Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak

GVP RECONSTRUCT COND/ JOICO K PAK
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
42 of 46(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Review 21 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
frazzledhairgirl
Location: kansas city, ks
Date:September 12, 2010
"This is one of the many conditioners I've tried recently to repair my fried hair. I must say, it was pretty disappointing, especially after reading all the excellent reviews. It didn't give any slip to my hair whatsoever, my hair felt tangled and rough when I rinsed it out. And I used a pretty good amount in my hair, tucked it under a shower cap for 15 minutes, and let it set it. When I tried to comb my hair, it kept catching on the comb and it was difficult to detangle, I was afraid that I was going to break off a bunch of my hair trying to comb it. I didn't even attempt to blow dry because I was so nervous at how fragile my hair felt. When it finally air dried, my hair was a mess: no shine at all, frizzy, dehydrated, dull, rough, tangly... It was like I used an anti-conditioner in it. I had better conditioning the day before from a cheap drugstore conditioner for normal hair! I didn't want to return the product because I had used a good portion to coat my hair, so I just tossed it. I'm sorry to say that It was a waste of money for me."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NativePhotoGirl
Norman, Oklahoma
Posted January 7, 2012
The reason your hair didn't have any slip, is because this isn't your traditional conditioner. It's a reconstructor. It's meant to add protein to your hair. If you don't use a moisturizing conditioner after you rinse the constructor out, your hair will feel tangly and dry.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 22 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alli
Location: Georgia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
this is an awesome product
Date:September 11, 2010
"i have to use this 2 times a week. if i don't, my hair starts tearing and shedding and breaking ALOT. it's the only thing i've found that helps."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JC39
Location: Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
GREAT PRODUCT, GREAT PRICE
Date:June 10, 2010
Pros: price, effectiveness, scent, thickness, does not weight the hair down
"I used this product for two months before writing this review. I had almost given up on my hair - my hair had lost its silkiness and became coarse over time. I color my grey hair and use a flat iron. The combination changed the texture quickly. Luckily, I saw this product and decided to purchase it after reading the reviews. This product revived my hair with the first application. It still works great! There isn't anything I would change about it!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Merced, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it!!
Date:May 26, 2010
"I have floor lenght hair and this stuff make my hair feel moist and not frizzy. I love the softness and shine it give me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bigtrout
Location: VT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Nothing special
Date:May 24, 2010
"I read all the stellar reviews on here and thought for sure this would be fabulous, but I've used it for weeks and found it to be not very conditioning and did not improve my hair at all. As a matter of fact my hair still feels dry after using it. It's so light it's hardly like I've conditioned. I would not repurchase, nor would I recommend this product to others."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texaschick
Location: Houston, Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love this stuff!
Date:April 24, 2010
Pros: smells great!
Cons: wish the bottle was a little bigger
"I have never used Joico K-Pak as it is out of my price range so I can not compare this product to it. However, I can say this product worked wonders on my hair after the very first use.
I have dry,somewhat thick, wavy hair that is prone to frizz since I live in a humid climate. This stuff took care of that and makes my hair silky, soft, very manageable and smooth as glass.
Follow with a cool water rinse and it will be very shiny also.
I use this product once a week."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hairmom
Location: hammond,IN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
It Worked!
Date:January 31, 2010
Pros: works on the first use
Cons: none at all
"My 14yr old daughter who I've always received compliments on how well I take care of her hair started breaking I got very concerned! I did a lot of research and came across this product. I used it today and it worked!! I had just removed kinky twists(braids)from her hair and it was a tangled mess. I used this stuff and OMG her hair didnt shed thru out the rest of the styling process. It was soooo bouncy and soft. I will continue to use this product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Motherof4
Awesome!!
Date:January 10, 2010
Pros: everything!
"I am 48 years old with 4 kids, and after having children my hair was just so brittle and dry all the time. I have tried soooo many conditioners and none have worked nearly as well as this one. The very first time I used it my hair was silky smooth and looking better that it has since before I had my children. Great product. I will be ordering this forever!!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
supertink
Location: WA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Wow, I love this stuff!
Date:December 4, 2009
Pros: works like a charm, way less expensive than joico
Cons: could be thicker
"I color my hair, anywhere from blonde to dark brown. My hair is naturally level 5, fine, thin, and straight.
Needless to say it can get pretty damaged from styling, drying, and chemical processing. I use this, though, and my hair is soft, smooth, and silky.
I use this on clean damp hair and sit under my soft bonnet dryer for 20-30 minutes. Afterwards I wash and condition as usual. It makes my hair soft and silky smooth.
It's not very thick, but it works great. I love the subtle coconut smell. All in all, great product for a great price!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichelleLHC
Location: Indiana
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
In love!
Date:December 4, 2009
Pros: repairs severe damage, gives excellent slip, smells great!
Cons: none!
