Product Reviews

Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit

The Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment helps to smooth and soften any hair type into one with luxurious texture and intense shine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.277 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
25
59 of 94(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Review 41 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
INDIGO
Location: HOUSTON, TEXAS
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
DOES NOT COMPARE TO PROFESSIONAL TREATMENT
Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: smell is very tolerable, easy to find at most retailers, easy to apply
Cons: price = results., can't tell when product has cured (i'm blind?)
"You get what you pay for.
I live in the humidity capital of the US: Houston, Texas. I am Black AND use a relaxer on my hair every other month. For 2 years I have used the 3month Coppella Formaldehyde Keratin Treatment with a relaxer. I have been VERY successful in growing my short hair to a length almost to my elbows.
I purchased the ION Keratin treatment on impulse (not wanting to pay my hair dresser $200, nor pay $150 for 4oz of REAL Keratin).
ION Keratin Treatment DOES NOT compare to the 3 month formaldehyde treatment. I just applied the product today so the jury is still out on how long the product will last in my hair."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caitlinnn
Location: NJ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
a good turn out
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: shiny soft hair
"im kind of surprised at the negative reviews on this product. I actually had a great turn out... I am caucasian and my hair is crazy kinky/ curly... after the 72 hours, I washed it out and straightened it; i noticed a great improvement in the condition of my hair. not only was it soft, it was also very shiny and looks a lot healthier. Also, my hair can stand the humidity much better than before this treatment. I followed the instructions on the box, except i left the treatment on for 45 minutes instead of 20... im not sure if that helped or not.. My only disliking is that it only lasts for 6-8 weeks. But for only $26, you cant go wrong."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colette
South Bend, IN
Thumbs Down
Posted August 14, 2011
I am considering returning this today. Initially I did not see a noticeable change in the frizz. After washing it, the frizz is worse. I have breakage at the roots and it looks like my ends were never cut (they were cut a day before I treated my hair). I cannot afford to waste $30. I think I will find something with sodium chloride or some product that will strip it. I have not been able to do anything with my hair this week. It looks unusually unhealthy!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 43 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
iAmTam
Hmmm
Date:June 18, 2011
Pros: great smell, do-it-yourself
Cons: takes forever, needs time and correct temp to bond to hair
"I have thick, curly AA hair. My hair straightens really nicely. However, I have spent time after time straightening my hair only to have it blow up like Hiroshima if caught in the rain, taking too long in the shower, working up a sweat at a night club or exercising. So, I bought this product hoping it would be the end of my hair frustrations. So skipping to the actual application of the treatment: I found it easier to use my fingers (with gloves on) to smooth the product through my hair. It was taking way to long to do it the other way. The product did initially make my hair feel sticky. I did notice that my hair was not as frazzled after my blow dry though. After the first section was straightened, my hair was no longer sticky. However, the box said there should be a "glassy" look to your hair after sufficiently being cured to the hair. Not so. I don't know if that was related to my flat iron. I have a ceramic that only reaches 410. Apparently, that wasn't hot enough because my hair tried to blow up in the rain today. So, I went out and bought the ion keratin smoothing iron. I went back over my frazzled hair a few times. Although my hair still looked a little dull, it was still very straight and soft. Careful though, that iron will scorch your ends. I used a bit of oil sheen to bumper that. The ion iron gives great flips that my ceramic can only do under normal conditions. I am crossing my fingers tonight. I'm going out in humid weather to a night club, two of many enemies. I'll see what happens...will follow-up on that"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KarensKlutter
Location: Northern California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Curl Enhancer?
Date:December 8, 2012
Pros: smells great!, adds shine
Cons: made my hair curlier than before, time-consuming
"I knew going in this product was not going to be as effective as some of the others on the shelf. It was affordable and relatively easy to apply since my neighbor is a hair dresser ;). It smelled great, but after patiently waiting 3 days to wash my hair, I SWEAR my hair is CURLIER than before the treatment! I have naturally stick-straight hair with an 8-month old perm and I wanted to reduce the curl and frizz. My hair is shiny, and much thicker and because it's now thicker, it's also frizzier. The remaining product is going back tot he store. Spend the extra money, get a name-brand keratin treatment!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
33momma
Location: Tulsa, OK
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Yaaay
Date:November 21, 2012
Pros: smells fine, easy to apply
Cons: could my hair be too straight????
