Product Reviews

Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights

Satin Strands Premium 18 Inch Human Hair Extensions are 100% human hair and are easy to manage and style.
Average Customer Rating:
3.574 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
9
38 of 61(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Review 1 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blueeyedbaby329
Location: The woodlands, Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Nappy Mess
Date:April 9, 2013
Pros: length
Cons: tangles, expensive, shedding, frizzy
"I am so upset that I can not get my money back on this hair. If I wouldn't have spent $100 on this I would just take it out. FIrst the package did not complete my full head, irritating especially for the price you pay. Second as other have reviewed the happy tangles and sheds, when I say nappy mess I mean that literally I am constantly brushing my hair. The description states easy to manage while I was added my extensions the hair became nappy (basically had a lot nots to where you're pulling head just to comb it out). Also I wrap my hair at night and in the morning I'm waking up just to comb it out just to get ready for the day, so not worth it. Also it is very hard to curl this hair. I'm really frustrated with this product I will say that I will no longer be buying hair extensions from Sally's"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jillll
Location: pa
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
Date:March 13, 2013
Cons: tangled, matting, poor quality
"This is the worst hair I have ever purchased. After one wash with special extention shampoo, the hair turns into a rough texture that is impossible to maintain. I need to brush my hair every 5 minutes because it keeps matting and tangling. People actually keep asking me why I keep touching my hair because I am constantly trying to untangle the knots. The hair also has a strange smell to it. There is NO WAY this is real human hair. The hair is also shedding everywhere. I have hair all over my house and office because it constantly falls out. Unfortunately these are braided in my head and now I need to get them taken out. I am out over 200.00 because of this POOR QUALITY. The worst part is the hair cannot be returned. My roomate purchased the hair at the same time and is having the same problem! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
christen
Location: Orlando, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Dissappointed
Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: better than sassy
Cons: poor quality, tangles
"Let me start off by saying that I LOVE the Satin Strands individual extensions. Also I have had extensions for YEARS and know how to take care of them.
This hair was so disappointing. I usually have individual extensions but I wanted to give my hair a break so I had them removed and bought these to have clips sewn in.
I used 100% sulphate free shampoo and conditioner and after 1 wash this turned into horse hair. The hair wefts are thin to begin with but they shed like crazy! The hair stays soft for one day then gets very rough and damaged looking. The individual extensions usually last 6+ months depends how fast my hair grows out. These will last like a week.
I have bought these before a few years ago and remember them being awesome. Now they cost $20-$30 more and the quality has gone way down.
I'm not sure what's up with these extensions but the quality is nothing compared to the individual extensions. It's like it's not even the same hair. These tangle so bad and turn into dreads. Even thought I do not sleep in them.
My suggestion is save up and get the individuals.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TripleA
Location: Norwalk, OH
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
getting worse and worse and worse
Date:August 9, 2012
Pros: really long, has a lot of colors, curls well
Cons: nappy, dry, breakage, loss of hair, to much money
"I first bought these December 2010 and used them till July 2011. They were great I loved them. back then they are also cheaper then what they run today. i bought another pack recently, they were to nappy to wear the 2nd week i got them! the price was almost $50 dollars more than what i payed for the first time. its like they are getting more expensive and less quality. i know how to take care of hair, thats not the issue. they are really starting to let me down. i'm going to try something new next time!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
XxXMXB
Lovetheseextensions
Date:April 29, 2012
"Everyone on here says the extensions are dry and tangled after the first wash. Mine feel like I just pulled them out of the package. And mind you, I''ve had them for over a year now, I wear them every day. If you take care of them they stay brand new feeling and looking. I only wash mine once week, and put a conditioning spray on them every few hours. These are the best extensions ive gotten. I've bought extensions from 5 other brands, and these are by far the best"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
candy123
question!
