Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sally Beauty.

Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron

The Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Conditioning Ionic-Ceramic Digital Flat Iron is powered by TSC - Temperature Sensor Circuit heat technology conditions and protects with stable, consistent heat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
17 of 22(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Review 1 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginnette
Location: Orlando, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
THE BEST IRON!
Date:November 25, 2009
Pros: doesnt pull or damage the hair, light wait, easy grip, few strokes, heats very quickly, automatic shut-off system
"I purchased this product one week ago and its awesome. The expectations of this product really meats up to its price. It straitens my hair in no more than 3 strokes and my hair is very thick and wavy. I really recommend this product to all. It has an automatic shut off system and that is a very important feature to have if you have children. It doesn't pull your hair at all, it has a great look to it its colors are Light Gray and Dark Blue, it has an easy grip and is very light weight. It could be an excellent Christmas gift to friends and family."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SGMGirl
Location: Northwest USA
Frustration!
Date:May 23, 2011
"This is the second one of these irons I have purchased. I use it daily and the first one lasted 8 months and just stopped heating up. I purchased another one and this one did the same thing after 10 months. I have had flat irons that have lasted years and unfortunately not going to buy another one of the ION brand. It worked great, but to have a $70 iron quit twice now and not even a year old, can't afford it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SNOOK
Location: delta ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
the best ever
Date:December 5, 2010
Pros: best shine and no frizz
Cons: not one
"i've had my ion flat iron for years and it still works just as good as it did when i bought it. one thing people should know is to not wrap the cord around the iron this messes with the wiring and the way it will work. I bought mine in holland oh at sallys in spring meadowsshopping plaza and those girls were the ones who told me about it and now i trust them with any new thing i buy, this has been by far the best investment for an iron"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trinity
Location: Dayton, oh
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent Flat Iron
Date:February 16, 2010
Pros: heats up quickly, love the digital setting, cool off quickly and easy to handle
Cons: none so far
"This is my first review I have ever wrote and the reason why I am writing this review is because this product REALLY works! I am growing out my hair, so my hair is between my natural course hair and relax and this flat iron work great. I use it to flat both my natural and relax hair and it completely straighten both kind of hair. It usually takes about three to four strokes to straighten my hair but it still work wonderfully. It only takes about 45 seconds to a minute to fully be ready to use and the heating pads seem to heat up even. I would recommend this product to anyone who would like to have a wonderful flat iron that really works."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
loveaddict15
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Faulty Fuse
Date:November 4, 2011
Pros: straightens well, heats up quickly, long cord, cuts down on getting ready time
Cons: short life span on fuse
"I had my Ion for about 5 months when one day it suddenly stopped working. I tried plugging it back in or messing with the buttons, but nothing worked. I let my dad bring it to the electronics department in the technical school and they found that the fuse burned out. I am willing to bet that 98% of people who have had there Ion quit working had a burnt fuse. I am going to buy this straightener again though and give it another chance. This is the only time I have had an issue with an Ion, and I'm not a Chi person, so I'll stick with Ions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
larklikeabird
dont buy
Date:January 6, 2011
Pros: nothing no power cant use it.
Cons: no power
"I bought this and on the first day I used it for my hair it worked great. The next day plugged it in and no power to it. I went back that day and returned it and got the same one thinking it was just a lemon and came home and plugged the new one in, no power again!
Very frustrating to say the least and I am out three 30 minute trips to get and return them.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Macie
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Cord Flaw
Date:December 29, 2010
Pros: smooth hair
Cons: manufacturing error
"I loved this straightener for the first few months that I had it. It straightened my thick, wavy hair beautifully leaving it shiny and smooth. However, after a few months it started shutting off in the middle of its use. I tried everything and when I called to send it in, they said they couldn't do anything because my one month warranty had expired. I guess there was a short in the cord so this is a great flat iron, just make sure you get the warranty."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RBJB
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Don't buy this!
Date:September 14, 2010
Cons: short short lifespan, horrendous customer service
"At first, I loved this iron. Then less than 30 days later I got an E02 error on the display. I returned to Sally's and received another one in it's place. Now 2 months after the first replacement, I am getting the same E02 error on the display and the unit will not heat up. I have to send it back to the manufacturer and wait to see what they say. I have owned many irons in all different price categories and this is the first one that has not lasted! I will not purchase another Ion product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandy7597
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awesome!!!
Date:June 23, 2010
"I had first ordered an FHI hair straighter online but I did not like the results. I then saved all my receipts and packaging, went to the Sally Store in stead of sending it back via-mail, exchanged it for the OneStroke (paid difference of price) and I tell you, these is a great product! I highly recommend it. It conditions and leaves hair soft and nice looking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dustygem
Location: Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
AWESOME
Date:April 1, 2010
Pros: great product!
Cons: not a one!
"I was looking for a new straight iron, since the $20 drug store one was shot in 2 months, and the sales lady said that for my thick, curly hair she would recommend this one. I was reluctant to spend the money on it but am sooooo glad i did. It does what it promises, one stroke straightening and leaves hair shiny. Don't hesitate to buy this one. Well worth the cost."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
missro
Location: Savannah, ga
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not so good
Date:March 3, 2010
Pros: it heats up quick, easy to use
Cons: plates gets really hot
"My daughter and I both have natural hair and I was looking for something we both can use that gives body and shine without damaging or breaking the hair. Take the frizz out and last until the next wash. My hair is coarse and thick and her hair is curly and thick. I brought the GVP 3 years ago, but it broke. I wanted to buy a Chi Iron, but read some reviews that turned me away. I visited this site on yesterday and found one, but when I went to the store last night I saw this one and wanted to try it. I used it this morning and it worked great on my hair, but that may be because I just had my hair blown out and styled last week. I only used it to fresh up my style. My daughter on the other hand, hair was washed last night and blow dried. It gave her hair a little bit of body, but it did not straighten in one stroke as it says. I also had a hard time getting it to curl at the ends. It took me about 1 hour because she has a lot of hair. By the time I dropped her off to school it was frizzy. The plates gets really hot.