"I bought this product because my stylist recommended a keratin treatment for my very fine, curly hair. I've tried them before, but they burned my color treated hair. My daughter helped me apply this, and we were very careful not to apply too much - my hair just felt barely damp with the product. We kept the iron just under 450 because I have some old bleached ends.
My hair is soft, silky, straight and conditioned! I haven't shampooed yet, and I don't expect it to stay this straight, but I'm very pleased!!!! No damage at all.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fromal
Location: Alabama
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Ion Smooth Solutions
Date:July 23, 2012
"Had this done at a salon a couple of weeks ago...love it! Hair is so much more managable, smooth and shiny. Saves so much time..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mel75
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
A Question, not a review.
Date:February 28, 2012
"I am really interested in trying this product, but am nervous based on the reviews. It seems like people with really curly/coarse hair are having problems with damage. I have caucasian hair and am just wondering if people across the board are having problems."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Niko
Chicago
salon process
Posted March 30, 2012
To me I will say that if done correctly the results are just the same as a marcia texteria or a coppola. You just have to know your hair limits. Those who have had frazzled ends probably burned them with the flat iron. Test your hair and heat setting first before putting the flat iron on the hair. You have caucasian hair so the heat setting could probably be a 420 for you. Im not sure what the density of your hair is but I would not go to 450. Heat that high when using it yourself will burn your hair and you will get those results that others are getting with damage hair .. because its actually burned hair.
Hth!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 48 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
apeace87
Location: Augusta, Ga
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not A Fan
Date:January 28, 2012
Pros: my hair is straight., the product smells pleasant.
Cons: have to use extreme heat, hair is hard to manage during process, my hair looks heavy and greasy not shiny., i have a lot of split ends bc of this product
"I am still in the 72 hour waiting period, so I do realize this review comes a bit too early, but so far I have not liked this product or the results I have achieved from it. (I will revise this if by chance I am pleasantly surprised with the results)
The condition of my hair pretreatment is a long, semi-thick, cross between frizzy/straight/wavy which responds very negatively to humidity. My hair is unruly so I cannot wear it down unless I take the time to style it, and I cannot wear it down on days where it is raining or really moist outside, so I am a prime candidate for keratin treatments.
The shampoo that I had to use at the beginning made my hair feel awful, like pine straw. It was a nightmare to brush and blow dry afterwards because my hair is so long. I tried to be as gentle as possible, but I had so many tangles, that it caused my hair to break off while brushing which was stressful and disheartening.
The second part of the application process made my hair feel as if I had a dense residual scum on the outer layer of my hair follicle. My hair is not lustrous and shiny as promised. The keratin weighed it down and made it look flat, greasy and lifeless. I think this product would be better suited for individuals with ethnic hair, it's much too heavy for mine. The intense heat from the flat iron also put added stress upon my hair causing me to have lots of split ends even though I just got my hair trimmed three weeks ago.
Overall, my hair is straight, but it feels disgusting, and I cannot wait to shampoo it. I might try another treatment in the future, but I definitely won't use this particular one a second time."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Katz12
Location: Massachusetts
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Very poor compared to other
Date:August 29, 2011
Pros: formaldahyde free
Cons: not as good as the coppola keratin treatment, doesn't last very long, was a waste of time and money
"I had great expectations that this product would be close to the Coppola straightening treatment I had done on my hair previously. I purchased not only the ION Keratin kit but the ION flat iron as well. This treatment can not compare to the results I experienced with the Coppola Keratin product. I even had my hair stylist do the treatment so a hair expert was applying the product and flat ironing it. That way there could be no mistake that it was the person applying the treatment to my hair that made the product inferior. It was clearly the product that wasn't up to advertisement. I would not waste my time or money doing this again with the ION Keratin. I would spend the money and order the Coppola keratin solution and have my stylist apply that product instead to save costs. Going cheaper in this case was not a good thing."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Monkeybusiness
Horrible!!
Date:August 10, 2011
Pros: nothing
Cons: fried my hair
"I was so excited to buy this and try it out. I did everything it told me to do and even had someone helping me. It completely fried my hair! I had to cut off 3 inches because it caused so many split ends and my hair is still breaking off. I would never recommend this product to anyone. I even bought the shampoo and conditioner to see if that would help and I ended up taking them back. I was very disappointed. I don't usually write reviews but this product made me so mad!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blackhawk
Location: Oregon
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Soft, shiney, smooth
Date:June 21, 2011
Pros: smells nice, good value, it works
Cons: have to wait 72 hours after to get hair wet
"I was surprised to see so many negative reviews about this product. I thought it was going to be way more a process than it was but it actually wasn't bad at all.
