Product Reviews

Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple

Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color are hi-fashion hair colors designed to give vivid, boldly intense results.
Average Customer Rating:
2.75 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
14
14 of 32(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Review 1 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SilverLady
Location: Elgin, SC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Easiest Hair Color Product I've Ever Used
Date:November 23, 2013
Pros: wonderful, easy, pure deep pigmented color
Cons: none!
"I wanted to write review about Lavender but the ratings section did not come up.
I bought Lavender, Purple and Titanium. To apply to sections of hair I put the dye on a fine tooth comb and pulled it through. I leave it on all night wearing a plastic cap, of course, then rinse in the morning. I've never had such an easy product to apply and got alot of compliments.
Wish I had discovered this before I started bleaching my hair last winter."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ElaCali
Location: minnesota
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Perfect Purple
Date:January 30, 2013
Pros: sweet color purple, excellent price, did not stain sinks/tub, bled less than other, matches hockey team color purple
Cons: it is thick
"I was a lil nervous shopping for a purple for my daughter. Especially after she had it professionally bleached tips and a purple semi of another brand...which was ok, but not the purple we were looking for...to match her hockey team color purple. Anyway found this and extremely impressed and have had many compliments. It is perfect!
For Tips: Being Prepared for anything is Key!
*Bleached first.
*Wash out bleach (NO Conditioner)
*Blow dry hair
*Apply with color brush and rub in with gloved fingers & Let color sit for 50 minutes minimum....
*It is vital that you add heat, it was as simple as using my blow dryer.
*Use a good color protective shampoo & conditioner.
*found it to bleed less color than the other (it does bleed, just a lot less).
*found that it was simple to clean up, no mess really, just a quick wash down the sink/tub and there was no staining what so ever (Not like the other, that one stained and was messy). Then again this is just for my daughters tips and even still she washes her hair away from her body and face to be safe. Also uses dark colored towels, just in case.
*found using gloves to apply and then when washing off immediately after setting was only necessary. No use of gloves for after care shampooing & conditioning.
*Not sure if this helps but we added heat by blow drying with hot heat and using a flat iron on tips immediately after first wash out and as well the first couple of days/times.
*found using baby powder on scalp in between washes helps keep hair clean and less washes means keeping color longer. Plus we at times bag her tips with a glove and elastic hair ties (3x) to ensure they do not get wet when she needs to wash her hair simultaneously.
*found a great waterproof shower cap works for the days she is not washing her hair, to keep it dry.
Price is excellent!
Down fall it is thick, but I managed well. I knew ahead of time, so I was prepared for a battle. I will try adding conditioner to it this next touch up. Either way I am definitely buying this ION Purple again and several more for teammates.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strawberry88
Best Semi Ever
Date:January 5, 2013
"The purple is great, but i have heard some complaints about the color not sticking. If you read the instructions it clearly states that if you want intense results USE HEAT. Also it is a bit thick but can easily be thinned with conditioner which makes it that much more cost effective."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anon
Location: NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Purple Power! <3
Date:October 9, 2012
Pros: multi-dimensional color, better than mp, inexpensive, great smell, makes your hair soft;non damaging
Cons: none
"(Don't have license yet so that why did not put "pro") Here's my Review:I love this shade, probably my fave! I had lifted my wavy 4 level hair to a 7 but was very unsure if it would take, porosity in mind. But it did and I get a lot of complements.My hair is a pretty , med multifaceted purple. Tips: You need to be a 7,8 or even 9 for this to work and use the pre-treatment & after color sealer (also by ION). No developer! Use COLD water!! And : Use a shower cap while it processes;after it's dry, run a leave-in color safe oil through (not a lot !) for really shiny hair:) Happy Coloring!:D"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WickedJinx
Location: CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works for me..
Date:September 30, 2012
Pros: smells nice
Cons: thick
"I felt that I had to write a review since some people here have bad experiences with this color. I didn't find many of those negative reviews to be helpful. All they said was how bad it was; so why did it not work?
Anyways, I guess I'm the lucky one or I did something right 'cause mine worked so well. I went to a salon originally to get bleached and had purple added but I needed cheaper means to maintain the color.
I was worried that this formula was too thick to use as many have stated so I bought Beyond The Zone Color Jamz in Purple Passion. This is almost the same exact color but in a more smoother liquid texture. I only used very little to mix with the ION, my current style is Ombre, only half the bottom of my hair/layers is purple. ION is awesome because it doesn't drip and it dries enough on the hair that it doesn't smudge on me (my hair is down to my waist). For the ombre style, one tube of this is good enough.
