Product Reviews

Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter

Ion Hard Water Shampoo helps prevent build-up of hard and well water minerals like Iron, Calcium, Magnesium and Copper that can cause dryness, damage, discoloration and dullness.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
11 of 14(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Review 1 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeachGardener
Location: Arizona
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works for mineral build up
Date:December 3, 2013
"Having lived most of my life with Los Angeles water, I now live in Phoenix. Both places are notorious for having the worst water in the US, so I guess I am very familiar with the miseries and quirks of hard water. This shampoo is great for removing the minerals in the water supply of the West and the Southwest (for me). I use it about once every two months, sometimes more often, and I really notice a positive difference in the body and shine of my hair after a wash. This shampoo is economical and it works for everyone in the family. It helps with "swimmer's hair" as well."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sodapop
Location: New Iberia, LA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
horrible
Date:June 24, 2012
Pros: price
Cons: stripped hair, made it feel damaged, did not work like other reviewers said
"i bought this because i read the reviews and thought that this might help my hair and my daughter's hair being that we have hard water. this shampoo has actually made my hair feel worse! i used it a total of 3 times and each time i felt like it was stripping all the moisture out of my hair. the last time i tried it, when i was done shampooing and conditioning, my hair felt like hay. i had to do a hair treatment to make my hair feel better. i stopped using it and both my daughters complained how it made their hair feel more damaged and how it was making their hair fall out. we are of hispanic decent and our hair is slightly thicker than a caucasian's hair, if maybe that made the difference. i have black hair, 1 daughter has brown and the other is light brown. all i know is i will never buy this again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kjplatt
Location: Stillwater, OK
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
excellent
Date:May 23, 2012
"I live in the country and have well water, and my hair is colored. It works beautifully, Had no idea a shampoo could make such a difference. and it doesn't seem to have an effect on my color-treated hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Audiemay
Location: Kokomo
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Iron Remover
Date:April 21, 2012
Pros: does exactly what it says
"I have long bleached blond hair consequently it soaks up rust very easily. Frequently I have orange or pink tips. Sometimes my students think I have done this on purpose. I have tried Malibu 2000 but it would not lather and my hair felt like straw afterwards. This shampoo lathers very well, removes and prevents rust buildup, and makes my hair feel very soft. I am extremely pleased."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lois
Best shampoo for hard water
Date:April 5, 2012
Pros: very effective for use with hard water
"I have spent a small fortune over the years. My hair was always so dry and brittle. I have used expensive shampoos and conditioners. I've used only conditioner and no shampoo. I have used products for catastrophically damaged hair. Salon treatments. You name it I have tried it with little success.
All of this time I blamed my hair when in reality, it was my water that was to blame. Now that I use this shampoo, I find that I don't even need a conditioner.
The hard water build up was also darkening my hair. After using this shampoo everyone asks me if I've had high lights
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
harlygon
Location: Tonawanda, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love this shampoo!
Date:November 19, 2011
Pros: lathers up really well
Cons: could be a bit thicker
"This shampoo is a must for anyone using well water in their home! I no longer have mineral build-up, which on my really thick long hair made it totally unmanageable. My hair is now smoother, less coated, and I can run a comb through it with no problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lisann
Location: columbus, ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Hate it
Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: none
Cons: everything about this shampoo and the conditioner
"This shampoo is the worst. It doesn't even clean your hair. I wash my hair every night with this shampoo and I use the conditioner too and by the morning my hair is oily and dirty. It's like it doesn't even clean your hair."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boxerlover
Location: Sebring FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Pretty good for the buck
Date:December 7, 2010
Pros: value for money, a little goes a long way, leaves hair in good condition
Cons: will strip color best for bleached hair
"I used this after my hairstylist put a golden blonde toner on my hair that made my platinum highilghts very orangey. After a couple of shampoos the toner was gone and this leaves my hair very shiny and easy to style. I have waist length hair anything that makes my life easier is welcomed. Very good value, a little goes a long way and the bottle is huge. I also had some well water stains in my hair when my my filter wasn't working, This did NOT remove them, the Ion Crystals did and now I am hoping this shampoo will help to stop build up. Don't expect this to get rid of brassy well water stains but use the Ion Crystals, that is a fabulous product. Will remove the most horrendous orange tones with one use.Then use this for maintenance. I think this product would be better suited for bleached hair, it stripped a toner out of mine (which I wanted it to do ) so I would not recommend to those of you who don't want your color stripped. I have bleached out highlights with no toner so I don't have to worry about color stripping"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taye
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Hair Lifesaver!
Date:December 7, 2010
"I came to the conclusion that we have hard water in our apartment. My hair would be dry & dull-looking no mater what I did to it. This was usual considering that I've had long, thick, shiny hair for the past 3-4 years. I shampooed with this twice & continued with a deep conditioner. My hair has NOT been this soft in months! I'll definitely be using this at least once a month from now on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PurpleSage
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Stuff!!
Date:October 14, 2010
Pros: on sale it's a great price for the quanitity.
Cons: bottle awkward as it is bigger than most., a pump would be nice as others have stated., a little liquidy but i can live with that.
"After looking online for a shampoo for hard/well water I found this on Sally's site. Purchased with the conditioner and WOW. After all the years of purchasing products for dry, brittle, damaged hair, this was the cure. It wasn't my hair that was an issue, it was the water and all the deposits it had on it. After the first use I saw improvement and now after a week, truly an amazing difference. My hair is soft, shiny, and the curls are coming back. Highly recommended for anyone with hard/well water. AND, I haven't noticed that it's stripped my hair of it's color either. So happy :)"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MagsMorrigan
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Meh.
Date:August 8, 2010
Pros: clarifies, softens, does what it says and nothing more
Cons: runny, smells a little odd but not bad, bad for colored hair, "matching" conditioner is worthless
"I bleach and color my hair so this is not a daily use item for me. My water is so hard it looks green some days (way to kill that bacteria Dane county but what about my hair?) so it sometimes feels like I washed with brick-dust, and this shampoo left my hair feeling soft and silky and wonderful. I only use it rarely, however, because it strips my color and prevents my 'pick-up' conditioner and color mix from setting in too. Good for non-dyers and oily/normal hair types only."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nicholle94
Location: Comfort, Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worst shampoo ever!
Date:July 29, 2010
"The new hard water shampoo is the worst. I can wash my hair in the morning and by the afternoon it feels dirty. I hate the new vegan shampoo. The shampoo is like water."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mindy03
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Good for hard water
Date:July 22, 2010
Cons: little pricey
"This shampoo left my hair soft and looking great. Its hard to find shampoo that makes my hair look and feel this way with my hard water. Its recommended for anyone with hard water"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ion Hard Water Shampoo Liter
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cricket
Location: Lafayette, IN
ION Purifying Solutions hard Water Shampoo
Date:June 20, 2008
"This is the best hard water shampoo I have ever tried. I have white hair and my hair never gets that 'yellow' tinge that shows with other shampoos. I recommend it highly it is all that I have been using for a year now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.