Product Reviews

Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit

The Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment helps to smooth and soften any hair type into one with luxurious texture and intense shine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.277 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
25
59 of 94(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Review 1 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChanelD
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Damaged Hair
Date:October 19, 2013
Cons: unexpected results, extreme hair breakage for 4a/b hair
"I have been using keratin treatments since 2009 and always had great results. After using this only once my hair is breaking badly down to the roots. I have shoulder length hair. Because of experience I never use a very hot flat iron. I normally use keratin treatments to help stretch time between relaxers. With this last treatment even the new growth is breaking. I wish I could say it was something else but I've never seen my new growth affected so badly. I will have to cut off all my hair and start over."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VeryUnhappy
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
WARNING!
Date:September 29, 2013
"Do not use this product if your hair is blonde. We carefully followed the directions for highlighted hair and now a part of my daughter's beautiful waist length blonde hair is mustard colored. Even after washing her hair 4 times the section we completed is mustard colored. I could not be more unhappy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happyperson
Location: Rochester, New York
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Best thing ever
Date:September 2, 2013
"I bought this for my friends daughter and we loved it.... She has very thick and kinky hair and now it so light and flowy..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4ABnatural
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:August 17, 2013
Pros: straightens very kinky hair
Cons: natural hair texture does not revert back, wet hair has horrible smell
"I purchased this product to do a length check on my natural, 4a/b hair. I wanted to wear it straight for a few weeks. The product straightened my hair; however, it began to frizz up after a week. I followed the directions as written for washing and styling; however, the product never washed out my hair, and I had to cut off the keratin treated hair. I was not amused."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ivette
help asap
Posted November 6, 2013
when it says wash 5 times what does that mean?
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 5 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brookiebeth
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing!
Date:August 8, 2013
Pros: smells great easy to use great results
Cons: time consuming
"I am caucasian and have naturally very curly hair, like spiral curly curls. I straighten it every day and it takes forever. I've had treatments done at the salon but they never last even close to as long as they're supposed to so I got tired of paying all of that money. I decided to try it myself and I couldn't be happier! This product is great! My hair is so smooth, so straight. I couldn't be any happier :)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kimkim1980
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I love this product!!!!
Date:April 8, 2013
"I am an african american female who went natural 15 months ago. I did not cut out all the perm until 04/05 when i purchased the Ion system and by there i was 97% natural. After 15 months of braids and sew-ins, i knew it was time for my hair to rest.
This product is excellent for me. I am a hair wrapper and don't have the patience for styling natural hair, so this product worked for me. The total time was 4 hours which included the time to wash my hair and color it, and to wait the 15-25 minutes for the smoothing to take place. Once done and pictures were posted, my closest friends thought i relaxed my hair and it did not. It feels amazing and this option is cheaper, 10x cheaper than going to a salon who is really charging for time.
I do recommend that you make sure you have someone to put the product in because the back is no joke,
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clevelandbrowns
excellent
Date:February 27, 2013
Pros: none
"3 years after my big chop and going natural, and buying everything under the sun to try and curl my hair, including gels and activators, I finally decided to go back to heat. I should have done this a long time ago. This stuff is awesome. I followed the instructions to a tee. The only thing is my hair is extremely thick and course (4CC). I ended up using the whole bottle and still needed more..But it turned out really good..I will keep using this..My hair is very moist"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lustylocks
Alberta, Canada
Confused
Posted April 1, 2013
I have purchased the Ion Keratin product but haven't tried it out yet. I'm in the transition process from relaxers to natural and was wanting something to make my hair more manageable. I had a question though..... After applying the keratin treatment and waiting the 15-20 min, do you leave the tretment in and just blow dry and flat iron or do you rinse the treatment out first? Please help, wanting to try it soon. Thank You
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 8 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KarensKlutter
Location: Northern California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Curl Enhancer?
