Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sally Beauty.

Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron

With the Ion I-PAK revolutionary technology the perception of Heat Styling being damaging is a thing of the past!
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
20 of 23(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Review 1 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsBlu
Location: Monroe City, MO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Flat Iron
Date:October 13, 2012
Pros: does not damage hair, style lasts
Cons: a little pricey
" I came across a youtube video of a African American female using these on her natural hair. I've been natural for 2 1/2 yrs now and I've straightened my hair once with some other flat irons and they damaged my hair. After many treatments my hair bounced back. The youtuber was very pleased with her results aftwards and after washing her hair that I decided to give these a try. Worth every penny. My curls bounced right back after washing and my hair was straight for about a week after using these once and a few other products. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Torie
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not what I expected.
Date:September 15, 2012
" I had bought this flat iron because of all the rave reviews on it. Well, it didn't leak like everyone had said, which was a plus. The downfall of the product was that it was leaving horrible residue and didn't really do much for my hair at all. I'd straighten it that day, then later on I'd have kinks in it throughout that day even with a high heat setting. Needless to say... I returned it and got something else. "
Review 3 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smashley
Location: Fort Myers, Fl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing
Date:September 4, 2012
Pros: does better than expected
Cons: heavy, steam burns hand if not used correctly
" I bought this to replace my 3 year old expensive iron. I was skeptical about the oil infusion part as I have an oily scalp, BUT I have major damage to parts of my hair. I am soooo glad I bought this. My hair has NEVER been this silky smooth and flat. Spots I used to do over 2-3 times only took once. I have wavy mid length medium thickness hair and this flat iron worked like a dream. The only thing I can say slightly negative about it is that 1. It's heavier than a standard iron 2. Be careful and make sure your hand is down low on the handle (by the cord) or else the steam will give you a lovely little burn. I live in Southwest Florida, battling the ridiculous humidity has always been a challenge, not any more! This iron is great. I would highly recommend!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summerlove829
Amazing Iron
Date:May 18, 2012
" I don't flat iron my hair very often, at most 3-4 times a year. Every iron I've owned either didn't straighten well, I had to pass the iron over and over my hair or it would break off my hair. This iron does what it says, straightens while protecting and smoothing it out. I have a lot of very curly hair and this does the job. Not to mention the cord is not short.
Can't wait to try it out tomorrow in combination with my new one n only arghan heat ceramic dryer. "
Review 5 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bklee
Location: Savannah,Ga
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Ion+I-Pak+Infusion+vapor+styling+iron
Date:May 7, 2012
Pros: my hair looks so healthy now
" This is the only flat iron that has smoothed and flattened my dry,damaged frizzy hair. It is awesome. Best flat iron I have ever had!!! "
Review 6 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christina7280
Location: Scranton Wilkes-Barre, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love this!
Date:May 1, 2012
" I have long thick curly course hair. I love my curly hair but sometimes i like to change things up. Well, I bought this ion flat iron with my fingers crossed. When I got home and tried this, I was amazed at how straight and silky it made my hair. Not only does it make it straight but it gives it a shine and healthy look. I can make my hair poker straight, wavy, or flip-up the ends to give it a different look. The ion pack is great too. It doesn't leak like some other reviews said. I highly recommend this! "
Review 7 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PerfectHairObsession
Location: EL PASO, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
EXCELLENT, AMAZING, WOW
Date:January 31, 2012
Pros: great for thick hair, leaves hair silky
Cons: confusing when adding the liquid at first