I think this product will work fine as long as you have bleached hair and you apply this when your hair is dry (not towel dried). My hair is jet black, so black people ask if it's colored. I just wanted a something subtle that will blend with my black hair in darker light but stand out in the sun and this is the perfect plum I have found."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aWitchyWolfe
Location: Colorado
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I thought it was awesome.
Date:August 7, 2012
Pros: staying power, price
Cons: extremely thick
"I tried the red one when I was dying it red. I didn't like how thick it was and how hard it was to apply, but it did stick a lot better than Manic Panic Vampire Red. You still end up with a red tub when you are done, but I didn't have to constantly wash my hair with cold water to keep the color in my hair (I would wash it every 3 days).
I wanted to try purple. I wanted to try this again, but I didn't like how thick it was and wanted to see if anyone was doing something different. I read places where they were diluting it with white conditioner. (3 ounces to 1 tube of color). I didn't want to dilute it, just wanted to thin it out some. My sister-in-law had left over Ultra Violet from Manic Panic. I used about an ounce of that to 1 tube of purple Ion Brights and it blended perfectly. Put it in, left it on for 2 hours and loved it. It is a dark color at first. Reminded me of a plum black color I used to do. But after every shampoo, it got lighter gradually and not fast. Plus it didn't stain as the red did.
Overall, it lasted just over a month with washing it with warm water. I do love this line. It lasts with my hair longer than Manic Panic ever did. I have fine shoulder length hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mzhollywood
Location: illinois
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
worked great!
Date:June 10, 2012
Pros: lasts a long time, no bad smell, doesnt stain skin washes off easily
Cons: too thick, kind of hard to apply
"this product is AWESOME!!!! i had manic panics purple haze in and it faded within like the first 2 weeks which hasnt happened before with any of the other colors ive used from that brand. so i decided to try this purple color to see if it worked better because the saleys lady was like these work better... im like ok! i got 2 because my hair is past my shoulders and i wasnt thinking id need the second just because the manic panic covers well with just one jar. well i ended up needing 2 and i got kinda scared thinking THAT wouldnt be enough. the stuff is really thick and it doesnt slide easily, i was litterally painting it on my hair. thats about the only thing i didnt like about it. so i applied which took a little longer than im used to and i left it in over night just as i do with M.P. when i washed in the morning, my hair was soooo dark. its already lightend and had the faded M.P. on it so i wasnt expecting it to look almost black. in the sun it looked awesome though and i got alot of compliments that day. as the washes have gone on, it does wash out and did lighten up but i expect and want it to, ive had it in since the day before memorial day, and it still in there pretty good. some spots have turned bluish but its still really purple. i cant decide if ill use it again just because the color lasts for so long. i kind of am torn between this and M.P. only because the manic panic washes out a little sooner and it makes the next application and color if i choose a different one easier to apply. i feel like with this one i might have to end up getting a special color removal before i can redye if i dont want purple again. overall im satisfied though, i do want to try the other colors first and decide from there if i would keep using this or go back to trusty old M.P."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dollvanoel
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Far Exceeded Expectations!
Date:June 7, 2012
Pros: consistency, color stays, vibrant color, easy application
Cons: tube packaging
"I'm a usual user of Manic Panic's Purple Haze but quite honestly, I was tired of the color rinsing off after 2-3 washes, leaving me with a blotchy head of pink and bleached blonde hair and I would hardcore apply the color in ways to allow it to stick longer ( let the color sit for 12 hours with a shower cap and pre-bleached each time to open up the hair cuticles). So I was relieved when ion came out with a line of more affordable funky colors but still a little reluctant since during the time I purchased the purple, swatches weren't available. This time I decided not to pre-bleach since the manic panic purple haze washed out so much that my pre-lightened hair reappeared. I'd first like to mention that I love how the consistency wasn't watery, it enabled me to apply the color in a non messy manner and really grabbed onto every strand. I left the color on for about 3 hours with a shower cap and decided to skip out on the final step ( Ion Color treatment ) since I wasn't sure if i'd like the color well enough to want to extend its stay onto my locks. The color suited me much more better than MP's purple haze and was just as vibrant. 2 washes later my hair is as vibrant as when I first applied the color and sticks ALOT better than Manic Panic ever did which is a shame since this time I didn't burst open my hair cuticles w/ a pre-bleaching. Oh and btw I returned to Sallys to pick up a second box due to their $2 off deal and they finally had the swatches. The color is true to the swatch."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Airr
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love this!
