Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A

Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color utilizes pure ionic micro pigments for deeper, more intense color.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
8
79 of 91(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Review 1 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mainecyn
Location: Wyoming
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
3rd Times a Charm
Date:October 26, 2013
Pros: price, measuring, hair conditioning
"I first tried the ion color earlier this month. I have tried for years to cover up orange toned hair, naturally a auburny gold hair color that has darkened to a almost brown over the years. However, it always has an orange tone to it that "glows", no amount of hair coloring over the years covers it.
I have spent hundreds of dollars on hair color at the salon only to have it "washout" and my original color bleed thru a week or so later. I have had my hair colored the drabbest of drab, darkest of ashy colors, double ash. Nothing works.
I went into Sally's and told the sales lady just what the colorist always told me over the past two years, "you pull orange and nothing can be done about that, you may just be one of those people that can't color their hair."
I was sent home with a combo of ion medium brown, and ash brown, and a packet of RedOut. I went home thinking I had found the holy grail. I followed the instructions and was excited to see the results.
Unfor. the results were not great. Yes it covered the lower half of my hair excellently with just a slight orange cast, the upper area, the crown, was less than half the shade of the bottom. The bottom also turned out extremely dark compared to the sample. I was devastated.
I went back to Sally's. I had to sales people tell me the reason my color did this was I hadn't removed the old color. I bought a color remover, and a different color (double Ash Wella), along with Red/Gold Out. I went home and began the process.
After the color remover my hair was back to blazing orange, I thought what did I do to myself? I then recolored my hair with the new color I was given, adding the recommended amount of Red Gold out. I have to say I wasn't overall pleased with the results, but the color was more even, and blended nicely, yet I still had an orange halo on the crown of my head. I was left with an overall lighter hair color all over my head, yet still very orange.
I decided today to give the hair color one more chance. I used the Medium Ash (Ion) and this time added almost triple (sorry to say) the amount of the red/gold remover..mixed it up and then applied to the crown of my head only-the parts that looked very orange in the light, along with the roots.
I left the dye on the crown, roots, and temple area, for 25 mins. These are the areas where my natural orange hair is tougher to color. After 25 mins. I combed the color thru the rest of my hair and let it sit for five mins. I then added a clarifying shampoo (redken) while in the shower, lathered up and let it sit a min. and rinsed. Then applied the color seal conditioner I purchased at Sally's.
When I got out of the shower and dried my hair I noticed the orange color is almost totally gone, my hair color closely matches the box, not to dark, and yet with all my "warmth" I have very noticeable auburn highlights in the light instead of the drab color alot of people might get using an ash color. It came out better than I ever could have hoped.
I hope I have the same results from now own. It took a lot of steps (and products) to get there, but I finally got the results I was after using this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GraceCox
Blondes: Yes. Reds: No
Date:October 2, 2013
Pros: beautiful blonde, even color
Cons: red fades, 4ir comes out bright not dark, red fades unevenly
"I've had two extremely different experiences with this product. One thing overall: I have short hair. a little longer and shaggier than a pixie cut, and beside my basic bangs, everything is no longer than two inches. One tube is more than enough for my whole head, and I had more leftover after doing doubles of saturating my hair. I did an 8G, Light Golden Blonde. That was beautiful! It lasted and stayed even throughout the time I had it. Then I decided to go for the 4IR, Medium Intense Red. Let me tell you, what you see in the picture is not at all what you get. I feel as though I wasted a whole bunch of money on extensions after buying them blonde to dye this color, because both my extensions and my hair came out a bright red. Not darker, like how it is in the picture. I absolutely hated it, and was afraid to go out in public because of how bright it was. Permanent? It also fades with every single wash. I've had this color for about a month and it had faded to a very dull, very faded red. Almost like a darkish pink. And when I had first dyed it, it was even all over. It faded very unevenly, and now there are a zillion shades of dull red/dull pink in my hair. I want to try a brown, but I'm scared of doing anything dark after this experience with the red."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fillerusse
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Back to natural
Date:September 30, 2013
"I am a natural medium/dark ash blonde (for better reference google Natalia Vodyanova to have better idea of what my natural hair looks like) but I've been coloring my hair light beige blonde colour for the past ten years (I used L'Oreal Extreme Blondes B2) Recently I have decided to go back to my natural color so I bought this product in 8N because I didn't want my hair to either become too yellow or too ashy. I was very happy with the final result - now the bleached part of my hair looks exactly like my natural colour. It does have a bit of a reddish hue if you look up close at my roots (that haven't been bleached) but it's barely noticeable. And it did even out after a few washes - unfortunately bleached hair does not hold colour as well so I know it will fade faster than usual. Otherwise I am very happy with the result. At first it looked really dark (especially after being blonde for such a long time) but my husband told me that he probably wouldn't even notice the difference so it can't be that drastic. The product has a very nice smell, it doesn't sting, doesn't run - I would definitely recommend it to a friend."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovinglife86
Did not work for me
Date:August 6, 2013
Cons: washes out, does not take
"I have been dying my hair black for years (natural color dark brown) and have recently let it start to grow out. I wanted to go black again and used two bottles of this ion color jet black and did not like it one bit. While applying it to my hair it was very clumpy an after letting it sit on my hair for a good while the color never stayed in my hair. The next few washes I did after that the dye would wash out in the shower. After the first wash my hair was not even black. Parts were blackish and other parts where it did not take well still were brown. Wont use this again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
best hair color!
