Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GVP Silk Remedy

GVP SILK REMEDY
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
31 of 35(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GVP Silk Remedy
Review 1 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evee
Location: Los Angeles,C.A.
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LIQUID GOLD!
Date:June 29, 2013
Pros: get rid of frizz, smells soo good, inexpensive, last forever, gives hair a healthy look
Cons: none
"Love this product! i have curly hair which tends to get frizzy,this product totally take care of that! leaves my hair silky and smelling soo good.A little goes a long way.Been using this product for years cant go with out it..Too much could make your hair greasy!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NaturallyBeautiful
Location: Lexington, SC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Date:February 20, 2013
"I have natural hair and I like to have a permed look so I straighten my hair often. This product allows me wear my hair curled or straight with NO Frizz. A little goes a long way with this product and I have a lot of hair so that is a plus for me. If you use to much it will make your hair greasy, but that goes for most products. I Love Love Love this product.
signed,
Natural Black and Beautiful!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christygale
Location: New Mexico
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
great product
Date:April 16, 2012
Pros: leaves hair silky, leaves hair manageable, leaves hair shiny & soft
Cons: none
"I love this stuff and always have this on hand and have a back up bottle. This is just as good as the more expensive brands without paying more. Love it, love it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
quintessentially
Location: MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Not Like CHI
Date:April 7, 2012
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: left hair looking oily, does not compare to the chi brand
"I was hoping this product would be "just like CHI Silk Infusion," but it is not. I used the same amount as I do with the CHI brand and it made my hair look like an oil slick. The smell was not the same, either. It smelled like plastic to me. I love the CHI but it has been hard to find lately and is very expensive. I gave this generic a fair rating because it might be okay if I had used less product or for use on a different texture of hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bertie
Location: NY
Soft hair!
Date:December 1, 2011
Pros: great for the money, leaves hair super soft if used sparingly.
"It is very greasy but I knew the moment I felt it that I needed to use a very small amount. Great for the money though. I always find that products like these leave my hair a little greasy though unless I blow dry it out. I only use these serum like products on the ends of my hair so I just have to be careful not to use too much. It will leave build up if used often, but that's why I use a good clarifying shampoo, like the one from Ion, every couple of days. I do recommend this. Just use sparingly!!!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Katayoun
Location: Encino, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
So so!
Date:November 8, 2011
Cons: way too greasy
"This product feels and looks really greasy. I have a lot of hair and I used less than a dime size but I could not wait to wash my hair as it felt way too dirty. I do not recommend this to people with normal hair texture. It is a true duplicate of CHI's product but I think both this and CHI's leave a bad build up that could be damaging to the hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skm0591
Great stuff!!
Date:June 23, 2011
"I went to Sally Beauty to see if they carried the CHI Silk Infusion and was told they had a generic version.
Bought some at a fraction of the cost, and renewed my card so saved even more!
Got a $5 coupon for renewing my membership, went back and bought 2 more bottles ot it. Got two botlles for about half what I would've paid for just 1 six oz. bottle of the CHI stuff.
I will never use CHI products again, this is just as good, has the very same ingredients and costs a fraction of the cost of CHI.
Love the way it makes my hair feel so soft and silky!
Try it, you'll love it. Just don't use too much!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
QueenLoLo
Baton Rouge, La.
Mom & Daughter Tested!
Posted April 14, 2012
Life for Dry Hair!!! Awesome product for dry scalp, coarse, perm, color treated hair! It's our favorite! A little goes a long way :)
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 8 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gokgurl831
Location: columbus,ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
AMAZING
Date:March 7, 2011
Pros: cheap, gives it shine, smells great
Cons: why does it not come in a trigger bottle
"this stuff really works and it's almost half the price of the name brand. A lil goes a long way. I wonder can you put this is another bottle with a nozzle and will it come out though. would be a lil easier"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennmsing
Location: Suffolk, Virginia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
As good as the reviews says it is!
Date:February 12, 2011
Pros: a little goes a long way.
"After reading all of the reviews on the Silk Remedy I decided to give it a try. The best part was that it was on sale for $5 when I purchased it. I use a dime size after washing and then blow dry. I have relaxed hair. Once blow dryed I then use about a nickel size in the rest of my hair and then flat iron. My hair comes out so moisturized and silky. I am impressed. I even went to buy another bottle while it was on sale. This is what everyone says it is and I thank you all!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Josette03
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great 1st try...
Date:January 23, 2011
"Did a big no-no with my hair and learned my lesson (maybe), I fried it :P. Anyway, read up on what to do to 'help' my hair and this product came up several times, along with a few other products, so I decided to try it. The end result....Love it, I use it AFTER flat ironing because I was told by a stylist if I were to use it before the ironing it would be like I'm cooking it in oil....SO Imagine sunbathing with baby oil, you just wouldnt do it, right? Definitely leaves it silky tho, no wonder its called Silk Remedy..lol, and it has a nice scent as well and a little goes a long way!
By the way, the other products the stylist said to use for fried hair were Joico Kpak Deep Penetrating Reconstructor once a week along with the shampoo and Redken's AntiSnap..a daily leave in treatment to help prevent breakage. Then after a month or two of using the Joico products, alternate to Redken's All Soft line, then go back to the previous product.....it helps keep your hair from getting use to just one thing, kinda like waking it up in a sense or keepin it on its toes...if hair had toes lol, anyway hoped this helped other do it yourself-ers!! And it does payoff to spend the extra money for salon products to get good hair care.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mswire
I Love it!
Date:September 27, 2010
Pros: not heavy if used sparingly, more affordable than the name brand alternative.
"I'm a Black woman that has natural hair (nearly 8 years).