Date:August 5, 2013
Pros: good price, great color, no terrible smell
Cons: thick but manageable if mixed
"This is definitely one of my favorite dyes. I used it for the first time over a month ago and the color is still in my hair. Just the roots have started to fade to a lighter purple/pink color. I also mixed this color with N' Rage Purple Plum demi dye because I was afraid I was not going to have enough of the Ion Color. I didn't want a more blue based purple and these colors together came out perfect!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RedSoxtober
Secondary Violet
Date:March 26, 2013
Pros: thick creme formula, blends well with other shades
Cons: difficult to squeeze out of tube, dried out consistancy
"This is a secondary shade of violet which is why people experience grey/silver/white hair with the fading. I purchased this along with Sky Blue for mixing in order to make a nice Navy Blue. The color was difficult to squeeze out of the tube and the texture was on the pasty side. It took a bit of elbow grease to get the colors mixed but a few drops of warm water helped a lot. I applied to dry hair that was pre-lightened to a level 7 neutral blonde and allowed to sit under a plastic cap for about 3 hours, then rinsed with cool water and condtioner. Wound up with a perfect Navy Blue (an exact match for Clairol Torrids Ravenous Blue 880B). My ends were a level 5 auburn and those came out various shades of teal, violet, and very dark greenish black...almost like peacock plumage. I can't to see what colors my hair will fade out to."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RedSoxtober
UPDATE
Posted April 4, 2013
The Purple washed out after the first or second shampoo for me as well. Darn it.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 11 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
crookshanks
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
It was okay.
Date:October 15, 2012
Pros: cheap, alright color
Cons: too thick, turned out more grey than purple
"Overall, this product wasn't all too bad. It came with less dye than what I expected from just looking at the box, but since the dye is cheap, that's not something I would call a 'con'. There was enough to cover exactly everything that I wanted dyed. People have been complaining about it not sticking, which wasn't a problem for me, but I did leave it on longer than most people did on here, and I already had it previously dyed a faded purple from using Manic Panic's purple haze. The only problem there was is that it was too dark and a tad bit grey in some areas. It was also too thick, but like it's been said before, that problem is easily solved by diluting it with a bit of white conditioner, doesn't matter what the brand is as long as it's white. A good buy, but I'll probably stick to manic panic, at least for purple. I'll probably try the blue in this line eventually."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SamanthaP
Location: Chicago
Does its job
Date:September 30, 2012
Pros: color stays in when used properly, nice color, affordable, not messy
"Most of the reviews are lacking specifics on how the person used the dye.
- I started with previously dyed Light Copper Red/Orange hair in between a level 6 and level 7.
- The product was then applied to dry hair straight from the tube without any developer.
- After coating the hair till it is thoroughly coated through-out, I put a bit of conditioner over it to soften the consistency of the dye which seems like a paste after you have coated your hair.
- After applying a bit of the conditioner I put more color from the tube over the hair.
- Then, I waited for about 25 minutes and capped my head with a processing cap and took a hairdryer set to high temp at a low speed setting and heated up the hair in the processing cap for about 5 minutes. I took 5 minutes to cool off and repeated the process 4 more times, and then rinsed the hair.
- Do not use shampoo, only conditioner after rinsing out the color.
The color result was a dark brown plum. I did the color as peek a boo low lights in the Light Copper Red/Orange, and it looks amazing! It isn't as purple as I had wanted it to be, but i think it would have been more purple on a blonde (or bleached hair)."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kymmiec
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:July 2, 2012
Pros: accurate color
Cons: very thick
"At first i was a little worried my hair was going to end up looking like Barney or something, but i left it on for about an hour and got a beautiful dark purple. The color fades a little quickly but the color is still bright! It is definitely the best purple hair dye ive used so far"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nikolation
Location: Salem, OR
Surprisingly impressed
Date:May 28, 2012
Pros: no staining of skin, no bathroom stains, no rub off
Cons: small tubes, not so pleasant smell
"With my hair lightened immediately before coloring to a brassy orange (another story), this covered well. There is still a bit of a coppery shimmer shining through, but overall it ended up a very deep violet.
In the sun it is clearly purple but under incandescent light it does look darker, nearly black.
The part I'm most impressed with is the ability to wash it off my skin and the bathroom. No tub stains, no stained hands, no stained ears, my scalp even looks stain free, and yet no rub off from my hair.
It left my hair shiny and soft, very soft. All that is left is to find out how long it lasts.
Do make sure you get enough though, the 2 oz tubes don't go very far. For shoulder length caucasian hair I needed three tubes (did two purple one fuschia).