Date:December 8, 2012
Pros: smells great!, adds shine
Cons: made my hair curlier than before, time-consuming
"I knew going in this product was not going to be as effective as some of the others on the shelf. It was affordable and relatively easy to apply since my neighbor is a hair dresser ;). It smelled great, but after patiently waiting 3 days to wash my hair, I SWEAR my hair is CURLIER than before the treatment! I have naturally stick-straight hair with an 8-month old perm and I wanted to reduce the curl and frizz. My hair is shiny, and much thicker and because it's now thicker, it's also frizzier. The remaining product is going back tot he store. Spend the extra money, get a name-brand keratin treatment!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
33momma
Location: Tulsa, OK
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Yaaay
Date:November 21, 2012
Pros: smells fine, easy to apply
Cons: could my hair be too straight????
"I bought this product because my stylist recommended a keratin treatment for my very fine, curly hair. I've tried them before, but they burned my color treated hair. My daughter helped me apply this, and we were very careful not to apply too much - my hair just felt barely damp with the product. We kept the iron just under 450 because I have some old bleached ends.
My hair is soft, silky, straight and conditioned! I haven't shampooed yet, and I don't expect it to stay this straight, but I'm very pleased!!!! No damage at all.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fortuneandflame
Location: Canada
Not for blondes.
Date:November 4, 2012
"I bought this hoping it would smooth out my terribly damaged blonde hair. Boy, what a poor idea. Though I had recently dyed my hair to a dark ash blonde, every single little highlight that was medium blonde or lighter in my hair turned yellow, like Pickachu neon yellow. I ended up with the ends of my hair looking like a highlighter. I washed it out after about an hour after deciding I should just try and undo it. Most of the yellow washed out, but I won't be trying the other application unless I have dyed my hair even darker."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Catie
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Disappointing!
Date:September 25, 2012
Cons: doesn't work
"Had absolutely no effect on my healthy caucasian curly hair that normally takes 30-40 minutes to blow dry and iron. Shampoo and Conditioner are great but the treatment was a waste. I honestly dont know how anyone could give this product a good review. Harsh but true."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fromal
Location: Alabama
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Ion Smooth Solutions
Date:July 23, 2012
"Had this done at a salon a couple of weeks ago...love it! Hair is so much more managable, smooth and shiny. Saves so much time..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
funnylady
Location: Los Angeles
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Reduced Frizz & Curl
Date:July 19, 2012
Pros: price vs salon treatment
Cons: time consuming
"I am white and have very curly, thick hair, I flat iron my hair which makes it dry, so I was looking for a way to reduce the amount of heat I expose my hair too. I followed the video exactely and also colored my hair at the same time, the color turned out really good. I kept the treatment in about 5 days figuring, the longer the better, plus my hair was super flat and smooth, I've had the kertain application on about a month now and I am happy with results. Now I air dry my hair about 80-90% in a pony tail then use a rotaing spin air brush to finish. When applying the kertain make sure to get your hair totaly dry after applying the cream or I would imagine you will get the crunchy result some mention. I did the application myself using a mirror to see the back of my head and lots of patience. I use the recommded shampoo & masque each time I wash my hair, the conditioner is too weak for my hair."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Butterkreamkat
Location: Saint Louis
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Doesn't Work
Date:July 1, 2012
Pros: smells good
Cons: doesn't work for kinky hair
"I'm African American and transitioning from relaxers (6 mos now). I wanted to try something that would make my 4b/4c hair more manageable. I wasn't expecting "relaxer" results, but this did nothing for my hair at all. It was somewhat softer, but when I woke up the next day, it felt a little crunchy.
The shampoo smelled good and was moisturizing. The treatment did smell like vanilla...good enough to eat. I noticed that my fingernails felt different and softer (I didn't use the gloves that are included.)
In the end, it was a waste of time."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kathyincanada
Don't waste your time and money
Date:June 12, 2012
Cons: creates frizz, creates curls, is expensive, takes a long time to do the treatment, do not buy
"I purchased this product and followed instructions to a "T". My Caucasian hair is in great shape but is frizzy and very wavy. I was dreaming that this would be the answer to my problems because I can't get a Brazilian blowout where I live. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. The treatment took several hours to work through my VERY thick hair. I thought it had worked during the 72-hour no-damp period. My hair was lovely and straight. I went to wash it the first time (having spent more money purchasing the Ion shampoo and conditioner), and the result was hair that was frizzier and curlier than it was when I started. I guess spending 2 hours straightening my hair in 1/8 inch segments (according to instructions) straightens it nicely. But it doesn't stay that way. In fact, it came out so curly, I actually had to start styling my hair in curls. So unless you want frizz and curls, DO NOT BUY THIS!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolly21
Location: Allentown PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing
Date:April 9, 2012
"I think this product is amazing. My hair looks amazing, smells great, wow I am so happy with the results. I was a bit afraid to try the product, because of some of the negative reviews, but I'm so glad I went on and tried the product. I wish we could submit pictures of the before and after, because I look amazing :-) loving it.."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MissyMarie
You Get What You Pay For
Date:March 22, 2012
Pros: smells nice
"I have long, caucasian hair that is extremely over-processed. (Prior to this treatment, I could not even touch it without ends breaking off all over the place.)
