the most important step. This ensures that the color you are seeing is the color you are working with. It will not re-oxidize with a new color.
3. It DID NOT damage my highlights. The high lift blond color with a red gold corrector took the brassiness right out.
4. It DID dry my hair out. But its been taking a beating the last few months anyway.
5. Deep condition!!!
6. The smell is not that bad. Turn your bathroom fan on and you will be fine. It did not linger in my hair either.
I hope this helped anyone with a weird situation like mine! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: KateSpayed
Location: Buffalo, NY
Salon Professional: No
Got the black right out of my hair
Date:January 28, 2015
Pros: everything. this product is great.
Cons: odor is kind of like a burning chemical smell.
" I accidentally dyed my hair black right before Christmas (see also my review of Age Beautiful Darkest Blue). I haven't had black hair since I was a teenager precisely because the dye is so difficult to get out of hair, so i panicked when the blue color faded to black and basically stayed there. I tried to get it to fade for a few weeks and then decided to try this. Within 10 minutes my hair was back to a light brown, ready to dye and nowhere near as damaged as it would have been if I had bleached it like I used to have to with black dye back in the 90s. It smells god-awful, but it totally works!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: savanahw
Salon Professional: No
Date:December 9, 2014
Pros: got rid of all build up with out damaging hair., has the worst smell
" ive had black hair for years now, with so much build up. I was using any box hair dye. I needed something to remove the black out of my hair without damaging. I read reviews on this before I tried it. I was extremely nervous at first. I completely 100% recommend this. my hair is a little above the shoulders with a bob cut. if you have used box hair dye like I have and have a lot of build up, I highly suggest doing the treatment twice. it doesn't look the way you want it at first, but after you re dye it, it looks amazing. you need to follow the directions completely. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: heygraycatbird
Salon Professional: No
Removed gray/purple tones from blonde hair
Date:November 5, 2014
Pros: removes unwanted tones, easy to use, no permanent damage
Cons: lingering odor, drying
" I am a natural blonde (around level 7) who uses high-lift blonde dyes (e.g. L'Oreal MegaBlondes) to lighten my hair. My lengths and ends were near-platinum when I decided to go a bit darker and more beige for the winter.
I had used Wella toner T15 (Pale Beige Blonde) with 10 vol developer, making sure to only let it sit on my lengths for 5 min. Unfortunately a few sections of hair were very porous, and they sucked up all of the cool tones in the toner, leaving me with purple streaks.
I first washed my hair with clarifying shampoo and baking soda, which took out some of the purple, but left behind a purplish gray, and also dried out my hair.
Two days after the toning, I was still unhappy with the dingy grayish sections and decided to try the Ion Color Corrector. I followed the directions for the color correction (color change) and applied the mixture just to the gray pieces. The smell was unpleasant but not unbearable (perhaps because I only applied it to a few sections of hair).
After 20 minutes I washed my hair twice in hot water with a clarifying shampoo and then quickly saturated it with 10 vol developer so the color wouldn't re-oxidize.
After rinsing out the developer I followed up with a reconstructing conditioner (Joico K-Pak) and then a deep conditioner (Redken All Soft Heavy Cream).
The color corrector took out the purplish gray and left a cool beige blonde that matched my unaffected roots well. My ends were a bit frazzled at first (probably due to a combination of the corrector and the previous baking soda treatment), and the odor lingered slightly, but a continued regimen of conditioning treatments fixed everything within a few days.
I still have half of the product left over, so I will be holding onto it in case I have another mishap. Well worth it! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By: GeoGem
Salon Professional: No
Red/Orange/Yellow, but what I expected to see.
Date:October 8, 2014
Pros: doesn't remove your own natural color., removed a lot of dark brown dye 2 or 3 levels., would likely work better on newer color dye jobs, affordable and better than bleach
Cons: pretty smelly and hair stinks for days, uneven results, doesn't tell you to purchase 10 vol. developer!
" First, I'm not a professional, but I put my daughter through cosmetology school, so I learned a lot. I've also colored my own hair for most of my adult life, and I also am comfortable with understanding the color wheel as I am an artist.