Date:May 17, 2013
"this review is on the brunette color spectrum. this is the best hair color i have ever used, it's my holy grail! i've tried tons and this makes my hair shiny and silky. no damage to my hair like other brands! i have long, fine hair and it works wonders on me!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peluquero
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Good Color
Date:May 8, 2013
"I have been using this color for a while, i bought it cause is cheap but honestly works great. The only thing i found is that is a bit lighter than the well known professional salon lines, meaning if you want a level 5N on your client hair, use a 4N cause the 5N will look like a 6N. Otherwise, the color looks great, stays long and ads lots of shine to the hair"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JacquiLovesBeautySupplies
Location: Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I love this product
Date:March 21, 2013
Pros: great first impression of ion, ion was on sale, outstanding result
"I was no longer happy using the Clairol permanent hair color since they changed the line to Soy in the name, regular use was consistently disappointing. I'm someone who doesn't change products unless I'm almost forced to and I decided to try Ion. I love this product so much better than Clairol. I used 4 N Medium Brown, (the tube) with cream developer in a squeeze bottle and the application was very rich and coverage was wonderful, with a nice scent. I have long thick hair so I used two 2.05 oz tubes, with a 20 developer as usual. I was thrilled with the results of my dark brown hair color. My hair tends to have red highlights if the color is too light and that is not a problem with this Ion color that also covers gray roots exceptionally well. I will always use this product and I wish I would have changed to it sooner. I highly recommend changing to Ion if you're not happy with what you're using and the results you're getting because it's time to love your hair again and the better product makes all the difference."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twinmomma
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Nice Color
Date:January 25, 2013
"A couple of months ago I had my hair dyed a dark brown at a salon. Within about 2 weeks, the color had faded to a very brassy medium reddish brown. I let the color fade out to a light reddish brown and then decided to try the ion color after reading several reviews. I wanted a rich brown without too many red tones. After reading that the Ion colors run dark, I mixed 1/4 6A (dark ash blonde) and 3/4 4N (medium brown) with 15 volume developer and applied directly over the ion pre color treatment. It came out exactly as I expected, a medium-dark brown. I did notice that my ends were slightly damaged after coloring but far less than with store boxed dyes. It has been about 5 days now and the color has faded slightly to a gorgeous chocolatey brown. There are a few golden tones in it but not brassy orange like I had before. I can't wait to use this color again!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rainisbeautiful
Location: Wisconsin
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Nice Rich color that add's some texture
Date:December 21, 2012
Pros: nice rich full color, had a very nice smell, nice smell
Cons: did not last quite 6 weeks only about 4., seemed kind of messy, dripped a lot
"This was not the color I used exactly I used a red and a brown, and a black and had great results from all three of them. The color always came out rich and actually added some texture to my hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MissChanel23
Location: Iowa
love this color!
Date:September 27, 2012
Pros: nice color
"Its a nice blonde color.But it can damange the hair if u dyed it too much.I pefer the tube better then liquid.Less smelly."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GLSP
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
ok haircolor
Date:July 2, 2012
Pros: price
Cons: could come out too dark
"I think you have to use the much stronger developer in order to get the lighter color you want. I have dark hair with highlights from a salon. I got the dark blonde ion color and used it with a 40 developer on my roots and part of my blonde highlights. It is ok it came out more of a dark golden color instead of more ash. I left it on for about 45 minutes. Ask the Sally salesperson and they will tell you what to do if you are not a pro."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alexandraxo
Location: Johnson City, TN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Yes!
