Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub

Ion Color Brilliance Conditioning Powder Lightener is enriched with Gardenia oil and coconut oil for optimum conditioning and moisture retention.
Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
61 of 64(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Review 1 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MayLiz
Location: Orlando, Fl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Learn from someone else's mistakes
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: hair felt smooth after, not very damaging, didn't smell too strong
Cons: mixture dried quickly, mixture clumped up fast
"If you know how to bleach your hair, this lightener probably works fine, but if you are a rookie like me, pay close attention to the time and to the color of your hair, be careful with what developer you use, and you might find it easier to section your hair into four and work one section at a time, wash and analyze the results, especially if you have dyed your hair a dark color, like me. It will work, but do know it might take more than one bleach just to make it to an orange level.
And, for heaven's sake, buy the tub, not a single packet. You might need a lot more than you anticipate! I would use it again, but be very, very careful and know what you are trying to achieve.
The mixture was not very damaging to the hair. I don't have any breakage or split ends, and the hair feels silky and smooth after toning and conditioning."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mandiee
Location: Manahawkin , New Jersey
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Chunky And Dry
Date:October 15, 2013
Cons: very strong smell., product heats up by itself after mixing developer
"I Accidently Left This As A Comment On Someone's Review. (I'm Sorry) .
I Was Recommended To This Product Threw My Sister In Law . I Have Dyed Black Hair (Many Times) But Have Had No Issue Going From Black Right To Light Intense Auburn By Herbal Essence. I Used A 30 Developer With This Product As My Sister In Law Had As Well Recommended. I Mixed The Powder With The Developer, As Doing So It Became Creamy As Supposed To Be, But As Soon As I Was Done Mixing , Then Stared To Apply To My Whole Head Right After, It Became Very Chunky And Dry. It Only Took To A Very Small Portion Of My Roots, And Some Of The Back Of My Head. What Hair It Did Take To DID NOT Turn Yellow. It Turned Very Light Blond/ Golden Brown. I'm Not Sure If I Should Try This Again Or Not.. My Hair Did Not Turn Straw Like , Like Some Reviews Read, Nor Did It Turn Yellow. I Would Recommend This Product To Anyone But Im Kinda Second Thinking That After My Experience. Due To The Fact Of I Now Have Black/ Light Blond Roots/ Golden Brown Hair.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kebstar
Great bleach!!
Date:October 9, 2013
Pros: smells good at first, gentle, works fast, hardly any damage to hair, blue powder, helps tone hair while bleaching
Cons: smells strong
"This bleach definitely gets the job done!! Do not listen to any of the bad reviews, this stuff is great!! Just make sure that you only bleach your hair when it is healthy and can take the beating!! But other than that this bleach definitely met my expectations, and mind you I was a dark brown almost black haired individual before this. I will do one more bleaching to my hair then it will be the perfect light ash blonde I was hoping for once I tone it. :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ElleMichelle
Location: California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
From Black to White; This Gets the Job Done
Date:September 13, 2013
Pros: gentle, works fast, smells good
"The value for the price is, I think, exceptional. I have A LOT of hair - thick hair- and I bleached about half of it TWICE and still have more than enough bleach left to do the rest of my head four+ times. Considering what it would cost you to get the same treatment done at a salon - probably a small fortune (at least, it would seem to a poor college student) - this is a must buy.
It is gentle but really gets the job done! I went from dyed black to pale blonde in two applications with a 30vol developer. (I then used a toner to get my hair snow white, but that's another review!) The powder is blue which supposedly helps tone the hair as it bleaches, but I have never used any other color hair bleach so I can't really compare. Blue and purple hues do help tone hair! Lastly, the smell is definitely better than I expected it to be. No need for a mask!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blondielocs
Location: Brunswick, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great for Beaching your Dreads
Date:August 8, 2013
Pros: cost, smell is not too strong
"So I decided to bleach my 15 year old dreadlocs. I wish I had purchased this product first. It is wonderful. I used it along with a packet of Ardell Red Gold corrector and 40 vol Ion Sensitive Scalp developer. My locs are now a beautiful light honey blond. Prior to using this lightener, I used the Ion No Ammonia with Ion's 30 Vol developer. This worked best for my roots. I decided to step up the developer and go with this lightener to do the actual dreads.