Briefly, this product performed about what I had expected from going from dyed dark brown (level 3N at roots and 4N for the the rest of my long hair) and lifted 2 to 3 levels to basically a dark rust red/orange (with yellow blond streaks on hair underneath) for the top layers of my hair. It didn't affect my silver/white roots at all, which I was glad to see. I used Sally's Ion pre-color treatment (spray bottle) on my hair prior to using this product.
However, in spite of following the color change directions, it was quite uneven, and reminded me of a patchy calico cat in places. I wasn't thrilled, but rinsed with the 10 volume developer to stop the process and to prevent it from further oxidation, as described in the instructions.
I chose this product because I've enjoyed the Ion brand so far, and because it has been much more gentle on my hair than other brands over the years. I left it on for 25 minutes, which is longer than recommended, simply because I was hoping it would lift more color out of my hair. It didn't appear to make much of a difference though. I rinsed 4 times, shampooed with my L'anza Healing Moisture and rinsed again, used L'anza Tamanu Creme Conditioner, and rinsed again.
I dried it without heat, and immediately mixed a new solution and did it again with the remainder of the product still left in the box. One box was enough to do my hair twice. You would need more if your hair is thick, curly, or coarser than mine.
I will add that this product is the smelliest I've ever used since the old perms my mom used to make me get in the 1960's. I used a fan, opened a window, and it was manageable. However, my hair stunk horribly for 5 days. It also dried my hair out , both times that I used it. I should have deep conditioned it, but at the time I didn't own anything like that yet. So I used my regular organic coconut oil for 3 hours under a clear processing cap in an attempt to make it feel less like straw. I got smart eventually, and went back to Sally's store where they showed me a popular product called Macadamia Oil Masque by Hair Chemist, and it is an absolutely awesome product and smells wonderful! I will leave a review for that later.
So, in retrospect, this product wasn't all I needed to get rid of the dark dye from my hair, but it was a start. I let my hair rest for a week, before bleaching it. But that's another review for later. This is the end of the review for this color remover product.
However, if you are attempting to go to a platinum color, especially if you have long hair and are interested in "embracing the gray, please read further...
If you are a woman who has used permanent dye for years and want to go naturally gray or silver/white, keep watching my reviews on here, as I will review every product used (most are from Sally's Beauty) all the way through to success hopefully, or my failure to achieve it. This was the very first step in a month long process of home color removal of Ion Color Brilliance permanent dyes (level 3N and 4N) which I've applied to my roots only for the past few months, but also applied over my entire hair about 3 times a year since I decided to grow my hair long about 3 years ago.
I'd been a level 9 blond for about 10 years before this stage, and it looked great until I stopped tanning (part of my trying to stay healthy plan) and then I looked too washed out. So, I decided it would be easier to just go darker (my own natural hair color had been more of a Level 6, but my roots had started developing a "skunk stripe" of silver gray right down the middle part of the crown. This worked just fine for about 3 years, but gradually, I was having to redo that root area every 9 or 10 days, and it was getting harder to keep the color on it from fading off of the gray silver roots.
I grew my hair out long during this time, and my "silver gray hair" at the roots were now coming in a really pretty silver/white, at the crown only. I was ready to stop with the products and "embrace the gray" movement. However, I don't want to wait another 2 or 3 years for my hair to slowly grow out, and I have really baby fine hair, down to middle of my back, and I didn't want to have so much breakage trying to bleach it quickly. So, I researched this subject for about 2 weeks, and honestly, there really isn't much information for seniors when it comes to going silver. So, I'm experimenting with my own hair on this journey to silver. Sorry about how long this is, but hopefully others will benefit from my experience with this process.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Gin1
Salon Professional: No
Removed Permanent Black Hair Dye
Date:September 28, 2014
" I had permanent black hair in my medium brown hair. I had about an inch of new growth and wanted to go back to my natural hair color. I have seriously thick hair that almost reaches my shoulders so I bought 2 boxes, but I only ended up using one box. After following the instructions EXACTLY my hair is just a touch darker than my roots, but you can only tell if you are really looking for it. I will absolutely recommend this product, as long as you FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS EXACTLY. It does smell bad, but not as bad as a perm and not as bad as I expected. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By: Kaitlyn123
Salon Professional: No
Met Expectaitions
Date:August 10, 2014
Pros: doesn't damage hair, easy to use
Cons: the smell
" I had dyed my hair aqua and purple with ion brights and needed to get it out for school. I tried rinsing with vinegar (a home method from the internet), which took the purple out, but not all of the blue. I then attempted to dye my hair brown in order to get the rest out, but it ended up just turning green. This product had the best reviews, and after talking to the lady at the store, she told me that it might not all come out, but it would take a lot of it out. She also recommended doing it a second time. Anyways, I was expecting a bad smell, but not this horrific. I mean, it's okay once you stop gagging, and I've had worse smelling dyes. This completely took the brown out of my hair and took a lot of the green out. There's still a few streaks, but my hair is mostly back to its natural color of blonde. I didn't use the scalp cream you're supposed to rinse your hair with, but I don't think that would've made much of a difference. Overall I would recommend buying this. It did almost exactly what I was expecting, and it's supper cheap, so if you have to do it again, it would cost the same as a normal kit, but doesn't damage your hair. I just hope the smell leaves my hair soon. Also, when washing it out, I would recommend using a shampoo not meant for colored hair. I used my brothers man shampoo and I think that made a difference. I hope this helped, good luck! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: Dessy
Location: RI
Salon Professional: No
It works on soft black hair!