I wear Afros & twist-outs mostly. I've tried flat-ironing before, but my style would not last longer than a day. I can honestly say that this product, used sparingly, is great on my hair.
My regimen:
*Wash & deep condition
*Blow dry with comb attachment & Tresseme's Heat Tamer Spray until dry.
*Quarter-sized drop of GVP Silk Remedy & make sure the product is massaged from root to end.
*Flat-iron (GVP flat iron) & style.
Note: My shoulder length hair is thick & coarse. I did not achieve the bone straight look that is most popular now, my hair does have full body & moves very well, which is what I prefer. I imagine more passes with the flat-iron would further straighten my hair, but it is not a look that is flattering to me.
This product gives my hair the proper amount of shine & finish and is not heavy.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missy22
Location: Chicago, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great for Blow-drying!
Date:June 15, 2010
Pros: great blow-drying serum, adds shine, a little goes a long way
"I used this to wrap hair and to blow dry, it works better on damp hair before you blow dry. It really silkens the hair and adds shine!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsNatural
Location: Tampa, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Silky and Lovely
Date:April 7, 2010
Pros: only a small amount is needed, great value, keeps natural hair straight, cuts down on styling time
"I love the GVP Silk Remedy! I am African American with all natural hair. No chemical process since 2001. I just recently started using Silk and am constantly getting compliments on my hair. People are constantly asking if I have gotten my hair relaxed. I live in Florida, land of humidity and have no problems with frizz or reversion.
This product is a mainstay!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nicole1
Location: houston, tx
Great Substitute
Date:April 7, 2010
Pros: smells great. last a long time.
"Great product. I use it after I wash my hair. Also great to add just a tiny drop before i spiral curl it with my flat iron. Glides right through the iron without pulling."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaBellaVita04
Location: Coral springs, FL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Super Product!!
Date:February 20, 2010
"I don't know what took me so long to buy this! I am glad I finally did. I've tried other brands of hair serums IC Fantasia, Organic Root Stimulator, Frizz-Eaze, BioInfusion.. just because they were cheap and I wasn't about to spend X amount of $ on CHI for that tiny bottle! This GVP Silk Remedy is perfect. I put it on my hair right after I conditioned it. My hair melted like butter and I had so much slip to it. I blow dried it and flat ironed it and I was AMAZED!! My hair was smooth shiney NOT GREASY and had so much bounce and life to it. I will buy this product as long as they make. Wish it didn't smell as "perfumy" and the size was larger maybe 10oz for the same price would be a great value???"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kygurl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
great buy
Date:February 9, 2010
"This is just as good as Chi. It leaves my hair smooth and shiny and smells exactly the same."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SecretSweets
Location: Mobile
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I Love This Product
Date:December 26, 2009
"It's Just like the Real thing to me
Awesome Stuff I Love it
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
yessie77
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
So-So product
Date:November 3, 2009
Pros: good for rollers set only., .
Cons: not for flat ironing., too heavy.
"I bought this because of its great reviews here. But belive, this is not so good. When I first bought it I put a dime size on my hair and it felt like it didn't run well all over my hair, It did give it shine, but what I didn't like was the feel, the texture it made my hair have. Kind of like honey put in my hair. And after a couple of days my hair was greasy, but the kind of greasy that dosen't shine, its like dirty looking. I have loose curly hair, I straighten with my flat iron, and this is not a good combination for flat iron users!!! If you flat iron, I don't recomend this, it will make your hair look heavy, a little greasy too. This product is more for people who use rollers, I used it when I did rollers to my hair and it looked so pretty! so defined and shiny! But ONLY in this case of rollers, not for flat ironing,I think it's too thick for straight hair, I would recomend for flat ironing some Liquid gloss mist, because it is more light for the straight style, I am using fantasia the one with the aloe plant on the bottle, in liquid gloss, it works way better than this thick, serum."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RKat
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great for dry hair.
Date:October 12, 2009
Pros: reduces frizz, hydrates dry hair, leaves hair feeling silky, great heat protectant, much cheaper than the chi alternative
Cons: can make hair greasy if too much is used
"I've never tried the Chi counterpart, but I love this product. I have pretty dry hair and have found that this product leaves my hair super silky, shiny, and healthy. However, if you use too much, it can temporarily leave your hair feeling greasy, but the few times I've done this, it usually dries out in 20 minutes or so.
My advice to future buyers is to use as little as possible until you find the perfect amount for your hair length, texture, and thickness. I have long hair and a lot of it and I use about a dime-sized amount and only apply it to the ends of my hair. I avoid using it on my bangs or near my roots. I use it before blow-drying when my hair is damp (not wet) and it's a great heat protectant.
I also use it when my hair is dry before I curl it. I use the GVP ceramic flat iron (Generic version of the Chi) to curl my hair and when I use this product, it keeps the hair from snagging and helps to create shiny curls.
I've heard some people are put off by the smell, but I think it smells great. Similar to cologne, but less musky. Regardless, once your hair is styled, the smell goes away after a while."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GVP Silk Remedy
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dracobabe88
Location: El Mirage, AZ
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not as good as the chi Silk Infusion, but it works
Date:October 6, 2009
Pros: cuts down on blowdrying time, smells wonderous, light weight/ doesn't weigh down hair, large quanity for a low price
Cons: can be a little sticky, chi worked better
"I was running low on my chi silk infusion. So i decided to get this product because it seemed way more economical than spending 20+ on a small bottle of Chi infusion. When I tried it for the first time I was only mildly satisfied. Even with a dime sized amount used, my hair felt just a little sicky( like i rubbed honey in my hair.)The Silk Remedy smells almost exactly like the chi. Both the chi and the silk remedy gave my hair shine while not wieghing it down. They made my hair so silky! But in my opinion the CHI worked FAR BETTER!!!!!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>