Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Crystal Clarifying Treatment

ION CRYSTAL CLARIFYING TREATMENT
Average Customer Rating:
4.564 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
39 Reviews
35 of 3990%of customers who reviewed this product would recommend it to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Review 1 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Houston, TX
Salon Professional: No
Safe for Hennaed Hair
Date:April 9, 2016
Pros: inexpensive, easy to use, gentle on hair
" I have been tinting my medium brown hair with natural Henna for over 3 years. The Henna turns my hair a beautiful auburn with copper highlights on my gray hairs. It has always been shiny & vibrant after a coloring, however over the last 6 months, my hair has been turning gradually darker brown and dull. In addition, my normally wavy and bouncy hair had become flat and unmanageable. It never occurred to me that my hard well water could be causing the problem until I looked for a solution to my problem in the online forum of hennapage.com (website with resources for people who use henna). There I discovered that minerals in my water may have reacted with the henna - they recommended using this product to remove the buildup. Prior to this I was afraid of trying anything because I am not using a chemical color and did not want to end up with green hair or something. I used this product according to the directions and am proud to say that it worked! It did dry my hair somewhat but i expected that and followed with the ION shampoo & conditioner for hard water - my hair is back to its original beautiful auburn again. It is shiny and manageable again - the highlights literally spark in the sunlight. I am SO HAPPY I found this product, next time I am in Sally's I will pick up several packets to keep on hand. I am impressed with how safe and gentle this was on my hair and even though I will be using the hard water shampoo & conditioner, I plan on doing a treatment with this product periodically to keep my hair looking shiny & vibrant. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Worked I think but turned hair orangy
Date:September 30, 2015
Pros: easy to use, no odor, demineralizes i think
Cons: turned my hair orange, drying, did i mention my platinum blonde hair went orange
" I've had a malibu crystal c treatment. I used a chelating shampoo. I used the same shampoo, I have an applicator bottle that is only for crystal treatments, it gets cleaned and I mix crystals with distilled water. So I basically followed the same steps as for a malibu treatment. I'm blonde, or I was blonde. Live in an old house with old plumbing and have hard water. So my hair takes a beating and it's already fine and thin and fragile. Did the Ion treatment, used a cap, left on for 20 minutes. Shampooed out. Hair felt dry, not soft like with malibu, odd. Stepped out of the shower, looked in the mirror and my hair was a bizarre ombre of white roots into apricot into orange. I freaked of course. Grabbed the T14 I had on hand, 10 vol and a splash of shampoo, mixed, put in for about 5 minutes. I now have white into ashy with very odd almost lavender pieces where the hair turned the darkest orange. I finally understand why people run to a 24 hour store and grab box color (which I'm not doing, but I get it). My hair may be cleansed and demineralized and that's great! Otherwise? my hair's ruined. My lovely just had it lightened 2 weeks ago platinum blonde is gone. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mzwen
Update - Did SecondTreatment
Posted October 1, 2015
No I'm not a glutton for punishment, honest. Last night's crystal treatment and my panic attempt at a quick light toning, once my hair dried didn't work. So I decided to try again today to see if another treatment would normalize or balance since this isn't exactly malibu (I wish it was).
The little bit of toner is gone; if you've toned or used a demi and it's too dark, get this in within a day. It MAY just help. Anyway, left this treatment in for about 40 minutes under a cap. Toner, gone. Still orange but a much lighter orange as it dries. Getting into the gee your hair looks astoundingly brassy kind of thing - with a few still odd almost lavender streaks here and there. Ugly, not sure what to do, maybe wait a couple weeks and do a mild bleach bath just to bring it all up if it doesn't wash out in that amount of time? Remember, I was white blonde before doing the first treatment last night, salon done about 2 weeks ago with chi creme lightener and 20 vol cream developer, then a tiny bit of rusk icy white to tone it to perfection. No other chemicals and I was demineralized before I had the lightening done.
I think the treatment worked better leaving it in longer and hitting the cap with my blow dryer for about 5 minutes, just moving it around about 20 minutes in. Do this at your own risk, I CANNOT say or guarantee that leaving the Ion treatment in for that long will work or is a good idea for everyone. I just decided to treat it like a very very mild vitamin C treatment. Yes I kept checking under the cap about every 5 minutes too. And heavily!! conditioned afterward, this is drying.
Oh, I co-washed before and after the treatment, no shampoo. Think that helped with a little less drying of the hair.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 3 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Very Helpful
Date:May 17, 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: drying
" I have long hair and used two packets on my hair. I had bleached my hair to a yellow stage and then used a dark ash blonde that I wasn't happy with and didn't want to wait two months or so for it to wash out. I put the gel on my hair and left it there for 15 minutes, covered it and rinsed. The hair color was much lighter and was almost where I originally started. I did this treatment two weeks later after deep conditioning twice and all of the hair dye was removed. What a great product! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Love this stuff!