Date:July 30, 2014
Pros: easy to use, saturates well, quick, non damaging
Cons: slight scalp irritation, drying, odor
" I was bleaching my hair to an almost white shade prior to going with a soft black. Why did I do that? Well I have three kids and touching up my roots and bleaching was not easy to keep up with. Most of the time my hair shade was right, but I gave up. Boo me!! Okay. SO I dyed my hair black. YIKES! It was okay to say the least. But some how not all my hair dyed. I have short hair. It was 1-2 inches above my shoulder at that time. I have a bob cut.
I bought this because I figured I would try anything. I bought one box for my thick hair. It is at or below my shoulders by about an inch. (Bob cut, short in the back).
I followed the directions. I left it on my hair for 25 minutes. I washed/rinsed about 5 times. Followed by the Ion 10 creme. My hair was awfully dry and just icky feeling. I deep conditioned twice.
My hair is no longer black. It isn't as light as I had hoped. It is a brown color. Not a bad color. But I will be bleaching it soon. I had too high of expectations of course. It did lighten 3 shades.
The smell was not as bad as everyone complains. It was a little harsh. But dyes are worse. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Kaittalksbeauty
Location: Florida
Salon Professional: No
THOROUGH REVIEW& TIPS!!!~~
Date:July 6, 2014
" Okay, quick backstory of my situation prior to using this product: I have colored my hair since I was 13, roughly 10 years now. Most recently, as of 4 months (which is about a record for me as far as maintaining a color without the urge to tear it all down and start anew) I have been a redhead. Now, I was born a redhead and since I started my hair dying journey I always had this idea of the 'perfect' red shade but went with browns or blondes, even black several times *sigh*. Since my hair had been blonde prior to going red, I had highlights and lowlights and I knew it wouldn't be totally even but I wanted more of a natural effect anyways. Well, due to my porous ends I had to go Demi and it naturally came out much darker or unnatural looking as Demi shades are scarce at my local Sallys as far as Ion brand goes. I started at 6rc but it just looked pinky. I always long for a 'natural' color so I then started picking other Ion shades and mixed them with 10 vol developer as a way to create my own Demi dyes and ended up with just an unflattering Medium Intense Red that without direct light hitting it looked lik 6rv #Red Burgundy#. Not for me.
I stumbled upon this Ion Corrector with the intention of my hair lightening up enough so I could dye it a strawberry blondish color. Before I go on to my results, I want to list some tips/supplies you will need for this process in case you're unsure.
1. Buy more than one box if you're doubtful, i have shoulder length hair, asymmetrical bob cut but with layers therefore it was enough for me to use one with plenty to saturate. Do not hesitate. You can always return if unused and you'd rather have it there then ratchet looking hair.
2. BUY 10 VOL DEVELOPER, it IS in the instruction packet INSIDE the box but nowhere on the outside so BUY IT.
3. You will need gloves, a non metallic mixing bowl, a deep conditioner and most of all, PATIENCE as you are rinsing your hair 4 + times. Please listen to me: if you DO NOT shampoo your hair at least 4 times, the color WILL reoxidize and you will be angry and worse off than you were to begin with. same goes for rinsing with developer after you shampoo a thousand times. ITS CRUCIAL because it stabilizes the left over molecules letting you know if you need to process again or whatever. TRUST ME, I did Color Oops once, thought I shampooed enough and after TWO DAYS my hair darkened back up in an uneven, hideous way.