" I HAD BEEN DEBATING TO PURCHASE THE ION I-PAK IRON SINCE IT FIRST ARRIVED AT SALLYS. I KNOW IT'S SIMILAR TO THE JOICO K-PAK VAPOR IRON WHICH I ALWAYS WANTED BUT WAS OUT OF MY PRICE RANGE AND I READ HORRIBLE REVIEWS TO TOP IT OFF. WELL AFTER READING ALL THE AMAZING REVIEWS I DECIDED TO BUY IT AND TOLD MYSELF IF I DON'T LIKE IT I WILL JUST RETURN IT. YESTERDAY THAT I WALKED INTO SALLYS I ASKED THE ASSOCIATE IF SHE RECOMMENDED THIS ONE OR THE ONE N ONLY ARGAN OIL IRON AND SHE SAID THIS ONE MINIMIZES DAMAGE SO I GOT IT. WELL THIS MORNING I WAS RUSHING TO WORK AND I USED IT REALLY FAST AND I WAS IMPRESSED. IT USUALLY TAKES ME 30 MINUTES TO STRAIGHTEN MY HAIR WITH MY CHI, AND GVP BUT IN 5 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO QUICKLY STRAIGHTEN MY THICK, WAVY, FRIZZY HAIR. I CAN IMAGINE WHAT IT WILL DO TO MY HAIR WHEN I TAKE MY TIME TO STRAIGHTEN IT. WELL SEE BUT SO FAR I WAS SO IMPRESSED, I WILL UPDATE MY REVIEW LATER, THANKS FOR READING! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stemartinez4
Location: Irving, tx
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
The WORST Flat iron
Date:January 6, 2012
Cons: leaks, very hot on the ouside
" I have curly and very frizzy hair so I was looking forward to getting this flat iron as soon as i got home I used it and the liquid started to leak and made the the flat iron have a BAD smell. So when I started to straighten my hair the iron got really really hot on the outside so it was hard to hold on to it. When I was done my hair didn't look very straight and it still looked kind of frizzy. I immediately went back and exchanged it for a GVP which I LOVE. Do NOT buy don't even bother wasting your money "
Review 9 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highfashionlady
Location: Derry, NH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent Product
Date:January 4, 2012
" I love this iron. It works even better than my SEDU Revolution! "
Review 10 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
luvinmyhair2012
Location: Southeast US
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Give this Styling Iron a Try
Date:January 2, 2012
Pros: lightweight design, ease of use, hair looks and feels great
" I used this styling iron the second time today. I've never flat-ironed my hair so I had a learning curve and concerns about causing heat damage to my AA natural APL hair (texture = wavy to tightly corkscrewed).
I was seriously thinking about buying a CHI but the sales clerk at Sally's assured me that this was a good iron and if I wasn't happy, I could always return it. So I gave it a try.
The first time I used the vapor on low, an additional heat protectant and a low setting (340 degrees) since my hair is fine. My hair was straight but I ventured on to a higher setting this time since I need two passes.
At 375 degrees, the vapor on high, and CHI Silk Infusion as my additional protectant, my hair was straight with ONE SINGLE PASS! I'm really pleased.
By the way, with two sessions under my belt, the infusion tank still looks full; so it doen't look like I'll be needing that refill bottle any time soon. Watch out for the vapor -- it gets really hot -- my forehead got burned today.
I think you'll be impressed with the iron... I know I am. Without using a flat iron before, I don't feel comfortable giving it 5 stars, but I'm pretty sure it's worthy of it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jkd81
Location: Kansas
Better Than The High End Irons!!
Date:December 29, 2011
Pros: lots of shine!, straightens great, hair is so much healthier, makes hair very soft, does exactly what it says, easy to handle, doesn't need alot of solution, can be used without the solution
" I got this as a christmas gift, and I'm sooo glad I did!! I've always owned the higher end irons like sedu, chi, and hot tools but like the other reviewers have stated this flat iron blows them out of the water!! I still have my sedu revolution, and used it daily but now I find myself ONLY using my Ion iron. I had been looking into the Joico K-pak reconstructing vapor iron and the reviews were horrible with lots of complaints about the solution chamber leaking and shorting out the iron. It's very high in price as well. As soon as I saw this ion iron I was skeptical knowing it was a "knock off" of the joico, but the reviews seemed so good I thought well maybe I'll give it a shot and add it to my christmas list so I did just that. It states it's a 1 inch iron but it is a 1 1/4 inch. It DOES have a iron lock to keep the iron shut when not in use, and the solution tank also provides a lock as well. The solution lasts, so you will not need to refill every time you iron. I'm going to guess maybe every 3-4 times? Depending on if you use the "low" or "high" setting for the vapor, and how long/thick your hair is. The flat iron also comes with a bottle of the argan infusion solution but my husband purchased an extra bottle for me to have later. You can easily use it without the solution, but it does say to not add water!! So either use with solution or without. Most flat irons I've had to use on the higher temperatures in order to get my hair straight, and the highest I've had to set this iron is to 350 degrees, but it does reach up to 450 degrees if needed.
