Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak

GVP RECONSTRUCT COND/ JOICO K PAK
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
42 of 47(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Review 1 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Spooki
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not as good as Joico
Date:November 13, 2014
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: left hair feeling dirty
"I figured this product would work exactly the same as the Joico Deep Penetrating Reconstructor but it doesn't even come close. While the ingredient comparison on the GVP bottle shows identical ingredients between the two product, my Joico bottle shows a slightly different ingredient list. The Joico product leaves my hair soft and clean feeling but this GVP stuff left me with gross feeling hair. My hair looked really dirty even though I rinsed it well.
I was hoping this would be a great money saver for me but I guess not."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kgray6349
Location: Dallas, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Love it!
Date:March 4, 2014
Pros: smells amazing, leaves hair soft, leaves hair strong, great alternative to the expensive salon brand
"I purchased this in lieu of the more expensive Joico K-pak as a replacement for my current re-constructor because I was running low and wanted to try something different. I used this as my protein treatment following relaxer application and rinse and before neutralizing and my hair felt both soft and strong. I plan to give this another try tonight just to see how my hair fares with regular use. I followed up with the GVP Conditioning Balm."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ecdub
Just as good as the name brand
Date:January 24, 2014
"I absolutely love this. I wouldn't recommend using it too often as too much protein in your hair is not a good thing. I used gvp biolage shampoo then applied the restoration conditioner and followed up with gvp biolage deep conditioning balm and my hair feels and looks amazing. I have color treated naturally dry and frizzy hair and hard water which is not good for hair. This product let my hair feeling years younger. I couldn't be happier."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WintersAngel
Location: Tx
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Ermahgursh!! :D
Date:November 27, 2012
Pros: not a strong smell (smells of coconuts), hair feels strong, hair is soft and silky!, rebuilds protein w/o major drying, great value!
Cons: smells like coconuts :p, you'll wanna use it all the time!, can be damaging if used too often;careful
"Was not expecting much from this to be honest. I've used it 3 times. The first time I felt it did nothing...second time was meh, but the third time I used it it was amazing! My hair felt strong, looked stronger and also was left soft (unusual for a protein treatment) I was quite impressed, Highly recommend it to anyone who bleaches/dyes/or heat styles their hair a ton. This will rebuild the integrity of the hair and give it strength. I recommend using a deep conditioner along with this so that you put the moisture back into the hair. So so good. :) GET IT!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nefateri
Location: Hampton VA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Best Purchase Ever
Date:July 2, 2012
Pros: price and quality
"I hair has been dry, damaged, and brittle since forever. I've spent a lot of money looking for products that not only lived up to its cllaims but also lived up to my expectations. Sadly, I've been disappointed on both counts. I'd finally accepted the fact that I'd have to have about 3 inches of hair cut off. I purchased this last week by chance because of the price and because it said that it's comparable to Joico K-Pak. Well, let me tell you. I've used it only once and was amazed. Follow up with a deep conditioner though. I have 4a/b AA hair. BUY IT YOU'LL LIKE IT!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YouTuber
Location: Virginia
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I love it
Date:May 31, 2012
"Heard so many mixed reviews about this particular product. I have always loved the Generic line and the results were right on so I decided to give this a try myself and I'm glad that I did!! I am relaxer free and my hair is bleached. Initially I used this product twice a month for about a month to strengthen my hair and stop shedding. Now I use it monthly (especially after I bleach my hair). I make sure that I follow up with a moisturizing conditioner (I use Generic Humectress). It does smell like bananas, but that's refreshing for me. I have noticed a huge difference. My hair is so strong now. This is a miracle product. I absolutely love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AlohaBeauty16
Doesn't Work Instantly...
Date:May 26, 2012
"I have been using this product once a week followed by a deep conditioner. I have not found that it has made any real difference in my hair. However, after about a month of using it I have noticed a *very* slight improvement. I guess my hair is beyond damaged and I need to work on using less proteins."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1gr8chic
Location: Surf City, NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works great!
Date:May 8, 2012
Pros: works great, smells nice, good price
Cons: none
"I used Joico K-Pak a few years ago and really liked it. But... due to the price I stopped using it. I came across this while on the Sally's website and after reading all the good reviews decided to give it a shot because I was fixing to use a color remover on my dark red brown hair, as I was attempting to go back blonde. I had read lots of reivews on the color remover and thought that it may dry my hair out even though the product claims to be non-drying & non-damaging. I am so glad I came across this product and decided to give it a shot. I used this on my hair after I removed the color, I left it on my hair for about 10 minutes, then followed it up with the GVP version of Biolage Conditioning Balm. Both of these products work just like the name brands. I can't say enough good things about these products. My hair is very soft and looks great! Just know that this product is meant to be followed up with a good condtitioner, if you don't do that, you may not get the results you are looking for. I use this once every other week."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GW5280
Location: Denver, CO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Fantastic!
Date:May 1, 2012
"I have thick,dry, curly hair that was damaged by coloring and heat styling and I was getting a lot of breakage. After 2 treatments with this, I have minimal breakage and my hair is softer and less frizzy. I am so glad I found this- it is affordable and works great!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dresden
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Amazing!