4. During application process, I separated sections of my hair with my hand #starting at bottom and going up until I got to my crownular area# and COMB through with plastic comb to ensure even deposit of color.
All said and done, I processed for 20 min as directed, and now have a orangey blonde hair color. Granted it's not what I want and not natural but definitely removed all the color I'd packed on. DEMI COLOR included which the instructions say it won't.
oh& as for the smell that everyone is griping about. Yes, it smells. I coughed a couple times but stay diligent. I mean honestly, when does any product applied to alter hair color ever smell good? I have one word for those of you concerned: Febreeze. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: pxrseltxngue
Location: California
Salon Professional: No
Best color remover
Date:June 21, 2014
Pros: price, works great, met expectation
Cons: smell
" I was skeptical about which type of color remover I should use until I came across this amazing product. When I was 13 I had bleached red hair that I would dye over with black permanent hair dye to get rid of the red. After a year or 2 which I am currently almost 16, of not dying it black anymore, I decided to go burgundy. I had burgundy hair for months until I decided to change my color. I wanted a brown color on my hair and knew that I wasn't able to achieve it because of the many times I've put permnant box dyes on top of the bleached red hair I had before. I knew I had to use something that wasn't bleach to strip out all of the colors I had. When I bought this product, the price was really good. I went home and thought this product wouldn't fit all of my hair but surprisingly it did. I applied it two times but fair warning, it smells pretty bad. I was able to survive the smell and after doing the process application two times, I achieved the color I wanted without having to buy a dye. My hair came out a really nice brown and got many compliments. My expectation of how much hair dye it would take off wasn't as great until I rinsed it off. I also used a 10 volume developer as mentioned in the instructions to make my hair a little lighter I guess but this product really works and I highly recommend it for someone who is need of a color remover for a great price. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: OfficeWitch1
Location: Ohio
Salon Professional: No
No Damage, Gentle
Date:May 18, 2014
Pros: easy to use, affordable, gentle on hair, color same day, works effectively
Cons: none
" My natural color was brown/black in my younger years. I have been obsessively coloring my hair 3N/4N since I found my first gray hair in my 20's. However, now in my 50's, my original hair color is just to harsh looking. I wanted to start using a lighter color of brown to make it easier to go full silver/grey when I'm ready. This product did lighten my hair, but I think I didn't leave it on long enough because I was too paranoid of the vibrant pumpkin color (which we all know can be a nightmare to recolor and requires lots of ash to tone down). I like that it is gentle enough to color right away after using it. I recolored 6N with a touch of 6A to calm the orange/red tones. My roots are exactly the color I was looking for but my ends are still about a 5N, hoping it will fade out with just touching up roots over the next several months. But I did accomplish being able to go lighter a little at a time. Smell isn't too bad, but a good exhaust fan or open window is recommended (husband gagged on the smell). This product can also be mixed with Shampoo for gradual lightening over time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: rebeccajs
Location: New York
Salon Professional: No
amazing job!
Date:April 13, 2014
Pros: easy to use, great results
" my hair is almost white and past my shoulders. I have been keeping it dark brown , my natural color but could no longer deal with the white roots showing every two weeks so I bought this product. It did as described. It took the color completely out by the roots and gradually more was left near the ends. But it is so gradual it looks great. I've gotten many compliments on my new look. In the sun there are a lot of red tones that make me look strawberry blonde. I may see if I can get rid of that but overall I am amazed since the hair near the ends must have had 20 layers of permanent hair color on it. Very pleased with the results. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By: BooMcCalmon
Location: Illinois
Salon Professional: Yes
Only Slight Color Change
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: easy to use with bottle or bowl and brush
Cons: only slight color change, need to re-apply for strong color change, if you have to apply it doesnt save time
" I just used this product on roots and mid shafts that were too dark by about 2 levels. ( about a level 5)I used full strength for 10 - 15 minutes with heat. Rinsed well, shampooed 3 times then allpied 10 vol developer. I dried the hair and applied a level 7. it still turned out to be a level 5 so I had to put a few highlites on the top layers with cream bleach and 20 volume. Looked great but I wish it had lifted more so I wouldnt have had to beach. I would suggest using bleach if you need more color change than 1 level. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By: ChristianTheGayGuy
Salon Professional: No
DID NOT WORK AT ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date:April 4, 2014
Cons: does not work!!!!!!!, smells very bad!!!!!!!!