I would recommend this to someone who already has straight hair as a freshner but for someone who hair is natural no.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KeyzRamirez
Location: Boston, MA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Dont stop Making It!
Date:October 24, 2009
Pros: shine, glides right through, lightweight, makes hair feel healthy, straightens hair excellent, gets nicely in the roots, easy to operate digital function
Cons: none so far
"I love this flat iron. It glides right through. Gave my hair a nice healthy look and shine! I bought the blowdryer, hair dryer and on my way to get the curling iron tomorrow. I love this brand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Purchase Ever
Date:August 22, 2009
Pros: tourmaline technology and auto shuff off feature.
Cons: none so far.
"I've had this flat iron for two weeks and it is truely amazing. I spent a lot of time researching flat irons that were ceramic with tourmaline technology and that had plates as large as 1 1/2 inch. Most importantly I wanted an iron that had the auto shut off safety feature. This ION model had it all. The digital feature makes it even easier to tell if you shut it off. I am one to rush out of the house in the morning and wonder if I turned off or unplugged my iron or flat iron. This is the second flat iron I have owned, the first one being a Conair 2 inch model which after a while, would leave my hair frizzy.
The ION model has a modern look to it and it glides easily on my long hair and leaves a flat silky finish. Call around, because not all locations have this in stock, but once I found it, that location had the 1 and 1 1/2 inch models. I didn't mind paying the $75 for it. They also had an ION 1 inch barrel curling iton on sale for less than half price so I purchased that as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Sad
Date:June 27, 2011
Pros: works very well, looks good
Cons: short life, expensive
"I loved this straightener so much, but the same thing happened to me as the previous review. I had the thing 4 months and it stopped working. I sent it back to the warehouse and they gave me a card with a refund, so I went and bought a second one. This one lasted about the same amount of time and now it too will not heat up. I'm not sure if its worth a third try, but i did love it while it worked. $80 is just too much to spend for something that stops working so quickly."
Review 15 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AngelllesMom
Location: Mahopac, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Purchase
Date:October 16, 2010
"I purchased this flat iron for my daughter in August of 2010. She has long, very curly hair. She loved it. It's light weight so her arms doesn't get tired. It gave her the pin straight look she wanted. Her hair is so shiny. She was the one who told me I had to get one for myself and I did in October. We are both happy with the product."
Review 16 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gina99
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Everything you need!
Date:September 12, 2010
"Bought this for my daughter who has very tight curls, it works great! One swipe and its straight and soft. Heats up super fast, less than 30 seconds and its ready to go. Easy to hold and use and has a long cord. I like that it also turns itself off, which I didnt realize until we got it."
Review 17 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshleyBaby
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Incredible Purchase
Date:April 18, 2010
Pros: stylish, fast, easy, digital, light-weight, conditioning
Cons: not a single con!
"I loved this hair straightner. I came home after being rained on and my hair got VERY curly, it then took 29.68 seconds for the straightener to go from being off to 450 degrees. it worked so quickly and so beautifully. I would recomend it to anyone and everyone who is looking for a great, fast, stylish, hair straightner!"
Review 18 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
starbuck
Location: Calgary, AB
A good purchase
Date:April 2, 2010
"I do not flat iron regularily but the babyliss cermaic iron I had before would catch and snag. I originally wanted to get a GVP but the girls in the store convinced me to get this one instead. If used properly you will have a great reasults. My hair is very fine and straight, and I use this mainly for curling. The curls are soft and hold all day, but I definitely need to apply plenty of styling creme/protectant on wet hair and blowdry first. (Ion flat iron creme is amazing!) If I try and curl on unwashed hair (using a bit of heat protectant spray) it does not curl well. It will also snag a bit if I grab too much hair, or if I don't have product in, but this is minimal.
Overall a great iron for my stubbornly fine and straight hair!"
Review 19 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curly2straight
Location: Marsyville, WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
amazing!
Date:March 6, 2010
Pros: very hot easy to hold
"i have very curly hair and i was in the market for a new straightener. i was actually considering having permanent straightening done, but i was scared away when a friend told me her sister went bald from it. so i bought this iron because the sales girl said it was the best one. i took it home and used it a couple times, and now my hair is actually permanently straightened. i dont know what happened, or if it is typical but i love it! i no longer have short, frizzy, curly hair, now i wake up with wavy hair and it takes 10 minutes to get it straight, opposed to the usual 20-30 minutes it used to take. LOVE IT!"
Review 20 for Ion One Stroke Perpetual Heat Ceramic Styling Iron
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Uniontown, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Wonderful!
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: fast heat, digital display, pretty color, one stroke
"My boyfriend bought me this straightener for Valentine's Day. I had to resort to this after going to Sally's and seeing that my favorite straightener had been discontinued. I have pretty thick and very long hair and this was the widest iron they had. They lady said they just got the iron in that day and it's the best they have. So I got it, also because it was the widest and I need a large straightener for the amount of hair I have. And I love it. It heats up soo fast and I love the digital display screen. The color is pretty too, it's very shimmery silver. It does a wonderful job of straightening. I thought the one stroke was a gimmick but I really only have to run over a piece of hair once! I was very skeptical but I am very glad I got this."
1 2 next>>