I am not a professional
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aleric
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Really Great Bleach
Date:July 18, 2013
Pros: smells nice, doesn't burn, nice light color acheived
"I have used a couple other brands of bleach and they never got me quite as light as I wanted. My natural hair is dark blond but it's weird and takes a lot to bleach it but it sucks up color super well.
This bleach smells very nice, all the other ones I've used have reeked to high heaven and made me a tiny bit dizzy.
The blue powder is so helpful as I've got some strawberry in my blond and this bleach never turned me orange.
It never burned my scalp or turned my hair to straw at all.
A+ will buy again once mine runs out. that 1lb tub has lasted me, with my fairly short hair, more than a year."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mandiee
Manahawkin , New Jersey
Chunky And Dry!!
Posted October 15, 2013
I Had Bought A Tub Of This About A Few Weeks Ago. My Sister In Law Had Recommended It For Me. I Have Dyed Black Hair. More Then Once. But Have Dyed Red ( Light Intense Auburn -Herbal Essence) Then Have Gone Back To Black.. As I Was Applying This To My Head, It Had Dried Up Fast As Well As Became Chunky. It Took To JUST My Roots, And SOME Of The Back Of My Head. I Found I Had To Use Much More Of 30 Developer Then Was Supposed To. I'm Thinking Of Giving This Another Try But With A 40 Or 50 Developer.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 7 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BlueBerry
never use that it is the worst bleach i ever used
Date:June 19, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: very damaging, burn scalp, strong smell, can't wash out
"my first language is not English so i will probably make some mistake
first I am not new to bleach I've been bleaching my mother's hair for a long time and i used more than one brand of bleach in the past and this one is the worst i ever tried.My mom is a professional hairdresser she have a bleach already that she bought at a shop for hairdresser and salon but i found it too damaging so after reading the review on this bleach that was saying thing like not damaging very soft i thought ''well i should try it'' so i had black hair and they were very healthy and the black had fade a lot so i was ready to bleach, after 40 minute my mom tell me that it is not lifting very well i go wash my hair 5 minute later and i have a mix of red orange white and black hair the black was were she put the bleach first at the top of my hair and a big line on the side but that i could live with that but i start to brush my hair and the hair remained on the comb i lost half of my hair we had to cut it short were we had bleached hair.That never happened to me i never lost my hair like that even when i had bleach my hair twice with the bleach my mom had bought. and it did burn my scalp. i will never use it again
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minty
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
BEST BLEACH. HANDS DOWN.
Date:June 6, 2013
Pros: bleaches hair to white in minutes
Cons: none.
"Bleaches well. Smells alright. Good price. Nuff said."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
neotokyo
Location: Roseville, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Keeps me blonde.
Date:May 20, 2013
Pros: not dusty, doesn't smell horrible
"As a bleach, this product does what it should. I've found that it doesn't smell as foul as other bleaches and it's generally less damaging. It's helpful that it's blue in color as well so your hair doesn't turn bright orange (unless you have very dark hair or bright red dyed hair, possibly).
As for those saying their hair felt fried, try a bleach bath instead of a full-on bleaching. I do this every time and it is MUCH less frying than the straight up method. I mix a 2:1 ratio of a clear (or white) shampoo and bleach (prepared as instructed) and apply it the same as traditional. This method allows you to really rub the mixture into your scalp to ensure evenness without hurting your scalp. Bleach baths are good for a slight lift, are less damaging, offer more even results, and can be done maybe once a week if you're daring. If you do this often, I'd recommend a deep conditioning treatment or babying your hair after every application and trimming every few weeks to keep split ends down."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TransformersGirl
Location: Denver, CO
Great Powder bleach
Date:May 6, 2013
Pros: easy to use, 1:2 mix ratio, nice results
Cons: dry/frizzy hair, uneven results on streaks
"I got the 1oz packet size of this and mixed it with 2oz of level 30% developer also from ION. I mixed this in a bottle because I didn't have a bowl handy and yes it was very thick and hard to come out--but I used my gloves to scoop it out. I did not use this on my scalp or head, only the lower part of my hair to get that Ombre effect all the celebrities are doing. I parted my hair in half and did one half at a time. To make sure it coated evenly I used a plastic comb and combed in the bleach to make sure everything was even. I left this on for the max one hour and then rinsed this out and used ION's Intense Moisture Conditioner which my hair just drank up! Once out of the shower I could tell a difference right away. This made my medium-light ash blonde hair very pale so the Ombre worked! On one side of my head I did have a Titanium streak (from ION Color Brights) so the bleach made that part more of a peach blonde which does stand out a bit from the other blonde. So if you have streaks/highlights the results will be different than the rest of your hair after processing. I'm thinking I might have to do another round of bleach or put that Titanium streak back in since I still have some of that grey on the upper half of my hair so it doesn't really blend in as well as the other side does. Overall this was easy to use, even if it was super thick. I used pretty much the whole thing so if you have long/thick hair you will need more than one packet. The processing was easy and the results came out right away. Only down-side is this did make my hair very dry and kinda frizzy plus with my streaks the results were uneven since one side is peachy and the other is more white looking. Since I did not use this on my roots or new growth I cannot comment on how this bleach works on that. For a first time try with this exact bleach I would say it is worth buying! Next time I need bleach for anything I will go for this first."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KittyJ
Location: Vancouver BC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good Bleach
Date:March 18, 2013
Pros: hair doesnt fry, easy to mix, blue tinted, lasts a while
"Great Bleach powder!