" This product is TERRIBLE!!!!! Did not work on the dyed section of my hair and did not work on my natural black hair. Waste of money and waste of time. Now I have smelly hair. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tragedyfair
washington
Posted April 17, 2014
color corrector doesn't lift natural hair why are you complaining
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 17 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By: AllisonDramaQueen
Location: Chicago
Salon Professional: No
Maybe not for my hair.
Date:December 24, 2013
" So I dyed my hair aqua using a semi permanent dye and a month later dyed it black using a permanent dye. I was hoping it would get rid of the the black so the bleaching process wont be as bad. See i'm trying to go to purple, but it did nothing to my hair and I followed the instructions. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By: eunni
Location: MD
Salon Professional: No
Date:November 5, 2013
Pros: not damaging, smell not offensive
Cons: didn't completely get out dark brown dye
" I dyed my hair from light grey at roots/light wheat-blonde ends. Got sick of the maintenance, tried to dye back my natural color. “Medium brown” my butt, came out dark chocolate color. Think Elizabeth in Bioshock Infinite.
I had no problem getting out of bottle, just a bit of strength and patience. The clear one is the consistency of aloe vera gel. Hair was a little bit dry at the roots, tried to comb through to distribute the moisture more. Texture of the corrector was pretty slimy and easy to distribute. The smell wasn't really offensive, I had the fan on in my room. I just parted hair in 1 inch sections, spreading through the roots with a brush and working in the segment with fingers. I tried to get the back as well as I could. Worked onto ends with fingers. Combed through, added a bit more product, and put on a plastic cap. I still had about a third of the product after using generously in my shoulder length hair. I applied heat for like 2 min then got lazy and left it. Left it in for about 35-40 minutes.
Before washing it was an amber color and brown roots (I dyed over natural roots). Washed 2x times with One'n'only argan oil shampoo, then 1x with vo5 kiwi clarifying shampoo. I then applied 20 volume Ion Sensitive scalp developer generously, worked in and rinsed out. Then used Dove conditioner for damaged hair. Towel-dried and used Neutrogena leave-in conditioner and went to bed. End result, my hair was the same as my sister's, a medium brown toned red. Kind of like a red panda. It wasn't very damaging at all. I will probably use a red corrector and hopefully I can get my light ash brown back and forget about all this nonsense.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: Missionim
Location: Saskatchewan
Salon Professional: Yes
Great product
Date:October 22, 2013
Pros: doesn't smell too much, lightens gradually, easy to use
Cons: one box only does really short hair
" Never used a color remover before and this one worked wonderfully. Didn't completely take all the color out of my hair which made it a great canvas to keep working on instead of it going too light. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ion Color Brilliance Color Corrector
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By: cbayt
Location: Tampa, Fl
Salon Professional: Yes
Exactly What You're Looking For
Date:August 23, 2013
Pros: does not damage the hair
Cons: smell is harsh but not nearly as bad as a stipper
" One box does my thick bobbed hair and you'll need a 10v developer after you wash the product out (not included). It took my hair from a 2A to a 6G. Some reviews have complained about it turning their hair orange; the product is meant to take out all the false pigment and leave your underlying tone which is warm for EVERYONE. Don't be alarmed if your hair comes out coppery, this is completely normal! Simply use an ash based toner after your process (like Wella T18) and you'll be set! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Selfie
NC
Posted March 1, 2014
I used two boxes to get the black out of my hair and it did lighten the black a lot! I was able to dye my hair back to magenta and my hair looks great!
Customer Avatar
Cecii
Posted January 23, 2014
I need help!! I bleach my hair 3 months ago and over processed it. It is like elastic now .. I dyed it a burgundy color with permanent hair dye. I want to get rid of the color but idk if the Ion Color Corrector would be safe for me to use ? I'm not planning on doing anything else to my hair for awhile.
Comments (2)
See Comments (2)