Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV

Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Liquid Hair Color uses advanced ionic technology utilizes pure ionic micro pigments for deeper, more intense color deposit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.292 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
60 of 72(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Review 41 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tabis
Location: Tennessee
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVE LOVE LOVEEE!
Date:February 18, 2009
Pros: doesn't have strong odor
"Ion Color Brilliance Hair Color is the best Hair color I have ever used. If I don't do my hair myself my Hair Dresser also uses the ION Colors. I just LOVE all the ION hair care products. The color doesn't fade nearly as fast as other coloring products. I usually dye my whole head every other month depending on how fast my hair grows. If you use the rest of the Ion products with the color..the color stays in longer!! will be trying the light burgundy blonde here soon!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
icefairy
Location: virginia beach
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:January 30, 2012
Pros: good over all color, great price
Cons: rinses out quckly
"i have used this over and over again and each time i use it , it washes out like its temporary color but its not. i thought maybe it was because my hair was too dark so i lightened it.... it still washed out. a friend told me to rinse with cold water to try to seal the color but that didnt work. i am now coloring for the 4th or 5th time and i have bought a color sealer and used a lower developer. hopefully this works.... but on the plus side my hair is super bright red like i wanted :)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Seattle
Posted March 27, 2012
Unfortunately, reds will always wash out as if they were temporary due to the pigment. There’s not really a whole lot you can do about it except when washing, wash with colder water and wash it as infrequently as you can. That’s just the way any reds are, especially the deeper the red. This goes for any brand of color.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 43 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenL
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great deal
Date:November 25, 2010
Pros: price
Cons: dullness
"This was first time not buying a kit. I have been coloring my hair at home forever, but have never bought the supplies and mixed it up. I figured I would give this brand a try since it wasn't super pricey - it is a very good price.
I like it alot. It covered well. But the dark brown was almost black (but without the blue). It did not fade, but my hair didn't stay as shiney as it did with other brands.
I love that the bottle has enough for me to use it for 2 colorings (I have thin hair)."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gwennie147
Location: Philadelphia
The Best
Date:August 16, 2008
Pros: perfect in every way
Cons: not available online
"This product is amazing. It is a great value for the money, as I have paid more than ten times as much for professional coloring and nothing ever works as well. I use medium brown 4N, which comes out a little darker than medium, but I also use the 20 volume peroxide for no lift because I don't like red highlights. The color lasts for at least six weeks for me and I have a LOT of grey. I love the creme as well, but it always runs out at the store before I get there. I do wish it was available online."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nana3
very good color
Date:January 21, 2010
"I gave it a 4 star review for expectations because the color of my hair isn't close to the color swatch in the store. Even though it doesn't the color is beautiful, even, beautiful high lights. my hair isn't damaged, dry, frizzy, or brittle after using it.Though I deep conditioned after coloring. Its easy to mix, easy to apply, goof proof. I just wish it would have come out true to swatch cause the swatch was a lighter shade. Still I am very happy to recommend this product to any one that want beautiful color."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nfs84
Location: Washington DC
4IR Medium Intense Red Blonde - worst fading ever.
Date:October 9, 2008
Cons: fast red fade
"I purchased 4IR Medium Intense Red Blonde to color my hair, and the color rinsed out with just one washing. I ended up applying the color a second time the next day, and by the end of the week, the color had washed out again. The color also deposited much lighter than it was supposed to (almost like a crayon red). I would NOT recommend this color in this product line. I've had my hair red several times but this dye was by far the fastest to fade. The color kits that you buy in the drugstore lasted longer than this red."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kbalz
Location: PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Finally a Great Red
Date:October 18, 2008
Pros: intense vibrant red, real value
"I used this in 5IR, Light Intense Red which for whatever reason is not listed here on the website to purchase in liquid, but was available at my local Sally's. I have been trying for months to achieve a vibrant medium red and this product finally did that for me. My hair is vibrant, soft and shiny. There has also been no color loss (I used the Color Brilliance pre & post color treatments which might explain this.) I don't understand how the other reviewer lost the red color so quickly. I will definitely be sticking to this line."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Daffodil
Location: colorado springs
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not too bad BUT...
