Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9

GVP CONCEN LEAVE IN/ SEB POTION 9
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
23 of 29(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Review 1 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JessFL
Location: Orlando, FL
no no NO
Date:August 3, 2012
Pros: none
Cons: dry hair, does not repair hair, not a good substute for the original
"This is nothing like the real Sebastian Potion 9. I read a couple of good reviews, but this did not hold up to them. I have thick curly hair and thought this product would be a better substitute than paying for the real sebastian potion 9.
DONT WASTE YOUR TIME.
The consistency is thinner and it feels like youre putting gel in your hair. I wake up after I leave this in overnight and my hair is VERY dry. I kept thinking it was my conditioner choice, but once I eliminated this product my hair is soft and manageable.
Please if you have curly/thick or dry hair take this review into high consideration, before reading the other reviews, or better yet just read all the negative reviews first.
Go for the real Sebastian products not this dupe."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Roobert
Location: Corona, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not bad...
Date:September 28, 2011
Pros: good value, smells nice
Cons: not as good as potion 9, not as good controlling frizzies, consistency a little thin
"I was running out of my Sebastian Potion 9, and since I was purchasing other stuff from this site, I decided to give this generic version a try. It's really not as good as the original Potion 9, but it's not terrible either. Potion 9 is a lot thicker consistency, this product is a little "runnier". It does smell nice, and does an adequate job of controlling my naturally frizz-prone hair when I let it air dry. If I use a blow dryer, however, the frizz control is not as good as Potion 9. This product also does not make my hair feel as soft and silky as Potion 9, but it's close. For the price, it's a fair deal. But you DO get what you pay for..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tabre
Location: Illinois
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Wow, this is great
Date:September 22, 2011
Pros: detangles, conditions, decent price, tames splits, reduces breakage, softens, defines curls, smell, concentration
"I was skeptical due to various products failing my expectations despite great reviews they were given and I was willing to put to the test. But this product has decent reviews and works wonders. I like it a lot, it conditions without any greasiness or stickiness. And it smells quite alright."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MilwaukeeItalianMama
Location: Milwaukee WI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Better then I could've imagined
Date:October 5, 2010
Pros: shiny hair, helps detangle, reasonable price, defined curls, soft hair
Cons: would be perfect in a larger size
"I love this product. I dare say that for me personally, it works better then Potion 9 and at a much better price. I have curly hair to my waist and it makes my hair so soft and shiny.
I am amazed that it gives me the beautiful shiny curls that I got with potion 9, with a slightly less sticky formula. It helps detangle my hair when i don't have time to shampoo and in between hair washing's better then potion 9 did. I am even finding it easier to comb through my hair when I shampoo since I started using it.
If you like potion 9, but like me can't afford the cost, don't hesitate to try this product. Everyone's hair is different, but I know that my hair loves it. Now that I have found this product, I will never be without it unless it is discontinued.
The one thing that would make it even better would be a larger size, I would definitely purchase it in larger bottles."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mrpanos23
Location: New York, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not great for mens hair
Date:September 11, 2010
Pros: price
Cons: not as good as potion 9
"I usually use potion 9, but decided to try this product because it was much cheaper than Sebastian Potion 9. I can see how this might be a good product for women's hair, but it is not strong enough to hold men's hair in place for very long. I found myself having to reapply the product at my office after lunchtime. I return my product and quickly purchased Potion 9. You get what you pay for."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CurlyJules
Location: Moline, IL
Works well for Curls
Date:June 16, 2010
Pros: non sticky, very moisturizing
"I love using this product before I use gel in my very curly hair. The actual Potion 9 has a better smell, but this one doesn't smell bad. Not sticky- which is a must for scrunching."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CityGirl81
Location: Chicago, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
A keeper for this 4A/B natural!!
Date:May 27, 2010
Pros: price, smell, consistency
Cons: none
"I tried this just for the sake of trying it because I was using regular conditioner as a leave in, but I had too much moisture and it was shedding a lot. I used this as my leave in and the shedding ceased within days. This product is VERY concentrated which is CLEARLY stated on the packaging. A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY! I always apply this on damp hair, comb it through and seal with Elasta QP Mango/Olive Oil butter. Winning combination! My hair has responded great to the regimen and I will keep it this way for a long time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evelyn
Location: WI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love IT!!!
Date:April 13, 2010
Pros: soft hold for curly hair
"I have been using this product for about a year. I have coarse tight curly hair and this makes my hair soft, while still giving a light hold. It is the ultimate replacement for mousse even on humid days."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RunningStylist
Location: Iowa
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Awesome!