"I am IN LOVE! I totally -fried- my hair recently. And when I say -fried- I mean mushy sticky fried. First, I did a jojoba hot oil treatment, followed by the k-pak. When it dried, I added a bit of coconut oil... OMG! My hair is like I never ruined it. I am stocking up on this stuff. Best product I've ever used!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zealander
Location: San Antonio, TX
AWESOME!
Date:October 7, 2009
Pros: cheap, totally delivers
Cons: not a one
"I have been using this for only a week and it has completely brought my hair back from the dead. I was right on the verge of chopping my hair off because it was totally fried from the sun, swimming and then at home hair coloring. As a last resort, I got online and found rave reviews for Joico's K-PAK. Since that is way out of my price range, I decided to give the GVP version a go, and am SO glad I did. It is as if my hair has taken a ride in a time machine, before it suffered through all the damage I have put it through. I do use it in conjunction with the GVP Silk Therapy (Biosilk generic), so I am sure that is helping with my success. I highly recommend giving this a try - it is so cheap, it is barely more than I was paying for grocery store conditioner and it delivers the exact results it promises."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
My favorite!
Date:September 18, 2009
Pros: seals cuticle making hair strong. love the scent., long lasting
"leaves hair feeling smooth, shiny, and deep conditioned without weighing it down. It has a subtle coconut scent which is not overbearing.It is a small bottle but you do not need to use a lot. I have tons of hair and I have using the same bottle for 10 months. I will be using this forever."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eli
Location: Bronx, NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
LOVE IT!!!!
Date:September 12, 2009
"This product is the best. It left my hair sooooo soft."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CurlyGirlIL
Location: Southern IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Wonderful Product!
Date:August 26, 2009
Pros: shine enhancer, frizz control, defines curls, repairs damage/dryness
Cons: none
"Wow! What a great product! After doing much research online and talking with my stylist, I decided my thick, curly, dry, frizzy hair was lacking something. For months I thought I should stay away from products containing protein due to my hair's texture. And, during this time, my hair was getting drier and frizzier. Well, come to find out, I have fine hair, just a lot of it. This product was highly recommended on naturallycurly.com so I thought I'd give it a try. After using it just one time, my curls were bouncy, shiny and defined. This product is now a staple in my routine. It is the exact dupe for the Joico K-Pak (so don't waste your money on Joico, buy this product)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mousey
Location: ontario canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
the best for protien pak for hair
Date:June 5, 2009
"I have used k pak for years. Then I went to Sallys, seen this product ,is the same thing. I always use GVP hair reconstructor now. If you have, damaged hair ,split ends ,or stressed out on everday stresses , it stresses your hair ,when you are stressed, use this product, it saved my hair .I use this once ,sometimes 2 times a month. My hairdresser said " keep it up, Ive never seen your hair so healthy.""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CheyennePrincess85
Location: whittier,ca
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Love it
Date:June 5, 2009
Pros: really a magic potion for hair
Cons: absolutely nothing
"I have been using Joico K-Pak for years. Unfortunately the price has more then doubled in the past 3 years, so I needed a replacement product. I have walked by this product several times over the past 3 years while shopping at my local Sally store. I was curious. I opened the bottle and smelled it and it smelled almost the same then I felt the consistency of the GVP version and it was a lot thinner then Joico, But i tried it anyways. To my surprise it worked just the same in my hair. I love it! I use this once a week on towel dried hair and leave it in for an hour. This stuff works magic!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HairPro
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent Reconstructing Conditioner
Date:April 24, 2009
Pros: price, improved hair condition, works immediately, great coverage
Cons: wish it came in bigger bottle
"I have never tried K-Pak, so I cannot truthfully compare it to the original, but I can say that this is an excellent reconstructor. I have long, relaxed, thick hair and this does wonders for it. It makes my hair soft and I could instantly tell that the condition of my hair had improved. It provides great slippage, even in my thick hair, and my hair just drinks it up. Good value for the quality of this product. Don't hesitate to give it a try."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chelsy
Location: Granite city, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
much love
Date:April 6, 2009
Pros: great smell, leaves hair soft
Cons: leaves hands sticky
"I constintly fry my hair and I needed something that would help bring it back and I love leave in conditioners, I love this product"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsBayThang09
LOVE LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!
Date:March 17, 2009
"This product left my hair very very soft and nice. I love it! I highly reccomend it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CurlieGurlie
Location: Down South
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My Hair Loves it!
Date:March 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, no heat
"I have naturally curly highlighted hair, so it can get pretty dried out. I initially bought the Joico K-Pak, but when I heard Sally's had a generic version, I promptly took it back. I can always tell when I have used this because my curls are brought alive and are more defined. What I like best is it's so simple to use. I just use it in place of my regular conditioner once or twice a week. I comb it through, leave it on for 5 minutes and then rinse. There is no heat and no waiting 20-30 minutes like most other deep treatments. Love it!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>