Date:November 26, 2011
Pros: beautiful color, easy process
Cons: fades
"I love it, it's fast and easy to put in and looks great however within the first week of dyeing my hair it was all washed out and turned this horrible brown color... First I was told that it was because I didn't buy permanent so the next time I went in I made sure to get permanent and it still washed out. After that I was told it was because I am blond and its difficult to get color to stay in blond hair. Now it's been a month since I last dyed my hair, it's faded some but not half as bad as it was before. Overall I'm pretty happy with it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rose22
listen to others reviews!
Date:August 21, 2012
"I should have listened to what most of these reviews said. I love ion products an have used a variety of their hair colors but this one just sucks. I dont know whats wrong with it but the formula must be messed up. The color does not hold well an the end result turned out nothing like the picture. My hair turned into a disaster. Listen to the negative reviews. I thought people were just not keeping it in long enough but that is not the case. Ended up buying another red from ion an the color turned out perfect an looked just like the picture."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bella112085
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent product!!!
Date:June 19, 2011
Pros: great results, awesome price, made hair healthier
Cons: none!
"I have used every single drugstore bought hair color out there. I am always disappointed as the color fades with the first wash. I decided to try ION because my best friend recommended it and I was SO amazed with the results! The color worked almost instantly and it was not messy at all. After washing it a few times, the color looks exactly the same. I also hated that other hair dyes made my hair look and feel very damaged. With ION, my hair felt ten times healthier after using the dye. The price is great, and I will never use another brand again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ProudBrunette
Location: Idaho
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Shine on!
Date:November 19, 2008
"I have been using 4RC (Medium Copper Brown) and used it on a friend. We LOVE the color. If you want a LOT of shine and very pretty brown with red undertones-but not overpowering reds, this is a great color. My hair has red undertones anyway, so I have to be careful how much red I use if I want it to look more brown. I have been using Ion Products for a while now and I won't switch. The colors come out so beautiful. I love the dark and rich colors that Ion makes. Sometimes I mix and match shades and liquid/cremes to make it darker or lighter. Good value too!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beautyfiendjunkie
Location: CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Head turning Red!
Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: awesome color
"I absolutely love this product. Having dyed my hair for the last fifteen years or so an array of colors I've become quite knowledgable on the different hair dyes avaiable. And having dyed my hair red multiple times I could never find one that stood out until now. I use 71R and though it is not so much a natural red, it's incredibly intense and vibrant. It the sun and most lighting it's almost electric and turns many heads and lifts eyebrows. It's great, and with the help of the Ion After Color Sealer it lasts for six weeks or more. I love, love, love this stuff!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harlow
Location: Houston, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent Hair Color
Date:August 21, 2010
"I used 4RC Medium Copper Brown to dye my hair back brown after dying it pretty much platinum blonde. The reds in the dye worked great in balancing out the blonde, there was some fading, but that was to be expected coming from such a drastic color and it was not nearly as much as I thought it would be (it is been about two weeks now). I prefer liquid over creme, but I also used the creme on my friends hair and it worked well too. great product. (works just as well if not better than wella I love wella blonde toners but I dont like the red-brown colors, the red fades almost immediately)."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melonhead
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best price, product and reliability
Date:February 21, 2009
"I had been using L'oreal's hair coloring products for many, many years...and one day the GREAT store manager (I wish I could remember her name)suggested I give the ION brand permanent color a try. Lo and behold, I love the product and shade even more than my old brand, as they (the L'oreal brand) discontinued a couple of the shades I used to use. So, I now am a happy Ion color girl. Word of note, I have recommended several people to the Ion permanent hair color, and it won them over as well!! A great big thank you to the Sally's manager at the Ann Arbor-Saline Rd. gal, here in Ann Arbor, MI!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rainisbeautiful
Location: Wisconsin
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Fantastic color but had many problems with it
Date:December 21, 2012
Pros: was very dark at first, turned to a nice bright color in a few days