This iron gives me super straight hair while giving it lots of shine. My hair is very soft and seems alot healthier since using it. I wasn't sure if I would give up my sedu revolution that I've always loved and used everyday but I think that choice will be easily made now that I've seen this does exactly what it states!! It leaves my hair truely amazing! I've never seen my hair have so much shine and look this healthy. I color regularly, and have damage from heat styling and bleach and this has helped so much. I will be even happier when my hair gets a bit longer! Thank you ion for making such an awesome iron that all of us ladies have been hoping to find for soooo long. I think every woman needs one of these! I don't think anyone could be disappointed with it.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kirstiboo
Location: Steelersburgh, PA
Feeling is Believing!
Date:December 14, 2011
Pros: not bulky/heavy, great quality, solid construction, good value
Cons: none!!
" This was a purchase of necessity after my last flat iron bit the dust rather than having become disillusioned with a previous purchase. I entertained the idea of a CHI first, but my daughter is on her 3rd one. Hmmmm. I only buy my tools at Sally's because of their selection. And I only buy ION and have always been impressed and very pleased with their products' quality. Didn't really have any prerequisites in mind. I generally look at the ones with highest ratings first rather than price. After having read the reviews of this product, I went ahead and bought it. And an extra bottle of the liquid. And the warranty. I figured since it has the infusion liquid in it, I'd let it show me what it can do and forego the extra product I normally use (smoother, buriti oil, spray on shiner/glosser) O!!M!!G!! By at least the third day of use, I saw a HUGE difference in my hair. I didn't even believe it myself. It has this unreal shine now. I mean it almost makes my hair look like "doll hair". And it's so extremely soft and silky. No shampoo, conditioner, oil, spray or cream I've ever used has ever made my hair look , feel and act this way. My hair is the healthiest it's ever been. Whatever is in the liquid apparently is something my hair has been needing for far too long. Even my stylist was amazed at the condition of my hair, and she's always remarked at how healthy my hair has looked.
I absolutely recommend this item. You won't be sorry. Great value for what the end results have turned out to be. The liquid is inexpensive to buy and easy to refill. The iron itself is not bulky or heavy. Good solid construction. Auto shut-off if not used after 2 hours. I recommend a setting not higher than 340 unless your hair is really that uncontrollable.
I just can't say enough. It's a great great product. So far, the best ION has put out yet!!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jkd81
Kansas
Posted December 15, 2011
Thank for your review. I've been truely debating on whether to get this flat iron. I currently own a sedu flat iron and although I love it I feel like my hair is just getting dry and fried from flat ironing everyday! Can you tell me how the solution/liquid works when you flat iron? Is there a lock on the iron to keep the iron shut when not in use? How often would you say you would need to add the solution? I appreciate your help!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 13 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AngieAnge
Location: Bowie, Md
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Flat Iron!