My original application did not take. I applied the treatment again about a week later with much better results. (I used a harsher clarifying solution and a higher temperature the second time.) I have read that sometimes, super damaged hair will absorb the solution and prevent it from being able to cure over the hair. I also feel like I should mention that I washed the second application out after 48 hours. It is not MANDATORY that the treatment be left in for three or more days-it's a suggestion. The longer you wait before washing, the longer the treatment will last. I would rather reapply the treatment more frequently than wait that long before washing my hair.
I have shampooed several times since the treatment, and my hair is much stronger and more resistant to breaking, but that's really the only change. It looks/feels slightly healthier, and it might be a tad bit easier to blow dry, but I don't think the results are worth such a consuming process.
Prior to trying keratin, I used the aphogee two-step protein treatment, and I feel like that product gives me the same results with much less hassle. Especially since I did not purchase the kit, I only purchased the bottle, which is approximately the same price per ounce as the aphogee treatment.
I do, however, recommend the aftercare products. I will most likely continue to purchase the ion keratin shampoos, conditioners, and treatments."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ku2950
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worth a try!
Date:March 2, 2012
Pros: lasts about 2 months..just like a salon treatment., smells exactly the same as the salon treatment., same results!, less time to straighten afterwards.
Cons: hair is coarse until you can wash it., it is worth it!, someone else should apply it for you.
"I had two salon treatments which cost $100 each. This product is the EXACT SAME THING! It smells the same and lasts just as long. My hair is straight but I have kinks and waves in some places. This product will shorten the time you spend straightening... Even omit straightening some days....."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mel75
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
A Question, not a review.
Date:February 28, 2012
"I am really interested in trying this product, but am nervous based on the reviews. It seems like people with really curly/coarse hair are having problems with damage. I have caucasian hair and am just wondering if people across the board are having problems."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Niko
Chicago
salon process
Posted March 30, 2012
To me I will say that if done correctly the results are just the same as a marcia texteria or a coppola. You just have to know your hair limits. Those who have had frazzled ends probably burned them with the flat iron. Test your hair and heat setting first before putting the flat iron on the hair. You have caucasian hair so the heat setting could probably be a 420 for you. Im not sure what the density of your hair is but I would not go to 450. Heat that high when using it yourself will burn your hair and you will get those results that others are getting with damage hair .. because its actually burned hair.
Hth!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 20 for Ion Keratin Smoothing Treatment Kit
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IrishGal
Location: Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Conditioner and Softens Curls
Date:February 25, 2012
Pros: reasonable price, easy to use -- my husband did my hair!, formaldehyde free, conditions hair
Cons: if you want very straight hair this is not it.
"I highly suggest you try this product if you want an intense conditioning and your curls to be loosened. If you want extremely STRAIGHT hair, this is not the product.
This made my hair soft and highly conditioned. It is much easier to dry, because it is not so dry that it soaks up a lot of water. My curls are looser and look more like large crimps and waves. Frizz is much less, but I cannot speak to effects of humidity as it is too soon to tell. But, I live in Florida -- so I never expect too much product benefit in this area. LOL
I am caucasion with VERY curly, thick, dry hair that is fine. My hair is colored, but not over damaged.
There is no unpleasant odor and it is not highly chemical; I wanted something like this -- and formaldehyde free. In fact, it smells like a vanilla candle.
I followed up with the ION sulfate and sodium chloride free shampoo and conditioner -- these smell very nice.
After my hair dryed, it was easy to comb and looked really nice after I used my InStyler.
Good luck all!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>