Date:April 2, 2015
" I have been using this product for YEARS so I was surprised to see some of these bad reviews. I (over)process my hair to super light blonde and also have horrible rusty water. We do have a softener but after a couple of months I can see my blonde start to get brassy or we'll run out of salt and then it really shows the rust. Anyways, I let this sit on my hair as instructed and also apply heat and my hair is back to super blonde again! I don't do it more than once every couple of months but I don't think I lose any hair other than normal. Much cheaper than Malibu too. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Do Not Use This Product!
Date:December 6, 2014
Cons: hair falls out, frizz
" This is awful!! I had clumps of hair fall out when I rinsed it out of my hair. My hair is now extra frizzy and it did not do anything it claims to do. I can not believe this! I researched it before using, and should have listened to the negative reviews. Such a disappointment! I will never use the product again. Beware! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
On the fence
Date:May 11, 2014
Pros: helped color last- even red
" I bought this for my daughter who is going threw the stage of multiple hair colors. The bright the better. I figure, it's just hair, but I'd like to keep it as healthy as I can so it's not so damaged once she grows out of this stage. We used it and we then put the ion semi-perm dye on the tips and the bangs. We did use a different one for the bangs (don't bother with that product) and I'm happy to say, the red tips are still there after 2 months and just as vibrant as when first applied. I don't know if this product, when used before, helped with the color or what. It did help with keeping her hair as soft as a toddler. PS- my daughter is 11 yrs old. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Michigan
Salon Professional: No
I live in well water HADES!
Date:March 7, 2014
Pros: removed hard water stains from color treated hair., hair felt soft after use
Cons: i didn't find out about this sooner! advertise!!
" I have well water in my home and my color treated blonde had turned brassy (at best) and what I frequently called BOZO orange on the ends. I cut my hair shorter (to shoulder length) and tried all sorts of home remedies to remove the stains. I ordered this product and I am AMAZED at the difference. I shampooed first with the Ion Hard Water shampoo and towel dried. I mixed up 2 packets and applied. Next, I wrapped my head in Saran Wrap and hit it with the blow dryer until it felt hot and then wrapped my head in a towel. I re-heated with the dryer about every ten minutes and left the product on for an hour. Rinsed and followed up with the Ion Hard Water conditioner. My hair is drastically better with just one treatment. I am so thankful I found this product!!! YAY ION! :) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Salon Professional: No
Took the green out!
Date:April 27, 2013
Pros: took the green out
Cons: hair seemed a little dry after
" I recently attempted a full hair transformation over a couple of weeks. I had black hair with very light peek a boo highlights. I decided to strip the black dye out and attempt to go back to my natural color (level 4 brown) Well, I used a box dye (big mistake also) and my hair turned out great for a few days. After I washed it a few times, the green base started to show through on all of my hair, not just the blonde parts. I just finished using this product at the recommendation of a sally employee and my hair is now back to brown. yay!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Titusville, Fl
Salon Professional: No
There is a God!
Date:January 6, 2013
" My Fiance` has well water with Iron in it. I noticed my hair was getting more orange colored everytime I showered at his place. I went into my local Sally's and the sales associate recommended this product for my hair.... let me tell you that this is the BEST 3.00 I have ever spent. It took out all the orange and made my blonde highlights stand out even better than before.... I love this stuff and will continue to use it along with the shampoo and conditioner for well water. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Michigan
Salon Professional: No
WOW - GREAT PRODUCT!
Date:October 26, 2012
Pros: totally got rid of the orange!
" I never take the time to write reviews but this product is amazing! We have very hard water and my bleach blonde hair - even with the help of our water softener - has turned a terrible orange. I just tried this treatment and it completely got rid of the orange - even better than the Malibu treatments that I have been paying big money for at my salon. I will continue to do this instead and save some money! I only hope that it lasts for a while but time will tell. I used it exactly as instructed and the results are amazing for sure!!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
amazing stuff
Date:September 21, 2012
" Are well water leaves my blonde hair with brassy streaks so I was always going to the salon for treaments. I found this treament on line and read all the reviews on it. I thought I would try it and save myself a lot of money!! I just love it, I will be buying this product from now on. It really really works!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Laura3
Guelph
Amazing, saved me hundreds at a salon
Posted January 17, 2014
Live with well water, spent hundreds at salons on foils getting rid of the orange. Tried this once and it was gone. Amazing product. It really does work. Get the shampoo to keep the iron away.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 12 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Iron stains gone!
Date:July 15, 2012
Pros: removed iron/rust/hard water stains!
Cons: not crazy about the odor
" I have blonde hair with highlights and have been dealing with well water. Before I knew it, my hair texture had become extremely brittle, then it turned a pumpkin orange. I tried everything to get rid of the horrible iron but it just got worst. About to give up and cut my hair, I came across a few reviews on this website. Not expecting much, I purchased this little packet - used 2 because my hair is longer than most - and kept in my hair for 20 minutes. It removed almost all of the orange color. I am going to follow up with the hard water shampoo and conditioner - but as for right now, I am extremely happy! It saved me from cutting off my long locks! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
This works!
Date:July 8, 2012
Pros: easy to use, inexpensive, i love the results!