Cons: drippy, turned another color in a week, should not be considered a permanent color
"This product was light but gave my hair full color. I did have problems with keeping the color from not always dripping off my head and I mean it really dripped. I had to keep a towel on my head for 45 minutes atleast. The color also turned from a nice burgundy red color to a nasty orange color in about a week and a half. I was impressed with how dark the color was at first though, this was nothing but a quiet color. This color was ultra bright. after a week of it being very dark, Although for this to be considered a permanent color is off I would just consider this a semi or demi permanent color at most."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TwilightPrincess
Location: Athens, Ga
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Perfection
Date:February 8, 2009
Pros: amazing color
"I love this product, I have been coloring my hair deep ruby since I was 12 yrs old. and nothing works like this! I've had my hair done at the salon and hated how quickly my red would fade, two weeks if that! Walked in to sally's one day, still fumming over my faded hair and declared to the two ladies there that I wanted a red hair color that would last!. They directed me to Ion and I've never looked back! I mix my color with the ion devloper level 30 and allow the color to fully soak for 35-40 mins. rinse and then use the Ion kertain builder and my hair is amazing, This coming from a girl who flat irons her hair every day!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anaicca
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
INCREDIBLE REDS
Date:January 26, 2009
Pros: red stays red until next time to re-color roots.
Cons: i can't get it free. lol!
"I have been a redhead for about 5 years now. With my old hair color, after 1-2 weeks the color normally already started to fade. With the Ion Color Brillance, I don't have to touch up with semi-permanent color in between lifting color treatments. I am so impressed with this color and how well it holds to my hair that I will never buy another hair color, even if Sally's quits carrying it and I had to go to the manufacturer to buy it. It is the best permanent color out there for redheads, especially blonds changing to redheads, without the fading and COMPLETE gray coverage! I recommend this product to everyone and their friends!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ShaynaFai1
Provo, Utah
Blonde to Red
Posted March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm going from bleach blonde to this dark red and hoping that it'll go dark and stay dark without fading horribly.
1 question: Should I use 10 or 20 developer? I've been told both.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 58 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GingerW
Location: Lewiston, ID
The Best Ever
Date:October 9, 2008
Pros: leaves hair very soft, color is vibrant, make up just as much as you need
Cons: none
"Getting older is tough! Staying young looking got so much easier when my beautician told me about Ion hair color at Sally's.
She said it's what they use at the salon! Wow did she get a big tip that day! I have very stubborn gray at my temples and any of the over the counter products would last about 2 washings and my halo was back! I tried Ion permanent hair color, and thanks to the great staff at the store helping me with the peroxide, I found the perfect hair color that lasts. I shampoo my hair about 3 times a week, use the Ion hair color shampoo also, and I don't have to touch up more than once a month! 5 Big Giant Stars to this product!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mimi63
Location: Freeland Michigan
Best Hair Color For The Money
Date:October 1, 2008
Pros: great results for the money.
"I used to purchase hair color from the drugstores and retail stores. But I finally took a chance and tried using a professional permanent hair color. I'm glad I did, because it turned out GREAT and covered the the little bit of gray I have very well. It left my hair really soft, silky and shiny afterwords. And had a great smell to it also.
The only thing I will do next time is maybe go a shade lighter. I felt the 7N I used, came out a little darker then I wanted it to be. But after about 10 days, it had lightened enough to where I LOVED the color. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to save money and color thier own hair at home.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Ion Color Brilliance Liquid Hair Color 6RV
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SarahB
Location: Ft Myers, FL
The BEST!
Date:September 17, 2008
"I have been home coloring most of my adult life. I have used all the brands and never had any problems. However, when Ion Haircolor was recommended to me multiple times in multiple situations, I had to find out what the big deal was. I am blown away! Not only was the price more than reasonable, the color is simply beautiful and it lasted 2-3 times longer than any other brand I have ever used before! I have never gotten more compliments on my haircolor and it's shine until I used this product. My hair even feels healthier! I have been recommending Ion Haircolor to everyone I know and will never go back to overpriced, under quality haircolor again!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>