Date:December 13, 2011
Pros: silky hair, shine, easy to use
Cons: i think it might leak a tiny bit
" I have a Sedu which I bought for $110 but I will def be using this flat iron now. I am transitioning to natural and it has been difficult to get my hair straight. I didnt turn the heat all the way up, but this gave a shiny, silky look to my hair! And the picture on this website makes it look ugly, but it is actually a very pretty gold color and is also very sturdy. Also it is 1 1/4 inch wide. "
Review 14 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessPenny
Excellent Product
Date:November 28, 2011
" I have gone through countless hair straightners within the last 5 years. Previously, I have used the Maxiglide, Chi, GVP, and Sedu. None of these straightners compare to this flat iron. I'm Mexican-American and have dry and frizzy hair. My hair is difficult to straighten and takes 10-15 min to blow dry. I am very pleased with this product, it exceeds every expectation. I purchased this iron because of all the positive reviews, and am so happy I did! Most importantly, this flat iron helps protect my hair from heat damage. The vapor solution creates a soft silky shine. I love running my hand through my hair. My hair feels healthy and soft. Another impressive feature is that my ends feel conditioned and smooth. Other flat irons made my hair feel like straw, and created hard brittle edges on my ends. I am over the moon, and would recommend this product to everyone. It is a great price for the quality of the product. I cannot say enough positive things about this flat iron. Who cares about the CHI, Hanna, Sedu, Maxiglide, or BabyBliss. Read reviews on Folica or Misikko for their reviews. None of their products have as many positive ratings. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kleigh
Location: NH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great flat iron
Date:November 20, 2011
Cons: a little heavy
" I am almost 50 and have probably spent a million dollars on hair care. I also have a graveyard in my bathroom of everything that I bought that doesn't work. This flat iron is amazing. I have highlighted, blonde, thick, frizzy hair. Nothing has worked and this flat iron does. I put my $150.00 flat iron into the graveyard with the others. This is a great value and I highly recommend it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: N. Kingstown, RI
AMAZING!!!!
Date:November 19, 2011
" This straighter is amazing and worth every penny!!!! I highly recommend purchasing this!! Your hair will thank you!! "
Review 17 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessilou
Location: Worcester, ma
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Pleasantly surprised
Date:November 18, 2011
Pros: everything!!!!!
Cons: none!!!
" I was very hesitant to buy this iron I honestly would have never dropped this much on any hair iron, but the lady who helped me insisted I at least try it and if I didnt like it I could return it. I gave in and I have never been happier my hair is naturally curly and very dry it looks so silky and I can run my fingers through it =) I am so pleased with this product. I actually bought this iron the end of october and here we are november and I have worn my hair hair curly only once. Its so worth the money!!!!!! "
Review 18 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ceci333
Location: El Paso, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Just Average
Date:November 17, 2011
Pros: straightens hair as well as regular flat irons
Cons: leaks
" I bought this particular flat iron after hearing rave reviews from the Sally's employee. The flat iron works about the same as others I've tried with the exception that this one leaks. It also occasionally ejects brown stuff which I think might be burnt oil. "
Review 19 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thealphamare
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
WOW!
Date:November 8, 2011
Pros: does everything it promises to do!
Cons: none!
" I have incredibly difficult hair...very long, old, fuzzy, lots of natural wave, texture more like cotton than hair. I can't use many hair products because of residue and my hair's tendency to soak up and hold onto everything like a sponge, making it dull and heavy. I bought an Ion Tourmaline Ceramic iron years ago and it's been wonderful, but I haven't used it regularly because I have to heat it all the way up to 450 to get it to work on my hair, and I've been afraid to apply that much heat to my hair on a regular basis.
The Ion I-PAK Infusion+Vapor Iron caught my interest with its promise of being able to straighten my hair without heat damage. Could not wait to get it home and test it out, and its performance has so FAR EXCEEDED my hopes and expectations!!! This iron leaves my hair UNBELIEVABLY SLEEK and shiny...not only looking and feeling like real HAIR (not cotton!), but looking and feeling like HEALTHY hair!!! I honestly did not believe my hair could EVER look and feel this sleek and glossy! Even after sleeping on it...STILL straight, sleek, and shiny.
The Ion I-PAK Infusion+Vapor Iron is just BEYOND incredible...I can't believe there is a better flattening iron ANYwhere, at ANY price!!! And this from someone who rarely EVER writes reviews about ANYthing... "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ion I-PAK Infusion Vapor Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ericky27
Location: Corvallis, OR
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
You need to buy this
Date:November 1, 2011
Pros: soft hair, softness lasts all day, easy to use, quick heat up
" I traded in my $25 flat iron which did an OK job, or so I thought, until I purchased this one. What a difference! My hair is straighter with fewer fly-aways and remains soft/silky all day long. I wish I would've spent the money on this flat iron sooner. You won't be disappointed. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>