Cons: i have thick hair so i have to buy 2.
" Works really good. My really blonde hair always fades to a dirty blonde and when I use this, it brings back the color I had from the begining! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: WV
Salon Professional: No
Absolutely Fantastic!
Date:June 27, 2012
" This stuff is amazing! I recently moved and I now have well water with iron in it. Therefore, my blonde hair turned coppery orange and so dull. After one use my hair went back to my beautiful blonde highlights! I couldn't believe it! It left my hair so soft and shimmery! I highly recommend this product! I've also started using the Ion shampoo and conditioner for hard water and my highlights still look great! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Paducah, Ky
Salon Professional: No
Love this!
Date:April 30, 2012
" I am a brunette. I know that haven't been a lot of reviews by brunettes on here. I have used this product twice now, and I love it! I have fine, thin super straight, nearly black hair with less than 25 percent gray that I cover. I use texturizing powder in my hair so that I don't have to shampoo it daily (trying to prevent some of the thinning) the only problem I have with texturizing powder is that I never feel like my slick shiny hair is clean after using it. I can't even get a wide-toothed comb through it without breakage. Enter the clarifying treatment, I used this after my last at home coloring and wow! No buildup at all, I used to have to shampoo two or three times to remove the buildup before, now, I can just use this product and my hair is shiny and clean without over drying my hair or scalp and I still don't have to shampoo repeatedly. I haven't had any orangey problems like many of the other reviewers have stated. My color is normal, I just think next time I will use it before I color so that is doesn't fade the color off my grays so quickly. I was asked if I would recommend this product to a friend, and actually I already have. My sister uses hair powders in her super-thick wavy hair. and was complaining about an itchy, iirritated scalp. I recommended this product and she loved it too! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Salon Professional: No
Superb
Date:March 10, 2012
" The clarifying treatment worked very well. Our water is so hard and irony, this product removed it from my hair fantastically. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Salon Professional: No
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! Worth every single penny
Date:March 8, 2012
Pros: inexpensive, worth every cent, perfect product, saved my hair, does exactly what it says, helped my very highly damaged hair, i would buy this again
Cons: none at all!!!!!
" This product was absolutely amazing! it worked so well and i only used it one time. This is my story . . . So i went to this salon and they tried straightening my hair with a relaxer but i am white and my hair is already naturally straight. so it fried my hair. it looked as if my hair had been bleached and left on for WAAAYYYY too long. i used every product to help my hair get back to normal again. nothing really worked completely. BUT THIS DID!! IN JUST ONE SINGLE USE!! I HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone and everyone whos hair is damaged from chemicals. This is a miracle that saved my hair completely "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By:
Location: kalamazoo, mi
ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE
Date:September 21, 2011
" Okay, what is the deal? I hear many blondes on the reviews raving about this product? What about brunettes? I live in an apt with terrible rusty water, so rusty it turns my hair the color of rust. I went and had a malibu treatment and paid $30 only to come home and see the treatment did NOTHING. I have naturally brown hair and typically just dye it to keep it brown but I got tired of dying it and thought I would just try to keep the rust out of it.
After the failed malibu treatment I saw these great reviews for this product. I thought, finally, I can keep the rust out of my hair and I can do it cheaply at home. I followed all instructions correctly and afterwards as I went to blowdry it, it was ORANGE and BRASSIER than EVER before. Was my hair soft? Sure. I guess that's the one bonus. But it turned my hair even WORSE than it ever was previously. I saw one bad review on here before I used this product that said it turned a girl's hair as orange as a pumpkin. Well, she wasn't kidding. I don't know what the deal is. I guess I will have to dye my hair again to be a brunette until I can move somewhere I can have either good water or a water softener. This is absolutely ridiculous!! "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Allo
Dark dye beware
Posted October 15, 2012
I think the product removed the artificial pigments in your previously dyed brown hair, leaving you with your remaining natural pigment: orange.
Any dye using 20 volume and greater developer will lift your natural haircolor (in your case to orange) so it can then deposit the dye (the brown). These clarifying treatments can strip artificial color, as well as remove mineral deposits. Great for blondes...maybe not so great for dyed brunettes?
Careful if you use permanent dark dyes, this product may strip more than you were expecting.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 19 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Michigan
Salon Professional: No
Removes rust from blonde hair!
Date:May 16, 2011
Pros: removes rust from hair
Cons: not quite enough product in 1 packet, might need more than 1 packet if hair is long/thic
" I had tried so many things to try and get the stubborn rust stains from our hard water out of my light blonde hair to no avail. So I didn't have very high expectations for this product, either. But I was pleasantly surprised. While it didn't take ALL of the orange out, it did take most of it out, which is better than none! I do think I could've used 2 or 3 packets, as my hair is quite long and very thick, which is probably why it didn't take it all out. And at $2.99 a packet, there wasn't very much in there. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crystal Clarifying Treatment
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Brandon, FL
Salon Professional: No
Love This Product!
Date:January 11, 2011
" I use this product every time I decide to color my hair. It is amazing and helps for a longer lasting and better color. "
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.