Date:June 24, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: none
"Recently, I went to Sally's because my hair is so hard to color, that I have to go to the Salon, or it will turn a totally different color. So, I wanted to try one at Sally's. I picked this one, and was so glad I did. I had previously bleached my hair to get blonde, but ended up dying it a red. I got 30vol and a dark red. It ended up as a bright red, because of the 30vol, but it was so gorgeous. I used it to dye my hair brown, and it was so true to color. I am bleaching my hair now, and then dying it with a blonde from this brand. I even used it to color my mom's hair, and it covered her grays so well! I suggest using the Ion developer, especially for sensitive scalp. It makes the dye have a smell you can actually handle, unlike some dyes."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nailaddict33
Location: FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Color did not show up
Date:March 7, 2012
Pros: smells ok
Cons: color did not show up
"I used this for a botched bleach job and I really did not see much of difference afterwards. So unfortunate,"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharyn
Location: New Hampshire
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
quality product
Date:March 5, 2012
Pros: color true to charts and expectations
Cons: one tiny area of brown turns golden -
"Very pleased with results - evens out gray with the natural near white hair. Have had many positive comments...."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Skylar
Location: Kettlersville, Oh
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Darker than the box shows
Date:February 21, 2012
Pros: didnt dry out my hair
Cons: darker than expected
"Before using this I had a very light-medium blonde hair color with just a hint of brass to it. I wanted to go a tad lighter, so I bought this color. I've slowly been working my way up to a pale blonde color, and this product took me 2 steps back. It turned out a light brown brassy color that is just awful. It is a lot darker than the box showed."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
shelcolour
Cleveland
Posted May 8, 2012
What volume of developer did you use?
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 16 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
candace123
Location: Kentucky
love, love, love!
Date:January 18, 2012
Pros: softer hair, super shine
"The color came out awesome. It also made my hair really soft and shine. I usually use box hair dye but not anymore. Ion products are the best"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kellysmom
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Gorgeous shade of red
Date:December 31, 2011
"Years ago I colored my hair at home using Wella Color Charm. Then I started going to a salon until it cost me $75.00 for a hair color once a month. I decided to try my hand at doing my own coloring at home. With some help from a Sally's associate, I picked the Brilliance 5R. I mixed the color and developer and put it on my hair and it immediately turned violet! I was about ready to rinse the color out of my hair but then the color turned brownish red, just as it is described on the box. I left it in 45 minutes because I have some very resistant grays.
I rinsed and conditioned, then stepped out of the shower and looked in the mirror. My hair looked great! It looked exactly like it did when my stylist colored it. My hair is coarse, but the color did not dry it out at all. I am already receiving compliments on it. I'm so happy I took the plunge back into the world of home hair color. Thanks to Sally's for the Ion colors."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LysLys
Location: New Orleans, LA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it!
Date:December 15, 2011
Pros: easy to use, smooth texture, light scent, great color selection, easy to mix with developer
"I purchased this to dye my hair via mixing my own color for the 1st time. I purchased the dark brown shade (2 tubes because I have long, thick hair) and the Salon Care Volume 10 developer. They mixed BEAUTIFULLY together! The consistency was very velvety and smooth. The color was easy to distribute through my hair and did not burn my scalp at all. There was a slight smell, but it was not bad at all. I actually liked the smell. The color came out very vibrant and even! I am so happy with this hair color! Also, it didn't leave my hair crunchy or stiff. I used Hair One for Color-treated hair to wash my hair after rinsing the color out and it made my hair even more soft. I highly recommend this hair color over any drugstore color."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Roxy073087
Location: Long island, ny
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Not great for grey
Date:November 18, 2011
Pros: shine, not very strong scent
Cons: bad grey coverage, very thick
"Good for younger people, terrible grey coverage, if looking to cover grey, must buy grey magic. Nice shine, dries out hair, use good conditioner, and leavin spray afterwards to keep hair texture natural."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HairGirl26
SSM, ON
Posted January 7, 2012
It is great on grey coverage. I use it on my clients all the time. I use a 1:1 with 20vol and it works amazing. Also a 10A on grey hair does not work very well, try a 10N or 10G
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 20 for Ion Color Brilliance Permanent Creme Hair Color 10A
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HawaiiGirl22
Location: Hawaii
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Absolutely amazing!!!!
Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: long lasting, vibrant, easy to use
Cons: none!
"I purchased Ion Color Brilliance in "Medium Intense Red" a couple months ago and there aren't enough words to explain how much I love it! This is actually the first review that I've written about anything, so I don't really know what I'm doing... lol! But here goes nothing - I have had my hair every color under the sun. Literally. Blue, pink, orange, green, black, blonde, brown... everything! And this is by far the best haircolor that I have ever used. I've had many different shades of red, and since I live in Hawaii I'm at the beach a lot, and the previous red colors that I used to use would bleed into the water and fade SUPER fast, but not this color! It's still very vibrant and beautiful, even after a couple weeks and I still gets TONS of compliments! Before I decided to use this color my hair was a medium brown color... and it still turned out very bright, so I would be careful if you're hair is a light color... maybe go for something darker unless you want your hair to be firetruck red! The picture for "Medium Intense Red" is a lot darker that it turns out to be :) I'm not sure if it's the same for all of the Ion Color Brilliance shades though, but beware! ALOHA!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>