Posted May 1, 2012
How much did you pay for them? and did they tangle easily like everyone says?(:
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 6 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FazerWest
Location: Las Vegas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Hair extension veteran
Date:March 18, 2012
Pros: great value for your money, easy to maintain if your not a total tard, very good color matches, good thickness
Cons: doesnt come in fun colors like blue red hot pink
"For those of you who are disappointed with this hair, you can blame yourself for being inexperienced. I've been wearing human hair extensions for 9 years, and i've been through all types of hair, asian, russian, ukrainian, indian, and prices ranging from $50 extensions to $500, and these being at the lower end price range are GREAT extensions, even better than some $300 asian remy hair i've had. DO NOT use normal shampoo on hair extensions! no suave, no pantene pro-v walmart garbage, you need to use SULFATE FREE, and always use NON alcoholic hair products, hair extensions are not ment to be treated like your normal hair they arnt attached to your head and dont have protective oils and repairative features that your own hair has. Soooo if these turned to a mess after a week, its your fault you ruined the hair by treating it badly! i've made these extensions last 2+ years, and only replaced them due to thinning."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kelly413
Location: Monroe, MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
dissapointed
Date:December 13, 2011
Pros: color matched perfectly
Cons: tangle very easily, nappy, shed a lot
"When I first got these extensions, I loved them! They were so soft and natural looking. After the first time I washed them, they were a little dry, but still ok. I have had them bonded to my own hair for about 3 week and they are really looking bad..they are soooo dried out and tangle so much, you literally have to brush them every 10 minutes! They also do not hold curl in them at all! I am so sorry that i wasted 80 dollars on these! i also do not believe they are 100 percent human hair, you can smell plastic when you curl or straighten them! I am now looking into purchasing the euro remy clip in extensions! They also shed A LOT, and i do use a loop brush especially made for extension hair! Do not buy these, you will be dissapointed!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Abbecat
Location: Beloit, WI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Disgusting!
Date:October 27, 2011
Cons: tangle easily, can't brush through them after first wash, overpriced!!!!, shed constantly
"These are not worth the price! They tangle like CRAZY and shed constantly. I swear half of the hair came out the first time I ran a comb through them. I've purchased nicer hair for less. Even the Sassy extensions are better than these. The only nice thing about the Satin Strands is they have more strands that are the full 18 inches. I suppose they would be fine for clip ins, but if you're going to spend almost a hundred bucks, you might as well get the Euronext clip in extensions, which are actually well worth the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Lubbock, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
<333
Date:October 18, 2011
"I totally LOVED my hair extensions! I only wear them for certain events, but I leave them in! They have lasted me two years so far, they've become a little thin, but they still look fantastic to me! They add so much volume to my hair, and match my hair color PERFECTTTT! Recommend them to everyone!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
H2Trace
LOVE!
Date:September 11, 2011
Pros: price, quality, color, durability
"I first baught a pack of these in 2007, my hair is black and the extensions matched perfectly! The lady working told me they would last for only a while before I had to get new ones, I bought them anyways, and I have never been more happy about a Sally's sales assosiate being wrong. The extensions lasted me 4 years, and the only thing wrong with them is they are much thinner than before. I can still wear them, but I think it is time I got a new pair. I also bought blonde ones and dyed them diff colors to add more colors, and they are still in great condition as well even being dyed multiple times. Have and will continue to recommed these."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
phil
Location: newyork,NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
best hair ever
Date:August 24, 2011
Pros: great price, great quality
"go buy this hair now!! you will not regret it at all.i baught this hair in rio night it matched my hair perfect... no ones hair is just one solid color. everone has atleast 2 or three differnt colors. it will match perfectly. im half asian and black. i have fine strands and alot of hair. my hair is wavy. it last forever too! i put cilps on it take it out every night. wash it every month. i had this hair for since april and its now almost september!...you cant beat it!! im going to buy every color.!!!i just wish they made them curly..im waiting!! my hair last longer then my friends and she spent 199.99 per pack.go buy it now."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devynn
Location: Melbourne, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Buy
Date:July 21, 2011
Pros: good price, nice quality, easy, good for dying
Cons: shed, don't match
"For my birthday I decided that I really wanted longer hair, so I went for price and found these. These hair extentions are GREAT. I dye my hair quite often and they held up and kept quality very well, I learned to always buy blonde though as they're easier to dye and come out to a perfect shade for me. Don't go in looking for a complete match though, most likely you wont find one that matches perfect so buying blonde was a good idea and dye them to math your shade. All in all great product except after the amount of dying I did they became more coarse and shed alot. I'm going in soon to buy more though!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ajjsm
Very Dissapointed
Date:April 27, 2011
Pros: none
Cons: everything
"HORRIBLE! I am so dissapointed. They are dry & frizzy from the first wash. I put a treatment mask on them everytime I wash them & they still look frizzy & split."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lovelonghair
LOVE THEM!!!