Seems to be the only powder which works on my hair.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melody95
Location: Boston, MA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
best bleach ever
Date:January 14, 2013
Pros: gentle, great color, fast even lift, no harsh smell, good value, fool-proof
"I am amazed by this bleach-seriously. So, here is my story. I play around with hair color a lot and I usually stick with lighter colors, but every once in a while I go a lot darker, and each time I've had to bleach the dye out, my hair came out wrecked, but nothing other than bleach works for me to remove the color. I recently dyed my hair medium brown, and though the color was pretty, it was so not my color, but I was really hesitant about bleaching again. I decided on a shampoo cap (bleach diluted with shampoo, which is gentler and offers less lift, which was fine by me, I would be happy with a light brown for now) but still, bleach is bleach and seeing as my hair was already bleached under the dark hair dye, I was really scared of damaging it. Though my hair can be quite dry, one thing I am happy to say is that it is not damaged and brittle, and I did not want to jeopardize that. Since I was going to color over my hair anyway, I was totally ok with a patchy, day-glo orange outcome, I just wanted something gentle and to lift out the dark brown, and all the reviews for this bleach said it was gentle, so I chose this one. Well I'm floored. Not ONLY is my hair in amazing shape (seriously it seems better than when I used demi color) but the color came out FANTASTIC! Just from a stupid shampoo cap! I don't even have to recolor, and I was fully prepared to recolor tomorrow morning. Now about the condition of my hair, my ends, which had gone through 2 bleach sessions in the past year, are COMPLETELY HEALTHY. Not one split end in sight, which is almost unheard of for bleach. And I didn't use any special treatment or anything, just the conditioner that comes in box-dye kits. My hair is not only not even the slightest bit damaged, but it is not even dry. That's like- what?! In previous experiences bleach has always left my hair gummy, but here it's like- untouched. And the color is exactly like my natural color, dark, very warm/golden but NOT red/orange blonde. I still kind of want to go completely blonde in the future, but right now I'm really digging this color. But when I do, I'll be using this bleach. Also, I have asthma/allergies and the smell of this was not too strong, didn't bother me at all. For reference, I used 20V clairol pure white developer. Oh, and one more thing, it worked in like 10 minutes, it probably would have lifted more if I let it sit longer, but I got all the lift I need in 10 minutes."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miche
Location: Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent bleach powder!
Date:December 23, 2012
Pros: very gentle! no strong smell!!.
"I absolutely love this bleach!!. I bleach my hair alot!! Sometimes i do just a bleach cap, which is shampoo mixed with bleach and conditioner, just to lift out a darker color from my hair a litte, and every single time i have ever used this bleach, it has never,ever damaged my hair!!!. And it does not have a strong smell to it either!!!. Overall a very good bleach, and i always buy it by the 1lb tub. Well worth the price!!!."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Belkys
Location: West Palm beach, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good buy
Date:November 10, 2012
"I went from dark black hair to light blonde hair with this and 30 developer, I really wil like that it come with more powder for the price that we pay for it, but other then that is good and it work and doesn't cause much damage if you used carefully"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rottiegirl36
tn
love it.
Posted April 11, 2013
absolutely love this bleach. I lifted a level 3rb to a nice blonde without damage or brass in 10 minutes with 20 volume. im a cosmetologist as well.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 15 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blondie456
Location: NYC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Terrific lightener!