Date:January 29, 2010
"I was a little leary at first to test this out on my clients, so I tested it out on myself. It is amazing! My hair felt conditioned, very soft and shiny! (Usually my ends are very dry and brittle). I started using it on clients and everyone comments on what a great product it is. Great to use after highlights!! Or if the hair just needs a quick 'pick me up'."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunnyskies
Location: Warren, Ohio
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I love this product
Date:January 26, 2010
Pros: smells great!, not greasy
"I blow dry and straighten my hair regularly, and I needed some protection for my hair. I apply this product everytime I wash my hair and it smells great! It doesnt leave your hair feeling or looking greasy, and i definately recommend it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrettyGirl
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Loving it so far
Date:July 29, 2009
"i have tight curls and wear my hair in a curly Afro. This product really defines my curls and it leaves my hair a lot softer than gel does. I found that if I separate my hair into four braids (wetting my hair using a spray bottle (filled with spring water, oil, and tea-tree oil leave-in conditioner) and putting this product on) at night, when I wake up in the morning and let the braids out, I have the most beautiful tamed curly Afro! I put a little bit of the product on the front edges, and put on a small head band, fluff my hair with my hands and go! Perfect! No complaints so far!
Ps... this isn't watery! That's why it's perfect. I know that me and a lot of other Black girls with curls have an issue finding a leave-in conditioner that's not watery or a lotion. This conditioner kinda grabs onto the hair and does some magic that really defines the curls, rather than having a frizzy mess."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mariam
Silky Healthy Hair!
Date:July 27, 2009
Pros: healthy ingredients, feels great in hair
"I love this stuff!!! The ingredients are really natural, and the formula is jsut perfect texture and goes in your hair perfectly. You can't over do it with this stuff. This stuff id a must for damaged hair!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RiOtGrrL
Location: 818
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
GVP Leave-In Treatment
Date:June 30, 2009
Pros: smells good, price
Cons: too heavy
"I was shocked that my experience with this product was bad, when many others liked it. It made my hair really crunchy... like I put gel in it... I don't think I will buy this again."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shopoholic
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I LOVE this stuff!!!
Date:June 22, 2009
Pros: adds volume, makes hair shiny, makes hair thicker, smells good
"I apply this to my hair and then blow dry it and it really gives it some volume and makes it shiny and thicker. I will always use this, I'm hooked on it now and I think it's a really unique product for a great price."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skandra
Location: Montery, Ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Awsome!
Date:April 8, 2009
"The moment I tried this, I loved it! It leaves my hair so soft and lighweight, that I don't even have to comb it!
The best part, the price!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leylee84
Location: Seattle
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great product for the price
Date:March 25, 2009
"I have long hair, which I have dyed and stripped color and dyed some more, and I like to call it "bipolar" since it's a mix of my dad's wavy frizzy poofy Einstein hair and my mom's limp stick straight can't hold a curl hair. So basically my hair is mostly straight with a ton of frizzy wannabe curls sticking out all over the place. This stuff smoothed my hair out so nicely! I think it's actually repaired some of the damage I've done to it as well, since for the first time since before I bought it I shampooed and didn't condition... and my hair is still soft and shiny! First time ever! I've been using it after every shower, and I still have a ton left 6 months later. The thing is, only use a little. If you use too much, you can feel it on your hair and it can make it a bit crunchy and grippy. I think this is why some people have had problems with it. I have fairly long hair, and I use about as much of this conditioner as I do toothpaste, if even that much. It also helps control the "Alfalfa" hairs I have around my face, which stick out and then into my eyes most of the time. Now they stay mostly where they should be. It's not the best leave-in conditioner I've ever used, but it's the best I've found for such a low price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
style4me
Location: York, Nebraska
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Ever!!!!!
Date:March 23, 2009
"I really enjoy this product it really helps my hair alot, and smells great too!!! I use it all the time and when I run out, I run out to get more! Wouldn't go without it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cotton
Location: chicago,il
Date:March 4, 2009
"I had high hopes for this product but I found that it isn't that special. i have dry hair from a perm gone wrong and if i used it on wet hair, it really didnt feel like it did a whole lot other than make it smell nice. Dry hair was worse even if i used the smallest amount it felt sticky and kinda gross."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
papaya91
Location: Orange County, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not the best
Date:February 8, 2009
"This product actually made my hair really brittle and fragile, which led to more breakage..so now, the little flyaways that I had hoped this product would decreases, actually instead increased. This product didnt work for me, so I wouldnt recommend it..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GVP Leave-In Treatment: Compare to Sebastian Potion 9
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
driggsy
Location: slc, utah
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
great product!!!
Date:December 15, 2008
"I love this! It makes my hair feel great, look great and smell great! I highly recommend it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>