Posted October 1, 2011
I love these extensions!!! They are the best investment ever! So silky and I have never washed them and they still look amazing! Great buy!!!
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 14 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jdielle
Location: Chicopee, MA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Waste of money
Date:April 24, 2011
Cons: very bad quality
"I bought these, and the person at the store said they were very good and that it was remi hair, so i was persuaded into buying them. However, the quality of the hair is HORRIBLE. it gets tangles and nappy every ten minutes, and you have to continually brush them. after the first wash, they got frizzy, wavy and damaged feeling. if you are willing to spend almost a hundred dollars, you should definitely get euronext extensions instead of these"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OCCHICKY
HORRIBLE!
Date:January 15, 2011
Pros: none!
Cons: everything!
"Worst I have ever used. Sally carries a cheaper brand which is better, although still not great. These shed uncontrollably and are ruined after one wash. I used SUPER low heat setting as directed and they were even further destroyed. They looked disgusting. Waste of money."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChristinaC
Location: Charleston, SC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best One I have Used so far
Date:December 25, 2010
Pros: blends in nicely, long-lasting
Cons: a little pricy
"I was really hoping that the price wasnt so high, but nonetheless, this is my best purchase ever!
Upon using the product, my hair blended perfectly with it, added instant volume and length to my hair. The only problem I had with the product is that it should have more hair with the pack.
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
smsx333
Location: Boston,MA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Buy
Date:November 19, 2010
Pros: length, healthy hair
Cons: sheds, thin
"This was a great buy, the hair is great but it does tend to shed a lot more than i thought it would. Feels really silky and natural. Looks healthy. But it is a bit thin, I have thicker hair, this is the first time i've used hair extensions so maybe i did it wrong but I have short hair so my top layers seem a lot heaver than my lower. If you have thick hair i recommend doubling on weaves so you may need to buy more than one pack. I also don't glue bond them in unless you have help haha i did it on my own and its not the best so next time i do it i'm gonna get someone to help. Overall though a lot better than spending $500+ at a salon."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
edukari
Location: san ysidro
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
dont waste your money
Date:September 21, 2010
"i put this extensions but after the first wash looks horrible i don't recommend this hair for any body."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
N4k3dasalimabean
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not so great
Date:September 10, 2010
Pros: matched perfectly
Cons: nappy, constantly tangled, expensive for quality
"Seeing these extensions in the store they seemed perfect. I had clip in extensions before these and they gave me bald spots, so I figured gluing them in would be perfect. The color matched perfectly, which surprised me. As soon as I opened these I immediately noticed the split and dead ends, which wasn't a big deal since I already planned on cutting them to match my hair. They were nice at first but they shed a lot, which is normal for the first few days. However, they continued to shed and got way too nappy. Even when I first put them in they seemed very staticy. So in my attempt to fix these problems I left in conditioner. Bad idea, this resulted in a few of them falling out and I had to take the rest out. This wouldn't have been a big deal if they didn't take my hair with them! :[
Anyways, I wouldn't recommend these unless you are willing to carry a comb and continuously brush the tangles out every 10 minutes. And even then I don't think they're worth the money. I WAS SO DISPLEASED WITH THESE EXTENSIONS I WROTE A LETTER TO THE COMPANY, BUT THE ADDRESS ON THE PACKAGE DOESN'T EVEN EXIST!!! A little odd, don't you think?
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Premium 18'' Human Hair Extensions Rio Nights
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
graciehart
Location: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not worth the price
Date:September 7, 2010
Pros: color match was good
Cons: tangle, only "silky" for about a week, shed
"These extensions claim that they are "tangle-free" which is the reason I bought them as I had previously bought the Sassy, Silky Straight extensions which got really tangled and matted within a couple of weeks. I used this set as clip-ins thinking they wouldn't get as tangled as quickly. I was wrong. I have only had them a couple of weeks and get tangley as soon as I wear them for about an hour. They are not worth the price at all! Spend your money on a quality set of extensions. I am doing research but I think its definitely worth it to get a remy product. These are sufficient for one night and that's about it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>