I'll review again with how it fades later."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
grabthesunshine
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Like the line - hated the shade
Date:February 11, 2013
Cons: doesn't last long
"The low price of this product was what caught my eye and I decided that for $4 or $5, it was worth a shot.
I have tried a few shades of this line and like the other. The purple, I hate to say, is the worst. It is a very, very dark and pigmented color that is a true purple. I had bleached my bangs and some other sections and put the purple over it for a few hours. After rinsing, the purple was actually close to my natural color: A dark brown. After a week of washing, it actually turned the lighter parts of my hair silver. (which I didn't mind - I quite liked it) I found mixing it with a pinker manic panic shade the result was more satisfactory and what I was looking for.
If you are looking for a true, violet based purple, then this is perfect. But beware as it is dark and I found the staying power wasn't very long."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LadybugSam
Posted October 31, 2013
If you ever decide to try this product again I highly recommend to teal and aqua shades! They stay a reeeeeeeeally long time! In fact I dyed black over some teal, later stripped the black with color remover and the teal was still there, barely dulled! I've even bleached parts and they lighten to almost pastel!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 16 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
leshii
At least it dyes
Date:July 10, 2012
Pros: dyes hair
Cons: not bright
"Review for shade: Purple. First off the reason it is cheaper is because it contains less product than the other fellow "funky" dyes sold at Sally's. I mixed this with a conditioner and it fixed the application flaw of being too thick to work with. This color itself isn't really "bright". For example I wanted a result of pastel purple hair, so I used it on a light blonde hair color base and added the conditioner/dye mix for about 10 minutes for a light wash of purple. The color came out a shade of silver. To get it purple, I would need to leave it in longer. The result of that is a medium purple, even on a light blonde base."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shellyy
Location: UT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not super awesome
Date:November 18, 2013
Pros: smells good
Cons: thick, doesnt last, not really true to color
"This stuff doesn't last long. I washed my hair 3 times and it was pretty much out. And in some spots of my hair the color just looked like a light brown, not purple at all. Just overall disappointed."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
whokilledmaxine
Location: Rutland, VT
Bummer
Date:July 4, 2012
Pros: not too messy
Cons: doesn't..really..work
"This was my last try at a purple hue to my hair. I usually dye my hair strict black, but wanted to play with it. I have some pieces bleached and some natural.
Ultimately I didn't want a BRIGHT or intense purple, just a dark color that looked purple without putting my hair through bleaching--it just can't do it!
I have tried at least 10 different dyes. Different methods. The stuff that lasted wasn't quite the right shade, or it only lasted on the prelightened parts of my hair, or it was insanely messy.
This was the one product I really hoped could do it for me.
But no.
The consistency is thick and makes you wonder if you have enough: you probably do.
I left it on for 40 minutes.
It washed off my skin easily. Unfortunately that made me suspicious. Sure enough, it hadn't even touched my natural hair (which is fairly light, I have to say), and as for the rest? Well that's prelightened hair which has been dyed other pink/magenta/purple hues...
This is a pretty dark purple so I thought it would go dark.
All it did was tone up the fading colors, which I suppose is helpful but it's not what was supposed to happen!
Sad!
I suppose it may work for some on freshly bleached hair. Maybe it's worth leaving in for several hours.
I know I'm not bothering with any of this again until I feel like destroying my hair with bleach."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Faule
Location: Calgary, AB
Does Not Dye Hair / No Colour
Date:November 1, 2013
Cons: does not dye hair
"No matter how long I left it on, or if it was applied with or without conditioner, I could not get any colour out of this. It just sligfhtly darkened my hair (bleached almost white blonde before) and there was no purple tint to it.
I purchased it along with Teal and Pink. Both of those brought out rich colours after as little as 30 minutes on. I tried 3 separate times with the purple, leaving it on for 1 hr up to 5 hours and it just didn't do anything. Really disappointed!!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ion Color Brilliance Brights Semi-Permanent Hair Color Purple
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mortysia
Location: Michigan
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
So disappointing.
Date:April 28, 2013
Pros: doesn't bleed
Cons: color doesn't stick, hard to get out of tube, not enough dye to cover anything
"I planned on using this just for my bleached bangs, then I decided what the heck so I used it all over. It stuck to my bleached bangs for like an hour and the whole rest of the head that was unbleached? Even after sitting there for an hour and then rinsing it, nothing stuck. I was looking forward to an awesome purple that didn't bleed like all of the manic panics and I was let down."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>