The shampoo kind of smells gross, but the actual smoothing treatment smells very good.
If you follow the directions this should be a great product. My hair feels stronger, it's shiney, soft, and nearly no frizz.
Definiately will use this again!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Save your time and money
Date:June 7, 2011
Pros: smells great no fumes.
Cons: applying the product by yourself is time consuming, breakout from product, did not even come close to reducing frizz 90-100%
"20 minutes under a dryer with a deep conditioning masque gives me the same results.
My hair is extremely thick and prone to frizz and waves. The length is 2 inches below shoulder length.
While the product smells nice it doesn't deliver on its promises of 90-100% frizz reduction.
The worst part was leaving the product in my hair for 72 hrs and not being able to pull it back left a rash on my back where the product rested during that time.
I used the recommended Ion shampoo and conditioner but that doesn't seem necessary so long as the shampoo doesn't contain sulfates (and most color shampoos can deliver in this area).
For the time spent and quality of results, I won't be doing this treatment again. See pros and cons for details."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
chloenikki4
Location: AZ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love the smell, thats about it.
Date:June 3, 2011
Pros: smells great
Cons: doesn't really work
"So, I've have fine barely wavy hair that is just past my shoulders and dark brown. I saw this treatment and thought it would be fun to try. It doesn't really work. I followed it exactly and that was a couple months ago. Tried it again after the 2 months had passed and still nothing. No change in my hair...it's still dry, lifeless, damaged : / The only thing I liked about this was the smell which is amazing, but overall..I probably wouldn't recommend it as I didn't see enough change to justify the cost."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Josie
Location: Ma
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Nothing change
Date:May 29, 2011
"My hair is frizz and have some curls, I bought that because dont have formaldehyde,I just what less frizz, but after I washed. after 4 days,my hair look the same..... look more brilliancy............."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChanelD
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Damaged Hair
Date:October 19, 2013
Cons: unexpected results, extreme hair breakage for 4a/b hair
"I have been using keratin treatments since 2009 and always had great results. After using this only once my hair is breaking badly down to the roots. I have shoulder length hair. Because of experience I never use a very hot flat iron. I normally use keratin treatments to help stretch time between relaxers. With this last treatment even the new growth is breaking. I wish I could say it was something else but I've never seen my new growth affected so badly. I will have to cut off all my hair and start over."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happyperson
Location: Rochester, New York
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Best thing ever
Date:September 2, 2013
"I bought this for my friends daughter and we loved it.... She has very thick and kinky hair and now it so light and flowy..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brookiebeth
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing!
Date:August 8, 2013
Pros: smells great easy to use great results
Cons: time consuming
"I am caucasian and have naturally very curly hair, like spiral curly curls. I straighten it every day and it takes forever. I've had treatments done at the salon but they never last even close to as long as they're supposed to so I got tired of paying all of that money. I decided to try it myself and I couldn't be happier! This product is great! My hair is so smooth, so straight. I couldn't be any happier :)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fortuneandflame
Location: Canada
Not for blondes.
Date:November 4, 2012
"I bought this hoping it would smooth out my terribly damaged blonde hair. Boy, what a poor idea. Though I had recently dyed my hair to a dark ash blonde, every single little highlight that was medium blonde or lighter in my hair turned yellow, like Pickachu neon yellow. I ended up with the ends of my hair looking like a highlighter. I washed it out after about an hour after deciding I should just try and undo it. Most of the yellow washed out, but I won't be trying the other application unless I have dyed my hair even darker."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Catie
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Disappointing!
Date:September 25, 2012
Cons: doesn't work
"Had absolutely no effect on my healthy caucasian curly hair that normally takes 30-40 minutes to blow dry and iron. Shampoo and Conditioner are great but the treatment was a waste. I honestly dont know how anyone could give this product a good review. Harsh but true."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Butterkreamkat
Location: Saint Louis
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Doesn't Work
Date:July 1, 2012
Pros: smells good
Cons: doesn't work for kinky hair
"I'm African American and transitioning from relaxers (6 mos now). I wanted to try something that would make my 4b/4c hair more manageable. I wasn't expecting "relaxer" results, but this did nothing for my hair at all. It was somewhat softer, but when I woke up the next day, it felt a little crunchy.
The shampoo smelled good and was moisturizing. The treatment did smell like vanilla...good enough to eat. I noticed that my fingernails felt different and softer (I didn't use the gloves that are included.)
In the end, it was a waste of time."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>