Date:October 29, 2012
Pros: works fast lifts nicely creamy consistency
Cons: strong smell
"I have been double processing my own hair (with the help of my hubby for the back of my head) for just over 2 months now (3 times total). Before, I had been bringing my own lightener (Salon Care) to the salon and paying the hairstylist to do it for me. When my hubby said he would help me with the back of my head, I decided to save money and we would do it at home instead. This last time, I decided to purchase the Ion Powder Lightener, as I have read some great reviews, and it seemed as though it would not be tough on my scalp. Plus, I have been using the Ion developer for a while and I really love it. So I thought I would give this brand a try for their lightener too, as it was also on sale for the 1-pound tub.
My hair is in excellent condition. I take very good care of it, and most of the time I condition-wash it instead of using shampoo. I also do not wash it every day. In fact, my stylist is always impressed when I go for haircuts, that I do not have any breakage even though I double process my hair at home. That said, I had also been growing out old highlights, and then my previous stylist had done a high lift blonde on me which came out too brassy so I knew I had to pre-lighten and tone. I have natural level 6-7 hair, but it pulls gold when lightened. This Ion lighener lightens my roots (5 weeks worth of regrowth) within 30 minutes to the pale yellow stage necessary for me to tone. In addition, I put some of it (not a fresh batch, but what was leftover in the plastic bowl) onto the ends of my hair that are still slightly brassy from old color and highlighting, during the last 5 minutes of processing.I know, risky, but I did not end up with any damage or breakage from this!
I ended up with pale yellow hair, but very yellow. This always happens, and I tone. I used a permanent haircolor with 10 volume to tone.
The only thing that happened that i didn't expect from this lightener was that it itched while on my scalp. This always used to happen to me when I used single process color, and slightly when I used Salon Care bleach. It was a little more of an itch this time, but nothing earth shattering, and definitely more tha tolerable. I also thought this lightener smelled pretty strong. I didn't expect it to smell as strong as it did. Otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. I will definitely continue to use it, and would recommend it for double process blonding. It just depends on the starting point, how much dryness and damage you have to begin with. Definitely a great product...I mixed it with Ion Sensitive Scalp 20-Volume developer and it worked great!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheriff
Location: WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome Bleach Product!
Date:October 9, 2012
Pros: smells great, not so damaging, cost, fast lift
"Hello my fellow DIY colorist. This bleach is amazing. I made it my task to dye my from the darkest brown(level 2) to an ash blonde. After weeks of research and reading through hundreds of reviews, I found this bleach. Everyone made it seem not to be as scary as all those other bleach's. This one barely damages your hair and does not have an overpowering fragrance to it, it actually smells fruity. It works quite quickly too. I brought my hair up to an orange tint and then used revlon's ash blonde as a toner, since it was a blue base and blue base colours cancel out orange tints. Next time will buy bigger than 1lb!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SallyBeautycustomer
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works great!
Date:October 8, 2012
Pros: gentle
"It's a lot more gentle than most bleach. It lightens my hair quick also. After about 15 minutes, it was already lightened to a very light blond, but it does depend on the color of your hair. It also has a nice smell, and has a light bluish color. I used to buy different brands but I now buy this one only because it works best. It worked exactly how I expected it to work.It's not THAT damaging either."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JAAY
Location: PHX
LOVE
Date:September 2, 2012
Pros: works perfectly, amazingly priced, smells great
"I absolutely love this product. The price is unbeatable, it smells amazing and it bleaches exactly how it should. I love it and will continue to use it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jillaaaye
Date:August 20, 2012
Pros: works fast, did not damage my hair
Cons: smell is very strong
"Product is great! Used it for the first time today and i was amazed on how fast it started lifting my hair color!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ion Color Brilliance Powder Lightener 1 lb. Tub
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Seattle, WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best bleach i have used so far!:)
Date:August 19, 2012
"ive used manic panic flah lightening bleach kit
and that worked pretty decent. i dye my hair crazy colors often so i needed ableach that didnt do very much damage and worked well. this bleach is amazing, it took my hair from red/brown to a very pale orange, im trying to get white so itll probably take me a few times. but this product barely damaged my hair and you get a lot for the price. i mixed with ion 30 vol developer and left it in for about an hour and washed it out with shampoo then used ion repair solutuions to comdition my hair
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>