Date:April 15, 2012
"I purchased this product after reading some reviews. I was shocked at how well it works! I left it on my hair for 5 minutes then followed with a deep conditioner for 10 minutes and my bleached, dry, damaged hair feels so soft and silky! I never would believe it was damaged at all! I definitely will continue to purchase."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShoppinginHeels
LOVE this products
Date:March 7, 2012
"I tried this product because it was reccommended by a beauty blog I watch and I ended up loving it! This product is just as good as the joico kpak treatment but better because of the low price. I bought 3 bottles they were on sale buy 2 get one free."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CurlyShay
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Saved My Hair
Date:December 5, 2011
Pros: price....very effective- this stuff works
Cons: none
"I have 3c African American hair. My hair was shedding like crazy and I really thought I was going to be left with just a few strands atop my head. Just using this product twice has reduced shedding to a point that I could count that strands that came out during the last wash. This is a new holy grail that I will use weekly since my hair seems to love PROTEIN. If your hair is NOT protein sensitive I highly recommend this product....I love the price too!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThisLittleBird
Location: Deep South Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Miracle Stuff!
Date:October 16, 2011
Pros: made a drastic difference in one use!, smells good...coconutty., good price for the value
Cons: wish the bottle was bigger.
"I used this product as another reviewer suggested: Wash hair, leave in for 20 minutes (my hair was extremely damaged from bleaching it and using hot styling tools), wash out, then deep condition. After I let it air dry, I straightened it and my hair is so soft and silky-feeling! I love it! I was about to cut off good chunks of my hair because the damage was that bad, but now I think it can be salvaged if I continue to use this product. As of right now, it looks about 100% better than it did before. I don't even know how to describe how bad my hair was before this, to really emphasize the difference this product made...all I can say is, if your hair is super damaged, this product will work a miracle on your hair!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AngieePangiee
Location: Richmond, VA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Bummer
Date:September 10, 2011
"This product did absolutely NOTHING for my hair. The results were not bad or good. I must admit, I was a bit disappointed because I'd read alot of great reviews. It's possible that my hair isn't in terrible shape and doesn't need a reconstructing treatment."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
l1991
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
amazing
Date:July 7, 2011
"this stuff seriously works miracles. i washed my hair with a clarifying shampoo twice, applied the gvp reconstructor for five minutes and washed out, and followed with aussie 3 minute miracle deep conditioner and my hair is completely transformed. it is so soft and has the life i havent seen in it since i started heat styling and color treating my fried hair. normally when i sleep on my hair i wake up with extremely dry, broken-looking fried hair and this morning i woke up with the same beautiful hair. amazing product!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookie1
Location: Iowa
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Date:April 25, 2011
Pros: works just like the name brand.
"I'm use to using the name brand Joico KPak and I must say the results are the same. Why not use the Generic brand if I'm going to get the same results. I love this stuff!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimoneKJ
Location: Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great
Date:January 19, 2011
Pros: great price., works great., nice scent.
Cons: not for healthy undamaged hair.
"If your hair is not damaged, do NOT use this product, too much keratin will damage your hair. However if your hair is damaged this will work great for your hair.
I've done everything to my hair. I've bleached it and colored it black almost 13 times in the past 3 years.
But after trying a home relaxer my hair melted and I had to cut a good portion of it off.
The rest of my hair is in very poor condition, after buying and using this product I have noticed the texture of my hair getting better, its working better than my bedhead self-absorbed, and the ion packets.
So if you have damaged hair, give this a try."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linkage
Location: CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
THIS IS NOT A CONDITIONER
Date:January 18, 2011
Pros: cheap works great
"THIS IS A STRENGTHENING TREATMENT. i've been reading quite a few reviews about how this doesn't moisturize well and leaves har feeling dry. protein treatments are supposed to be used with a deep conditioner afterwards or else your hair will feel icky. the directions on the bottle are not really what you're supposed to do. if you wash with a CLARIFYING shampoo first and use a deep conditioner after this treatment, you will have much better results. your hair needs to be stripped of all styling products and dirt for this product to really sink in. you can also leave this in for more than 5 minutes. 20 minutes works good if you have really damaged hair. and remember to DEEP CONDITION AFTER! also, your hair can only take so much protein. once a week is just fine, even if you have really damaged hair. if your hair is pretty healthy, try once every couple weeks. maybe even once a month."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NativePhotoGirl
Norman, Oklahoma
Thank you!
Posted January 7, 2012
Thanks for posting this. I wish people would do more research into the treatments they put their hair through.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 19 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lanac123
Location: wheaton, il
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works fine for me
Date:January 3, 2011
Pros: good price
"I got the results I expected. I have never used the name brand product, and I would never attempt to now because I would fear to become disappointed. However it seems to not work on all types of hair. I have never colored my hair but I do not think it would deliver decent results on color treated hair. You need to leave it for the amount of time required and use it on a regular basis (twice a week). It does not work miracles on the first try. Sometimes I leave it in the ends of my hair for the day, and it smells great too, if you like coconut. If you do not like coconut do not buy this product. I think once your hair is not dry this is a good maintaining agent, but it does not work miracles, get a hair cut and use this to keep your ends moist. Works better on thick hair I think. Case closed."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GVP Hair Reconstructor: Compare to Joico K-Pak
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DiVa
Location: Chicago, IL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not for Everyone
Date:October 30, 2010
Cons: mineral oil
"I never tried the name brand version, but regardless, this didn't do much but dry out my relaxed hair. Usually that's what happens when I use products with mineral oil, and this time was no exception. I love the Joico K-PAK conditioner (not deep penetrating) and it did wonders for my hair (contains no M.O.) so I should have left well enough alone or at least read the ingredients before I bought this based on other reviews. I'm definitely returning this and sticking with what I know works best for my hair. If yours can handle mineral oils, and I know many can, it does give nice slip and strength. If not, steer clear. To each her own...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>