Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown

Ion Color Brilliance Intensive Shine Demi Permanent Creme Hair Color is formulated with botanicals that help maintain a healthy hair structure without ammonia.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Review 1 for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maija
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best for your hair and best value!
Date:June 20, 2013
Pros: exceptional conditioningshinerich even color, smells great no irritation, excellent value
Cons: runs 2 to 3 shades darker
"I have been using several colors to formulate browns and blondes for friends, family and myself using Ion Brilliance Demi Permanent hair color for a year now. The mocha line runs about a shade darker than expected, and the blonde line runs about 2 to 3 shades darker. Just a friendly FYI, before coloring, be sure you understand your hair. Know your hairs condition and existing tones. Choose your colors based on what will work with your existing tones. This line conditions your hair and though it's a Demi, the color and shine lasts and lasts!! I love it and have been saving big bucks doing my hair myself! Thank you Ion!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
onlyme0110
Location: Fresno, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Color comes out darker
Date:May 27, 2013
Pros: doesn't smell bad/strong
Cons: comes out very dark at first
"I have been using this dye/color for 3 years. I stopped using permanent dyes years ago because it was damaging my hair. This dye at first comes out very dark like almost black, but after a few washes it fades out into a pretty medium neutral brown color."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sassy14
Location: Colorado
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love the product, but does come out really dark!
Date:November 14, 2012
Pros: silky hair after, not a lot of damage
Cons: darker color
"I have been buying this product for a few years now, I do like the Ion products. But the demi-permanent colors show up much differently on my hair. This color is more of a dark brown to black on my hair, on my mom's platinum blonde hair it is also a dark brown. Make sure you do a strand test before you do your whole dead. I like the condition of my hair after I use it, it is soft and spells good."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
trouble
Location: kings park, ny
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
great deal!
Date:February 25, 2011
Pros: superior grey coverage
Cons: darker than expected
"I am a slave to grey hair. Every 7 days I was covering them up. Now I finally found a product that will help me age gracefully w/o being worried that my gray will come through in a week. How could I have been so silly! Although I was looking for a lighter result, I will try a lighter shade of dark blonde, so I can stay neutral. Now I'm hooked on this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
aggravated
Color turns out darker
Posted December 4, 2013
I had my hair lightened and toner applied well it faded. So, I decided I would tone it down and darken it up a tad. I was thinking of using a dark or medium blonde but figured it would be super light still so I went with the light natural brown and now it's black. Good thing it will fade.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 5 for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChemGeekMandy
Great for refreshing!
Date:November 17, 2010
"I'm naturally between a level 8 and 9 with ashy undertones. I decided to use the Ion permanent line to go brunette a few months ago. During my last touch up, I decided to go deeper--was using a 1:1 5N:4N Ion permanent. To touch up my roots, I used Ion permanent 4N with 10 vol developer and refreshed/deepened my lengths and ends with the 5N Ion demi-permanent per instructions. Perfect match :)
All I can say is WOW! This does run dark, so my results is a deep brown with subtle cool undertones, but that's what I was looking for. The color really makes my dark blue eyes pop against my light complexion. I used the demi a few days before touching up my roots and the color deposited on the blond, but I still wanted to take care of the roots so they would blend with the rest of my color. Nobody noticed when I did my roots but they sure noticed when I deepened my hair.
I am so impressed with the Ion products. I always treat my hair with a neutral protein filler and Ion's pre-color treatment prior to coloring.
As of now, I am planning to maintain my color with the demi as long as I can. The results are amazing! My hair looks and feels so healthy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kath
Location: michigan
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
pretty good
Date:July 19, 2010
Cons: runs dark
"-- No irritation, no damage, no unpleasant odor, but runs dark, so I recommend at least two shades lighter than your desired results --
Having read a bunch of reviews of the demi-permanent ion color brilliance hair color, I knew that it tended to run dark and bought two shades lighter (5.0) than I wanted (3.0). i followed the directions pretty closely -- 2:1 mixture with 10 volume developer for 20 minutes. Wow, my hair was dark! After a week of shampooing with extremely clarifying shampoo, the color has mellowed out into the shade I was aiming for, but next time I think I'll try half level 6.0 and half level 5.0 and see if I can avoid the clarifying shampoo, so that the color lasts for longer. Anyway, I definitely like the product enough to buy it again (and again -- until I figure out how to make it work best for me). It's a good value, and i don't have to mail order it if I don't want to -- I can't say that about the stuff I was using previously."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sammy68
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Hair Color
Date:March 30, 2010
Pros: economical, covers gray well, shiny hair
"I have been using the Ion Color Brilliance Demi-Permanent color for approx. 6 mos. and I love the results. My natural hair color is a level 5.5 -ashy brown. I mix the 6G & 5N w/ level 10 developer (half and half) and the color I end up with is a rich medium brown with natural looking gold hi-lites. My hair is approx. 15-20% gray and this haircolor covers the gray well - my gray hair actually looks like hi-lites. I also use a little packet of 'Gray Away' mixed in with the color, as well as Argan oil (1/4 t.), to help with moisturizing. I use a sulfate-free shampoo and the demi-color lasts on me for quite some time. Usually around 7 weeks I will need to touch-up the color, mainly due to my roots peeking through. The color is really shiny too. Brilliant in the sun-light. My hair never feels dry or looks like straw anymore. In the past I have had a lot of trouble finding satisfaction with any kind of hair color, as my hair will turn brassy very easily, whether the color is done at home or in a salon. The color I have achieved with the Ion Demi-Permanent looks like it was professionally created. I receive compliments all the time. I would highly recommend this color to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ion Demi 5N Light Natural Brown
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12345678
Location: California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love the Ion Demis
Date:December 5, 2009
Pros: super shiny hair and excellent grey coverage.
Cons: need to expand the color selection.
"This is the first demi that I've ever used that completely covers the greys/whites that I have (approx. 20%). My hair is a med/dk. brown and luckily I was able to view the color swatches in person. You, most definitely, want to go 1-2 shades lighter than what you think you'll need. I use the Light Natural Brown and mix in a small amount of the Dark Natural Blonde. The result is a med/dk brown. Had I chosen a Medium Brown, I'm quite certain my hair would've been more on the dark brown/black side. I mix the color in a 1:1 ratio for the roots.
I recently did my own highlights and used the Medium Copper Brown diluted with clear to tone with.
I love how shiny my hair looks after coloring with this and actually I find the color wears as well as a permanent...I only have to do root touchups. When I need to do my length, I'm going to use the Dark Natural Blonde as longer hair is porous and tends to grab color faster. I'll mix the color is a 1:2 ratio of color to developer.
I hope Ion expands their color selection and they really need to promote this color line. It's fantastic! I like it much better than Shades EQ since it does completely cover greys."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.